Prepaid Unlimited Data & Call Price War 2020, Who will be the winner

MilesAndMore
post Jun 12 2020, 01:19 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(GEN.2 @ Jun 11 2020, 05:06 PM)
I think most prepaid data user prefer Umobile and elder people non data user prefer Digi.
I believe it’s the opposite. Data users prefer Digi due to markedly better coverage and overall better and faster speed, and non-data users are okay with U Mobile since availability of 4G is a non-issue if they just want to make and receive calls.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 12 2020, 09:37 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jun 12 2020, 09:28 PM)
and Digi Infinite 150 = unlimited speed, data and hotspot ; FUP limit is 1TB of data per month, thereafter throttled to 5Mbps.
It’s 10Mbps now.

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jun 12 2020, 09:28 PM)
Also Celcom Mega phone plans with unlimited data and/or unlimited speed Addons = total costs about RM98 to RM148. Not sure about the FUP limit.
But with capped speed of 5Mbps for M Pass and 15 Mbps for L Pass ? And also limited hotspot quota at 5GB and 10GB respectively.

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jun 12 2020, 09:33 PM)
Im start using Mega + 68 pass last month..so far use liao 70+ gb... Didn't get any slow... And also dont see any ppl mention this plan...less ppl use?
Probably most who are interested in an unlimited data plan are already on Digi Infinite and are happy with it.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 12 2020, 09:39 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 14 2020, 06:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jun 14 2020, 06:09 PM)
i plan to buy this HUP35 for my ipad. How do i access my sms when in ipad?
You can’t unfortunately. And any SMS that was sent to your number when you used it in your iPad will be lost too.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 14 2020, 07:40 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jun 14 2020, 06:56 PM)
but i can use the hotlink app in the ipad? would be a hassle to renew the plan then
You need to login to Hotlink app in your iPad when you still can receive SMS from the said number - do it from your phone first. Once login it’s good to go.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 14 2020, 09:29 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jun 14 2020, 08:20 PM)
I thought otp is needed when login to hotlink?if the ipad can't receive incoming sms thn is useless. hmm.gif
Insert the SIM to a phone, then login to your Hotlink account on iPad. Key in the OTP, then you are good to go.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 21 2020, 09:53 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bryon @ Jun 21 2020, 09:10 PM)

Singtel launches Thai mobile plan under AIS brand for 299 baht (MYR41.14) per month, you get 50 GB of 4G Data and after which unlimited data usage at 10 Mbps.
It also comes bundled with 100 Minutes of voice calls and 200 SMS. There is also Free Youtube Premium for 3 mths and AIS Super WIFI. This offer ends on 30 Jun 2020.

299 baht (including VAT).
Internet 50 GB (Max Speed).
Unlimited data usage at 10 Mbps.
Voice 100 minutes (to any network).
200 SMSs
FREE! Unlimited YouTube Premium 3 months.
Free! AIS SUPER WiFi 650/100 Mbps unlimited.
Valid for 12 cycles.
That’s a seriously good plan! We’re still a long way to go... especially home fibre pricing.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 22 2020, 01:32 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 22 2020, 12:53 PM)
why are you sharing thailand's promotion here...? haha

msia is a 3rd world country, still a looooong way that msian telcos can offer similar plan
It is actually good to know what overseas countries are doing, so we won’t be kept in the dark, still thinking we’re so good but in reality we’re nobody.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 22 2020, 01:59 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jun 22 2020, 01:34 PM)
we as customers will know sooner or later...

but can our awareness improve msian telcos plans ?

unlikely...
Our telco Mobile postpaid plans are competitive priced, and with the fierce competition, downtrend in price is expected to continue. Only in home fibre prices and plans that we still have a lot of catching up to do.

There are public figures always try to mislead the people that we’re the best when we’re not. When people are better informed and educated, their voice become louder and indirect pressure can make a difference, perhaps not immediate, but eventually changes will come.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 22 2020, 06:20 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jun 22 2020, 05:34 PM)
10 mbps vs 521 kbps...i wanna laugh liao🤣🤣🤣
QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 22 2020, 05:38 PM)
Our unlimited plans speed only max 6Mbps which is even slower than people's FUP slowdown speed by almost half. laugh.gif
But based on this Bangkok Post article, once FUP of 50GB is hit, speed will slowdown to 512kbps, not 10Mbps.

https://www.bangkokpost.com/business/192598...online-sim-card

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 22 2020, 06:27 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 22 2020, 06:27 PM

9,301 posts

The said Thailand unlimited data plan by AIS can be found here - www.gomo.th

What you really get is 50GB of mobile data at 10Mbps of maximum speed, after that you can continue to use the internet at 512kbps. Phone call is 100 minutes only under this plan.

Well, that makes Hotlink Prepaid Unlimited quite competitive actually.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 22 2020, 07:03 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Jun 22 2020, 06:39 PM)
Another user-problem, posting wrong information about "superior" Thai celco with throttled speed of 10Mbps after 50GB usage. Again, not a celco-problem.
Oh please not this again. Please do not bring your agenda here. The user posted wrong information because the ad was in Thai Language. He’s been corrected. Correct information has been posted. Life goes on. People cannot leave bad feedbacks about U Mobile. Whatever issues people have with U Mobile are all the fault of the users. Yes. We all get that now. Come here and taint this thread you can go for a long holiday.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 22 2020, 08:37 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 22 2020, 08:12 PM)

Based on the OC Workbench site, the earlier post is correct.
https://en.ocworkbench.com/singtel-launches...gomo-under-ais/
50GB with full MAX attainable speed with 4G thereafter UNLIMITED usage at 10Mbps.
MAX Speed is mentioned on the side of the 50GB
Yes. It seems you are correct. In the FAQ page on the website, it says 10Mbps speed once FUP of 50GB is hit.

In this case, this really is a very good plan!

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 22 2020, 08:12 PM)
This is a tourists plan to lure foreigners back to Thailand for holiday.
This is not a tourist plan though. It’s meant for Thais and can be ordered online. And it looks like a postpaid service, which means foreigners cannot sign up for this service unless ones have a residency status.

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 22 2020, 08:24 PM)
How is it competitive?
Competitive assuming the Bangkok Post article was correct that speed will slowdown to 512kbps after 50GB FUP is hit considering the 50GB FUP enforced by Hotlink is the most complained thing in Hotlink Prepaid Unlimited thread. You think way too much already.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 22 2020, 08:44 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 23 2020, 12:36 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 23 2020, 12:19 PM)
The new plan is even more of a DOWNGRADE to the existing BiGBonus Monthly 28 Plan. Where is the free high speed daily 1GB for off peak 1pm-7pm hours? That's like FREE 30GB replaced with an added 2GB renewal quota shortchanging you with 28GB less.

What the hell is DiGi thinking?
You are confusing the many passes offered by Digi Prepaid. The RM28 monthly pass that offers 1GB free data between 1PM-7PM is still offered to Digi NEXT Prepaid.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 23 2020, 01:09 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 23 2020, 12:50 PM)
The "MANY" passes will indeed cause DiGi its downfall then.
What's the point of selling 2 overlapping plans which one gives 1GB daily between (1pm-7pm) and another which only gives 2GB for on-time renewals with both giving unlimited calls?
Are you confusing Internet Cili Padi (RM28) with BiGBonus RM28 ?

And the up to 2GB free data for on-time renewal is offered only to Digi NEXT Prepaid and is applicable for any monthly passes (not very sure about time-based passes).

Not very sure when did you start using Digi Prepaid, I have Digi Smart and Digi LiVE, I am not using any of them, more to parking numbers only. But Digi Best, Smart, LiVE Prepaid have always had plenty of different add-on passes since year 2015 at least, as far as I remember and what you see they advertise on their website are not all. There are plenty more on the MyDigi app.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 23 2020, 01:29 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 23 2020, 01:21 PM)
All the past & current experiences of U Mobile users...
Many have same thing to say.. services sucks but offering & pricing is good...
Believe it’s a lottery with U Mobile. One is very lucky if U Mobile works for them. But for many it doesn’t, hence people always rotate around Maxis, Digi and Celcom or the MVNO riding on Celcom network. Like I mentioned, why would anyone wants to pay RM100 for Digi Postpaid 100 Infinite or RM98 Celcom MEGA UNLIMITED M if one only needs to pay only RM58 for U Mobile GX68 when all these 3 postpaid plans come with similar features ?
MilesAndMore
post Jun 23 2020, 01:36 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 23 2020, 01:26 PM)
Now you're confused yourself. What has it got to do with Internet Cili Padi (RM28)?
I'm comparing DiGi Prepaid RM28 plans which comes with unlimited calls.
No. You are the one confusing people by saying Digi is no longer offering the 30GB free data between 1PM - 7PM for the RM28 pass, when led me to think if you were talking about the Internet Cili Padi 28, which indeed doesn’t have the free 30GB data or BiGBonus 28.

I had clarified in one thread by posting a picture of BiGBonus 28 that the features of the said pass remains the same, which you had responded too but you later went on by claiming “Next 28” is missing the 30GB free data.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 23 2020, 01:51 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 23 2020, 01:42 PM)

Please look at their DiGi NEXT plan banners, did you see the daily 1GB (1pm-7pm) BiGBonus feature already not included inside?

At first glances by customer already a serious turn-off.

You in turn accuse me of confusing people instead when the confusion is solely made by DiGi's own marketing team with incomplete details on their banners.
Already posted information from their website and you can refer to their website for a more complete information but you don’t want. So what can I do ?

Yes. Digi’s marketing team did a mistake for not including the whole information in their advertisement. People shall lodge a complaint on their Facebook. But why carry on and spreading wrong information when we already know the advertisement doesn’t have complete details of the relevant pass ?

When you are alerted what you posted is wrong, you should have gone and check which information is correct since somebody queried you. But you didn’t and continued to post wrong information everywhere.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 24 2020, 08:40 PM

9,301 posts

MaxisONE Plan 128 vs Hotlink Prepaid Unlimited RM45

Both speed tests were run just a few minutes ago on two very old iOS devices.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 24 2020, 08:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jun 24 2020, 08:42 PM)
Duh,............... The speed meh.... If not under unlimited on hotlink postpaid speed will be that slow too?
No. It should be more or less the same as Maxis Postpaid.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 24 2020, 09:00 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jun 24 2020, 08:48 PM)
Orh which means only prepaid speed will be capped?
I’m not very sure about that. It could also be due to congestion issue at the particular area. But as you can see, it is currently fine with my Hotlink Prepaid Unlimited. The reported problem was that their download speed was like 1Mbps to 2Mbps only or less.

By the way, below is the speedtest result for Digi Postpaid 150 Infinite, just for reference. Test was done just a few minutes ago too. The speed can go up to 30Mbps - 40Mbps if I were to use the same SIM card in Huawei B618-65D around this hour. I no longer do this anymore since I’m mainly using Maxis Home Fibre at home now.

0.0598sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:06 PM