Hotlink Prepaid Unlimited 2020 V1, 2am-2pm uncapped speed with free hotspot

SUSCandy12
post Jun 2 2020, 12:10 AM

1,878 posts

Actually uMobile Giler Unlimited Prepaid GX38 and GX30 plans lack the addition of unlimited calls bundle.That's why it still lost the war. The nearest would be the GT30 plan but it only gives 1GB monthly which is damn stingy.

uMobile also lacks attractive data top up plan offers which DiGi and Maxis is aggressively selling nearing festive season.If you deplete your quota, you can always buy top-ups like 10GB during off peak hours for like RM2 daily or mornings and during season holidays you can buy as much as 20GB for very cheap bundles.
It is very convenient when you are desperate and needs the temporarily backup.

If you can combined both an unlimited data plan with speed between 3Mbps-10Mbps and bundle with unlimited local calls(mobile/fixed lines) sure it's going to sell like hot cakes.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Jun 2 2020, 12:13 AM
SUSCandy12
post Jun 2 2020, 12:17 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(tympg @ Jun 2 2020, 12:13 AM)
Will there be quota for tethering?
I think they'll block tethering from the phone and will have a hidden FUP which protects themselves from people abusing it other than using outside the phone.

It is impossible for someone to utilize hundreds of GB from just your phone unless you tether your line to the PC and do torrenting non stop daily.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 2 2020, 12:30 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(tympg @ Jun 2 2020, 12:22 AM)
This being Maxis, torrenting is probably blocked.
Can always be bypassed with VPN. I even torrent from my phone very frequently for small to mid sized files.
So FUP with a generous quota such as 100GB is very normal to avoid line abuse.

Somehow people will always find ways to circumvent their unlimited mobile plan and tether it to their PCs for heavy downloading. Eventually people will use creative ways to bypass the hotspot blocking method.

So the most effective way is to still implement a FUP quota which is fair to every users before slowing things down. 100GB is quite a lot for single phone users.You won't be watching 4K on your phone or always at it 24/7 in front of the screen doing something.

Most of the time, you're either receiving instant messaging, watching mobile resolution movies, or just downloading mid/small size files.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 2 2020, 12:43 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jun 2 2020, 12:35 AM)
Probably have some hidden FUP or 'unlimited' on some specific popular app only hmm.gif
No such thing as all you can eat, in Malaysia sure got some idiot will try to bypass the hotspot blocking restrictions and tether it to their PC 24/7 to do torrenting or some sort.

Implementing a sane and generous high quota between 50GB-100GB is very fair for both the ISP and user to avoid abusing.

In Japan, they even have 3-days quota limit which resets upon every 3rd day for something like 10GB to avoid abuse. If you exceed your quota within a 3 days frame, you'll be throttled until 3rd day then reset again even if you're using an unlimited plan.

You can roughly estimate how much a typical user who only uses his plan on the phone would need. Those who says they can hit hundreds of gigabytes or terrabytes monthly are doing something really suspicious which has nothing to do with just their phones.

You can't be watching 4K movies daily or have so much time to download when working.Either they're running torrent seeding servers at home, bitcoin mining or broadcasting content 24/7 live from their homes.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 4 2020, 03:44 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(a8m @ Jun 2 2020, 08:25 PM)
Just in time. I just installed Time internet at home and want to downgrade to cheap plan with unlimited call and basic data for WhatsApp only.
DiGi RM15 or Yoodo <RM20 customized 2GB plan.

Umobile also has the GT30(RM25) monthly plan but they have very silly strategy, why they didn't bundle unlimited calls for the GX30/GX38 plans was because it'll eventually compete directly with their GX50 Postpaid plans in you increase the prices slightly above the RM40 level.

People will buy the prepaid instead of Postpaid as they won't have to pay SST in addition to the RM50 Postpaid plan to get the same thing.Moreover the GX38 plan is giving 6Mbps which is 1Mbps faster than the GX50 and at RM35 if add another RM10 for unlimited call making it'll challenge the GX50 directly.

Now that Hotlink's RM45 6Mbps plan with unlimited calls is launched, Umobile Postpaid GX50 is a loser plan or requires serious revamp if they want to stay relevant.No brainer.

Less by RM5, no need to pay SST, and even faster by 1mbps.

SUSCandy12
post Jun 4 2020, 03:45 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(ahemdolah @ Jun 4 2020, 03:38 PM)
The best prepaid plan to date by Malaysia telco.

Will steal alot users from umobile prepaid 3 and 6mbps unlimited and yes4g 4mbps unlimited. 🤭

Free call plus double or triple the coverage of those telco.
Even UMobile Postpaid GX50 will also lose lots of customers after this.
No brainer RM50 cheaper without SST and faster summore.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 8 2020, 07:53 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(ohtheirony @ Jun 8 2020, 02:34 PM)
Exactly. People calling hotlink as transparent is a joke.

If they are being transparent they should have followed celcom's advertising of rm38 plan

Celcom: RM38 for 48GB of data usage on mobile phone plus 3GB hotspot at speed of 3mbps, speed reduced to 64kbps after quota depleted

They only advertised their FUP days after their plan is launched, by then thousands of people already signed up and paid for change of plan thinking this plan is truly unlimited, only to find out the daily plan has FUP of 5GB thus catching hotlink with his pants down
All your posts sounded like a pre BN era sour guy who promotes monopoly practices favoring TM.
It is during your era before Gobind which caused Malaysia to fall off even below 3rd place in SEA region.
I hope this hell won't take place again with our current backdoor government

Saw your post at the TM Unifi thread which encouraged authorities to clam down on torrenting justifying slow speed plans to be continued to be sold by TM.

The UNLIMITED usage promoted by Hotlink is to be meant to be used on the phone only and not tethering. No one is crazy enough to utilize hundreds of GBs by just using it on the phone. My Hotlink Flex Plus 10GB barely even touches 6GB with over 3-5GB burnt every month. 50GB is quite a challenge to even reach unless you're a jobless NEET who sits on the couch on the phone all day long doing nothing but downloads.

If you're a working adult occupied with work, you'll only need your mobile data outside your office/home during the day for GPS/messaging and unlimited local voice calls and the convenient of looking up news, watching short videos before calling the day off to bed. Also most of your home/office connectivity will already be offloaded by fixed line WiFi.

For those who are thinking of abusing a cheap prepaid plan as a fixed line replacement my suggestion is to look elsewhere. There's the new Maxis Go WiFi or DiGi's Infinite 150 plans if you want to avoid tying up with long contracts.

My only complain though is the exceeded FUP speed of 512kbps. I was once on the uMobile Unlimited 50 plan a year back. Once you hit the 50GB cap, you'll only be capped between 8pm-2am during peak hours at a higher speed of 1.5Mbps. Outside that time during the day you'll still get full 5M speed.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 9 2020, 05:50 PM

1,878 posts

Hotlink Flex most attractive deal is its Maxis Home Fibre RM99 bundle.

For just an additional RM10, you get to have the Hotlink Flex Plus plan bundled along with a 30M FTTH fixed line plan at home.If you were to separate the 2 you'd be paying RM89 + RM60 including SST which is almost RM150 per month for 2 years.

I got some regret because this plan only came out towards end of last year which I've already subscribed to Maxis Home Fibre at home.If not I'd already be enjoying having to pay just 1 bill monthly for both my landline and mobile plan below RM100.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 9 2020, 05:53 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(kabuto12 @ Jun 9 2020, 04:39 PM)
It's high time the MCMC forbids the term "unlimited" in the telecommunications industry. If the term is going to be hidden within T&Cs and footnotes that telcos hope consumers don't read then, then I say it's time for this to stop. We need to report to MCMC.
It is really unlimited if you only use it on your phone and isolate your home network WiFi on a fixed line instead.

No sane person will use more than 50GB on a phone if you're working or occupied with healthy activities outdoors. 5 hours a day non stop with movies on a small screen? Dont tell me you got NBTD and your phone battery can last that long streaming.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 9 2020, 06:12 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jun 9 2020, 02:09 PM)
My take so far:

[attachmentid=10512277]

Hidden Agenda(s) to be exposed:

1) The phrase "Not applicable" is solid. This legitimately means no cap for CUP35. But as mentioned in Clause below:
[attachmentid=10512291]

I'm not happy with the contradiction of Clauses above.

2) If no cap for CUP35, why bother the confusion between 64 kiloBytes per second OR 64 kilobits per second? The contractions of Clauses in item (1) above is convincing me that they "will" throttle the speed "as and when they feels right to do so".

Case is KIV... and Back To Topic, please...
It's very dangerous, dishonest and irresponsible to provide such statement because it's no different than asking people to sign a "blank" cheque.

They can retract on their part and use any amount of quota as they wish to accuse users of using beyond their FUP limit it may be 10GB-50GB or they would protect themselves from being held responsible if their network degrades to the point like their sister company Unifi Mobile(Webe) where during peak hours speeds would drop below 1Mbps and they'd claim "BEST EFFORT" unlimited.

At least companies such as Maxis who specifically states that their FUP is 50GB, if you're using anything less than that amount, dissatisfied with their over-congested network and you feel that your speed is no where near the 3Mbps advertised speed you can always call up and shoot them to do something about it.

Being transparent and telling what is deemed fair usage is still better.Celcom's T&C allows them to give more excuses, blame their customers and protect themselves.

Anyway, Celcom's Xpax app was a ultimate failure the last time I used them. It was down for WEEKS and their dumb users would just took it for granted.I couldn't even top up directly with a top up coupon code on their app all must be done via SMS. USSD was also frequently down.Even funnier their MVNOs such as TuneTalk had much better management apps than them.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 9 2020, 06:49 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(longadam @ Jun 9 2020, 06:39 PM)
i think so far will not consider for celcom as not a permanent plan...hmmm
Celcom coverage and services is usually bad in Chinese dominated areas because many seldom use their service for a reason. Their Postpaid plans intended to match Maxis is overpriced and their Xpax customer service is like almost non existent.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 9 2020, 07:23 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jun 9 2020, 07:15 PM)
is xpax customer service that bad?

I used celcom, maxis and digi before and celcom had the best customer service, be it at the counter or the phone customer support.
The Celcom Postpaid customer service which handles their high end plans might still be good but not the Xpax brand.

They have one of the lousiest credit top up system at least 2-3 years back when I tried buying a startup pack from them during the Burung Hantu promo. Top up and service subscription must use SMS codes instead of USSD. Cannot top up directly via app. Must wait for reply in only confirm subscribed if not you go ahead and use straight deduct from your credit.

I don't know how some people can tolerate this kind of services and still continue using them.

Celcom, Yoodo and their sister company TM services really not for people with little patience to use one. Their billing system always in a mess, confusing and screwed up.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 9 2020, 07:33 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Jun 9 2020, 07:29 PM)
i love celcom coverage. thats why im using onexox. the best mvno under celcom. tunetalk redone yoodo including celcom itself really no good.
Celcom coverage good in the kampung areas and Malay majority towns/suburbs but if you're in Chinese areas can be direct opposite. I mentioned before sitting in a kopitiam in Ipoh just off Jln. Pasir Putih Celcom only can get 1-bar but the rest Maxis/DiGi/Umobile all FULL bars, even Yes 4G.

By the way I was using TuneTalk on Celcom MVNO to test.

So depends where you normally hang out.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 11 2020, 07:37 PM

1,878 posts

Maxis's biggest drawback now is its inability to provide VoLTE/VoWifi HD calls compared to the smaller players.

Without that they'll still be hindered from becoming the industry's leader.

The Hotlink Unlimited plans will severely impact their premium Postpaid plans which is considerably way more expensive despite gaining more market share.

Do not overlook the importance of VoWiFi calling, it's now the most cost efficient way to push fibre fixed lines and also cover blindspots, indoors and high rise residential buildings with higher definition calls.
SUSCandy12
post Jul 11 2020, 07:11 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(tauevo @ Jul 11 2020, 04:38 PM)
Currently I am using digi 38, 10gb quota and everyday 1gb free from 1pm to 7pm.  So is like 40gb per month and unlimited call. Do u guys think is worth for me to get 35 hud or just stay to my digi.
Go for the HUP 45 instead with 6Mbps.
Good enough for 720p stable streaming on the phone.

With DiGi Postpaid 38, you're already paying like RM40.28 with 6% SST.Another RM5 get unlimited quota(50GB) is worth it.If you want to cut down or downgrade, switch to DiGi Prepaid BIGBonus 28 now comes with 6GB quota after 1 month use for continuing top-ups and daily 1GB from 1pm to 7pm.

QUOTE(coolstore @ Jul 11 2020, 06:51 PM)
just to ask, maxis no features CA (carrier aggregation) for hotlink?
Why do you need CA for just 3/6Mbps speeds?
It consumes more battery than single bands.

0.0908sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:08 PM