31 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post Sep 17 2020, 05:07 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(roflfactor @ Sep 17 2020, 03:44 PM)
Hello, I bought some keycaps on Massdrop/Drop and the tracking says it already cleared customs. do i need to arrange for pos malaysia to send from custom place to my address? If so how to do it? Thanks
uh? just wait for it? normally you shouldn't do anything, and the courier will send it to your designated address.

horns
post Sep 18 2020, 10:13 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(saishu @ Sep 18 2020, 06:27 AM)
is there a custom foam mat for leopold fc750r?
nope. it's a commercial board. everything is already included in the package. however, you can still diy for both top plate + pcb, and pcb + bottom housing.

horns
post Sep 18 2020, 05:59 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 18 2020, 04:37 PM)
Eh? I thought Leopold all foamed up dy?
partially, especially the area between top plate and pcb. previously quovadis123 posted the details of a disassembled fc750r, https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=94630141

that's why the custom foam mod by ourselves are actually much more complete than leopold's.

i will start preparing for my next reference build soon, using leopold's sp-star grey, kelowna switch films, and 63.5g springs from everglide in terms of switches. sp-star grey is a good alternative to cherry mx linear.

horns
post Sep 21 2020, 01:53 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(saishu @ Sep 18 2020, 07:07 PM)
pretty much what he said, i wonder if there are any custom foam out there for leopold
there are plate foams made for specific models of tkl, e.g. those from mkultra.click, or kbdfans.com. if you really wanna try them out, you can. however imo the better option is to just get strips of EVA foam (3mm + 0.5mm, or 4mm) with single-sided adhesive, cut and stick them yourself.

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 18 2020, 10:14 PM)
Oh ok. Yes, my own foam mod was much more complete.
right. it's actually a practical and cheap mod if you do it yourself. i did get pre-cut plate foams also. to me, they make no obvious difference, besides looking clean. (which serves no functional purposes)

QUOTE(garlicpesto @ Sep 20 2020, 04:36 AM)
been using cheapo mech keyboard my whole life.. then upgraded to tecware  (red switch) then ducky one (blue switch).. gave both of them away.. now unsure to just stick with budget (RK71) or do better and consider leopold/filco etc.. sigh
first of all, mkb modding is not about price tag in many cases. it's mainly about tuning, with the right parts. it's already proven in meetups for many years and times, that with good tuning skills, cheapo boards feel nice too. (while still bound by physical limits)

if you just wanted to have a decent typing experience with commercial boards only, then you should opt for leopold, filco, and varmilo. if not, maybe you should consider hot-swap kits, or jump straight into custom kits, and learn how to solder/desolder.
horns
post Sep 22 2020, 10:10 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

kbdfans is a new vendor of their own switch films.

1. tx, https://txkeyboard.com/ (2 types of thickness, the usual 0.15mm and the new 0.125mm)
2. kebo, https://kebo.store/products/switch-films
3. deskey, https://deskeys.io/
4. thicc, https://maartenwut.com/product/thicc-films/
5. kelowna, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=620073366941 (thickness: its double-layer is 0.15mm)
6. kbdfans, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=627414114157 (thickness: 0.15mm)

the cheapest is from kelowna, and it's not bad.

horns
post Sep 22 2020, 10:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 22 2020, 11:47 AM)
First post material right here.
some also make their own by 3d-printing them hehe

QUOTE(leonc @ Sep 22 2020, 05:53 PM)
Ohh. I thought the switch and LED is together. Cause it seems like together when I remove the keycaps. Hahaha

The problem with the switch is that sometimes I press it doesn't register or it will register twice or more. Quite annoying.
QUOTE(silrave @ Sep 22 2020, 06:20 PM)
once i press one key, it auto come out double and triple
any ppl know how to solve it ?
G810
both sounded like key chattering. you can try blow compressed air into the affected switches (stuff like lens blower works also), and see if it helps: take off the cap, press the slider down, and then blow air into the switch. you should spam the switch for a while also.

usually air blowing trick should do the job well. if air blowing is not working, you can still desolder and tear the affected switch down, then clean it up, then put it back. or, you can just replace it with a good one.

if it's still not fixed, it might be something else at fault.

horns
post Sep 24 2020, 12:13 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(leonc @ Sep 23 2020, 09:05 PM)
Thank for the feedback bro. Any idea where can I purchase an original new Cherry MX brown switch? Stumbled upon a few shops in lazada but not sure if they're genuine.
i think you should ask this at mymkb fb group. i think there should be someone who have spares.

usually i get switches from taobao (kbdfans, ymdk, and other reputed shops). locally, it's keys.my, and from users at lyn, mymkb, and mechmarket.

QUOTE(slack3r @ Sep 24 2020, 03:58 AM)
Yep selling off another one. Figured I am just wasting money and best to use the fund for something more useful like stocks lol
this is actually a good and practical point smile.gif

horns
post Sep 30 2020, 08:58 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Sep 30 2020, 03:06 PM)
PSA - Cherry plate mount stabs in stock at ilumkb singapore
https://ilumkb.com/collections/stabs-lubes/...ount-stabilizer

1 'set' is only for TKL or smaller though. If you have a full size you'll need 2.
alternatively, you can try out the ones from gateron also, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=607713235146 (white), https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=596931635269 (black)

they are stock stabilizers for my z70ultra. after tuned, it's decent.
horns
post Oct 5 2020, 12:09 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Oct 4 2020, 02:04 PM)
Anyone using IKBC keyboards? Are they worth the money? Looking for a durable keyboard that can last 3 years or more.

Not interested in RGB, just want a good reasonable solid keyboard.
it's relatively solid. it's one of the better options for commercial board options.

QUOTE(dickson_dcs @ Oct 4 2020, 09:56 PM)
I was kinda hard to choose which color to go when purchasing FC660M, since its lack of RGB so I tend to go for white color for better visibility on keycap letter but worry it will get dirty easily. So end up getting the ash yellow color.

I choose red switch for this Leopold and really love its smoothness. Anyone know whether Leopold switches are pre-lubed?

I am aware of mecha sf but I can't wait that long as I really dun like to type on my ducky sf and need a replacement immediately. Hopefully mecha sf will be better on the typing experience.
key caps should be cleaned up from time to time.

not sure, but sometimes i really think they are pre-lubed; similar to cherry mx red on filco and varmilo.

horns
post Oct 5 2020, 03:02 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(dickson_dcs @ Oct 5 2020, 12:00 PM)
Can't find any info on the Internet but I did ask the sales person and is not pre-lubed. Will try to lube without desolder and see what is the outcome.
i have done comparisons before, with cherry mx red/black/silent red that i obtained from taobao. these stock switches are scratchy. they're just like any other cherry mx, but nothing like the ones on leopold/filco/varmilo boards.

yes, i believe they are stock. however i suspect that they have gone through additional processes at maybe cherry's factory. the feel is just different.

horns
post Oct 5 2020, 05:37 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(dickson_dcs @ Oct 5 2020, 05:14 PM)
Ya, exactly. The switches on Leopold way more better than those on my Ducky One 2 SF and Anne Pro 2. However I noticed the casing of the switches on Leopold are black color while my ducky and Anne Pro 2 are transparent. Not sure whether they are different or not.
they are different. leopold uses cherry mx with black nylon housing, while those on ducky one 2 sf and anne pro 2 are cherry mx rgb.

cherry mx with black nylon housing is always nicer haha

horns
post Oct 5 2020, 11:54 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Oct 5 2020, 11:21 PM)
this is something new for me too. never know this.

must resist myself to buy a leopold  whistling.gif
yes, somehow cherry mx on filco/varmilo/leopold are smoother, compared to stock switches found at taobao, relatively speaking.

after tuned it's a different story.

horns
post Oct 7 2020, 11:29 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(dickson_dcs @ Oct 6 2020, 02:51 PM)

Been using the method in the video and apply on my Ducky SF. The typing has been better but I am still not satisfied. Not using spray lube.
it's similar to spray lubing in terms of messiness created, and its effect is partial.

well, if you're comfortable with this, so be it.

QUOTE(Lurker @ Oct 6 2020, 03:27 PM)

Daiso memory foam wrist rest... just ngam for 60%
this one is hot in mymkb a while ago lol

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Oct 6 2020, 10:47 PM)
well after tuned, everything is a diff story.  thumbsup.gif

well just like u said, to jaga standard, those brands u mention might done something to the switch so they be better than others.
yes the differences are obvious. (even silent red on leopold is one of the kind smooth, different from the usual scratchy and mushy feel of typical silent red in nylon housing)

i'm sure stock switches in all commercial boards are genuine, and they are as scratchy as stock switches found at taobao. hence i believe additional steps are done to make the differences.

QUOTE(dickson_dcs @ Oct 7 2020, 10:05 AM)
While this method does not properly lube the spring but it does make a difference on my Ducky SF and improve typing feel. However it still not satisfied me therefore went for Leopold. I did considered to go for custom built with hot swap but the price is too high and out of my budget.
right, it will make a difference or two, but still incomplete. (for instance, the key to lube springs is at two ends) like the video said, probably 80%, which might be good enough to many, because it takes less time, and less risk on spoiling pcb in processes like desoldering.

also, while it might be ok for linear switches, it's not a good idea to do the same to other switch types.

horns
post Oct 11 2020, 12:36 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Oct 11 2020, 01:46 AM)
so, i just fucked up my keycaps.

used hot hair dryer on my keyboard to dry spill water and the keycap melted.

does anyone know where I can buy 1 whole set of keycaps?

Im currently using Corsair K70 red switch
you can find corsair's genuine key cap sets (black, white), thick double-shot pbt, at taobao, like this one, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=562014686345

alternatively, you can also find other compatible sets there too.

now you know how thin those stock caps are.

horns
post Oct 11 2020, 09:55 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Oct 11 2020, 04:04 PM)
Can i buy it locally?
a few years ago, limited sets were available locally. now, not sure.

horns
post Oct 12 2020, 12:02 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Oct 11 2020, 10:11 PM)
what about other keycaps?

do certain pc shop sell it?
yes, there are several sets that are compatible with corsair k70's non-standard layout. however they are available at taobao mainly.

the link that i shared with you above is where i got mine. they are genuine corsair sets, good-quality 1.5mm-thick double-shot pbt.

you can hardly find good key cap sets at local pc shops.
horns
post Oct 12 2020, 11:46 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

this is the latest edition of epbt double-shot abs, black gold (黑金), https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=629464287944

it's a mid-tier set imo; cherry profile; 153 keys, which supports 2u-left shift/1u-right shift; double-shot abs (hence with higher-pitch bottom-out sound); bottom thickness is 1.1mm.

edit: imo it's ok to have a thinner bottom wall thickness, as the top part of the caps is likely to have around 1.5mm. the typing feel is not much different from those with 1.5mm-thick walls. (there are differences, just not that obvious when you type)

This post has been edited by horns: Oct 12 2020, 01:35 PM
horns
post Oct 12 2020, 03:18 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Oct 12 2020, 01:20 PM)
looking nice since its support Minila. grrrr
yes. the whole epbt double-shot abs series supports minila.

QUOTE(niakulah @ Oct 12 2020, 01:24 PM)
Capitalising on the newly shipped Infinikey Hive GB I guess. Looks not bad.
infinikey hive looks better, and supports more layouts.
horns
post Oct 16 2020, 12:02 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Oct 16 2020, 12:59 AM)
Guys, I decided I have to quit this hobby unfortunately. And I have 2 keyboards to let go:

1. Durgod K320
2. Leopold FC980M

Feel free to PM me if interested to find out more.
I have a great time learning, not sure I will be back for more in future. Nevertheless Thank you .
wow you really sell them lol

both are good stuff

QUOTE(niakulah @ Oct 16 2020, 06:56 AM)
Moratorium over....no money. Otherwise I'd be interested in one or even both.

Quick Q. Do you find the quality of both comparable? Or is the Leopold noticeably better than the Durgod?
leopold wins biggrin.gif

horns
post Oct 23 2020, 09:42 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(joedpa82 @ Oct 20 2020, 03:37 PM)
Hi guys.

Trying to build a custom 104 mechanical keyboard for wife's work.

She types a lot.

Want to diy a 104 mechanical keyboard for her.

Can recommend case, pcb and such. Please provide link.

Switch would be outemu silent white. No need back light and such.

Budget around rm300.
for that budget, you can try this one, https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=536060210170

however, be warned that there are risks getting these budget kits.

31 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1109sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:41 PM