31 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Jan 4 2022, 12:39 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 4 2022, 06:27 AM)
i bought a new hand held blower which i use for light cleaning my keyboard now. but after a long while i will dissasemble then do a full clean up. but this makes keeping the mkb clean much simpler for any sort of debris that falls through the keyboard most part  smile.gif
nice; i guess i should get one too. for now i'm still using a brush haha

yes full cleanups are necessary when time comes. i will also do it when i wanna store full builds in boxes.

the most common cleanup job for me is still washing key caps, and brushing off dusts from bare bones when i replace them.

horns
post Jan 4 2022, 08:46 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 4 2022, 03:48 PM)
i just remove the caps and dump it into a bucket of water with some cleaning fluid and let it soak. then come back and dry it all up using a fan and dry cloth.

if you go to shopee, seems they also have mini usb handheld vacuums (with examples for using on keyboard). but i went for a blower instead, because i also use this to clean out dust from my pc. a blower works better than a vacuum when trying to remove dust from your pc case i find  smile.gif
yes, that's good enough. i have an ultra-sonic cleaner so i use that.

thanks for the tip on using blower instead of vacuum pump to clean up a pc haha i think it's time to maintain mine also
horns
post Jan 9 2022, 12:03 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

star75 is a gasket mount 75%, that comes with qmk/via-enabled hot-swap pcb (with flex cut-outs) and daughter board. its top plate has flex cut-outs also. you can solder a knob at the top right. (i.e., the location of the current insert key)

i bought this kit because i wanna try out flexes. however, for now, i make use of all the foams provided, hence it's a no-flex build.

.. and i think i have enough gasket mount builds already. (60/65/75%)

This post has been edited by horns: Jan 9 2022, 12:11 AM
horns
post Jan 9 2022, 12:05 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

gateron x is a good linear switch. at stock, it's really not bad. (e.g., relatively smooth while having less stem wobbles) while i'm glad that gateron finally decided to catch up (after so many years) in the current market that is filled with cheaper options that perform similarly, it's very hard to shine tbh, espcially with that price tag.

at first glance, it looks just like gateron ks-3, with nylon milky top, and black nylon bottom housing. however, its stem is from gateron pro, and its bottom housing is different (internally; very easy to differentiate from their regular variants)

This post has been edited by horns: Jan 9 2022, 12:57 AM
horns
post Jan 12 2022, 11:49 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 10 2022, 01:29 AM)

hmm.gif

i too have customized my mkb but not to that extent. at most i just customize my keycaps for better ones like signatureplastics doubleshot group buy, a mooglekit (this is a kit i helped give the initial idea. it's purpose is to have the custom keycaps for the missing ones that have a matching color as another set of keycaps from a donor OLD mkb that did not have keycaps that would fit a modern mkb for some of the keycaps. hence why you needed this kit made as a supplement), and some dye sublimated keycaps (these use dyse that are very impervious to wearing out, and gives a different look compared to doubleshots). i also got some led windowed keycaps, because some of the switches had lighting components so the normal keycap wouldn't be nice for those, hence i needed ones that had windows on them which i had to source from classic donor keyboards.

also it's nice if your mkb supports NKRO, although most people would be ok even if it's just 6KRO. But if you have a NKRO option available, why not.

Then some people have preferences for the led lighting bling, which is fine. But then you usually have to choose between that and doubleshot keycaps. Personally i prefer just quality doubleshot and/or dye sublimated keycaps with good contrast that is durable to usage over long periods of time :}

I've used my mkb for many years already now, and i haven't feel the need to replace any of the switches just yet :} this is also why you get a mkb. Not only is it comfortable to use, but it can last for quite a long time. So the costs justify it in the end. But thats not to say you can't haggle for a good deal. Heck this girl spent RM500 and got a custom mkb, which seems pretty good. although i personally can't live without the numpad. If you do plenty of data entry kind of jobs involving numbers, that numpad is pretty important for speed typing.

one development for the keyboard i'm most interested is the optical light sensors for helping register key actuations. things got even more responsive and accurate with that sort of addition. but that said i don't feel the need to make any new purchase. so hopefully by the time i do need a change, prices will come down  sweat.gif

right, different strokes for different folks. the mkb ecosystem is still getting richer everyday. it doesn't matter which path you go for, there is a place for everyone.
horns
post Jan 15 2022, 09:30 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jan 14 2022, 06:55 PM)
Finally received my Q1 Knob version today. Bought along a set of Christmas keycap but I guess it's too late to celebrate Christmas with that keycap.

Overall as a novice user, I'm surprised by the Q1 quality and oh my, this keyboard is really heavy compared to my very first Mech Keyboard One2SF.

From a full size keyboard to 65% keyboard, I'm definitely missing some dedicated keys such as F ~ and Insert... So maybe 75% is a balance between full size and 65%.

Switching from Brown -> Red switch and will see how it goes.

I wish Keychron include dust cover to protect the keyboard from dusty environment...
in terms of key layouts, it depends on individual typing habits, the will and time to adapt imo. i don't have the latter, so i keep doing the former.

unless you feel like wanna be more adventurous, just choose what you feel comfortable with.

horns
post Jan 16 2022, 08:43 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jan 16 2022, 09:54 AM)
When you have neither, you have to go full size.

https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboard...ce_on_this_sub/
right haha i'm glad that it's still available as an option, at good price point also tbh

the better key layout for me is still 64-key 60%, with arrow keys. i use almost all the keys daily with that layout.
horns
post Feb 4 2022, 10:26 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

finally pang hu's giantv6 is out, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=661990319786

note that:
- giantv6 is a 5-pin linear switch;
- full hpe housing;
- the initial hpe stems was replaced with pom-based;
- shorter key travel distance, 3.3mm;
- 16mm gold-plated 62g spring;
- prelubed;
- made by tecsee (same as giantv5).

the hpe stems are available also, but separately, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=667472765997 (for the more advanterous)

horns
post Feb 5 2022, 09:36 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Feb 4 2022, 07:51 PM)
I bought one biji tecsee diamond which has uhmwpe stem and top housing. Its super smooth stock, really dun need to lube, or maybe just lube the spring. Too bad it doesnt have long stem thock though.
That hpe one should be better.
yes, if you liked it stock, then just keep it that way.

i use lube to minimize vibrations, along with soft switch films and foams.
horns
post Feb 11 2022, 12:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

here's a quick note on cn-made pcbs, in terms of qmk support. as of this writing, basically there are 3 categories:

1. qmk/via support with working qmk source code; this is the best, but only few are in this category;

2. qmk support with their own qmk-configurator-like UI; usually a json file for the pcb is provided, so that you can load it with the provided UI, and make your own firmware; for the more advanterous, you can download the qmk source code generated from these sites (based on pretty old code base), modify and extend it to via/vial support;

3. qmk/via support, with or without qmk firmware binary provided to users; no source code. usually the stock firmware will support via, and you just need a sideloading json file to make via work.

of the three, the last one is the most limited option in terms of qmk support. however, it's also the most common practice in cn. if you liked to play with qmk/via/vial, this is the worst option.

hence, if you're into qmk and wishes to use cn-based pcbs, it's better to choose those that are in the first 2 categories.

in general, just be aware that typical sellers in cn have a different mindset about qmk and open source. only few have the right ideas about it.

--

edit: talking about qmk source code, in case anyone with simpler6x from ilumkb, they are now available at qmk official firmware source tree, https://github.com/qmk/qmk_firmware/tree/ma...eyboards/ilumkb

This post has been edited by horns: Feb 11 2022, 03:12 PM
horns
post Feb 11 2022, 08:53 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Feb 11 2022, 05:41 PM)
I dunno if this is the same thing but I loaded a china pcb (ncr80) json file into via and it worked on via np. Except everytime you wanna use via you need to load the json file.
that's in category no. 3. most recent kits from cn are in that category. it's fine if via is good enough for you, and you're not using qmk to modify its features.

for instance, i add winlock, and use rgb led for underglow as caps lock indicator also. (like kbd75 rev2, which is the pcb for kbd75v3 and v3.1)

edit: official via support for simpler64 is still in progress. i have modified mine to make the led under capslock to work as capslock indicator. if you had the same pcb, just add the following in your keymap.c:

CODE

/* capslock; start; */
#ifdef RGB_MATRIX_ENABLE
__attribute__ ((weak))
void rgb_matrix_indicators_user(void) {
   if (host_keyboard_led_state().caps_lock)     {
       rgb_matrix_set_color(28, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF);
   }
}
#endif
/* capslock; end; */

the outcome:

This post has been edited by horns: Feb 11 2022, 10:25 PM
horns
post Feb 12 2022, 06:05 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Feb 12 2022, 04:47 AM)
Wow i didnt know that qmk had those hidden features. No wonder I couldnt find winlock in via.
Thats some deep coding there for me to get into.
actually with via, the easiest way is to assign two keys to achieve the same. as long as the firmware supports magic keycodes (it most likely do), you are good to go.

basically, 2 magic keycodes are used:
1. MAGIC_NO_GUI (0x5c06), meaning turn windows key off;
2. MAGIC_UNNO_GUI (0x5c0f), meaning turn windows key on.

in via, you can assign these keycodes (0x5c06, 0x5c0f) to 2 separate keys with special > any to access them.

edit: qmk is feature-rich, and it supports many pcbs. hence it's a good thing to get familiar with it. also, usually there are more than one way to do things in qmk. it's fun to play with.

This post has been edited by horns: Feb 12 2022, 11:35 AM
horns
post Feb 22 2022, 12:33 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Feb 21 2022, 07:33 PM)
Any good budget mkb? my niece is looking.

i don't think she will mind a tenkeyless. any recommendations?

i also haven't kept up with the latest news. whats the best switches to recommend. cherry mx brown?
maybe you can check out cherry g80-3000 s tkl non-backlit also. it's a minimalist soldered plateless prebuilt with 5-pin cherry mx hg (nylon housing), full-nkro, winkey lock, and double-shot key caps.

horns
post Mar 4 2022, 09:33 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

this is an old news: simpler6x is officially supported by via, https://github.com/the-via/keyboards/tree/master/src/iLumkb

fully foamed gasket mount kits like simpler64 are forgiving. it's hard to find out short comings of switches with them.

currently i use stock giantv6 with it, a relatively louder switch (due to long its stem pole). typing feel wise, it's comfortable for me.

This post has been edited by horns: Mar 5 2022, 02:09 AM
horns
post Mar 6 2022, 01:55 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

this is my first reference build in 2022, with tuned jwick c-black v1, stock 58.5g linear rated spring.

edit: with linear switches that have relatively less stem wobbles as base switches (e.g., those from sp-star, jwick, jwk), i can use linear-rated springs that have lower spring weights, without causing mistyping.

this is not the case with gateron ks-3 for me.

This post has been edited by horns: Mar 6 2022, 02:06 PM
horns
post Mar 6 2022, 09:56 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Mar 6 2022, 08:28 PM)
asus getting in on the mkb action with their rog brand heh ph34r.gif

https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2022/03/fla...imate-keyboard/
looks nice, but in terms of bang for buck, you can get a decent enuff mkb for half the price and spend that money else where on your pc components, maybe like increased budget for a better monitor, graphics card or cpu.

but if you can afford it, and you want something nice, this looks good, but maybe you can get something for the same price or less perhaps  hmm.gif
their mkbs have features for those who like them. however, like you said, it's better to get something that are more practical for lower price, and invest the extras in other parts.

as for layouts, i just stick to 64-key 60/65/75%. tkl, full-size and anything in between are bulky for me; and the more keys in the layout, the more untouched keys for me.

horns
post Mar 7 2022, 01:24 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 7 2022, 12:49 AM)
Yes, my keyboard will always be bigger than yours! biggrin.gif
good for you haha

good mkbs can last for a long time in general, so yes just get what you are comfortable with. my filco tkl is almost 10 years old, and it's still going strong, with nothing broken until now smile.gif
horns
post Mar 7 2022, 04:48 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 7 2022, 11:05 AM)
Still looking for full size modular keyboard. Don't have enough knowledge. Reading here and there. Wireless option is a plus.
yeah different strokes for different folks. i believe there are options that match your requirements. (like keychron k10, https://www.keychron.com/products/keychron-...=39426664955993 , but bluetooth though)

hopefully our friends who still keep up with the trends will give you better hints.
horns
post Mar 8 2022, 03:04 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Mar 7 2022, 10:17 PM)
I am also lookin for a wireless keyboard, so far based on recommendation here already check out keychron k8 or k4, only thing is some review saying might need a wrist rest to type comfortably. Any other brand can recommend?

Trying to find a filco  wireless but seems like nobody is selling
for filco, you should get it from overseas if you really want it.

.. and for typing comforts, you should get wrist rests. do not get wrist rests that are made of PU leather. they will not last.

horns
post Mar 10 2022, 02:46 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Mar 10 2022, 10:55 AM)
I've tried a friend's Keychron K2. I don't feel it to be higher than other MKB. I think this might be a case of people keep repeating one reviewer's opinion until it became a "fact".
yes, in this hobby, first-hand experience is king. user comments and reviews are for reference only. for instance, a previous hype was to associate flex with gasket mount, which is misleading.

hence, it's better to pay attention to basics. with better understanding on basics, you can make a good build with the right parts for yourself. (e.g., a cheap generic plastic case can be good, if you amplified their strengths, and minimize their weaknesses)

31 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.1148sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:18 AM