Conversion rate from Maybank Online payment, 1 USD = MYR 4.3773!

TSNGV22
post Jun 11 2020, 01:42 PM, updated 6y ago

615 posts

Long story short, I purchased something online from US website using Maybank credit card

Now the payment finally shown in Maybank portal. The rate used is 1 USD = MYR 4.3773.

Currently the rate should be 1 USD = MYR 4.26

question: is it normal to have bank conversion rate so much higher than the normal conversion rate (difference of 0.11!)

GonnersKL
post Jun 11 2020, 01:43 PM

114 posts

normal, credit card got their own forex rate ...

and the one you see online, go to money changer nearby see same or not first ....
Nanti Sekejap
post Jun 11 2020, 01:52 PM

411 posts

Less than 3%. I would rate it fair.

This is 1 of the reason why ppl with import/export business open foreign currency account.
pretty23
post Jun 11 2020, 01:52 PM

1,791 posts

yes. always high.
kenloh7
post Jun 11 2020, 01:54 PM

414 posts

bank rates are always 2 to 3% higher than XE rate. That's why people uses BigPay or those credit cards with good cashback/overseas spending TP to offset it.
precept66
post Jun 11 2020, 01:57 PM

1,054 posts

Normal, even against other currencies.
Zot
post Jun 11 2020, 02:00 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Jun 11 2020, 01:42 PM)
Long story short, I purchased something online from US website using Maybank credit card

Now the payment finally shown in Maybank portal. The rate used is 1 USD = MYR 4.3773.

Currently the rate should be 1 USD = MYR 4.26

question: is it normal to have bank conversion rate so much higher than the normal conversion rate (difference of 0.11!)

Each bank has own exchange rate published in bank or wherever.

The exchange rate would be at the time of transaction done, not during statement generated.
a13solut3
post Jun 11 2020, 02:01 PM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

your credit card itself also have 1%-3% charges depending on which network you are using, VISA, MC or AMEX.

Nanti Sekejap
post Jun 11 2020, 02:01 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Jun 11 2020, 01:54 PM)
bank rates are always 2 to 3% higher than XE rate. That's why people uses BigPay or those credit cards with good cashback/overseas spending TP to offset it.
Would you mind to share which cc gives the best deal in terms of exchange rate?
Zot
post Jun 11 2020, 02:02 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Jun 11 2020, 01:54 PM)
Even big forex traders have their own. In business customers will tell which one they will follow smile.gif
ju146
post Jun 11 2020, 02:09 PM

1,594 posts

yes, that's how forex trader makes money...
skyuo23
post Jun 11 2020, 04:31 PM

54 posts

Even Paypal has their own rate
idoblu
post Jun 11 2020, 04:46 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

use BigPay, few ringgit higher than XE rates. no higher exchange rates or foreign transaction fee

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jun 11 2020, 04:46 PM
idoblu
post Jun 11 2020, 04:48 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ Jun 11 2020, 02:01 PM)
Would you mind to share which cc gives the best deal in terms of exchange rate?
bigpay
ry8128
post Jun 11 2020, 04:50 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

Yes, normal. They will have higher rates than the current rates you get online.
Nanti Sekejap
post Jun 11 2020, 05:04 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 11 2020, 04:48 PM)
bigpay

I just checked it up. So it allows cc deposit, and then also allows fund withdrawal to local bank with very low charges.

Does this means, it is another cc cash withdrawal loophole, just like what happened to the Boost/TNG recently?

Edit: And sorry for being massively off topic to this thread : P

This post has been edited by Nanti Sekejap: Jun 11 2020, 05:07 PM
daijoubu
post Jun 11 2020, 05:15 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

Most banks have surcharge on top of the forex rate.
Maybank I think is 2.6+% or thereabouts.

If you want 0% for online purchase, use BigPay credit card. I use it for online purchases and it saved me alot of money that would've been wasted to bank surcharges.
Can PM me for referral code if you want
daijoubu
post Jun 11 2020, 05:16 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ Jun 11 2020, 05:04 PM)

I just checked it up. So it allows cc deposit, and then also allows fund withdrawal to local bank with very low charges.

Does this means, it is another cc cash withdrawal loophole, just like what happened to the Boost/TNG recently?

Edit: And sorry for being massively off topic to this thread : P
Yes it is, and people have been using it for cashback gains for sometime, until banks start to close this loophole
Recently Bigpay started limiting max CC deposit to RM2.5k/month. It used to be RM10k some time ago
hksgmy
post Jun 11 2020, 05:18 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

AMEX has one of the worse rates, but it does come with fraud protection and in my case, heaps of KrisFlyer points (although I can’t fly anywhere at the moment damn it)
Ginny88
post Jun 11 2020, 05:18 PM

1,032 posts

XE Rates are interbank rates. They are not available to retail customers. The proper comparison is local banks' over the counter rates.

0.0168sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:35 AM