Anyone tried semi slick tires on daily car?, Dangerous during wet?

TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 12:54 AM, updated 5y ago

876 posts

Anyone drive around daily with semi slick tires? How was it?
Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.

Today boring boring go hunt for tires. Ingat want to change to potenza re003. Mana tahu my tire size dont have pulak..195/50/16.

I cant go up to 205 because it will rub my fenders (now already roll fender, so now cun cun only).
I cant go down to size 15 where there are a lot more tire sizes because my brake caliper too big..minimum need 16 inch rims with positive offset..

Only tires ngam my car is the accelera 651 sport. But this brand macam not so famous.

Dilemma betul aiii...

Add on another tire which suits me. Sumaxx max drifting Z1. Threadwear 180, copypaste AD08R design.

So long d haven't choose buy my tires. But tomorrow i will be going out to buy a set.
Showdown between accelera 651, sumaxx Z1 and toyo tr1.

Sumaxx max drifting Z1.

This post has been edited by Balanced: Jan 18 2021, 09:15 PM
MrBaba
post Jun 13 2020, 12:57 AM

2,506 posts

Maciam. Easy skip je when rain
Boy96
post Jun 13 2020, 12:59 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

195/50/16 me using toyo tr1 potong air damn hnghh
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 01:01 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 13 2020, 12:59 AM)
Oh interesting..price?
dry grip gooding?
Lets compare to michelin ps3 or previous toyo t1r.
netmatrix
post Jun 13 2020, 01:10 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,731 posts

I was following a S14 drift car with 17" wheels on LDP few years ago. It definitely had some semi slick. And it was raining quite heavy. He was on lane one and the car was floating left and right at 60km/h. To be fair the car is RWD had all the interior removed and no idea how much tread is left or the brand of tires it was on. It was aqua planning at that speed. Still i would not bank on driving fast with semi slicks no m atter how sticky they are in the dry.
brapa?
post Jun 13 2020, 01:10 AM

154 posts

Re003 syok oo
At ampang lookout
Cornering with confidence
Car with sway bar had to gip way to me

TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 01:15 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jun 13 2020, 01:10 AM)
I was following a S14 drift car with 17" wheels on LDP few years ago. It definitely had some semi slick. And it was raining quite heavy. He was on lane one and the car was floating left and right at 60km/h. To be fair the car is RWD had all the interior removed and no idea how much tread is left or the brand of tires it was on. It was aqua planning at that speed. Still i would not bank on driving fast with semi slicks no m atter how sticky they are in the dry.
Yeah people are saying semi slick tires are terrible at wet, but superb at dry.
How terrible is teribble i wonder...wanna try semi slick tires. I need more grip for my tires
C-Fu
post Jun 13 2020, 01:17 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

fucking dangerous, don't do it

i changed from p zero rosso to "normal" is this. got la other reasons, but really not suitable for our weather
wild_card_my
post Jun 13 2020, 01:20 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 13 2020, 01:15 AM)
Yeah people are saying semi slick tires are terrible at wet, but superb at dry.
How terrible is teribble i wonder...wanna try semi slick tires. I need more grip for my tires
I wouldnt sacrifice safety just for a bit more dry-grip due to our weather. If I was so unlucky that I need to change my tires (Eagle F1 RFT) soon, I will not for anything less than PS4 or PS4s. I understand that this tires are not available on smaller rim sizes.

Why do you need too much dry grip anyway, do you spirit drive all the time? If it is for century... no one cares too much lah
Quang1819
post Jun 13 2020, 01:24 AM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jun 13 2020, 01:10 AM)
Hahaha pretty sure the rear bumper of the S15 is removed right?

It's dark grey colour is I'm not mistaken.
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 01:26 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 13 2020, 01:20 AM)
I wouldnt sacrifice safety just for a bit more dry-grip due to our weather. If I was so unlucky that I need to change my tires (Eagle F1 RFT) soon, I will not for anything less than PS4 or PS4s. I understand that this tires are not available on smaller rim sizes.

Why do you need too much dry grip anyway, do you spirit drive all the time? If it is for century... no one cares too much lah
I memang aggresive driving a bit one my pattern haha. No la century not main reason. Now when high speed i dont feel confident at all. In short, i need more grip to fully enjoy my ride.
Boy96
post Jun 13 2020, 01:28 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 13 2020, 01:01 AM)
Oh interesting..price?
dry grip gooding?
Rm210 at setia alam, can find the shop on mudah listing

Dry grip ok but quite noisy. Never tried previous t1r so not sure, heard they were shit. But ps3 should be still better la too bad ps3/ps4 dont have this size

This post has been edited by Boy96: Jun 13 2020, 01:29 AM
netmatrix
post Jun 13 2020, 01:29 AM

6,731 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Jun 13 2020, 01:24 AM)
Hahaha pretty sure the rear bumper of the S15 is removed right?

It's dark grey colour is I'm not mistaken.
The one i saw was blue with the bumpers still intact. I am sure it was S14 and not S15. From puchong heading to sunway.
netmatrix
post Jun 13 2020, 01:31 AM

6,731 posts

Long time ago when i was hanging out with toyota ppl in ZTH, the SEG guys was raving about Advan AD05. Even then they were saying wet is not really its strongest suit.
waghyu
post Jun 13 2020, 01:34 AM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 13 2020, 12:54 AM)
Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.

Today boring boring go hunt for tires. Ingat want to change to potenza re003. Mana tahu my tire size dont have pulak..195/50/16.

I cant go up to 205 because it will rub my fenders (now already roll fender, so now cun cun only).
I cant go down to size 15 where there are a lot more tire sizes because my brake caliper too big..minimum need 16 inch rims with positive offset..

Only tires ngam my car is the accelera 651 sport. But this brand macam not so famous.

Dilemma betul aiii...
ok nice tyre, buy this must upgrade life insurance as well.

blackpink
post Jun 13 2020, 01:34 AM

116 posts

do you own honda accord last time?
wild_card_my
post Jun 13 2020, 01:35 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(blackpink @ Jun 13 2020, 01:34 AM)
do you own honda accord last time?

It was just a family car that I drove at times. Why?
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 01:38 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jun 13 2020, 01:31 AM)
Long time ago when i was hanging out with toyota ppl in ZTH, the SEG guys was raving about Advan AD05. Even then they were saying wet is not really its strongest suit.
When I was using SEG with 6 speed blacktop, the michelin ps3 was bestest for me already. Too bad it was discontinued..
Guess best next choice without sacrificing wet grip is the new toyo tr1
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 01:40 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Jun 13 2020, 01:34 AM)
ok nice tyre, buy this must upgrade life insurance as well.
I think i overbought my life insurance already...but whatever la. Since im working and also running a business, its ok i guess
acid427
post Jun 13 2020, 01:42 AM

699 posts

Eh, re003 semi slick ke? Ok saja dalam hujan.

Cari saiz 205/45/16 ok kot tak kena fender.
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 01:43 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(acid427 @ Jun 13 2020, 01:42 AM)
Eh, re003 semi slick ke? Ok saja dalam hujan.

Cari saiz 205/45/16 ok kot tak kena fender.
205 the guy said will kena my rear fender after he see my car.

rooney723
post Jun 13 2020, 01:44 AM

596 posts

tried the re003 before, was very grippy but got 2 main disadvantages

1) fuel consumption is higher compared to other uhp tyres

2) threadwear noob, can barely last 30k km
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 01:49 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Jun 13 2020, 01:44 AM)

Wet grip how? 30k ok la. Can last 2 years d for me
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 13 2020, 01:49 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.

Dilemma betul aiii...
re004 now lo…still pakai old stock 003 meh
rooney723
post Jun 13 2020, 01:59 AM

596 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 13 2020, 01:49 AM)
Wet grip how? 30k ok la. Can last 2 years d for me
wet grip was ok oni, n i didnt drive fast during rain last time when i was using dis tyre cos i knew its wet grip not so good n i takut mati lol, so i din really test the wet grip

overall a pretty good tyre for dry grip but not really worth the price, quite exp if compare the threadwear, i would prefer ps3/ps4 over this, my old ps3 lasted almost twice longer than re003 n its slightly more exp, n for me ps3/ps4 is good enough for me ledi

if u wan the best dry grip performance then this tyre is for u
grixis
post Jun 13 2020, 02:07 AM

82 posts

last time i use NS2R semi slick, no problem in rain and excel in dry
but too noisy liao

This post has been edited by grixis: Jun 13 2020, 02:17 AM
RicoT
post Jun 13 2020, 03:16 AM

200 posts

You gain some, you lose some.

On totally dry road, you can corner 50% faster than usual.

On wet road (even slightly), you will corner 50% slower than usual.
Quazacolt
post Jun 13 2020, 03:36 AM

Riding couple
5,368 posts

Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport
1) not semi slick
2) not semi slick
3) only TW 100 is semi slick, tread wear 200 isn't semi slick.
skycrawler
post Jun 13 2020, 03:48 AM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

the noise boleh tahan bro cry.gif
s@ni
post Jun 13 2020, 03:56 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.

Dilemma betul aiii...
Its wither 15 or 17.

16 susah dpt size sket. Lesson learnt from my own experience. 🤣🤣
viosturbo500hp
post Jun 13 2020, 05:57 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(grixis @ Jun 13 2020, 02:07 AM)
last time i use NS2R semi slick, no problem in rain and excel in dry
but too noisy liao

this tayar not bad in wet (can't compare to ps3 wet performance, but adequate if you're a decent driver), enough for me to use 2years for daily + weekend genting laugh.gif
ah_suknat
post Jun 13 2020, 06:31 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Jun 12 2020, 05:44 PM)

Ofcourse

Good grip = soft tyre = soft rubber compound = fast wear
akay877
post Jun 13 2020, 06:35 AM

187 posts

I use 003 before back in may 2013.. But didn't know it was consider semi slick.. I got 1 ghost town big corner on the way back to my home, always my spot to test tyre grip and this tyre really grippy when dry, but so so when wet, Quite noisy and wear out too quickly for my taste.

Then change to PS3. Using it and PS4 version ever since

azbro
post Jun 13 2020, 06:41 AM

4,403 posts

You want to talk about tires?

Those models you meaning are not semi slick tires.

Car Tires are categorized into HP, UHP, Max, Extreme.
Of course got 4X4 and SUV is another story.

Slick, Semi Slicks are mostly specialised tires used for the track and unsuitable for road use. Those road legal tires that are extreme will also not market itself as Semi Slick.

If you really wanna try afforfable tires that are so call 'semi slick' Road legal tires, try Hankook RS-3 / RS-4.
What will happen is you will find out the tires stick to the road like Glue. Like using a Cloth Dust Remover Roller.
Your Fuel Consumption will be worst as the rolling resistance is high. Unless you have high power car to drive these, it will now be a burden.
Regarding wet handling, of course you need to driver slower, still can driveable in the went, but in heavy rain, probably less than 60kmh. The thing about extreme tires is the rubber compound, as it sticks like glue, so it does play apart in the rain. But if puddles, than you will out of control. If you insist to driver normally in the rain, than you will easily crash. No matter your car have all those electronics aid. I normally encounter puddles usually after rain that will catch you out.

To keep story short

You basically will sacrifice car power, comfort, fuel economy and wet grip just for some trills of cornering.

Some safer Extreme tires I can recommend that does perform average in the wets and drivable are the Advan AD08R.

But talking about cornering trill on the public road, becareful that towtruck driver also loves those places.
And your car suspension and Engine also needs some upgrading.

This post has been edited by azbro: Jun 13 2020, 06:52 AM
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 06:58 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 13 2020, 03:36 AM)
1) not semi slick
2) not semi slick
3) only TW 100 is semi slick, tread wear 200 isn't semi slick.
Shop say its semi slick one. Me noob in tires
lagista
post Jun 13 2020, 09:40 AM

25 posts

Linglong got 195/50/R16 icon_rolleyes.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4905165
SUSMyJimmy
post Jun 13 2020, 09:57 AM

Jangan nyampok otai otai sembang with your noob post laa.. You read and learn...
upcars
post Jun 13 2020, 10:05 AM

93 posts

I using falken azenis. Good.
SliparJepun
post Jun 13 2020, 10:06 AM

109 posts

klu nak guna tayar tu make sure letak tin bir kosong dlm kereta.
that way klu eksiden pipul wont blame the tire.
hz428
post Jun 13 2020, 10:10 AM

1,056 posts

Not recommend to use semi slick for daily drive. U better go for wet Tyre in Malaysia.

have u tried Michelin pss?

Michelin ps4 is good for my car but the side wall kinda weak.

been using ps2 , ps3 and ps4, I think ps2 is more traction than the rest.
Boy96
post Jun 13 2020, 10:15 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jun 13 2020, 03:48 AM)
the noise boleh tahan bro  cry.gif
Kuatkan radio
wild_card_my
post Jun 13 2020, 10:34 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(MyJimmy @ Jun 13 2020, 09:57 AM)
Jangan nyampok otai otai sembang with your noob post laa.. You read and learn...
Ok boss. I only know how to make money, not spend them laugh.gif
SUSMyJimmy
post Jun 13 2020, 10:49 AM

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 13 2020, 10:34 AM)
You go at it while you can before most of the job you do will be replace by AI and available online soon. cool2.gif
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 11:49 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 13 2020, 10:34 AM)
QUOTE(MyJimmy @ Jun 13 2020, 10:49 AM)
You go at it while you can before most of the job you do will be replace by AI and available online soon. cool2.gif
You two get a room. My treat.

Make love not war hehehe

This post has been edited by Balanced: Jun 13 2020, 11:50 AM
patienceGNR
post Jun 13 2020, 11:58 AM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

TR1 is quite crappy IMO.
nelienuxe_sara
post Jun 13 2020, 12:03 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.

Dilemma betul aiii...
daily guna EP150 sudah
Boy96
post Jun 13 2020, 12:10 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Jun 13 2020, 11:58 AM)
TR1 is quite crappy IMO.
Feels grippier than my last advan fleva both wet n dry
dickybird
post Jun 13 2020, 12:22 PM

2,093 posts

TR1 is quite crappy IMO.
TR1 compared to the oem Goodyear Excellence, stiffer sidewall (better steering precision) higher rolling resistance (lower fuel economy), tyre drone (noisier than oem).
Only done 10k, so we will wait and see about treadwear.

This post has been edited by dickybird: Jun 13 2020, 01:42 PM
SUSskyblu3
post Jun 13 2020, 12:43 PM

157 posts

Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.

Dilemma betul aiii...
Good luck to you.
drewn123
post Jun 13 2020, 12:54 PM

101 posts

For a daily car, not recommended to get semi slick due to our erratic weather as well as lousy drainage on most of our roads.

Just get UHP tires such as PS4, RE003, F1Asym is quite sufficient.

Using semi slick comes with many drawbacks such as noise, lousy FC, bumpy/harsh rides and the need to drive slow as heck during heavy rainfall.
asuka16
post Jun 13 2020, 01:19 PM

28 posts

TR1 is quite crappy IMO.
I use tr1 don't u cibai. Better than mc5. Langgar lubang xda hal. Mc5 langgar skit dah kena tkar satu baru.

This post has been edited by asuka16: Jun 13 2020, 01:20 PM
azbro
post Jun 13 2020, 01:40 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Jun 13 2020, 10:10 AM)
been using ps2 , ps3 and ps4, I think ps2 is more traction than the rest.
PS3 is not direct descendent for PS2.
Probably from Preceda 2

PS2 worthy successor is PSS during the PS3 era.
PS2 also got 2 type, difference is inside the tire.
But that needs another history lesson.

Problem with the PS2 was it don't last long.
The threads are thinner to offer best grip but in a short life.
Probably Michelin thinks for performance tires like it, once no grip, no point dragging its life.

This post has been edited by azbro: Jun 13 2020, 01:47 PM
andyng38
post Jun 13 2020, 01:48 PM

2,401 posts

Friend's Nissan skyline had semi slicks on. One damp road with several patches of water = 6 months recovery time in hospital.
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 03:17 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Jun 13 2020, 12:54 PM)
For a daily car, not recommended to get semi slick due to our erratic weather as well as lousy drainage on most of our roads.

Just get UHP tires such as PS4, RE003, F1Asym is quite sufficient.

Using semi slick comes with many drawbacks such as noise, lousy FC, bumpy/harsh rides and the need to drive slow as heck during heavy rainfall.
Is the accelera 651 sport (pic in my 1st post) a uhp or semi slick tire?
drewn123
post Jun 13 2020, 03:32 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 13 2020, 03:17 PM)
Is the accelera 651 sport (pic in my 1st post) a uhp or semi slick tire?
Quoted from the official website;-

The Race Tire

The 651 Sport is Accelera’s street legal race compound tire with a semi-slick tread. With two main ribs, a water film breaker, and three directional grooves, the 651 Sport is engineered for precise handling and quick steering response, both on and off the track. The 651 Sport comes in both 100 treadwear and 200 treadwear, making it perfect for drift and track applications. It’s versatility also makes the 651 Sport a good choice for limited daily driving needs.

Somewhat same as using AD08 as daily use, dry condition very syok. You cannot expect much from these tires in wet condition. My suggestion if u really wanna try semi-slick out is JUST DO IT... Heck, i used AD07 and AD08 on my daily ride before but just go REAL SLOW on wet or raining days... really slow <50km/h on straight and even slower on corners when wet. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Furthermore the thread wear on semi-slick is around 180-200, so it'll finish fast and change back to all season UHP tires then. As long as you know the limitations and disciplined with your right foot.
Chinoz
post Jun 13 2020, 03:41 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.

Dilemma betul aiii...
Very good. Hujan pakai grab.

SUSresponsible poster
post Jun 13 2020, 03:46 PM

65 posts

Since when is RE003 semi slick? It’s not even performance tyre. Normal je grip not bad

I’m running RE003 and no complaints. Try going for 205/45/16
hz428
post Jun 13 2020, 03:54 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jun 13 2020, 01:40 PM)
PS3 is not direct descendent for PS2.
Probably from Preceda 2

PS2 worthy successor is PSS during the PS3 era.
PS2 also got 2 type, difference is inside the tire.
But that needs another history lesson.

Problem with the PS2 was it don't last long.
The threads are thinner to offer best grip but in a short life.
Probably Michelin thinks for performance tires like it, once no grip, no point dragging its life.
ya is very true for ps2.

after hydroplane on highway, I will never change cheapo Tyre anymore. Safety first.
shirohamada
post Jun 13 2020, 03:55 PM

944 posts

Ts still got money to spend.
Laundry is good business.
ikankering
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 04:36 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jun 13 2020, 03:55 PM)
Ts still got money to spend.
Laundry is good business.
ikankering
I doubt ikan kering is doing anythg he says. Change too much already plus he doest have any specific details or knowledge. Troll too much liao
drewn123
post Jun 13 2020, 05:01 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Jun 13 2020, 03:54 PM)
ya is very true for ps2.

after hydroplane on highway, I will never change cheapo Tyre anymore. Safety first.
Actually cheaper tire do not directly mean higher chance of aqua-planning.

The width and type of tire, depth of water pool, speed and others affect more on ur chances of aquaplaning.

Imo, a kancil with achilles/linglong 155 width tire can go through water much faster than cars with michelins 245 width tires. A slimmer tires cut through water, fatter tires need huge water channel to cut the tire contact into patches to cut through the water. Bigger contact patch = higher chances of aquaplaning

But that said, a reputable tire brand definitely handle better with shorter braking distance and it get to operating temperature faster than those cheap tires compound that last forever

I had tried using premium as well as cheaper brands such as rovelo, achilles, nankang... to be honest, it work well as long as u dun push it to the extreme like u would push on a re003, ps4, fleva etc etc.

This post has been edited by drewn123: Jun 13 2020, 05:06 PM
ianrpf
post Jun 13 2020, 05:16 PM

119 posts

Don't do it please. Even my friend's dad who uses semi slicks on his Porsche would get the driver to come pick him up wherever he is when it rains. It's really suicide to run semi slicks when the roads are wet even after it has stopped raining.
ianrpf
post Jun 13 2020, 05:18 PM

119 posts

Some of the best all weather tires are GY F1 Asy2 and F1D5
quartre88
post Jun 13 2020, 05:19 PM

251 posts

baguslah contribute more aksiden
ianrpf
post Jun 13 2020, 05:23 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Jun 13 2020, 05:01 PM)

The width and type of tire, depth of water pool, speed and others affect more on ur chances of aquaplaning.

Imo, a kancil with achilles/linglong 155 width tire can go through water much faster than cars with michelins 245 width tires. A slimmer tires cut through water, fatter tires need huge water channel to cut the tire contact into patches to cut through the water. Bigger contact patch = higher chances of aquaplaning

But that said, a reputable tire brand definitely handle better with shorter braking distance and it get to operating temperature faster than those cheap tires compound that last forever

I had tried using premium as well as cheaper brands such as rovelo, achilles, nankang... to be honest, it work well as long as u dun push it to the extreme like u would push on a re003, ps4, fleva etc etc.
Achilles is really rubbish, used it before. Should take a look at Kumho PS31...for the price it's not too bad both in dry and rain.
hz428
post Jun 13 2020, 06:17 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Jun 13 2020, 05:01 PM)

when near accident u are always on the edge. That small edge is life or death.

So I rather spend more on Tyre since this is the most critical part of the car.

blaze_spirit
post Jun 13 2020, 07:26 PM

305 posts

Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.

Dilemma betul aiii...
All the tyres mentioned are not semi-slick doh.gif

This post has been edited by blaze_spirit: Jun 13 2020, 07:27 PM
kcchong2000
post Jun 13 2020, 07:28 PM

189 posts

16 inch? Lol. That size tyre like limited edition.
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 07:46 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(blaze_spirit @ Jun 13 2020, 07:26 PM)
All the tyres mentioned are not semi-slick  doh.gif
I dunno mang. The shop tire guy told me one. So these tires can use as daily?
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 07:47 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Jun 13 2020, 07:28 PM)
16 inch? Lol. That size tyre like limited edition.
Ya lor. But i got no choice...
THE CLASS OF 13
post Jun 13 2020, 07:49 PM

171 posts

Example potenze re003
Hankook v720
Accelera 651 sport.

Dilemma betul aiii...
semi slick bukan mcm r888r ke? below 180tw.
patienceGNR
post Jun 13 2020, 07:52 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 13 2020, 12:10 PM)
Feels grippier than my last advan fleva both wet n dry
I didn't try 701... Next wanna try ad08r but they're not too suitable for my use (higher treadwear). Might go with 701 for a run next. I think my tyres will last me another 10k or so only.

QUOTE(dickybird @ Jun 13 2020, 12:22 PM)
TR1 compared to the oem Goodyear Excellence, stiffer sidewall (better steering precision)  higher rolling resistance (lower fuel economy), tyre drone (noisier than oem).
Only done 10k, so we will wait and see about treadwear.
Definitely noisier because of the thread design.

I've clocked more than 30k on them. I honestly forgot to record down the mileage properly because halfway through I swapped engines (including cluster). So I lost track of the mileage. But I'm sure more than 30k.

Engine swap: 123k miles. Now 143k miles. I have done, I believe, 2 oil change before engine swap, so that's about 14k miles.

Rotated the wheels in January. Mileage berapa that time I need to check back my log. But it was about 137k or so back then.

QUOTE(asuka16 @ Jun 13 2020, 01:19 PM)
I use tr1 don't u cibai. Better than mc5. Langgar lubang xda hal. Mc5 langgar skit dah kena tkar satu baru.
I also using. Don't quite like it. Went up genting, first corner after polis post terus understeer. Knn.
drewn123
post Jun 13 2020, 09:37 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(ianrpf @ Jun 13 2020, 05:23 PM)
Achilles is really rubbish, used it before. Should take a look at Kumho PS31...for the price it's not too bad both in dry and rain.
I say can use. Never meant it is good... haha
grixis
post Jun 13 2020, 09:38 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(viosturbo500hp @ Jun 13 2020, 05:57 AM)
this tayar not bad in wet (can't compare to ps3 wet performance, but adequate if you're a decent driver), enough for me to use 2years for daily + weekend genting  laugh.gif
too noisy rite?
after 1.5 year i changed to cheaper tire coz want to sell the car, suddenly feel handling like shit, but very comfort no noise laugh.gif
asuka16
post Jun 13 2020, 09:42 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(grixis @ Jun 13 2020, 09:38 PM)
too noisy rite?
after 1.5 year i changed to cheaper tire coz want to sell the car, suddenly feel handling like shit, but very comfort no noise  laugh.gif
U win some, u lose some
drewn123
post Jun 13 2020, 09:42 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(hz428 @ Jun 13 2020, 06:17 PM)
when near accident u are always on the edge. That small edge is life or death.

So I rather spend more on Tyre since this is the most critical part of the car.
There are various driving behaviours, for those chill driver and never pushes to the limit. These cheaper options are good enough for them.

If u are the kind that barrel down the road at 110-120kmh regardless of the road conditions, definitely choose better tires la. Simple as that.

My friends operates tires shops and many ppl uses those cheap tires on their expensive cars. Like i said, it really depends on the person behind the wheel.

Do u believe that rovelo made better tires than silverstone or falken? Bridgestone with the batch issues where swelling happen. Michelins with the peeling issues after 1yr. Well, qc issues still happen even for the premium tires brand

This post has been edited by drewn123: Jun 13 2020, 09:49 PM
asuka16
post Jun 13 2020, 09:48 PM

28 posts

I also using. Don't quite like it. Went up genting, first corner after polis post terus understeer. Knn.

[/quote]

I use almost 20k now. Naik genting no prob, Gua Musang no prob, Grik road no prob. During raining i didn't even notice the spedo is about 120km/h.
boonwuilow
post Jun 13 2020, 09:50 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

RE003 is not "semi slick" only the outside shoulder looks aggressive only. I m using it now, coming from PS4, I would say the dry performance of RE003 is better than PS4 and on top of that the sidewall of RE003 is harder than PS4, giving the sensation where the tyre don't flex as much as PS4 under hard cornering. But when it comes to wet, cannot compare with PS4, PS4 much much better in wet condition especially if there is water puddle. RE003 just can't give me the confidence on wet road.
drewn123
post Jun 13 2020, 09:55 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Jun 13 2020, 09:50 PM)
RE003 is not "semi slick" only the outside shoulder looks aggressive only. I m using it now, coming from PS4, I would say the dry performance of RE003 is better than PS4 and on top of that the sidewall of RE003 is harder than PS4, giving the sensation where the tyre don't flex as much as PS4 under hard cornering. But when it comes to wet, cannot compare with PS4, PS4 much much better in wet condition especially if there is water puddle. RE003 just can't give me the confidence on wet road.
RE001-003 = always is inclined towards dry road conditions

PS3/4 = more towards overall. (Comfort, grip, wet and dry)
grixis
post Jun 13 2020, 09:59 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(asuka16 @ Jun 13 2020, 09:42 PM)
U win some, u lose some
P ZERO win all wub.gif
patienceGNR
post Jun 13 2020, 10:22 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

[quote=asuka16,Jun 13 2020, 09:48 PM]

[/quote]
I use almost 20k now. Naik genting no prob, Gua Musang no prob, Grik road no prob. During raining i didn't even notice the spedo is about 120km/h.

[/quote]
It was quite wet also la. Right after rain...
asuka16
post Jun 13 2020, 10:34 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(grixis @ Jun 13 2020, 09:59 PM)
P ZERO win all  wub.gif
PRICY. Last time my cooper s use pzero. One tyre is 1k lmao.
ianrpf
post Jun 13 2020, 10:51 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Jun 13 2020, 09:37 PM)
I say can use. Never meant it is good... haha
Haha...I think few years ago it was quite popular. I bought it coz many ppl were using it then realized it was really shit...almost on par with the shitty Falken zeXX can't remember the exact model already.

I'd rather use Kumho PS31 for budget range. Still using these donuts too lol.
TSBalanced
post Jun 13 2020, 11:19 PM

876 posts

Soo....between these two which better for me?
Toyo TR1 treadwear 280
Accelera 651 sport treadwear 200.

For me can use till 25-30k km is enough already.

Danlgy P
post Dec 25 2020, 08:05 PM

Probation

I am currently using this Accelera 651 sport size 195/50/15 on my Wira. This is my second set.

I daily my wira with these tyres and I gotta tell you that this tyre is actually pretty good in the rain. The 200 treadwear version is not a semi slick, but an extreme high performance tyre. This tyre is better in the wet compared to RE003 and has very good aquaplaning resistance, of course not as good as Michelin PS4. The lifespan however is short at 6 months with aggressive driving at Genting and LDP, but would last a relaxed driver 1.2 years or more. Tyre noise is irrelevant to me as my exhaust is louder
TSBalanced
post Dec 26 2020, 10:18 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(Danlgy @ Dec 25 2020, 08:05 PM)
I am currently using this Accelera 651 sport size 195/50/15 on my Wira. This is my second set.

I daily my wira with these tyres and I gotta tell you that this tyre is actually pretty good in the rain. The 200 treadwear version is not a semi slick, but an extreme high performance tyre. This tyre is better in the wet compared to RE003 and has very good aquaplaning resistance, of course not as good as Michelin PS4. The lifespan however is short at 6 months with aggressive driving at Genting and LDP, but would last a relaxed driver 1.2 years or more. Tyre noise is irrelevant to me as my exhaust is louder
Wow it only lasted 6 months for u?
Have you tried toyo tr1?
Reason why i might skip accelera 651 is because no shop in penang keeps any stock for this tire..
mister 288
post Jan 1 2021, 10:21 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 13 2020, 01:01 AM)
Oh interesting..price?
dry grip gooding?
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jun 13 2020, 01:28 AM)
Rm210 at setia alam, can find the shop on mudah listing

Dry grip ok but quite noisy. Never tried previous t1r so not sure, heard they were shit. But ps3 should be still better la too bad ps3/ps4 dont have this size
the old t1r was shit in the dry and worse in the wet.
TSBalanced
post Jan 18 2021, 09:16 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(mister 288 @ Jan 1 2021, 10:21 PM)
the old t1r was shit in the dry and worse in the wet.
You comparing tr1 to wat tire? So shitting ah?
mister 288
post Jan 18 2021, 10:17 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jan 18 2021, 09:16 PM)
You comparing tr1 to wat tire? So shitting ah?
compared to my currrent v12 ventus evo

0.0379sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:24 PM