16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

niakulah
post Dec 1 2020, 08:04 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Dec 1 2020, 06:43 PM)
Interested bro? laugh.gif but doesnt include shipping and possible customs tax yet. Im estimating shipping should be around rm60-80. Customs depend on luck. Last time i buy from drop didnt kena anything.
Well I don't have a TKL yet no no no. Spent too much already on keyboards this year.
niakulah
post Dec 4 2020, 04:13 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(taf89 @ Dec 4 2020, 03:23 PM)
can`t decide between GMK Yuri or GMK Serika 2. both are nice but my wallet only can afford 1 set  doh.gif
any input from my fellow friends here? thanks smile.gif
Between the 2 I'd go for Serika.

Same I can only afford 1 set. If I hadn't already joined a GB, right now I would probably go for KAM Superuser coming up in Feb or GMK Lazurite.
niakulah
post Dec 7 2020, 10:10 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Dec 5 2020, 12:29 AM)
Interesting layout. But the arrow and num keys are joined together with the rest of the keys. I wonder how's the typing experience like.

Archiss is another option, but im not sure worth the price to bring in from japan or not. Not many reviews and info.
Canonkeys posted a sneak peek of a new F-Rowless 1800 called the Balance:
https://www.twitch.tv/videos/823795777
My wallet hurts just looking at it

Oh and just FYI but the Epomaker there is a 96% which is a distinctly different layout from the 1800 you are looking for.

niakulah
post Dec 9 2020, 03:39 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 25 2020, 12:05 AM)

[attachmentid=10649912]

specifications:
- stabilizers: c3 equalz v2 stabilizers; lubed with home-brew krytox gpl 105/205 mix; band-aid mod on top inner section of stabilizer sliders/inserts;

Hey Horns. Is this the mod you did on the C3 Equalz V2?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmOSSqpHAws&feature=youtu.be

I did that mod on my Cherry plate mounts and I love it, but the C3 is significantly better quality in terms of fit IMO. Did you feel this mod was actually necessary with the C3 or you did it just because you felt like it?

I want to know before I lube my C3 as the tape doesn't stick well if there's already lube on the plastic.
niakulah
post Dec 9 2020, 08:33 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 9 2020, 08:21 PM)
yes, this is the mod. it's a precautionary mod to me, in case wire tips are still uneven after tuned.

right, always tape it first, then lube it.
Got it. Thanks.
niakulah
post Dec 10 2020, 12:08 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 9 2020, 08:21 PM)
it's a precautionary mod to me
I like this statement. I myself am not convinced the C3s need this treatment, so a precautionary mod indeed. I will probably do the same. Anyway, just realised I have a long time left to do it. My switches aren't even here yet.

Anyway, progress pics of my endgame. It actually looks like a keyboard case now lol. Still missing the plate, bottom cover and the 3 top layers that will make it a high profile case.

Ports just sliiiightly sticking out of the case edge. I'm just stubborn and want to have the bevel as thin as I can make it.
niakulah
post Dec 11 2020, 12:23 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 11 2020, 01:17 AM)
yes, unless the build is a plate-less.

it's not hard, but it's tedious. for builds with top plate and pcb-mount stabilizers, it's always better to make sure everything is ok first, before you start soldering switches.

it doesn't mean pcb-mount stabilizers are bad. it's just that more efforts are needed for plated builds in terms of maintenance and repairs.
Oh dang. I'm thinking if I should redesign my plates to allow stab removal now.

Nice to have but realistically would I ever need to remove my stabs? Rattly? I should have fixed that in the build process. Wire came out? Less likely to happen with C3 stabs, plus my 2nd layer plate actually sits on top of the wire which makes it almost impossible to pop out. Re-lube in X years? Well I'll probably want to relube the switches as well.

The only likely thing I can think off is accidental damage with liquid and food crumbs and the like. Something I have thus far avoided, so hopefully it's a non-issue.
niakulah
post Dec 12 2020, 10:12 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Ccw1998 @ Dec 12 2020, 08:04 PM)
I am new to mechanical keyboards. But I would like to find one with cherry red switches and my budget is RM400.

Any recommendations? And where can I get it?
This is a steal right now at RM423.28. You have less than 2 hours to get it. Lol.

RM489.00 -6% | Leopold FC900R Two Tone PD [Doubleshot PBT Mechanical Keyboard] CherryMx Red/Silent Red | https://s.lazada.com.my/s.c36kp
niakulah
post Dec 12 2020, 11:11 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Ccw1998 @ Dec 12 2020, 10:55 PM)
Thanks a lot for the info, I ady ordered it, will review my experience once I got it.
Dang. I should ask PC Byte for a commission.
niakulah
post Dec 13 2020, 07:57 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

I done lubing and modding my stabs yesterday. There really is a lack of photos of the Holee Bandaid mod out there so I thought I'd contribute mine.

And in a previous post I mentioned one of the layers of my plate blocks the stab wire from popping out. Some pics.

This is with just the last (3rd) plate that is meant to rest on the PCB.
And this is with the 2nd plate resting on the 3rd. Now part of the wire is covered.

niakulah
post Dec 21 2020, 09:14 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(cryonic @ Dec 21 2020, 08:51 AM)
Thank you Horns. Claimed Warranty for the faulty Ducky Mini Mecha, will be waiting for months now.

For anyone, i have questions for customizing kbd. If i want to put stabilizers on PCB, plates with small holes (meant for stabilizers on Plate) cannot be used?

I am thinking of getting this plate because i needed the split spacebars, i need more buttons on the lower area because i use JIS-type-interface and actually needed a MINILA type layout. (I want to minimized the gap holes in universal plate.)

LINK
Stab cutouts for plate mount stabs will also accommodate PCB mount stabs. They actually need slightly smaller holes than plate mount (they don't need the smaller rectangles that the plate mount stabs need for its clips.

The key consideration is whether or not the PCB supports PCB mount stabs.
niakulah
post Dec 21 2020, 02:07 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(cryonic @ Dec 21 2020, 08:51 AM)
Thank you Horns. Claimed Warranty for the faulty Ducky Mini Mecha, will be waiting for months now.

For anyone, i have questions for customizing kbd. If i want to put stabilizers on PCB, plates with small holes (meant for stabilizers on Plate) cannot be used?

I am thinking of getting this plate because i needed the split spacebars, i need more buttons on the lower area because i use JIS-type-interface and actually needed a MINILA type layout. (I want to minimized the gap holes in universal plate.)

LINK
Just to illustrate what I said earlier

The top cutout is your typical 2U-2.75U cutout for plate-mount stabs. The bottom cutout only supports PCB-mount stabs.

So you could use PCB-mount stabs with either type of cutout, but plate-mount stabs will only work with the first type.
niakulah
post Dec 23 2020, 09:21 AM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Dec 22 2020, 11:23 PM)
thanks for the clarification.
found a youtube video, and the thing i dreaded for is real.

the caps and switches are not hotswap type.
guess i have to get use to it, and save for a new one in the future.
Keycaps can be changed easily.

Switches still can be changed, requires a bit more determination. Or some money to pay someone else to do it...
niakulah
post Dec 23 2020, 04:49 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Dec 23 2020, 04:43 PM)
Hey guys, my friend has been looking for a Ducky Duck Shine 7 Full Keyboard Blue switch, but seems like market lacking stock. Tried C-Zone and Sun-Cycle. Do you guys know where we can possible get our hands on 1 ?

Choices would have been ample if he was ok with non RGB, but he wanted the blink blink, lol ...
Direct competitor of the Shine 7:
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/ikbc-mf1...wBoC_J4QAvD_BwE
niakulah
post Dec 23 2020, 11:51 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Dec 23 2020, 01:24 PM)
Yea. Red if i not mistaken. Mati mati thought red = powerful.
So the next kb if i wan the most tactile, i should be going for blue, rite?

Any recommendation for the following criteria?
:must be litted. White is fine. No need rgb.
Very/mostest tactile feedback. (i dont mind the noise)
Full anti ghosting. Heavy base. Full size kb.
Budget rm200 max. (or its too low for a kb like that?)
I'm somewhat curious that you would describe reds as mushy. Maybe what you are looking for is a heavier spring weight?

If you can't find a physical shop to try out different switches, get yourself a switch tester. A simple one like this will do:
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.c5Jpi

If you want to really dive into this rabbit hole, this one has a lot of the currently "in" switches:
MYR 83.30 3%OFF | Switch Tester for Mechanical Keyboard Switches for test
https://a.aliexpress.com/_m0juLJT
niakulah
post Dec 24 2020, 07:59 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 24 2020, 06:57 PM)
Excellent stuff as usual Horns 👏 .

I believe Durock is also them. So JWK==jwick==Everglide==Durock

I can't wait to try them. I'm waiting for a GB of recoloured Rara (tactiles) with 65g ThicThock springs. Due in Q1 2021.
niakulah
post Dec 28 2020, 01:33 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

Long promised tutorial is finally here! Excited to watch it later.
niakulah
post Dec 28 2020, 02:52 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Dec 28 2020, 01:56 PM)
That's a great tutorial. Clear macro shots where I could finally see wth they talking about. Now I have to buy a syringe. Should be starting a new build in a few days.
Yes the macro shots were awesome! Especially on where exactly we should be inserting the needle to inject extra lube if needed. And the fact that he did it with clear stabs helps a lot.

I've not needed to add lube so far, touch wood, but it is useful to know how.
niakulah
post Jan 1 2021, 02:20 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(Panda @ Jan 1 2021, 01:20 PM)
Tecware Malaysia announced new keyboard called Ignite on their official Facebook account

Not sure what switches will be using sweat.gif

https://www.facebook.com/tecwaremalaysia/ph...830009067054464

New keyboard or just a new bundle?
niakulah
post Jan 1 2021, 05:11 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(illuminarias @ Dec 30 2020, 01:16 PM)
hello smile.gif

Hello! Interesting flat-bottomed Alice case. Where is that from? Or you made it yourself?

16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0440sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:36 AM