[V32] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

cruzzmz
post Apr 26 2022, 10:39 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

IMHO
Hobby is another way to put it in collecting keebs hahaha whistling.gif
well the think that i learn when starting this journey if i may share is ... i get the most basic and cheap keyboard which is RK and then try to get the best switch and keycaps that suits me.
As for me i like loud switch whistling.gif since i use this mainly at home while i am wfh for the pass 2 years.

Then start looking on either going from pcb mounted to gasket as this also need to experience the feel for me lah in order to get the most suitable for me hahaha. Not going to custom build yet but have done customization on switches sweat.gif

as mentioned earlier, it is more toward your own liking and to get the best you need to try
yes it will cost a lot of RM sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Apr 26 2022, 10:42 AM
cruzzmz
post Apr 26 2022, 01:53 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

a lot of good advices here smile.gif
as for me i like xda profile one since it is uniformed hahaha

next project wanna do a nasi lemak switch ... this time may venture to linear one hahaha whistling.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Apr 26 2022, 02:15 PM
cruzzmz
post Apr 26 2022, 03:36 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 26 2022, 03:32 PM)
xda profile, like dsa, are flat for me. however, they look nice haha

one of my favorites is this reference build with generic 60% plastic tray-mount case.

the case is warped, but fixed 'accidentally' with gasket-friction mounting hehe

it's not pretty, but its typing feel is nice (to me)
using O ring???
cruzzmz
post Apr 26 2022, 11:51 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 26 2022, 05:48 PM)
it's something like this.

it's a partial gasket friction mounting, because there are no cutout on pcb to prevent it from direct contact to the supporting extructions that are found around the internal of the case.

for now, dz60 flex-cut pcb has this kind of pre-cuts.

[attachmentid=11141793]
i see ... i tried emulating gasket with the screw o ring since i cant get the big elestic o ring sweat.gif
cruzzmz
post Apr 28 2022, 01:51 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

i cheapo one ... only but a cheap knob hahaha
cruzzmz
post May 6 2022, 05:10 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

So new project to build a frenkenswitch inspired by nasi lemak sweat.gif whistling.gif

it will be based on linear switch .. still waiting for the penyu switch to be used as based to arrived.
Tested below on leftover faker emerald as bottom. Stem and spring from akko radiant red. Top from rk brown switch.

over all nice travel and sound ... more clack than harimau switch though rclxub.gif ... but need to wait for the correct bottom to test again.

Will share again the result later when finished

Nasi Lemak Switch

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: May 6 2022, 05:16 PM
cruzzmz
post May 6 2022, 07:54 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ May 6 2022, 07:23 PM)
I think your top should be opaque like boba u4t non rgb or that gat yellow pro milky to represent the santan rice.
And recolor the spring to brown as ikan bilis.
Actually I have the non RGB top one but white one since i dont have boba u4t sweat.gif .. maybe should try that too .. thanks for the suggestion

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: May 6 2022, 08:44 PM
cruzzmz
post May 6 2022, 08:44 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ May 6 2022, 08:38 PM)
Boba bottom and some green top and we have kuih seri muka. Yum.
hahaha with green stem ... can be next project rclxub.gif whistling.gif
cruzzmz
post May 7 2022, 10:33 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ May 6 2022, 09:20 PM)
After that no choice but to get drop keyserine clear or SA clear keycaps so you can admire your handiwork
Then I will be in trouble typing since I'm not a pro in typing without the indication
sweat.gif

cruzzmz
post May 7 2022, 02:25 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

sorry to spam ...
the latest i can do with the switch ...
top white (faker panda), bottom transparent green (faker emerald), stem red & spring (akko red radiant) ..
sound wise still same like before high thock

the penyu switch cant fit the red stem sweat.gif

gonna live with it for a while hahaha but going to do the alphabet only

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: May 7 2022, 02:28 PM
cruzzmz
post May 9 2022, 12:41 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(69420666 @ May 8 2022, 12:59 PM)
hi is it okay to put keycaps in a jar? I know about putting switches in jars but I wonder if it's okay to put keycaps in a jar. the box that came with the keycap set do take a lot of space
i always put it in a ziplock hahaha
i always go for pbt one only whistling.gif

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: May 9 2022, 12:43 PM
cruzzmz
post May 12 2022, 09:39 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

Some switches are very hard to pull ... u need to get the right angle sometimes ... i had some issue with my current switch also after swapping the default one

all the best
cruzzmz
post May 17 2022, 10:46 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(quiksilve83 @ May 17 2022, 10:07 AM)
Anyone up for QK65?
Less than 30 units up for pre-order for the Stone Age Edition

nice but too expensive for me sweat.gif

btw is it true no seller is selling the white case Q1 in malaysia?
cruzzmz
post May 17 2022, 02:09 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(quiksilve83 @ May 17 2022, 11:01 AM)
For the sound that is comparable to their Jelly Epoch and Mr. suit I think still reasonable hehe.

Think for the white Q1 case just need to wait a little longer before the local disti carries the white colour version.
Since previous all version can be ordered directly thru Keychron website but have to add in shipping cost.
yup there is like sale for the white V1 of the Q1 ... shipping will cost around USD17
overall it will be 700+

whistling.gif
cruzzmz
post May 18 2022, 09:24 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 18 2022, 11:23 AM)
overpriced or not, is subjective in this hobby, especially custom parts. it's really up to interested buyers to justify. it's like people asking us why getting plastics from gmk.
agree it come back to user pref sweat.gif

well for me the expensive one i try not to buy hahaha whistling.gif

cruzzmz
post May 19 2022, 02:14 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

FL CMMK Stab

anyone have use the above stab???

YES the poison is real sweat.gif whistling.gif
cruzzmz
post May 19 2022, 05:12 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 19 2022, 03:27 PM)
i have heard about this plate-mount stabilizer, but i haven't tried it out yet.

maybe it's time to get some more plates that support them haha i have only few reference builds with plate-mount stabilizers
Ok I will be the tester .. will get it and report back hahaha
I want to know how good their claim is 😜

And crap i have been poisoned and got the white Q1 barebone already 😅

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: May 19 2022, 05:15 PM
cruzzmz
post May 19 2022, 10:19 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

dang just realized ... q1 is screw in stab sweat.gif .. is there anyway to use the plate mount one???

any sifu can advise??
cruzzmz
post May 20 2022, 07:35 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 20 2022, 12:08 AM)
le.. ko main tibai je ke ni?

the openings for pcb-mount stabilizers are too big to fit plate-mount. you can either sell them off, or use them on a board that uses plate-mount, or make a custom plate that supports plate-mount. (the first two make more sense i think)
bless you.

They guy I bought forget to give the stabs sweat.gif
he will pass it to me later

Anyway I will get the screw one later .. which one recommended??

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: May 20 2022, 08:27 AM
cruzzmz
post May 20 2022, 12:15 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 20 2022, 12:02 PM)
it's better to ask the owners of keychron q1 to see if they have better recommendations. there is a fb for this i think.
you mean the FB group ??? i applied but didnt get approved though sweat.gif
gave up already and here is better

hahaha

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.1209sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:04 AM