Q and A how to migrate Win 10 from HDD to new SSD, without needing to reinstall Win 10

TSZaryl
post Jun 6 2020, 12:55 AM, updated 4y ago

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,523 posts

I am upgrading my old desktop that runs Windows 10 on HDD and wish to use a SSD for it.

I've searched and recommend to use EaseUS backup tool to do SYSTEM CLONE, but that requires me to pay the license of USD29.95 per 1 year shakehead.gif
any other free backup softwares or other methods that you all could share?

One more thing, is 120GB SSD enough for Windows 10, taking into consideration for future Win 10 updates?

i'm thinking to get Kingston A400 120GB SSD. Is this a good & reliable buy?

thanks sifus!
TruboXL
post Jun 6 2020, 12:58 AM

Over 900 useless posts
984 posts

clonezilla
TrialUserXP
post Jun 6 2020, 01:13 AM

725 posts

yr new ssd might have bundled software for you to do the migration...

i remember that samsung ssd includes acronis last time
TechForumer
post Jun 6 2020, 10:48 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 6 2020, 12:55 AM)
I am upgrading my old desktop that runs Windows 10 on HDD and wish to use a SSD for it.

I've searched and recommend to use EaseUS backup tool to do SYSTEM CLONE, but that requires me to pay the license of USD29.95 per 1 year  shakehead.gif

One more thing, is 120GB SSD enough for Windows 10, taking into consideration for future Win 10 updates?

thanks sifus!
Aomei Backupper Standard (Free)
waghyu
post Jun 6 2020, 10:50 AM

3,389 posts

I've searched and recommend to use EaseUS backup tool to do SYSTEM CLONE, but that requires me to pay the license of USD29.95 per 1 year  shakehead.gif

thanks sifus!
120GB really enough.
acbc
post Jun 6 2020, 10:55 AM

8,475 posts

thanks sifus!
Opt at least 250GB. W10 updates are huge especially for 64 bit OS.
TSZaryl
post Jun 6 2020, 09:16 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,523 posts

On doing the cloning from my old HDD to SSD, do i need the match the HDD space?

My old HDD is 1TB whereas i bought my SSD that has only 120GB.

Or this cloning method will only transfer essential OS file folders only?

Thanks guys for your previous feedbacks.
maserati
post Jun 6 2020, 09:19 PM

291 posts

Just done mine today but it's from a smaller ssd to a larger one.

https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree

Free and easy as heck.
netmatrix
post Jun 7 2020, 01:19 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,491 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 6 2020, 09:16 PM)

You need same capacity to clone 1 to 1. But there is a workaround for this. I dunno how to classify the level of complexity for this. But to me its easy. sweat.gif

- Check total disk usage of 1TB is less than 120GB.
- If it is then use Easus Partition Master free to shriking/ resize all partitions to total less than 120GB.
- then use Macrium reflect to clone the selected partitions to new SSD. Unpartioned space claimed from shrinking is not cloned in.

Additional.
- If total 1TB disk usage is more than 120GB, then dump some data, programs and also use disk cleanup to clean windows update files.
Zot
post Jun 7 2020, 07:10 PM

7,592 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 6 2020, 09:16 PM)

Some standalone cloning software allow cloning to smaller capacity ... well it is not actually cloning but copying I'd say

Read here:

https://www.easeus.com/partition-master/clo...maller-ssd.html

Actually now many can do this anyway
TSZaryl
post Jun 14 2020, 06:58 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,523 posts

I’m shit outta luck guys.

Tried almost all cloning softwares (EaseUS, AOMEI, etc), all of them failed due to my 120GB SSD target disk having smaller disk usage than my original 1TB HDD (disk usage at 895GB).

So does this means i have to do it the hard way, as in deleting all unnecessary programs & apps to effectively reduce the disk usage to less than 120GB? sweat.gif

Is there any more practical workaround to this?

Or do i have to do fresh install of Windows 10 on my new 120GB SSD?
How much is the cheapest Win 10 ya?

Appreciate your help guys.
DEz012
post Jun 14 2020, 07:19 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 14 2020, 06:58 PM)

Tried almost all cloning softwares (EaseUS, AOMEI, etc), all of them failed due to my 120GB SSD target disk having smaller disk usage than my original 1TB HDD (disk usage at 895GB).

So does this means i have to do it the hard way, as in deleting all unnecessary programs & apps to effectively reduce the disk usage to less than 120GB?  sweat.gif

The SSD is 120gb and your HDD is 895gb usage . How do u intend the 895gb to fit into120gb by cloning.

My advice is fresh install the Win 10 on the SSD and stop wasting time uninstall the program on the HDD.

chilskater
post Jun 14 2020, 07:21 PM

1,096 posts

How about ur program files later? Will it installed all inside the SSD?
TSZaryl
post Jun 14 2020, 07:25 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,523 posts

QUOTE(DEz012 @ Jun 14 2020, 07:19 PM)
The SSD is 120gb and your HDD is 895gb usage . How do u intend the 895gb to fit into120gb by cloning.

My advice is fresh install the Win 10 on the SSD and stop wasting time uninstall the program on the HDD.
Ok if i want to do a fresh install, i would have to buy a NEW windows 10 key right? or i could use the existing windows 10 key via "key transfer to another system"?

TSZaryl
post Jun 14 2020, 07:26 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,523 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Jun 14 2020, 07:21 PM)
How about ur program files later? Will it installed all inside the SSD?
i will just use the following programs on my new SSD only:

microsoft office 365
autocad
document reader apps such as acrobat readers
etc

SUSRagingBalls
post Jun 14 2020, 07:28 PM

282 posts

According to some guy on YouTube you can just clone the windows files and the swap files onto the SSD making it your new C:/ then copy somewhere all the personal huge files somewhere. Then format the hard-drive and copy back all the personal files onto it and make it your storage drive D:/.

SUSRagingBalls
post Jun 14 2020, 07:29 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 14 2020, 07:26 PM)
i will just use the following programs on my new SSD  only:

microsoft office 365
autocad
document reader apps such as acrobat readers
etc
What version AutoCAD your using bro?
1024kbps
post Jun 14 2020, 07:31 PM

李素裳
5,780 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 14 2020, 06:58 PM)

So does this means i have to do it the hard way, as in deleting all unnecessary programs & apps to effectively reduce the disk usage to less than 120GB?  sweat.gif

A400 is some third rate SSD, get something better...

of course the cloning will failed, what do you expect sweat.gif
most disk cloning only copy the partition, you must reduce the system partiton size by move the non essential files to other HDD.

Fresh install is the most painless and recommended, it get rids of old junk files and hidden driver files that might not be used in future.
but make sure you link your microsoft account with the windows license, so next time you log in to freshly installed windows 10 with just your microsoft account, no longer needed to reactivate..

SUSRagingBalls
post Jun 14 2020, 07:33 PM

282 posts

I doubt having Windows 10 plus those programs wont fit a 120gb ssd.
I think the personal files like pics, videos and teh like that is hogging the space.
kyogre
post Jun 14 2020, 07:34 PM

217 posts

i'd suggest getting 240gb ssd, 120 is a close shave already.
just install new copy in ssd, then transfer ur old stuff manually. faster & give u a chance to comb through all stuff u hoarded b4

btw, afaik, ur win copy is tied to ur mobo & cpu. it will auto reactivate once u connect to internet

if ure curious, all ur previous win still in original HDD, under windows.old, u may delete it afterwards manually or using disk cleanup. your new My Documents, Downloads etc (currently in ur ssd) can be retargeted to ur HDD to save more space in ssd, even ur Desktop, in "the folder's" Properties > Location

This post has been edited by kyogre: Jun 14 2020, 07:43 PM

0.0184sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:24 AM