[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

niakulah
post Dec 29 2021, 04:37 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Waliuuu @ Dec 29 2021, 03:01 PM)
Hi sifus, I'm currently using a hot swappable 3pin outemu box red Wireless Mech KB. But unfortunately the switches are crap. Can't even last.. From time to time the switches get sticky and unresponsive. Kinda tired of this switch and worried even if buy new to replace also same case. Been looking for alternatives like Gateron's, Kailh's but their pins are thick, couldn't fit into the stock socket in my KB.

Anyone knows if there are any other similar switches that has the same connectors as Outemu's?
As Krayden mentioned, Bobas fit. All of Gazzew's switches are made by Outemu so they share the same pins.
niakulah
post Jan 16 2022, 09:54 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 15 2022, 09:30 PM)
in terms of key layouts, it depends on individual typing habits, the will and time to adapt imo.
When you have neither, you have to go full size.

https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboard...ce_on_this_sub/
niakulah
post Jan 25 2022, 09:29 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Jan 25 2022, 08:39 PM)
Just finished a "budget" Keychron Q1 Knob version build.
Went with a blue on blue color scheme:

- Keychron Q1 Navy Blue Barebone ANSI
- Akko Macaw Doubleshot PBT keycaps
- Gazzew Bobba U4 silents (tactility without the thock)
- completely stock, no mods or lubing whatsoever
Short initial review from a non enthusiast:
- Really liking the build quality so far. This thing is heavy! The anodized finish is also good.
- aviator style cable not included only a straight usbc to usbc one (with a usb-a adapter). ( I consider this a plus as I am not a fan of the coiled cable look.)
- the stock stabs are really good enough. Zero rattling and really consistent, then again I am coming from a basic WASDKeyboard.
- really nice type feel. ( this may be due to the switches I used. It feels really solid with very little play coming from cherry brown switches)
- the cutouts for the keys feels a little too wide maybe to accommodate different keycap styles.

Total damage < USD $300

Sorry no pics atm - potato F3 camera.
Yummmmmm. Macaw on navy...using imagination since no pics.
niakulah
post Feb 7 2022, 12:04 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Feb 7 2022, 11:39 AM)
Durian pewter keycap o-O;
https://www.lowyat.net/2022/264956/rebult-r...-pewter-keycap/

RM359 each  shocking.gif

i think you can probly get a cheap mkb using the same amount.

but if you're rich and got money to splurge, then that's a different story  sweat.gif
Should have made it in Civet KAT King profile.
niakulah
post Mar 2 2022, 11:12 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

Crazy long review of the upcoming Holy Panda X switches from the goat himself.
https://www.theremingoat.com/blog/holy-panda-x-switch-review
niakulah
post Mar 7 2022, 06:03 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 7 2022, 04:50 PM)
Yup, that's one of the option. Another is K4. There is wired mode. Not having 2.4Ghz is not that bad.
Keychron Q5 (1800/CP) and Q6 (fullsize/100%) supposed to be launched soon. QMK support and knob option.
niakulah
post Mar 10 2022, 10:55 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Mar 7 2022, 10:17 PM)
I am also lookin for a wireless keyboard, so far based on recommendation here already check out keychron k8 or k4, only thing is some review saying might need a wrist rest to type comfortably. Any other brand can recommend?

Trying to find a filco  wireless but seems like nobody is selling
QUOTE(Coconut @ Mar 8 2022, 10:44 PM)
Anyone is using Akko or ikbc keyboard? How is it compare to Keychorn ?
I've tried a friend's Keychron K2. I don't feel it to be higher than other MKB. I think this might be a case of people keep repeating one reviewer's opinion until it became a "fact".

I've bought 2 IKBC full-sized wired MKBs. They are a good prebuilt option, especially after mods. Don't have any wireless MKBs.
niakulah
post Mar 12 2022, 08:26 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Mar 11 2022, 09:29 PM)
Any recommendation of other switches, on par with gateron yellow?
What is it about gat yellow that you like?

I'm not a linear fan, but I am a Gazzew fan lol, so I'd say bobagums.
niakulah
post Mar 12 2022, 09:29 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

The Goat just posted a new family photo. 1458 unique switches.

The next someone says there's only 3 switch options, slap them in the face with this.

This post has been edited by niakulah: Mar 12 2022, 09:31 AM
niakulah
post Mar 15 2022, 10:33 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Mar 15 2022, 09:31 AM)
who want some boba u4t 62g got stock at pantheonkeys
Thanks so much! They restocked LT too. I'm getting some. My first linear purchase.
niakulah
post Mar 15 2022, 04:54 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Mar 15 2022, 04:50 PM)
buy buy buy!! if no buy rugi lol
Dammit I ter-buy. And ter-buy some PCB and plate as well since I've ordered the switches. Lol.
niakulah
post Mar 16 2022, 01:40 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Kaya Butter Toast @ Mar 16 2022, 01:04 PM)
anyone notice that the gray and blue, the knob colors does not match the case?

is there a way to change this.... so damn annoying.
Yes. Buy a brass knob. Lol.
niakulah
post Mar 17 2022, 05:35 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Mar 16 2022, 04:44 PM)
going down the rabbit hole

why is south facing PCB so impt? I see only 1 benefit is of Cherry profile keycaps compatibility.
Manufacturers can remove RGB from PCB and save $ since most user wanting the south facing layout not using the RGB feature?
Horns already gave a good detailed answer, but I just wanted to add on that the interference is with the housing of the switch and Cherry profile keycaps. So the interference will be present regardless of whether or not there are LEDs installed. I seem to recall reading about a new switch housing design released recently that solves this, but I can't find it now.

Oh and for the rare instances that good keycap manufacturers like GMK make keycaps with LED windows, they cater to south facing. See this lovely pic with GMK DMG
https://www.reddit.com/r/CustomKeyboards/co...65with_gmk_dmg/
niakulah
post Mar 22 2022, 12:09 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Mar 22 2022, 11:53 AM)
well the switch cant fit permanently it will come off if u pull a bit on the keycaps  rclxub.gif  but then if i use others switch that i have with me it wont come off easy  sweat.gif
i have tried with boba, panda, emerald and even my frankenswitch  whistling.gif
Have you tried other Harimau switches on that same spot? Maybe the one you tried, the part that clips into the plate has broken/worn? It could be the plate though, in which case, probably keep using your different switch.

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Mar 22 2022, 11:53 AM)
another thing about this keebs is most of the keys are south facing except for the numeric is north facing ..not sure why also
shocking.gif I thought you were joking but no...

This post has been edited by niakulah: Mar 22 2022, 12:09 PM
niakulah
post Mar 28 2022, 05:10 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Mar 28 2022, 05:09 PM)
wow ... you will forget about that already ...then surprise hahaha
Every day I am dreaming of the arrival of my KAT Atlantis. cry.gif

niakulah
post Mar 30 2022, 11:58 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Mar 29 2022, 11:27 PM)
Atlantis should be shipping soon right? Still waiting for my KAT Space Dust  cry.gif
In January, Keyreative said Atlantis is estimated to finish production Feb/Mar 2022....no updates since then.
niakulah
post Mar 30 2022, 07:53 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 30 2022, 12:39 PM)
since China has a serious lockdown that are still on-going, i think this is expected. some stuff from my previous batch at taobao are still not deliverable.
It's keyreative being keyreative. Initial ship date was October 2020. There have been at least 2 rounds of refund offers from vendors to buyers who want to cancel. Second refund offer came when they switched to double shot without first informing the designer...
niakulah
post Mar 31 2022, 09:54 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 31 2022, 11:01 AM)
right, if you liked it just go ahead. new sets are cheaper, because after-market price are usually targeted to collectors.
oh what's the original printing technology? double-shot and triple-shot are relatively better imo.

for printing technologies, i stick to double/triple-shot and dye-sub only. however, dye-sub is vulnerable to physical scratches by hard objects. just be careful when dye-sub key caps are used, especially when you pull them out of drawers. i have a set of cheapo multi-side thick dye-sub set that i like. few key caps were scratched when i didn't pay attention enough haha (the set is cheap, but it's unobtainable now)

in terms of typing feel, especially when you're used to touch typing, there are plenty of good but cheap cherry-profile alternatives. they might not be pretty, but their physical characteristics are ok to make good typing feels. (cheap sets have their own issues like increased chance of warped keys; overly tight/loosed stem holes; etc. however, most of the times, these issues are fixable, and don't affect usage)
KAT Atlantis was initially supposed to be dye sub. Doubleshot samples look good though.
https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0238/7342..._Samples_v3.pdf

I tried to like Cherry profile. I daily drove a DMG clone set for a few weeks, went back to KAT. If only keyreative wasn't such a shit show.

This post has been edited by niakulah: Mar 31 2022, 09:54 PM
niakulah
post Apr 1 2022, 06:59 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 1 2022, 12:17 AM)
from the look of samples, i think it's a good choice that they decided to switch to double-shot. as i suspected, such a colorway requires multi-side dye-sub, which is less optimal due to the potential risks of being scratched.

just pick the best profile for your own comforts. i stick to cherry profile because it's the most comfortable profile for me.
Yes that is what I'm doing. But life would be so much easier if I liked Cherry profile lol
niakulah
post Apr 1 2022, 10:00 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 1 2022, 09:38 AM)
yeah haha

i'm curious, but what do you not like about cherry profile key cap sets?
Biggest complaint is it is too low. Sound-wise it also loses out to KAT. I love my thock, and so far nothing beats KAT on thockiness. Profiles I've tried for more than a few weeks are KAT, Cherry, ASA (Akko), OEM. Short term I've tried Domikey SA.

16 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.1294sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:16 AM