This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 1 2007, 01:55 PM
Photography Check your camera sensor for HOT/DEAD pixels, ooooo....nasty....
Aug 1 2007, 09:10 AM, updated 19y ago
9,856 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, WP |
Refer to post #3 directly, ignore the following crap...
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 1 2007, 01:55 PM |
Aug 1 2007, 12:33 PM
I found a few on my new camera, I'm contemplating sending it in to get the pixels remapped.
Ignore the first post and use this guide to test the sensor: 1) Set iso to highest sensitivity possible (H1.0 on D200) 2) Set to shutter priority, set shutter to 10s (more than enough..unless u really wanna do 30sec 3) Set camera to manual focus, leave the lens cap on 4) Turn off ALL noise reduction, both high iso & long exposure NR 5) Set QUAL to Fine jpeg 6) Cover the viewfinder with ur hand and FIRE AWAY! look at the black picture, if u have stuck/dead/hot pixels, u'd see them easily, they appear as a normal R/G/B/white dot...sometimes in a + sign. If you want to find out starting from what ISO the crapped pixels manifest, do the same shot and slowly lower the iso. Mine start showing @ iso800. I was reading A100 review on dpreview....apparently same case with sony....why am i not surprised....sony sensor... |
Aug 1 2007, 12:43 PM
D200? in my wish list lar.....using D40 like you only...had to downgrade from D50. Checked the D50 I sold, that one had perfect sensor....well probably mapped out la
Aug 1 2007, 01:12 PM
u dont need any software, just take the test picture, then look at it on ur pc. Upload it here so that I can double check for you too
Aug 1 2007, 01:43 PM
yeah I found 4 on yours (circled):
![]() But your sensor seems to have lots of dusts.....might wanna check that too. This is mine: ![]() Try to use 30sec exposure and see if you can find more. If your cam still has warranty, drop it off nikon service centre and get them remapped. This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 1 2007, 01:44 PM |
Aug 1 2007, 01:47 PM
hell yeah they are dusts....lots and lots of them...u see any in my pix? lol
when u drop the cam in, they will clean eveything, just tell them you need "defective pixel remapping & sensor dust cleaning" check it before warranty expires too, they are like monitor pixels, can die or go faulty with more usage. I found program leaked from nikon where u can diy remapping pixel but its only good for D100 This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Aug 1 2007, 01:59 PM |
Aug 1 2007, 01:53 PM
I never change lens in public, and when i change lens...i do it quickly 1
1) prepare lens to be changed 2) remove rear cover 3) unmount lens 4) blow the camera chamber with blower kau kau 5) blow lens rear element kau kau 6) lock! i havent seen a single speck of dust in my sensor both old D50 and new D40 |
Aug 1 2007, 01:57 PM
Aug 1 2007, 10:30 PM
Calvin, send it it, there's too many of them. Don't count on the noise reduction to "fix" the problem, some of mine can't be fixed even with nr on. I called nikon and they say of there's over 20 dead.hot pixels, they will replace the sensor and remap the new one.
I'm gonna send mine in, and gonna be 3 weeks without camera |
Aug 1 2007, 11:29 PM
I usually shoot at 1600 MAX, but even at iso800, some are already visible. No harm getting it fixed.
Aug 2 2007, 03:12 PM
post up a pix, ill check for you, unless u scare there's lots and lots of them
Aug 2 2007, 10:53 PM
yup, there's no need for the warranty card. Just a photocopy of the receipt, description of the problem, and send the cam in. Don't even in RA#. I called to check again today and this time they told me a week. I told them i found 20+ dots, each of them consist of 4-6 pixels together...that's over a hundred of them. The girl on the phone said "oh my god"
bbtat, yes, really lots of them, more than twice the amount of what i have....almost the same level like those D100 liao....get it fixed. Tell nikon you take lots of long exposure shot, over a min, and you see lots of these pixels. You want them to map out everything see up to 2 sec, @ high iso. |
Aug 2 2007, 11:17 PM
Actually there's no sensor that has 0 dead pixel. Camera manufacturer usually mapped the problem pixel out before sending it out, olympus camera has automatic maintenanance system that will map out dead pixels during certain time. Basically the camera will check for the dead pixels, then take the data around the surrounding pixels, interpolate the data, and clone the closest pixel to the dead pixel. This is done at the firmware level, the firmware level.
Another solution is to replace the sensor, but even replaced, there will still be dead pixels, and they will map it out. IIRC nikon can only map out 200+ pixels, if there's more than that, they will replace the sensor, then remap the new one. |
Aug 3 2007, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(jinaun @ Aug 3 2007, 12:21 PM) how do they actually remap those pixel on the sensor? Exactly. They interpolate the surround pixels, not just the one that is next to it though. disable that pixel and share its value with neighbour pixel? @bbtat check previous page, I've mentioned the exact phrase you need to tell them to get this fixed. |
Aug 4 2007, 12:44 AM
Aug 4 2007, 09:45 AM
wah lau....i didnt need to resize already can see dots as kau as ur avatar
Aug 5 2007, 10:54 AM
Aug 27 2007, 04:28 PM
olympus? IIRC, u can map it out with olympus slr, check the manual...i believe the feature is still there with newer slrs.
| Change to: | 0.0174sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:55 PM |