Hotlink Prepaid Unlimited 2020 V1, 2am-2pm uncapped speed with free hotspot

SUSlurkingaround
post Jun 15 2020, 11:30 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jun 15 2020, 10:50 AM)
Me edy claimed >RM50 from the rewards...
If you have to unnecessarily spend about RM500 to redeem the RM50 rewards/points, I don't think that is money-wise.

I think the discussion about these extra rewards and points is off-topic, eg free KFC wedges when you buy KFC chicken nuggets.

SUSlurkingaround
post Jun 15 2020, 03:45 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jun 15 2020, 03:25 PM)
Next, Häagen-Dazs redemption :

[attachmentid=10516004] [attachmentid=10516006]

With the RM30 monthly topup, we effectively get cashback from:
= RM2.50 (Touch'N Go cashback) + RM6.25 (KFC redemption) + RM4.70 (Marrybrown redemption) + RM28.50 (Himalaya redemption) + (2 x RM4.70) (Marrybrown redemption)  + RM6.60 (Tealive redemption) + RM8.49 (Häagen-Dazs redemption)
= RM66.44 cashback

Thanx Hotlink...
RM12 for only 2 scoops of Haagen Daz ice-cream.?

I'd rather wait for this better promo from Aeon and Haagen Daz. .......

Häagen-Dazs 2 x pints @ Rm49 at AEON Stores

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Jun 15 2020, 03:46 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Jun 17 2020, 01:52 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(2k20 @ Jun 17 2020, 08:58 AM)
Does HUP have the always active concept like Digi? Let's say I top up RM35 using the hotlink share feature which only has a validity of 5 days. But after the RM35 hotlink share top up, I immediately buy the HUP RM35 plan. Will I be able to use the unlimited plan for 30 days or only 5 days? Hope someone can clarify. Thanks in advance🙂
QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jun 17 2020, 09:41 AM)
[attachmentid=10518288]

So, the validity for 5 days remains 5 days even after subscribed to HUP35. All Unlimited Passes does not extend the validity. It only gives access (hence the term "Pass") to allow Subscribers to enjoy its unlimited feature(s).
Does this mean that for Maxis subscribers to use the prepaid HUP35 plan, they have to pay a total of about RM65 per month, ie RM30 to keep the phone line active for 1 month and RM35 to access HUP35's unlimited data and calls for 1 month/30-days.?
SUSlurkingaround
post Jun 17 2020, 02:47 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jun 17 2020, 02:25 PM)
"Almost" all PRE-paid Plans (except DiGi Always Active Plan and TuneTalk Buddies +VIBE Plan), topups/reloads will link to account's "Validity" (aka Active Status/Period). But Unlimited Passes and Add-Ons DO NOT link to account's "Validity" (aka Active Status/Period).

Having said that, topup RM30 (with free RM5 credit) to get 30 days validity/active status/active period. And so, immediately subscribe to HUP35 to immediately enjoy unlimited "Internet" and "Calls" for the next 30 days. On 31st day, repeat the topup/reload RM30 with free RM5 credit from HotlinkMu Offers and immediately subscribe to HUP35.

The same goes for CUP35. Topup/reload RM30 to get 30 days validity. But must topup another RM5 separately becoz PRE-paid topup/reload denominations are RM5, RM10, RM30, RM50, RM100 and so on. And so, with RM35 in account/credit/wallet, immediately subscribe to CUP35 to immediately enjoy unlimited "Internet" and "Calls" for the next 30 days. On 31st day, repeat the topup/reload RM30 + RM5 to subscribe CUP35.

The same goes for GX38. Topup/reload RM30 to get 30 days validity. But must topup another RM5 separately becoz PRE-paid topup/reload denominations are RM5, RM10, RM30, RM50, RM100 and so on. And so, with RM35 in account/credit/wallet, immediately subscribe to GX38 (@ RM35 limited promo period) to immediately enjoy unlimited "Internet" and "Calls" for the next 30 days. On 31st day, repeat the topup/reload RM30 + RM5 to subscribe GX38.

Conclusion:
Focus on the validity and not the HUP35/CUP35/GX38 period/duration. Always topup/reload RM30 (with extra RM5 afterwards) so that the validity will become "Synchronise" with Unlimited Passes period/duration. That's why me---owww does not prefer PRE-paid Plans because of that silly validity conundrum. Awaiting for POST-paid war next year...
Thank you very much for the clear explanation, ie topup RM30(with free RM5 credit) for Maxis HUP35's 30-days of unlimited data and calls will also extend the phone line's validity by 30-days/1 month.

SUSlurkingaround
post Jun 21 2020, 03:47 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Jun 21 2020, 03:09 PM)
hmm.gif Many of your posts, those related to U Mobile ones, keep telling everyone that U Mobile sucks everywhere. It makes me feel like U Mobile has offended you so badly  confused.gif .
QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ Jun 21 2020, 03:30 PM)
Because he is a marketing manager and fan from other telco.

He just keeps on talking nonsense but no action has taken against him.
He has vested interests in bad-mouthing UMobile plus he's mostly trying to troll satisfied UMobile subscribers with his repetitive post'al vomits like a sickening parrot or like a broken record.

He posts his vitriols as if most celco subscribers do not know that newcomer UMobile is not the old-established Big 3 celcos.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Jun 21 2020, 03:49 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Jul 6 2020, 11:54 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jun 28 2020, 11:18 AM)
many i known ported out from maxis to orange telco then use few months regret go back to maxis example my boss. Now i also planning porting all the company lines back to maxis now waiting see what offering they will give for corporate line after HUP.
QUOTE(hengger @ Jul 6 2020, 10:59 AM)
still using u mobile?
QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jul 6 2020, 11:02 AM)
Umobile P70 , Digi x 2 , hotlink HYC , Hotlink HUP45, Unifi Mobile
Still using U Mobile.?

SUSlurkingaround
post Jul 19 2020, 02:55 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Jul 19 2020, 02:37 PM)
After using hup45 for a month I feel this plan is not for me at my location.  Very inconsistent speed and coverage.

I am gonna try out other telco
Which celco.? CUP35.? Or TM Unifi Bebas Weekly RM20.? Or Digi BOS RM35.?
SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 1 2021, 02:14 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

https://www.lowyat.net/2021/231546/hotlink-...ted-users-mco2/ - Hotlink Throttles Unlimited Users To 512kbps From 8 PM to 12 AM During MCO - Chief Chapree - January 31, 2021
"In another response, the telco claimed that the MCO’s FUP was implemented to make sure that all customers can utilize Hotlink service without interruption. That being said, reducing user’s speed to just 512kbps at this time and age seems rather unjustified especially given the fact that customers were not informed of this move beforehand."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maxis_Communications = Maxis has about 60MHz or 2X10MHz X 3 frequency bands for 4G LTE.

Maxis's FUP throttling justification is likely a half lie.

Maxis has about 2X10MHz X 3 = 60MHz = 1.2Gbps of Internet bandwidth for 4G LTE data to be shared by its postpaid and prepaid subscribers. Each 4G LTE cell tower can only serve a maximum of about 240 active subscribers at any one time, eg video-streamers = average 5Mbps per subscriber, ie 1.2Gbps or 1,200Mbps divided by 240 active subscribers = 5Mbps.

Problem is, richer postpaid Maxis subscribers have contracted for high-speed Internet of about 100Mbps(= LTE-Advanced) for about RM100 per month while most poorer prepaid Maxis subscribers have contracted for 3Mbps or 6Mbps, ie HUP35/45.
....... Each 4G cell tower could ony serve a maximum of 12 active richer postpaid Maxis subscribers at 100Mbps, ie 1,200Mbps divided by 100Mbps = 12.
....... If got 60 active richer postpaid subscribers per cell tower, each can get ony 20Mbps.

Number of active subscribers exceeding the above numbers results in 4G LTE network congestion = reduced speeds. Eg if got 1,000 active subscribers, each will get only 1.2Mbps, ie 1,200Mbps divided by 1,000.
= solution is for the celco to limit the selling of its phone plans or to increase the number of 4G LTE cell towers = both are very expensive solutions.

The complaints of richer postpaid subscribers should likely carry more weight in Maxis. Hence, Maxis took the cheapest solution by throttling the poorer HUP35/45 subscribers as above, in order for the active richer postpaid subscribers to get higher speeds and also to push the latter poor folks to upgrade to the more expensive postpaid plans.

Maybe Maxis should not have entered the affordable(= for poor folks) unlimited prepaid market in June 2020, ie remained focused on the high-end(= for rich folks) postpaid market macam Apple Inc and Tesla.

P S - Note that Maxis Mobile has to pay TM HSBB Fiber company about RM90 for 30Mbps of bandwidth for its 4G LTE cell towers' backhaul connections to the World Wide Web or www = Rm9 per 3Mbps.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Feb 1 2021, 02:34 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 1 2021, 10:58 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Feb 1 2021 @ 02:14 PM)
https://www.lowyat.net/2021/231546/hotlink-...ted-users-mco2/ - Hotlink Throttles Unlimited Users To 512kbps From 8 PM to 12 AM During MCO - Chief Chapree - January 31, 2021
"In another response, the telco claimed that the MCO’s FUP was implemented to make sure that all customers can utilize Hotlink service without interruption. That being said, reducing user’s speed to just 512kbps at this time and age seems rather unjustified especially given the fact that customers were not informed of this move beforehand."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maxis_Communications = Maxis has about 60MHz or 2X10MHz X 3 frequency bands for 4G LTE.

Maxis's FUP throttling justification is likely a half lie.

Maxis has about 2X10MHz X 3 = 60MHz = 1.2Gbps of Internet bandwidth for 4G LTE data to be shared by its postpaid and prepaid subscribers. Each 4G LTE cell tower can only serve a maximum of about 240 active subscribers at any one time, eg video-streamers = average 5Mbps per subscriber, ie 1.2Gbps or 1,200Mbps divided by 240 active subscribers = 5Mbps.

Problem is, richer postpaid Maxis subscribers have contracted for high-speed Internet of about 100Mbps(= LTE-Advanced) for about RM100 per month while most poorer prepaid Maxis subscribers have contracted for 3Mbps or 6Mbps, ie HUP35/45. 
....... Each 4G cell tower could ony serve a maximum of 12 active richer postpaid Maxis subscribers at 100Mbps, ie 1,200Mbps divided by 100Mbps = 12.
....... If got 60 active richer postpaid subscribers per cell tower, each can get ony 20Mbps.

Number of active subscribers exceeding the above numbers results in 4G LTE network congestion = reduced speeds. Eg if got 1,000 active subscribers, each will get only 1.2Mbps, ie 1,200Mbps divided by 1,000.
= solution is for the celco to limit the selling of its phone plans or to increase the number of 4G LTE cell towers = both are very expensive solutions.

The complaints of richer postpaid subscribers should likely carry more weight in Maxis. Hence, Maxis took the cheapest solution by throttling the poorer HUP35/45 subscribers as above, in order for the active  richer postpaid subscribers to get higher speeds and also to push the latter poor folks to upgrade to the more expensive postpaid plans.

Maybe Maxis should not have entered the affordable(= for poor folks) unlimited prepaid market in June 2020, ie remained focused on the high-end(= for rich folks) postpaid market macam Apple Inc and Tesla.

P S - Note that Maxis Mobile has to pay TM HSBB Fiber company about RM90 for 30Mbps of bandwidth for its 4G LTE cell towers' backhaul connections to the World Wide Web or www = Rm9 per 3Mbps.
QUOTE(iamloco @ Feb 1 2021, 03:29 PM)
Irrelevant. Even Maxis one  wifi subscriber paying 138/month also facing the same throttle 8pm-12am.

Maxis is just shit.
QUOTE(sp6068 @ Feb 1 2021, 05:05 AM)
hello this also apply to maxis one go wifi plan ye. 8-12 throttle to 2-5mbps. Fucuking scam this maxshit service. Someone needs to put them into the spotlight again.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=99828658 - Hotlink quietly slows down users to 512kbps, kasi chan la macha - Today

Seems, the richer postpaid Maxis One Go Wifi 138 subscribers are not throttled as severely as the poorer prepaid Maxis Hotlink HUP35/45 subscribers.

SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 2 2021, 02:26 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Feb 1 2021, 11:10 PM)
Ckap unlimited but got speed throttling. What BS mang. U visit the 138 tered see people cannot load speedtest pun
Please show the Maxis One Go Wifi 138 link about people cannot load speedtest.

How come got Maxis sub-forum here, while other celcos don't have.?

SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 2 2021, 04:01 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Feb 2 2021, 02:54 PM)
Go to the subforum laaa. U so many star member also dunno to find the thread ke
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4972010 - Hotlink limit speed to 2mbps after 8pm, Hotlink limit speed to 2mbps after 8pm - June to Oct 2020

QUOTE(ahhann @ Dec 3 2020 @ 08:49 PM)
They throttle speed from 8pm till 2am. Speed only 2MBps.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=99150042 - Anyone using MaxisOne Go Wifi 138?, Is it truly unlimited as published?

I can't find the post about people cannot load speedtest at the Maxis sub-forums at Telco Talk.

Note that the recent news states that Maxis is throttling its prepaid HUP35/45 subscribers to 512kbps or 0.5Mbps from the contracted speed of 3Mbps/6Mbps between 8pm and 12am daily during MCO, whereas the above posts state that Maxis has similarly throttled its postpaid One Go 138 subscribers to 2Mbps from the contracted high-speed of 20Mbps to 100+Mbps(= 4G LTE-Advanced).
....... = poorer prepaid customers being throttled/treated worse than richer postpaid customers by Maxis.?

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Feb 2 2021, 04:05 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 2 2021, 04:12 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Feb 2 2021, 04:06 PM)
I wonder why is this hotlink thread not even in https://forum.lowyat.net/Hotlink
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=99161615

was it so hard to search?

SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 2 2021, 10:05 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(reymura99 @ Feb 2 2021, 08:52 PM)
Here are mine

What do you think ?
That's super unfair for postpaying RM138 per month = should downgrade to prepaid Maxis HUP 35/45.?

I wonder what speeds the even richer Maxis Business postpaid subscribers are getting between 8pm and 12am MCO.? Seems Maxis has many super-rich business subscribers.

P S - My postpaid U Mobile GX50 is not throttled to 0.5Mbps or 500kbps (= 8pm to 1am) if I do not exceed the monthly FUP data limit of 150GB.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Feb 2 2021, 10:07 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 5 2021, 12:05 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Feb 2 2021 @ 10:05 PM)
That's super unfair for postpaying RM138 per month = should downgrade to prepaid Maxis HUP 35/45.?

I wonder what speeds the even richer Maxis Business postpaid subscribers are getting between 8pm and 12am MCO.? Seems Maxis has many super-rich business subscribers.

P S - My postpaid U Mobile GX50 is not throttled to 0.5Mbps or 500kbps (= 8pm to 1am) if I do not exceed the monthly FUP data limit of 150GB.
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 5 2021, 12:12 AM)
Just run some check using Maxis Business Postpaid sim card in modem for comparison 8pm-12am

Can go beyond 8Mbps but my area is congested, hence download is slower than upload. But during non-peak hours, I have seen my download peak at 70-80Mbps but normally constant around 30-40Mbps.

Urban area, high density/people. Tower distance roughly 300 metres.

So I guess the Hotlink Prepaid throttle does not apply ?

icon_rolleyes.gif

[attachmentid=10778920]

[attachmentid=10778921]
So, the super-richer Maxis Business Postpaid subscribers are not throttled or are throttled less severely(= 8Mbps.?) daily during MCO 8pm to 12am while all other poorer Maxis non-Business prepaid and postpaid subscribers are throttled more severely.

Seems the poorest Maxis prepaid subscribers are throttled to 500kbps/0.5Mbps while the poorer Maxis non-Business postpaid subscribers are throttled to 2Mbps.

This is bad customer service. Imagine paying Maxis RM138 per month for 2Mbps from 8pm to 12am daily.

SUSlurkingaround
post Feb 10 2021, 01:18 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 5 2021, 12:12 AM)
Just run some check using Maxis Business Postpaid sim card in modem for comparison 8pm-12am

Can go beyond 8Mbps but my area is congested, hence download is slower than upload. But during non-peak hours, I have seen my download peak at 70-80Mbps but normally constant around 30-40Mbps.

Urban area, high density/people. Tower distance roughly 300 metres.

So I guess the Hotlink Prepaid throttle does not apply ?

icon_rolleyes.gif

[attachmentid=10778920]

[attachmentid=10778921]
QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Feb 5 2021 @ 12:05 PM)
So, the super-richer Maxis Business Postpaid subscribers are not throttled  or are throttled less severely(= 8Mbps.?) daily during MCO 8pm to 12am while all other poorer Maxis non-Business prepaid and postpaid subscribers are throttled more severely.

Seems the poorest Maxis prepaid subscribers are throttled to 500kbps/0.5Mbps while the poorer Maxis non-Business postpaid subscribers are throttled to 2Mbps.

This is bad customer service. Imagine paying Maxis RM138 per month for 2Mbps from 8pm to 12am daily.
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 5 2021, 08:42 PM)
I did another test again, cause previously in 2020 during MCO even this Business line is also throttled to 3Mbps YouTube between 8pm-12am. From the monitoring graph, I can really see it flat out at 3Mbps at exactly 8:00:00pm onwards if I'm streaming YouTube.

Today I did a test again since curious. Looks like they remove the cap for YouTube. I can get 25Mbps+

[attachmentid=10779609]

I do another test to compare with last night 11pm+. This time at 8pm+ congestion is not that bad. I can get peak of 50Mbps download (green line) and 30Mbps upload (red line). Also speed average 20-25Mbps download and 20Mbps upload
Just to share here  icon_rolleyes.gif

[attachmentid=10779610]

[attachmentid=10779611]

[attachmentid=10779612]

Again, the 1GB daily free quota is finished (0MB left)

Sorry I don't get why you say RM138/month for 2Mbps between 8pm-12am ? My business line is downgraded from RM128 (60GB) to RM98 (40GB) now.

I have my personal Maxis MOP98 which I can test also over the weekend but need to swap SIM card around phone and modem. I also have a hotlink prepaid as backup but never use for data.  icon_rolleyes.gif
https://business.maxis.com.my/en/maxis-programmable-network/ - Maxis Programmable Network - 8 Feb 2021
"Through the Maxis Business Hub, you’ll be able to access a suite of on-demand services, such as bandwidth on demand, to get the services and features you need, whenever you need it. With MPN, connectivity becomes an active part of your business, allowing you to respond quickly to business demands and effectively compete in the digital age."

"Featured solutions with Bandwidth on Demand

Direct Internet Access

High bandwidth, high reliability connections."

Looks like Maxis is prioritizing high bandwidth/speeds for its Business subscribers = non-Business prepaid and postpaid subscribers got throttled.

0.0812sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:25 AM