[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Oct 23 2020, 09:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(joedpa82 @ Oct 20 2020, 03:37 PM)
Hi guys.

Trying to build a custom 104 mechanical keyboard for wife's work.

She types a lot.

Want to diy a 104 mechanical keyboard for her.

Can recommend case, pcb and such. Please provide link.

Switch would be outemu silent white. No need back light and such.

Budget around rm300.
for that budget, you can try this one, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=536060210170

however, be warned that there are risks getting these budget kits.

horns
post Oct 23 2020, 10:03 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(SheepMekk @ Oct 21 2020, 01:12 AM)
Hello typing enthusiasts, I'm finally looking to take the plunge into Topre switches, currently using the Romer-g based Logitech G810 and really like the feeling of it. The keyword here is "really like", not love. So I'm still in search for the perfect keyboard for me.

So far I have the pros and cons for the two keyboards I'm looking at, I'm open to suggestions btw!

Leopold FC980C
+Generally hear good things about Leopold and their build all over the internet
-Navigation keys (Ins, Del, Home, End, PgUp, PgDn) is absent
-Out of stock

Realforce R2
+Standard keyboard layout
+In stock right now
-Could be inferior feeling, sound and build compared to Leopold?

Will I be missing out a huge difference in experience from getting a Realforce over a Leopold? I could be wrong, this is just what I've observed based on searching around. Cheers!
you might wanna try ask in mymkb group, https://www.facebook.com/groups/MalaysiaMechanicalKeyboard

the thing about typing experience is that everyone has own preferences. only first-hand experience tells the truths.

QUOTE(AweFace @ Oct 22 2020, 09:56 AM)
My IKBC F108 has been suffering key chattering on the 'O' key, based on google I would need to solder a new switch. Could you guys recommend me solder iron and solder (Never soldered) before, or alternative fix
for first-timers, i suggest you look for experienced users like quovadis123 or GRexer for help. they charge fairly, and have good skills.

if you truly interested in learning soldering and desoldering, you can search this thread for details about soldering irons and solder. basically you need a temperature-controlled soldering iron, a good desoldering pump, and true 63/37 solder wires (mechanic, kester)

Kaka23
post Oct 24 2020, 08:49 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Jul 8 2020, 12:12 AM)
I ordered and received 1 unit keychron over the MCO period, no issues whatsoever. go ahead and order, and if you need a referral code, please let me know! smile.gif
Bro.. where did you get your Keychron from? Their official website?
horns
post Oct 25 2020, 12:05 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

this is my latest build, with leopold's sp-star grey, everglide 63.5g gold-plated springs, and kelowna switch films.

leopold sp-star grey is a good alternative for cherry mx, minus relative scratchiness.

axercr777
post Oct 25 2020, 06:19 AM

19 posts

Does anyone have Keychron referral code? Appreciate if you can share it with me smile.gif
joedpa82
post Oct 25 2020, 10:54 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 23 2020, 10:42 PM)
for that budget, you can try this one, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=536060210170

however, be warned that there are risks getting these budget kits.
Thanks man. if i were to up the budget up to rm500 what are my choices?
horns
post Oct 25 2020, 11:45 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(joedpa82 @ Oct 25 2020, 10:54 AM)
Thanks man. if i were to up the budget up to rm500 what are my choices?
like our friends pointed out previously, full-size custom kits are very rare. they might be offered in limited gbs, which need extra time, money, and efforts to get them.

alternatively, you can get a commercial option like ikbc boards, or whatever boards, and modify it from there.

ragecat
post Oct 25 2020, 11:46 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 24 2020, 08:49 PM)
Bro.. where did you get your Keychron from? Their official website?
yessir!
Kaka23
post Oct 25 2020, 01:51 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(ragecat @ Oct 25 2020, 11:46 AM)
yessir!
thanks sir notworthy.gif ... I will look see look see if getting direct from them will better or not
boobooboo P
post Oct 25 2020, 02:18 PM

Probation

Just came across this thread! Banzaaii!

I have just gotten myself a Keychron V2 and I was unsure where to get keycaps for them. Any suggestion guys? Wanna get some pastel blue caps to customise my keyboard biggrin.gif
niakulah
post Oct 25 2020, 03:15 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 25 2020, 12:05 AM)
this is my latest build, with leopold's sp-star grey, everglide 63.5g gold-plated springs, and kelowna switch films.

leopold sp-star grey is a good alternative for cherry mx, minus relative scratchiness.
Nice. You test your builds on a hotswap board first right? Is there an appreciable difference in sound and feel after you move it to a non-hotswap board and solder it?
horns
post Oct 25 2020, 04:32 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Oct 25 2020, 03:15 PM)
Nice. You test your builds on a hotswap board first right? Is there an appreciable difference in sound and feel after you move it to a non-hotswap board and solder it?
yes, there are obvious differences in terms of typing sound and feel, mainly due to the differences on parts and constructions of these hot-swap and solderable kits. to me the better build is still permanently soldered builds.

i use gk64 as the main break-in unit, because it supports 5-pin switches, and it has the 64-key layout that i prefer. using hot-swap boards to test and tune stuff is efficient. you can even do almost everything on-the-fly.

normally there is not much left to tune when i move them to a soldered build.

niakulah
post Oct 25 2020, 06:00 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 25 2020, 04:32 PM)
yes, there are obvious differences in terms of typing sound and feel, mainly due to the differences on parts and constructions of these hot-swap and solderable kits. to me the better build is still permanently soldered builds.

i use gk64 as the main break-in unit, because it supports 5-pin switches, and it has the 64-key layout that i prefer. using hot-swap boards to test and tune stuff is efficient. you can even do almost everything on-the-fly.

normally there is not much left to tune when i move them to a soldered build.
Ok thanks. That's what I was afraid of. Was just considering a hotswap board for my daily driver. Will have to reconsider.

This post has been edited by niakulah: Oct 25 2020, 06:00 PM
Gentleman_League
post Oct 25 2020, 06:19 PM

240 posts

any physical stores or online stores i can get custom/special keycaps? thinking of spice up a little on my rk71!
horns
post Oct 25 2020, 07:37 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Oct 25 2020, 06:00 PM)
Ok thanks. That's what I was afraid of. Was just considering a hotswap board for my daily driver. Will have to reconsider.
the differences are basically physical, and it doesn't mean bad. my gk64 was tuned (including 4mm eva foam between plate and pcb; case foam installed; and tuned stabs), and it can be used as daily driver to me.

alternatively, you can go for kits that support both hot-swap and solderable pcb, like kbd67. they feel and sound very similar.
krayden
post Oct 25 2020, 07:56 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(boobooboo @ Oct 25 2020, 02:18 PM)
Just came across this thread! Banzaaii!

I have just gotten myself a Keychron V2 and I was unsure where to get keycaps for them. Any suggestion guys? Wanna get some pastel blue caps to customise my keyboard biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 25 2020, 06:19 PM)
any physical stores or online stores i can get custom/special keycaps? thinking of spice up a little on my rk71!
From cheap to expensive (more or less) .
Taobao
Aliexpress
Lazada
Taihao
https://shop.tai-hao.com/products
Ilumkb
https://ilumkb.com/collections/groupbuy
Zfrontier
https://en.zfrontier.com/collections/groupbuy

Be carefull with whats in the kit for the bottom row.
What you have now is prolly oem profile. Other profiles available like cherry, sa, xda...
Generally pbt better than abs except for gmk or maxkey SA keycaps.

Ultimate rabbit hole is geekhack.com

Gentleman_League
post Oct 25 2020, 09:01 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Oct 25 2020, 08:56 PM)
From cheap to expensive (more or less) .
Taobao
Aliexpress
Lazada
Taihao
https://shop.tai-hao.com/products
Ilumkb
https://ilumkb.com/collections/groupbuy
Zfrontier
https://en.zfrontier.com/collections/groupbuy

Be carefull with whats in the kit for the bottom row.
What you have now is prolly oem profile. Other profiles available like cherry, sa, xda...
Generally pbt better than abs except for gmk or maxkey SA keycaps.

Ultimate rabbit hole is geekhack.com
Thanks for the suggestion. Yes, Prolly using OEM profile with double shot. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

came across Therapy Unboxing video, it linked me to this https://drop.com/mechanical-keyboards/drops.
Expensive but creative design thou. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by Gentleman_League: Oct 25 2020, 09:10 PM
krayden
post Oct 25 2020, 10:33 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 25 2020, 09:01 PM)
https://drop.com/mechanical-keyboards/drops.
Expensive but creative design thou. shocking.gif
Drop keyboards have double keypress and poor stab issues. And the magnet feet slips off if you move the kb around. But pretty lah.
I feel better build your own with kbdfans stuff.
I got a few pre orders coming next year. Have to tell myself to stop buying kits and keycaps. Research properly, build one and stop. No one needs more than one kb per pc.
NotHuman P
post Oct 26 2020, 02:08 AM

Probation

Hi guys,

New to this forum

I have CM storm Mastekeys Pro S for about 2-3 years.

Recently, it stopped working and I'm suspecting the 5 pin modular connector is broken for some reason.

Is there any place that can help to fix this? Or, do I better off in getting new mk?

Appreciate your suggestion!
irsyadfy
post Oct 26 2020, 02:10 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Oct 25 2020, 10:33 PM)
Drop keyboards have double keypress and poor stab issues. And the magnet feet slips off if you move the kb around. But pretty lah.
I feel better build your own with kbdfans stuff.
I got a few pre orders coming next year. Have to tell myself to stop buying kits and keycaps. Research properly, build one and stop. No one needs more than one kb per pc.
PC dont need more than one keyboard.
we need more. whistling.gif

125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:06 PM