[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

niakulah
post Aug 15 2021, 04:23 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ Aug 15 2021, 02:54 PM)
The problem is actually with the case design, its too soft. bottom part is actually alright, just the middle frame is too soft and flimsy.
Have you built any other stacked acrylic cases before? The middle parts are generally quite fragile. It isn't normally a problem once it is built and sandwiched between layers.

IMO to get a good sound from a stacked acrylic case, you need a hollow cavity of at least 3mm between PCB and bottom sheet.
niakulah
post Aug 15 2021, 07:36 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 15 2021, 04:27 PM)
they are unique, thick abs with triple-shot at retail, so i must check them out lol

for this set, the colorway is really off. i'm fine with it because the sound and feel are ok haha

i hope they make more based on the existing colorways of their sa sets.
You got it from kprepublic.com or taobao or somewhere else? Definitely not Ali at that speed.
niakulah
post Aug 19 2021, 11:30 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

New project. Make a numpad to match my main keyboard. Raw materials all here.

Just need to do some prototyping in cardboard first before cutting my acrylic sheets.
niakulah
post Aug 20 2021, 11:10 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Aug 19 2021, 03:33 PM)
subscribed
Kejap kejap, tunggu aku buat OnlyFans
niakulah
post Aug 24 2021, 03:20 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Aug 24 2021, 02:01 PM)
tecware boards could be the starting point, since they are relatively affordable and they are crappy at stock.
I understand what you are saying but couldn't help but LOL
niakulah
post Aug 24 2021, 05:17 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(cryonic @ Aug 24 2021, 04:03 PM)
Thank you Mecha Sifus for all advice. Built my own keeb using rojak keecaps, alpaca, fr plate, bamboo case, nothing extraordinary.

Now i must stop... else bankrap.
Very nice. Always so jealous of the choices you have for 60/65% boards. I can't live with such tiny boards. My current setup has 114 keys plus 1 rotary encoder!
niakulah
post Aug 24 2021, 05:20 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(Dusple @ Aug 24 2021, 04:28 PM)
Personally if can I will suggest you go for phantom elite since it use kailh or gateron which is a better alternative for the normal version tecware phantom since it use outemu switches
Outemu switch is really really budget and the quality is just ok nia but phantom elite is like around rm250 something which is above your budget already
Just wanted to highlight that Gazzew switches are awesome "enthusiast-grade" switches which are made by Outemu and can be used in the cheaper Tecware boards.
niakulah
post Aug 26 2021, 09:28 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(Dusple @ Aug 26 2021, 05:56 PM)
Only 228 sounds after cashback sounds really tempting tbh,
+1

It could be a lot of firsts for me. First 65%. First wireless. First linear. First hotswap.

Seriously tempted.
niakulah
post Aug 26 2021, 10:54 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Aug 26 2021, 09:57 PM)
first to do giveaway here.

thanks.
I can giveaway some Krytox 105. Made it myself. Production increases when I see or smell yummy food. Want or not?
niakulah
post Aug 27 2021, 08:38 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 27 2021, 02:25 PM)
New Akko Midnight finally arrived from Chaiina.

Not sure which board to put this on yet. Was originally thinking of putting this on the Keychron but there's so many extra keycaps just sitting there doing nothing hmm.gif The packaging and the box it came in are so good. Surprised they went through all this for a relatively cheap keycap set but then again this isn't a 2 year GB  whistling.gif Only took two weeks to arrive. You can pay around the same price for a "cloned" GMK set and they still ship it in some cheap plastic tray versus this 3 layered package with a nice hard pvc case with indents inside to lock the keycaps in so they don't flop around (other than the spacebars in that pic  rolleyes.gif) or get damaged. Would definitely buy again thumbup.gif
Just realised some of their ASA sets are very generous with extra keys.

The ASA Macaw comes with practically a full set of teal accent mods.

And their ASA Wave comes with a full set of green accent alphas.

If you buy both, you'd have enough keys to fill 3 full size boards!
niakulah
post Aug 29 2021, 02:02 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 29 2021, 01:20 PM)
Hi guys, anyone here done the holee mod with good results?

Mine became mushy, some say might take time to break in, but i wonder if i did anything wrong instead. Plus it's still rattly.
I'm happy with my holee mod on Equalz C3 stabs. Is it mushy, maybe a little bit. Not too sure though since I've never used them unmodded.
niakulah
post Aug 29 2021, 04:01 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 29 2021, 01:58 PM)
Thinking of ordering Boba U4Ts next month to test them out hmm.gif Anyone have any experience using those?
My 2 cents on Boba U4T. Love them.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4979329/+1300#
niakulah
post Aug 30 2021, 01:26 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 30 2021, 01:15 PM)
I've removed the bandaid and only reapplied lube, just to get a baseline feel before i attempt further mod. So far no more mushiness. I guess my bandaid was too thick.
Forgot to mention, I use cloth tape.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4979329/+1120#
niakulah
post Aug 30 2021, 02:57 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 30 2021, 02:30 PM)
This is to be inserted in the stab housing?
Yup.

Edit, actual pic of what I did.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=99255021

This post has been edited by niakulah: Aug 30 2021, 03:03 PM
niakulah
post Aug 30 2021, 06:36 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 30 2021, 04:16 PM)
I noticed in one of the pics, the tape sticks out from one end of the hole. Did you trim it later or leave it like that?
It's still there! Lol. Tried to stick it but I guess I had gotten lube on it at some point.

niakulah
post Aug 30 2021, 07:52 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 30 2021, 06:57 PM)
It doesn't get in the way of the sliding movements of the stabs?
Not in any noticeable way. Video tutorials that came out after I built this keeb shows how you can tuck in the ends to the top hole. Just be careful not to get lube on it anywhere before doing this mod, otherwise the tape simply won't stick the the plastic.
niakulah
post Sep 1 2021, 07:26 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 31 2021, 11:41 PM)

1. Akko Mod 003 (I'm starting to fall in love with the 1800 layout and this is gasket mounted too!)

That's looks very interesting! Have you found any sound tests or reviews for this board?
niakulah
post Sep 1 2021, 10:33 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Sep 1 2021, 08:46 PM)
It hasn't been released yet so probably not. Both the Akko Mod 003 and 004 are still in the preorder phase. They release later this month. I'm like 70% favoring this over the others.
Looking hard at Keychron Q1 as well but I need the knob lol. GMMK would have been a sure buy if it wasn't for the recent QC issues.
I guess it's not like high profile GBs where prototypes are sent to influencers to review to drive up sales.
niakulah
post Sep 3 2021, 02:36 PM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Sep 1 2021, 10:41 PM)
can't find any videos on Akko MOD 003 but there are plenty videos of their first aluminum keyboard the MOD 001 -> https://www.bilibili.com/video/BV11f4y1t7aY...708237724131405
Sounds pretty good for a tray mount. Courtesy of the top and bottom foams I guess.

So now doing pre-order of CP/1800 form factor. 003 is gasket mount. 004 is tray mount for USD20 cheaper.
niakulah
post Sep 4 2021, 08:11 AM

Senior Artisan
1,276 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Sep 4 2021, 07:25 AM)
Oh right, the change the PCB thing to fit the knob. I mean even if you stopped to think about it, from a technical standpoint it makes no sense that the current slot for a switch would be compatible with a knob. It's why people were waiting for the Knob version. The GMMK Pro looks good primarily because of it.
For custom kits that have encoders, it's actually fairly common for the encoder spot on the PCB to support either encoder or switch. That means it has both sets of holes at the same spot.

The personal aesthetic issue I have is that the top of the case can look ugly if a round encoder is coming out of a square hole. Which is one of of reasons I designed and made my own custom case.

16 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0879sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:52 PM