[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Aug 26 2021, 09:15 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rEvivEd- @ Aug 26 2021, 01:20 PM)
Hi guys, I have a varmilo 108M sakura pink, Brown switch.

this one : https://en.varmilo.com/keyboardproscenium/s...ed?subjectid=96

So the ALT button for my keyboard is stiff / a little bit harder to press than normal.

is there anyone  / place that is available to fix it?

Thanks in advance.

Area around setapak
here is the list of builders who might be able to help you out, https://www.facebook.com/groups/MYMECHMARKE...79389625627322/

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 26 2021, 04:41 PM)
This is about rm228 after 10% cashback. I chose gateron yellows (smd) as I heard they're pretty smooth, but since my work involves a lot of pressing Ctrl, my pinky is sore already cos not used to the weight. Maybe should have gone with gateron reds.

Other than that they're pretty great. After lube feel so damn nice, although i think i overlubed cos damn hard to see the lube on the milky bottom switch.

The stabs are prelubed, no hook/fang thingy at the bottom so i think no need to clip it off. Braided usb C cable. Keycap and switch puller (the proper metal type).

Only downside is the led isnt that bright. Havent tried the bluetooth connection so cant comment on that.

Edit: they don't have gateron reds. Only yellow and black.
gat yellow is comfortable for most people. just use it for a week first. i think you will get used to it.

yes, you can just get some lighter ones, and replace them right away (the immediate convenience of switch hot-swapping)

horns
post Aug 27 2021, 02:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Aug 26 2021, 09:28 PM)
+1

It could be a lot of firsts for me. First 65%. First wireless. First linear. First hotswap.

Seriously tempted.
nice haha

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 26 2021, 10:14 PM)
Yeah, i was also thinking to just try it out first. Or at least wait until want to buy other things then can add that single switch just to try. At the moment to just order a single switch i feel bad for the seller. Haha
yes, plan your purchase. i feel bad for you too if you just get one switch, because that makes the total cost of that switch being the same as (switch cost + shipping cost).

horns
post Aug 29 2021, 02:25 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 29 2021, 01:20 PM)
Hi guys, anyone here done the holee mod with good results?

Mine became mushy, some say might take time to break in, but i wonder if i did anything wrong instead. Plus it's still rattly.
it might be related to the material and thickness of the tape/foam that you use for the mod.

mushiness can happen if the foams applied are relatively thick. i use eva foam, 0.5mm, compressed by force to make it relatively compact and thinner before use. the thickness after that should be around 0.3mm.

to help reduce rattles, you should also tune the wire so that it's as straight as possible, with both tips pointing to the same angle. you might also need to apply some foams between wire and pcb, so as to support the wire.

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 29 2021, 01:58 PM)
My Keychron C1 with Akko CS Matcha Green Switches along with some randoms others. Just slapped the Akko Midnight keycaps on it last night to spice up the look.

Haven't done the Foam Mod yet so I have to take them off again anyway but I was too impatient to wait to see if they'll work before releasing the payment to Akko tomorrow. sweat.gif F & J keys are slightly lower than the others. Checked the switches underneath and they're fine. Even mashed them in properly to get them to level out. Thinking of ordering Boba U4Ts next month to test them out hmm.gif Anyone have any experience using those?
f and j keys are home keys for qwerty layout. usually they have more dished top surface, or a tiny bar at the bottom of top surface.
horns
post Aug 29 2021, 03:15 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 29 2021, 02:49 PM)
They have the bumps but they're also lower than every other key in that row which is a little annoying. Whole row is smooth and then suddenly it drops in height when it comes to F and J. Other than that I'm happy with this keycap set. Just wish they had more unique novelties.
ok, but that's the purpose of 'abnormal' height, i.e., as indicator to users that those are home keys. check your set and see if they provide you with the alternative f and j keys.
horns
post Aug 29 2021, 04:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 29 2021, 03:41 PM)
I used bandaid like hamajineo guide. In fact my bandaid seems thinner than his, and i even cut off the end instead of looping in the bandaid the other side to ensure minimal contact with the stab housing.

My wire seems straight when placed on my desk. Both angled points also lying flat. Later i try remeasure again.

I will try the foam between wire and pcb. I also havent actually assessed if my spacebar itself is flat or not. Hopefully it improves with new keycaps.
if that's the case, yours shouldn't have any mushiness. did you apply bandaid mod on pcb with the same tape? did you clip the slider tips? those might cause mushiness as well

these days, i use epsi mod more with 0.5mm eva foam. epsi mod covers top and bottom parts of stab sliders, so the chance of having mushiness is higher if tape/foam used are too thick, or you don't trim the excess. however, usually it's ok after trimmed and with manual compression. (chewah macam canggih, but this just means i use a pen and roll it over the piece of tape for few times)

for experimental and comparison purposes, some of my older builds do have mushiness (epsi mod), because i just used 0.5mm eva foam without manual compression.
horns
post Aug 29 2021, 04:44 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 29 2021, 04:16 PM)
No other set has these that I'm aware of. Even the China clones have uniform height and so did the stock Filco caps. I'm not a big fan of the design choice but it's not a big deal. Just my OCD slapping me inside every now and then when I glance at the keyboard. The bumps were enough to differentiate the "guide" keys for touch-typing.
right. these are one of minor details that might need attention when you are interested in a key cap set, beside profile and supported layouts.

horns
post Aug 29 2021, 05:15 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 29 2021, 04:52 PM)
Havent done anything to the pcb yet. Also didnt clip anything on the stabs, since the legs also don't have those fangs protruding at the bottom.

Is it possible i used too much lube? I used krytox since i don't have diaelectric grease.

I will try to troubleshoot more tonight. I also have different bandaid types that i can try. The ones i used currently is the fabric type.
ok.

yes, excess of lube can cause mushiness also. however it's usually temporary. the effects should be gone after regular use for a week or two.

fyi, krytox grease is also dielectric. i assumed you were referring to permatex dielectric grease when you said 'dielectric grease'

right, take your time to explore more. the experience is good for you for your future builds also.
horns
post Aug 29 2021, 07:57 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 29 2021, 06:12 PM)
Ah sorry, didnt know krytox is also diaelectric grease. Still lots to learn sweat.gif
it's fine, a lot of people do not know that krytox gpl is dielectric also. some even created imaginary names like krytox gpl 105g0. the gX is the grade for krytox gpl grease (20x series). there is no such grading for their oil (10x series)

you will pick up more stuff in the process of your mkb journey for sure.
horns
post Aug 31 2021, 10:56 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 30 2021, 01:15 PM)
I've removed the bandaid and only reapplied lube, just to get a baseline feel before i attempt further mod. So far no more mushiness. I guess my bandaid was too thick.
just try out different material and thickness, e.g., like what niakulah used.

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Aug 31 2021, 02:00 AM)
I got the Malaysia Mechanical Keyboard fb link from this forum. I tried twice also failed to join. Is only allowed expert to join instead beginner? Never see any such group before. Seems like not welcome beginner at all.
you can be more specific, and share what caused the failures to join.

no, there are plenty of beginners in the group. you're thinking too much.
horns
post Aug 31 2021, 12:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Aug 31 2021, 12:02 PM)
Already settled with the admin. It's tactile keyboard switch question. Tried Topre answer first time rejected then try the rest all rejected too. End up Admin said he may accidentally rejected me during my first try.

Lol yes there are plenty of beginners group. I was rejected by this group initially. It makes me more curious of it. Lol...
good smile.gif yes the questions are simple. it's very hard to give wrong answers.

remember to read group rules. they are also very simple to understand and follow.

yeah, there are plenty of beginner groups also. most of them are like serving other hidden purposes.

horns
post Sep 5 2021, 06:46 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Sep 5 2021, 05:44 PM)
Had some free time today so I decided to swap out my Akko Matcha Greens & gang for the Feker Pandas that arrived last week.

Decided to do every switch this time instead of mixing and matching. So far I'm in love with these. The solid thocky sound and the feedback from typing are just amazing. It feels just right after trying out linears where I had a tendency to make more mistakes due to the smoothness. I was worried 67g was going to be too heavy after reading the reviews on similarly heavy switches but they're perfect for me. Actually thought I was linear gang for sure but these made me wonder if I'm secretly gay tactile-gang after all  unsure.gif I don't have Holy Pandas or Glorious Pandas (yet) so I can't compare them. But these are amazingly good. I was satisfied with the Akko Matcha Greens and was considering going down to my endgame Tangerines for the full linear experience. Now that I know that 67g is fine I might try out T1s next.
67g linear rated spring is popular in boutique switches for many reasons.

for tactile switches, more 'patterns' are available in terms of tactile bumps. it's better to check these differences out at your own pace.

horns
post Sep 6 2021, 02:52 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 6 2021, 11:07 AM)
Anyone here used both KAT and SA profiles before? How do you find typing on it? Especially the rather extreme profile on the F Row.

I'm very comfortable with KAT, but there's an SA colourway that I really really like.
sa profile is too tall for me. they do look nice, but they're not comfortable.

i stick to cherry profile mainly (it's the most comfortable for me), and few others (step sculpture 2, oem, osa, mda).

i haven't tried kat yet.

horns
post Sep 6 2021, 03:20 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Sep 6 2021, 10:02 AM)
I'm always confused about Sprit springs biggrin.gif
I'm planning to buy a bunch of TX springs sample packs from 60-70g and try them all out then decide which one to go out.
I have a gut feeling the 65g zealios would be perfect but ppl are saying the 67g are slightly more tactile. Lets see.
the graphs at sprit will show you the differences for the spring types (e.g., linear rated, short, long, progressive, complex, multi-stage).

for relatively precise consistency, i believe sprit original is still the better option, if you're really picky on scientific precisions (99.5%, deviation below 1g); their economy packs are ok too (99%, deviation around 1g)

tbh, depending on individual, the difference of 1g might be negligible (e.g., some recent chinese-made springs that i have are with very large average deviation of 5g. however, with different spring types in play, that change the overall typing feel, you might not feel anything weird due to inconsistency of spring weight)

for now, i just stick to sprit and tx. of course, i use linear mainly so i don't bother about how spring weight affecting tactile bumps.
horns
post Sep 6 2021, 05:16 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Sep 6 2021, 04:23 PM)
could the weight deviation on the chinese made springs explain why I felt 67g was so much heavier than 62g. the difference was crazy.
i guess i'll only know once i get my hands on the various weight springs.
it's possible. if you're concerned about consistency across the board, just replace them with sprit springs.

right, first-hand experience is the key to identify this, because these feel and sound things are subjective in the first place. what i feel doesn't mean you will feel the same.

once you go through the common spring types, you will have your own formulas for each spring type, for different switches. as an example:
1. linear rated - 60g to 67g;
2. progressive (low preload) - 62g to 72g;
3. long (high preload) - below 56g to 62g;
4. multi-stage (even higher preload) - 45g to 60g (depending on stages)

the above is for cherry mx, for my own comforts. other aspects of switches also influence comforts. for instance, aquaking v3 (i.e. switches with very tight tolerance for switch slider wobbles), i can use their stock linear rated spring as low as 37g, without causing mistyping. the same goes to sp-star switches, 57g linear rated spring is ok also. however, the range is different when i use gateron ks-3 (i.e. switches with a large amount of slider wobbles)

all in all, just make necessary adjustments when needed. there is no absolute formula for this.

horns
post Sep 6 2021, 05:26 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 6 2021, 04:52 PM)
Sadge
you can get the set with your preferred colorway, and use it as benchmark haha

besides look, they do have a different sound profile. to me the most important thing is typing feel, especially comfort. i'm not willing to sacrifice this for sound haha
horns
post Sep 7 2021, 04:40 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Sep 7 2021, 02:26 PM)
After trying so many, finally found my ideal switches.

Gateron Cap V2's are really nice.
it's not bad. it's like tuned cherry mx (black nylon housing) imo. however, it's less optimal as the base for modifications imo.
horns
post Sep 13 2021, 10:46 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

for fun and science, i bought and used this no-brand compact soldering station with t12 tips for few months now, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=610557624807 ( replacement t12 tips, https://shop124267013.taobao.com/ )

note that the default tip is t12-k (knife shaped); you can leave the model of t12 tip that you want when you purchase the set (e.g., t12-d24)

compared to gj907 and kasadi 936 + genuine hakko tips (both with copper mod; haven't tried thermal paste method), this one heats up fast (like 10 seconds, to 300c); has auto-sleep function when you put the iron at resting position; also, its heat transfer is better. with it, i can do soldering/desoldering with 63/37 solder at 300c quickly. (with gj907 and kasadi 936, i usually use 330c) probably because of this, there is still no sign of melting or deform of the silicone tube on engineer ss-02 (the tube was said to be able to withstand temperature up to 350c)

imo it's an option for casual soldering/desoldering switches and parts (i.e., hobbyist usage)
horns
post Sep 14 2021, 03:46 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Sep 14 2021, 11:39 AM)
my next purchase will be Ducky Emerald SF....  will probably buy ready built mechanical keyboards for now, cos no time ( and money!) to build a custom keyboard.
Actually i was quite keen to buy the Q1 Keychron but no one selling in MY
you can collect parts/kits, then build them, both progressively.

these days i just focus on collecting barebones/kits for 60/65/75%. base costs for each of these reference builds are not high. (depending on parts used) i can live with tuned tray-mount/top-mount builds; i have found layouts that i wanna stick to, and plate types that i wanna use (at least aluminum, brass, fr4, cf, pc) if i liked a combo very much, i will get new cases for it. tbh, the potential combos are massive. i am still very far from making a repeated build.

occasionally, i also fix my own mess, or add new mods that i learned to existing builds. i don't intend to fix some old builds, because they are proofs that i was once very bad in tuning.

just do everything at your own pace. it's supposed to be fun while building something that you want from scratch
horns
post Sep 16 2021, 01:46 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Sep 16 2021, 11:40 AM)
hey guys, I wonder what spring length you guys prefer for tactile switches?

I just order a bunch of TX sample packs.
I find 14mm is the most tactile for the mx clears.
Likely due to the softer initiation?
in general, linear rated springs from tx are lighter and softer, in terms of feel. they have larger diameters also.

i'm not sure about its effects on tactility.

QUOTE(red streak @ Sep 16 2021, 01:13 PM)
Bought some random switches to test out along with my PE Foam pads for the switches. Also bought a random aluminum switch opener even though I don't have anything else related to lubing yet - not even the lube. Wanted to save cost by one shotting everything into one order but ended up going a bit wild.  laugh.gif Next purchase is probably the lube. I can use my Akko cases to hold the switches while I lube so I can save a bit there. Trying to figure out if I want Alpacas, Tangerines or Banana Splits as my endgame Linears. Supposedly they're very similar to each other according to people who have them.
alpaca and banana split should be similar. these two sound differently compared to tangerines.
horns
post Sep 16 2021, 03:16 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Sep 16 2021, 02:02 PM)
They're all JWK linear switches. The difference in pitching is very slight due to the different materials used. Otherwise they're nearly indistinguishable in terms of feel. I'm leaning towards Alpacas right now because Theremingoat rates them above tangies in most of the reviews I've read. I'm not sure if the different sound is worth getting waiting for an almost always out of stock switch if the feel is pretty much identical.
ok smile.gif

well, don't bother about what others think. it's not that i don't appreciate reviews from people like theremingoat, but in terms of switch, it's better to tune them to your own liking.

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 16 2021, 02:04 PM)
Got myself some small child kits of Domikey SA and Domikey Cherry.

I must say I'm very disappointed in Domikey SA. Plastic feels flimsy compared to KAT. It came in a bag instead of a tray, and there were a significant amount of scratches. And some of the stems holes were a bit warped until it couldn't fit onto my stabs! I was feeling sad before that this small set didn't get to me in time for me to take advantage of 9.9 deals (the set I was looking at went from RM400+ to RM600+ after 9.9), but now I'm glad I waited.

Domikey Cherry, I got a child kit of the Single Chip triple shot you posted a while back. Impressive quality. Nice sharp legends. Felt good to the touch. I still prefer KAT though. KAT both feels and sounds nice, so it has the upper hand there. Just the dye-sub lets it down sometimes (smearing).

Oh and and although the Domikey Cherry was also shipped in a bag, there were no scratches like the SA, so maybe the SA were scratched in production? IDK

Well at least I can say I tried. I'm sticking with KAT. No regrets. No What Ifs.
i guess the seller repackaged small sets. domikey sa that i have all came with boxes; well packaged imo. it's the same for domikey cherry. i got their aio. (the full set consists of 6 small boxes; each box is equivalent to the option of small sets)

right, domikey cherry is ok. (except for the colorways; they are off compared to renders)

just stick to what you prefer. that's money well spent to me.

.. and yes, smearing is a common issue for dye sub caps.

31 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0916sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:26 PM