[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

niakulah
post Jun 30 2022, 09:40 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 30 2022, 08:56 AM)
55g linear rated spring is too light for you. i don't use spring weights that can cause accidental key presses.

my preferred spring weights depend on the switch and spring type used. for linear rated springs, 60g is my prefered bottom-out spring weight. (except for gateron ks-3) the lowest i can go comfortably without accidental key presses is 57g (sp-star white, sp-meteor white). usually, accidental key presses will happen when i go lower than that.

if you wanted to use lighter weights like 55g or below, you can try long or multi-stage springs. these springs have higher preload force, so they can support your fingers to prevent accidental key presses. maybe a wrist rest can help also.
3rd day at work with this keeb. I'm struggling.

I'm truly ffffed. After the first few hours on the first day, the switches/lube broke in and it became dramatically lighter than at the start of the day.

My head is spinning thinking how I can salvage this without killing the PCB. I seriously don't want to desolder these myself. I wonder if those handphone repair shops have a proper desoldering gun, the type with the electric pump. So far I don't see one on their workbench.
niakulah
post Jun 30 2022, 11:52 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Apr 5 2022, 10:22 AM)
[attachmentid=11129827]

Switches and stabs arrived for next build. Gazzew Boba LT (Linear Thock) and C3 Equalz stabs in lavender with gold wire.

This will be my first linear build, first ortho, and first FR4 plate, and first keyboard smaller than 75%.
QUOTE(horns @ Jun 30 2022, 10:38 AM)
aiyo :/ maybe swap the board temporarily until it's fixed.

desoldering with patience will not spoil the pcb. just stick to the 3-second rule at all times; move to the next if the current one is not successful.

to prevent this from repeating, always test the switches with a hot-swap first, until they're ready to be soldered permanently. i usually do this, unless i use the same switch and mods before.

i don't think handphone repair shops have such a desoldering gun with pump. the chances are higher with those that repair larger electronics that have through-hole components imo.
I'm going to stubbornly try to get used to it for now. I'm also thinking it might be just too many firsts here, struggling to type because of the ortho layout and light springs.

But the occasional ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss as I rest my hand on the keyboard is definitely the springs. Lol.

I am constantly refining my keymap last few days, I don't even bother to close QMK any more.

Edit: well at least it's a very pretty board and sounds fantastic with EVA and PE foams.

This post has been edited by niakulah: Jun 30 2022, 12:16 PM
niakulah
post Jul 1 2022, 03:45 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

Well...after 4 days at work, I am making less and less mistakes on this board. The light springs are still a problem, but bearable. Some habits need to change. I'm getting decent typing speed already.

And after 4 days of refinement, this is the keymap I've managed to come up with to survive this change. Hardcore fullsize fan going from 110 keys and 1 encoder to just 68 keys and 1 encoder.
niakulah
post Jul 11 2022, 11:28 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

Since this was a brave new world, I decided to give Cherry-profile another chance. Popped on my DMG clones and it was....not bad.

A few more things after a second week of using this new keeb:

1. I tried my old ikbc with 67g Cherry MX Browns and I feel it is heavy! Oh how humans can adapt to new things

2. These are the best stabs I have ever used bar none. And yet...with these smooth linears, stabilized keys sometimes feel tactile. I guess you can say less than perfect stabs are much much less forgiving for linear users. Coming from tactiles, I am surprisingly annoyed by the feel, when compared to the rest of the board.

3. RGB without any sort of diffusion is effing useless. Can't be seen in anything but the darkest conditions.
niakulah
post Jul 14 2022, 11:41 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

Will put this up for sale on mechmarket soon.

PM me if anyone interested. For LYN only, RM670 which is slightly lower than my cost. Knob not included.

Keebio fold KB with FR4 plates.
Gazzew LT 55g
TX/C3 frankenstabs

This post has been edited by niakulah: Jul 14 2022, 11:43 AM
niakulah
post Jul 22 2022, 08:59 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jul 14 2022, 11:41 AM)
Will put this up for sale on mechmarket soon.

PM me if anyone interested. For LYN only, RM670 which is slightly lower than my cost. Knob not included.

Keebio fold KB with FR4 plates.
Gazzew LT 55g
TX/C3 frankenstabs

I think there's a very low chance that I'll be able to sell this. So desoldering is probably in my future.

One thing that I have noticed before, most of the time when I don't get a clean desolder, it is because I have solder stuck down the hole with the pin and even on the other side of the PCB beneath the switch.

Is this just because my desoldering skills suck? Or I need a better pump? I have typically used a Pro's Kit pump (the big and long blue and yellow one that you can't prime with just your thumb, very strong when new) I get from my local store. I have ordered a Goot in anticipation of not being able to sell this board.

Could it be I am feeding in too much solder when soldering it in, causing it to flow down and to the other side? Or does that not matter, a good pump should suck it all out?
niakulah
post Jul 23 2022, 07:33 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 22 2022, 11:53 AM)
uh? how come? there are more users with split boards at mymkb.
Hmmm. You mean discord? Didn't post there. Reading up on the format now. Need to take a Timestamp.

I already posted on r/mm

Edit: posted on both MYMKB and Keebmunity discord servers. Still not all that hopeful. A split ortho is pretty niche.

This post has been edited by niakulah: Jul 23 2022, 12:51 PM
niakulah
post Jul 23 2022, 09:28 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 23 2022, 09:22 PM)
i meant fb/mechmarket. .. and discord also; you just reminded me haha

yeah split builds are niche, but i think there are always those who are interested in them. it's a good build, with good parts.
Ah ok. I hate FB. I only log in when I absolutely have to...and even then only on my PC in incognito mode.
niakulah
post Jul 28 2022, 05:43 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

Materials for my next case and plate are here. This one will be just under 2cm, about 4mm thinner than the last case I made.

Whether I desolder and reuse my existing PCB or buy a new one will depend on whether or not I manage to sell it.
niakulah
post Jul 29 2022, 07:04 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 29 2022, 06:19 PM)
or, you can still put them on sale, and get new pcbs for the next project.

i only get boards with layouts that i can use to work rightaway, in the form factors of 60/65/75. i stopped getting tkl for a long time already, because there are too many keys that i very seldom or never touch.
I could. That would certainly be the safer option. But if I don't manage to sell it I'd be down RM700++. At least if I manage to sell (asking for 650 now btw) I'd cut down on my loss.

My plan now is to wait for all my purchases to come in (new T12 tips, desoldering pump, tip tinner), then declare last call. If no one makes an offer, I will desolder. Slowly.
niakulah
post Aug 1 2022, 02:05 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 1 2022, 01:28 PM)
about gazzew's long springs, it's kind of unique.

normal long springs are linear rated springs, hence you can expect heavier starting force, with flatter force curve during key travels towards bottom. it usually gives a sense of solidness when you rest your fingers on the keys, compared to normal linear rated springs with the same bottom-out weight. gazzew's long springs are different in that they have multiple zones. it's like progressive springs at both ends. while they still have a heavier starting force, they give a 'softer', non-linear force curve during key travels.

the kickback force is ok.

in reality, i think not many can spot the differences, except for the part that gazzew's long springs are 'softer' during key travels.
demmit

I was going to go for TX long 65g to switch out the gazzew 55g that I found a bit light

Now I don't know if I'll still like it as much since the characteristics are different

Or hope I get a buyer for my built board and buy brand new Gazzew LT with 65g. But way longer wait times for PCB and all other components.

Arrgggh.. decisions decisions
niakulah
post Aug 1 2022, 04:51 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 1 2022, 04:05 PM)
pening :/

these days getting custom springs are not the same as before. there are new spring types, some of which, like gazzew's, combine different types to become one, so as to produce different feels. hence it's better to understand basic types first (including standard linear rated, long, multi-stage, progressive, complex), and then adjust bottom-out spring weights accordingly for yourself.

there are also differences in spring material, spring diameter, wire thickness, and length, and each vendor has their own formulas for different spring types. the good news is that characteristics about basic types are still the same, so you can make informed justifications during spring selection based on those characteristics.

tbh, now you cannot judge if a custom switch is heavy just by bottom-out spring weight only, because some of them include special springs too. for instance, jwk epsilon's stock spring weight is 68g. it sounds heavy, but the stock spring is a 2-stage progressive lol
Just remembered I have a pack of unused Thic Thock Shogoki switches. I could harvest the 65g DL springs from them. Some money saved there.

Just curious, I think you mentioned you also use T12 soldering iron. Do you go for original Hakko tips? I'm currently using KSGER, and the new tips I ordered are also from KSGER. But I just remembered reading somewhere it's worthwhile buying Hakko tips to use in cheapo Chinese soldering stations.
niakulah
post Aug 3 2022, 12:28 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

New tips are here. Started desoldering last night. Got so excited forgot all about my plan to do last call for sales.

Got about 8 switches out. Spoiled 1. bangwall.gif Accidentally touched the switch housing with the iron. It's slow moving. And not clean. Using a combination of pump and wick, whatever works best for any given hole. I don't know is it my Mechanic solder is old or the flux is weak or what, but after the initial suck, I really need to use some form of extra flux otherwise it doesn't really melt properly. It melts to become more like a powdery paste than liquid solder. I'm pretty sure my tip temp is OK coz I can melt new solder. I've just ordered some liquid flux, will see if that helps

QUOTE(niakulah @ Jul 11 2022, 11:28 AM)
These are the best stabs I have ever used bar none. And yet...with these smooth linears, stabilized keys sometimes feel tactile. I guess you can say less than perfect stabs are much much less forgiving for linear users. Coming from tactiles, I am surprisingly annoyed by the feel, when compared to the rest of the board.
About this. I read this recently:
https://www.keebsnstuff.com/blog/stabiliser...in-depth-review
He mentioned this:
" Testing the Staebies and TXs side by side, the interaction of these two stabs with slight oddities such as a warped spacebar, misaligned switch or just slightly crooked wire led to tangible and at times, audible friction. This is the caveat of these very fine tolerances, they are not nearly as forgiving as the other stabs in this review"

I think this is probably what I experienced. It is mostly the full size right Shift that I am hitting with my pinky. I hit it at an odd angle and with significant force. This is also the reason why I am determined to rebuild my FoldKB. I hate me Sinc's (and practically all 75% boards) 1.75U right shift. At the angle and force I'm hitting it, this unstablilized key just sounds annoying. The full size right Shift sounds so much better. Silver lining, I get the rebuild it with C3s which have slightly looser tolerances than TX/Staebies. Lol I remember when people complained that C3 tolerances were too tight. They fixed that in the V2 and V3. Not sure if TX/Staebies will take a similar direction.
niakulah
post Aug 3 2022, 01:29 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 3 2022, 01:01 PM)
ayoyo :/

about tip size, i use 2.4d. i didn't try below that because i thought they might not be able to supply sufficient heat to melt the joints during desoldering. (for my gj907 soldering iron, it's the stock 3.2d)

yes i believe staebies and tx have relatively tighter tolerance. it's a good thing in general, as an option. for builds that need looser tolerance, we can still use everglide v2/c3.

personally for pcb-mount stabilizers, i don't like clip-in. it can be a potential problem if you have keycaps with tight stem holes, and you're not patient enough. (i just pulled out the tx stabs for backspace last night, when i swapped the key set hehe)

edit: also, don't do soldering/desoldering at night lah; shits usually will happen.
Oh ok. Before this I was using the needle type which was even smaller. I went as big as I dared, as I know I tend to hit other stuff, like the switch housing I partially melted last night...

Wow you pulled out the TX stabs? Were you using the stopper?

niakulah
post Aug 4 2022, 04:20 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 4 2022, 03:39 PM)
Mechanical keyboards are like whole different world.
Thought of buying Logitech but end up reading people say it's bad quality.

Then saw keyboards like Cooler Master top sale in Lazada.. is it good? or go for CK530 with 200 dollar price?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/cooler-m....408768b3h0uvWu

or minimum need fork out RM300-500 range for brands like keychron, Leopold, varmilo, ducky? (Someone recommend me in Reddit) Can't afford le so expensive. Budget 200 good mechanical keyboard for gaming + general typing dont have?
Tecware?
https://shopee.com.my/product/59277182/7809...17-1659601124.9

Another good brand I'd recommend is IKBC, but over your budget.
niakulah
post Aug 7 2022, 10:55 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

Ta da! One half done. No lifted pads. Just the 1 switch casualty I mentioned before.

The Flux really helped. Thanks to Shopee for getting it here early.

Transferred some into that needle tipped bottle for easy application.

Unfortunately I've just about run out of wick. I might just try to use just the sucker on the other half tonight and wick up the balance when I manage to get some more. Hopefully Shopee can pull off another miracle.
niakulah
post Aug 17 2022, 05:20 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

PSA - zfrontier just did a huge inventory (extras) release.
https://en.zfrontier.com/collections/invent...ase-august-2022

Highlights (to me) are
KAT Atlantis
KAT Hyperfuse
GMK Thinkcaps
GMK Serika
niakulah
post Aug 18 2022, 08:04 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Aug 18 2022, 04:24 AM)
Use promo code 20USDOFF at checkout to get 20USD off for your first order over 120USD from the August 2022 Inventory Release Collection! Offer expires on Aug 31.
Yeah....when I placed my order, the promo code was live but they didn't say there was a 120 minimum. I was too scared the things I wanted would run out of stock so I just placed my order first, then emailed them to ask why the code didn't work. After that they replied to me there was a 120 minimum, and soon after my email they added the minimum to the text on the product pages.
niakulah
post Aug 19 2022, 12:27 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 19 2022, 12:24 PM)
maybe you can ask them to cancel your order, then place a new order and add something else to qualify.
Yeah I thought about that too. But they too efficient already ship. I think they're scared I would ask for that. Lol.

Edit. Just checked my email. 2 minutes in between their response to my question and receiving the shipping notification. Lol

This post has been edited by niakulah: Aug 19 2022, 01:57 PM
niakulah
post Aug 19 2022, 11:47 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

Anyone have any experience sanding box stems? Or any stems for that matter? I'm trying to reduce this height difference.

My concern is that the stem will mushroom and make it difficult to install and/or break keycaps.

16 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.1555sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:39 AM