125 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Sony-Ericsson ☆☆ Sony Ericsson K810i Discussion Thread ☆☆ V3, I ♡ Metallic Round Keypad

KTCY
post Aug 22 2007, 11:26 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

3G icon I suppose.
davidmak
post Aug 22 2007, 11:27 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Aug 22 2007, 04:22 AM)
ya, AP set usually comes from various country, so does the firmware wink.gif
btw, anyone using gprs/3g to update firmware? how long it takes and how much? tongue.gif
I dont know how to update like you all said use SEUS/ some WOTAN. tongue.gif
Actually the firmwares are the same when it comes to operation and functionality of the phone. All the fixes being introduced are the same too. Sony Ericsson probably have to cater their phones for different regions, different locality with different language groups, different network operators and their operating conditions and telco contract.

So the hardware platform which is the phone we're talking here and the core firmware is the same. Its just the locality and region that'll decide on different content to be put on the phone, like languages, writing languages, etc. SE probably divides the world market into different regions like APAC, SMEA, etc so they name their firmwares differently to denote the region the phone is supposed to be in. The CDA is the region code assigned for the phone and everytime SEUS detects the phone, it'll look for the CDA to find its region. Then it'll look through a database of firmwares available for the particular region. (If I'm not mistaken).

That'll explain why some of you having Chinese writing capability but when you run SEUS, that capability is lost when you upgraded the firmware. The more permanent fix to this is to change the CDA entirely which only 3rd party flash utility and service like Wotanserver.

I've done it before. Its actually quite safe if you know what you're doing. So I suggest doing some reading and familiarized yourself with the procedures so you would know what to expect. Wotanserver's website do have a well thought of manual of how to go about this. Thank you!
kanethesun
post Aug 22 2007, 11:37 AM

1,426 posts

KTCY,
I doubt so, because before I changed to 3G simcard, that doesnt appear biggrin.gif

davidmak,
thanks for the explanation for the firmware update wink.gif

KTCY
post Aug 22 2007, 11:41 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Is this the icon you saw ?
If this is the one, then it is 3G icon.
KTCY
post Aug 22 2007, 11:42 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Aug 22 2007, 11:37 AM)
KTCY,
I doubt so, because before I changed to 3G simcard, that doesnt appear biggrin.gif

davidmak,
thanks for the explanation for the firmware update wink.gif
You actually already answer your question. Before you change to 3G sim card, for sure can't use 3G . Now you change it for sure it can detect the 3G network and the icon appear.

kanethesun
post Aug 22 2007, 11:57 AM

1,426 posts

ya
because I do not know its the 3G icon ma biggrin.gif thanks alot wink.gif
chicaman
post Aug 22 2007, 12:18 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 22 2007, 11:41 AM)
Is this the icon you saw ?
If this is the one, then it is 3G icon.
my friend got that icon but mine is a phone icon with a number1
KTCY
post Aug 22 2007, 12:25 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Aug 22 2007, 12:18 PM)
my friend got that icon but mine is a phone icon with a number1
Using Digi ?
sonic_cd
post Aug 22 2007, 12:38 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 22 2007, 11:42 AM)
You actually already answer your question. Before you change to 3G sim card, for sure can't use 3G . Now you change it for sure it can detect the 3G network and the icon appear.

ermmm.. a normal simcard can use the 3g already (maxis leh, celcom i dunno) mine`s the normal 64k simcard already can use 3g
KTCY
post Aug 22 2007, 12:40 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Aug 22 2007, 12:38 PM)
ermmm.. a normal simcard can use the 3g already (maxis leh, celcom i dunno) mine`s the normal 64k simcard already can use 3g
Mine also. tongue.gif But just now he said before he change the sim card nothing so I assume is because he change to 3G sim card then the icon appear as normal sim card need activation for 3G.
sonic_cd
post Aug 22 2007, 12:53 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 22 2007, 12:40 PM)
Mine also. tongue.gif But just now he said before he change the sim card nothing so I assume is because he change to 3G sim card then the icon appear as normal sim card need activation for 3G.

t
then again i never use 3g on the k810.. yet
Jckk
post Aug 22 2007, 01:05 PM

Remember Remember the 5th of November.
548 posts

occasionally use 3g for video calls. laugh.gif
kanethesun
post Aug 22 2007, 01:07 PM

1,426 posts

I just tried once last night
but the sound is a little terrible, I mean the loud speaker, its noisy + not clear lo
hmmm, it should use with earphone?
Jckk
post Aug 22 2007, 01:18 PM

548 posts

yup.
should use wif earphones.

quality is still ok if u hold still ur fon.
back camera quality is a bit better...
KTCY
post Aug 22 2007, 01:49 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(Jckk @ Aug 22 2007, 01:18 PM)
yup.
should use wif earphones.

quality is still ok if u hold still ur fon.
back camera quality is a bit better...
Back camera quality for sure better. It's 3.2MP lens/ laugh.gif
kanethesun
post Aug 22 2007, 02:24 PM

1,426 posts

back camera during video call?
the video will smoother?

KTCY
post Aug 22 2007, 02:48 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Smoother or not is depends on the network.
Clarity is depends on the phone lens as well as network speed.
Jckk
post Aug 22 2007, 02:49 PM

548 posts

will be clearer...but still depends on da signal strength...
kksoon
post Aug 22 2007, 03:33 PM

1,498 posts

using back camera is it still call video call? hmm.gif the other side can c u....but u cant c other side...unless....use mirror refletion brows.gif
davidmak
post Aug 22 2007, 04:08 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 22 2007, 11:42 AM)

The SIM and USIM card are meant to be backward and forward compatible. As long as the telco side has activated your account to use 3G services, any SIM card will work.

The only difference with the USIM card is UMTS authentication and encryption.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 22 2007, 02:48 PM)
Smoother or not is depends on the network.
Clarity is depends on the phone lens as well as network speed.
I agree that the frame rate of the video call (hence, how smooth is the video) is dependent on the network strength. At higher network strength, the effective data rate will be higher as well. Clarity however also depends on the network because your image have to be transported to the other side of the call, going through the network. A higher effective data rate will of course guarantee the minimal loss in data.

Assuming that we have the full theoretical data rate, of course phone lens (though I think its minimal) will at some point improve images. The secondary camera at the front of the phone is the usual 330K (up to 640x480) CMOS sensor running at maybe 15fps or lower depending on signal quality. Meaning at each second, the sensor will feed 15x (or lower) 330K images to the phone's transceiver.

On the other hand, the primary camera at the backside of the phone is a Cybershot compliant 3.2MP camera. Thats a 2048x1536 resolution thats maybe 200-300kB of data per frame. At 15fps it'll be enormous. So I doubt thats the case. If the 3.2MP camera is usable for 3G Video Call (I haven't tried this before), its actually sampling images at a smaller resolution, near 330K. There's no special lens here in the K800/810, but I doubt Carl Zeiss lens would do any difference on a phone. One point to note although at IMAGING MODE the K800/810 is able to take pictures at 3.2MP, in VIDEO MODE going through the same lens and same sensor its only outputting video at 320x240@15fps which is way smaller than 3.2MP.

So my point is, do not expect 3.2MP performance and hence a better video call from the backside camera.

125 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:25 AM