[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

irsyadfy
post Sep 14 2020, 12:34 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 14 2020, 12:22 PM)
If you never encounter an enthusiast's custom tuned keyboard, you could buy anything other than "budget" brands and be perfectly happy with it. Ignorance is bliss as they say.
hence a meetup is good for this occasion.
thou im still a pleb in this hobby, im lucky enough to join a meetup in 2018(iinm) held in pj. there was i sucked into this hobby badddd. tried typing on a (i dont remember what board was it(i think it was a KBD75 v1?)) and the feels mannn.
well that was the time i do office job so spent most of my day typing and to have that hhhnnngghhh feels when typing is just hhnngghhh.

so few hundreds and ah longs later, im still a pleb but enjoying keyboards more.
still cant explain to ppl why a keyboard cost hundreds.

but at the end of the day, depends on ppl wanna join meetup o not. whistling.gif

sekian

This post has been edited by irsyadfy: Sep 14 2020, 12:36 PM
irsyadfy
post Sep 23 2020, 06:18 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(slack3r @ Sep 23 2020, 04:48 PM)
2nd hand market or order online I guess
didnt notice u sold off all ur keebs bye.gif
irsyadfy
post Sep 24 2020, 01:16 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(slack3r @ Sep 24 2020, 03:58 AM)
Yep selling off another one. Figured I am just wasting money and best to use the fund for something more useful like stocks lol
good point
and here i am still wasting money on hobbies. whistling.gif
irsyadfy
post Sep 24 2020, 11:28 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Sep 24 2020, 04:00 PM)
is RAMA WORKS U80-A SEQ2 worth for endgame keyboard?

#justasking
endgame exist?

#justasking
irsyadfy
post Sep 29 2020, 01:16 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 28 2020, 05:40 PM)
i spent on 3 mkbs before i called it quits. My main driver MKB is still solid up to today  nod.gif  doubleshot and dye sublimated keycaps still clear as the day i bought them. No new replacement required.

My only experience with led lighting was back when i use a Logitech G15, but even then the lighting was subpar compared to whats available these days. If i bought a new MKB, i'd probly try a doubleshot mkb with led lighting. There quite a lot of choices for this now  thumbup.gif
well most of my keebs are just used and bought fairly cheap. just to have fun trying diff keebs. and just like u, my 1st mkb i bought is still going strong at my mom's home pc which is use by whole family.

but after all the purchase, i can agree that spending on one(or more) damn good kibod is better than buying a lot off the shelves boards even for cheap. it all depends on how into kibod a person is. for me, i just like to collect antiques.
afterall, its a hobby and hobby demands money.
irsyadfy
post Oct 4 2020, 09:42 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Oct 4 2020, 04:02 PM)
ok, thanks. might go for brown then.
I am currently using my CD108 w brows.
comparing to my reds(other branded keebs, but both are using cherrymx), u dont really feel the tactile feedback on browns. it is there, but barely.

but as always, switches are a personal preferences.

hope u enjoy ur new board.
irsyadfy
post Oct 5 2020, 11:21 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 5 2020, 03:02 PM)
i have done comparisons before, with cherry mx red/black/silent red that i obtained from taobao. these stock switches are scratchy. they're just like any other cherry mx, but nothing like the ones on leopold/filco/varmilo boards.

yes, i believe they are stock. however i suspect that they have gone through additional processes at maybe cherry's factory. the feel is just different.
this is something new for me too. never know this.

must resist myself to buy a leopold whistling.gif
irsyadfy
post Oct 6 2020, 10:47 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 5 2020, 11:54 PM)
yes, somehow cherry mx on filco/varmilo/leopold are smoother, compared to stock switches found at taobao, relatively speaking.

after tuned it's a different story.
well after tuned, everything is a diff story. thumbsup.gif

well just like u said, to jaga standard, those brands u mention might done something to the switch so they be better than others.
irsyadfy
post Oct 7 2020, 11:00 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(imacsplayer @ Oct 7 2020, 02:04 PM)
Any1 can suggest me a small keyboard with arrow keys? Not interested in blue switches.. Maybe red or brown or some stuff liddat hahaha im new at this.. If any1 selling also can lemme know my budget is below 300 thanks guys
try google this layouts. which one do u prefer.
Tenkeyless(TKL) and 64% keyboard.
irsyadfy
post Oct 9 2020, 08:37 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 9 2020, 03:48 PM)
Currently I'm on a IKBC CD108 with Cherry MX Brown switches - I found out that MX Browns are not that tactile to say the least (it feels more like a Red switch) hmm.gif

Are there any switch that feels more tactile? hmm.gif
from off the shelf board, not much u can choose from except if u find cherry mx clear. yet again, clear uses heavier switch which u may or may not like.

if aftermarket switch, there is a lot to choose from depending on ur budget for switches.
irsyadfy
post Oct 12 2020, 01:20 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 12 2020, 11:46 AM)
this is the latest edition of epbt double-shot abs, black gold (黑金), https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=629464287944

it's a mid-tier set imo; cherry profile; 153 keys, which supports 2u-left shift/1u-right shift; double-shot abs (hence with higher-pitch bottom-out sound); bottom thickness is 1.1mm.

looking nice since its support Minila. grrrr
irsyadfy
post Oct 26 2020, 02:10 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Oct 25 2020, 10:33 PM)
Drop keyboards have double keypress and poor stab issues. And the magnet feet slips off if you move the kb around. But pretty lah.
I feel better build your own with kbdfans stuff.
I got a few pre orders coming next year. Have to tell myself to stop buying kits and keycaps. Research properly, build one and stop. No one needs more than one kb per pc.
PC dont need more than one keyboard.
we need more. whistling.gif
irsyadfy
post Oct 26 2020, 02:31 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Oct 26 2020, 02:20 AM)
Thats how I end up having 6kb and 3 more otw for 2PC and a notebook. Wasting money only. But the last one I 'built' /modded was very satisfying.
i have 1 pc n also a few kb's. using it depends on what im doing. currently on fullsize now.
but mine all cheap2 ones only.
have tried fully built keebs b4 n indeed they are much better than off the shelf board.

irsyadfy
post Oct 26 2020, 04:13 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Oct 26 2020, 11:24 AM)
Wow that plate looks dodgy as heck. And some of the pics show the diodes are so close to the switch pins, really need to be mindful about it when soldering.

Interesting shop though. It has a full alu 100%, integrated plate, Kailh hotswap, SMD RGB, plate mounted stabs.
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....id=583494774730

Again, questionable quality though. The last pic with the numpad shows at least 2 badly aligned switches. The 2U Zero/Insert is super obvious.
u have superman eyes mannn.

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 26 2020, 01:25 PM)
TopreTactile is not my cup of tea. i prefer mx stylelinear switches more.
corrected whistling.gif
irsyadfy
post Oct 26 2020, 06:58 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Oct 26 2020, 05:11 PM)
Serious ah. Super obvious.
[attachmentid=10654096]
super obvious when u mention it. not when i first look at it. but mebbe i pon sekali tgk jeerrr. whistling.gif

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 26 2020, 05:52 PM)
until today, it's still considered as the better tactile switch, compared to mx style tactile switches, for reasons that i still cannot comprehend. however, there is one thing that i really agree: their stabilizer implementations are damn good. they are even better after tuned.
i agree to this. once i had my hand on a stock topre, the bounciness and tactileness of the topre. hnngghhh. cant imagine after tuning. hnnggghhhhx2 mebbe.
but i read someone here said that downside of topre is less customization + astronomical pricing.
but the feels, hnngghhhh. cant get it elsewhere mannn.
irsyadfy
post Nov 5 2020, 08:37 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Nov 5 2020, 02:43 PM)
Holy sheeeeet!

[attachmentid=10667830]

CNC alu case
Gasket mount alu plate with brass and possibly polycarb option.
Screw in stabs
Rotary encoder
QMK/VIA
Hotswap 5-pin
Per key RGB
USB C
Case foam

From USD 170!!!!!!
pancuted
irsyadfy
post Nov 11 2020, 04:09 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Nov 11 2020, 03:51 PM)
i bought mine from taobao, 2-liter capacity.

being curious,
any diff using ultrasonic cleaner n not using it?
whats the function of this anyway?
irsyadfy
post Nov 23 2020, 07:36 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Nov 23 2020, 07:23 PM)
Hi all. Newbie here. Just sharing recent purchase  smile.gif

Filco Majestouch Ninja
hhhnnnggghhh
irsyadfy
post Nov 23 2020, 10:01 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Nov 23 2020, 09:27 PM)
Dont hngghhh, u oso have filco mj2 + many other.  laugh.gif
i see Filco, i otomatik hnngghh ! biggrin.gif
irsyadfy
post Dec 10 2020, 11:21 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 10 2020, 01:21 PM)
oh it's a split build. it looks nice indeed smile.gif

right, c3 stabs are ok tbh. but when you're like me, frequently swapping caps, you might wanna consider this, just in case.

unlike plate-mount stabs, fixing pcb-mount stabs are pita for soldered builds. gmk, epbt/kbdfans, etc., all are the same. it's a wear-and-tear kind of situation.
why is this? because pcb-mount needs to desolder all the switch for tuning?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1094sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:09 AM