AOLŪ Active Virus Shield is no longer available., AOL are now offering McAfee

tan_pang
post Sep 7 2007, 06:58 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 7 2007, 03:51 PM)
Avira's using Kaspersky engine? if it's true, than it's a good thing la... thumbup.gif, i might be migrate to Avira after this AOL AVS expired blush.gif
this is what we afraid off... tongue.gif
who tell you this??
and how come Avira use Kaspersky engine already??
tan_pang
post Sep 8 2007, 11:31 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 7 2007, 07:51 PM)
obviously you don't read the previous post... doh.gif shakehead.gif

previous post'
thanks for the link to the "previous post"

here is the Avira mainpage
http://www.avira.com/en/pages/index.php

Avira GmbH is a German antivirus software company. Its antivirus applications are based on the AntiVir antivirus engine, first launched in 1988.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avira

I have try google and it doesn't state that the Avira using Kaspersky engine...

if Avira really use the Kaspersky engine, can please tell me where you got the source?
tan_pang
post Oct 17 2007, 11:21 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Oct 17 2007, 09:41 PM)
maybe i will give it a try after the current one expired, could be better who know brows.gif
McAfee have a nickname call McCrappy... sweat.gif
tan_pang
post Oct 19 2007, 08:14 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Oct 19 2007, 08:12 PM)
y no one mention avg? no good ah?
why should mention AVG?? it good meh~??
tan_pang
post Oct 19 2007, 09:55 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Oct 19 2007, 08:27 PM)
dunno, i installed it in my desktop, seems ok, just curious y nobody mention about avs sweat.gif  (lappy is still using soon-to-be expired avs)
I think many people mention about AVS here
but not much mention about AVG... sweat.gif

I think the reason we didn't talk about AVG is because this AV software very hard to substitute AVS......
tan_pang
post Oct 29 2007, 01:40 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Oct 29 2007, 12:13 PM)
Same here, that's why I want to look at a screenie before even trying it.
by looking at the screenshot can know how good an antivirus will be?? blink.gif
tan_pang
post Oct 29 2007, 06:32 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(natakaasd @ Oct 29 2007, 04:35 PM)
OT: As a matter of fact, NOD32 is not too user friendly. tongue.gif

Cheers!
yes, I also think that NOD32 is not that user friendly...
use that once before... but remove it before the trial ends... sweat.gif
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Oct 29 2007, 04:42 PM)
Lol. Up to a certain degree. In fact I find McAFee and TM is not user friendly  rclxub.gif
laugh.gif TM is really not user friendly...
QUOTE(natakaasd @ Oct 29 2007, 05:02 PM)
OT: The User-Friendliest is still Norton. Truthfully speaking.

Cheers!
Norton is the User-Friendliest??
I don't think so... especially the NIS... I don't know how to configure the firewall rules in there... and it didn't give much explaination...

0.0167sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:07 PM