Conceal vs Cassette Air Cond, Conceal vs Cassette Air Cond

TSalextan333
post Jun 1 2020, 07:24 PM, updated 6y ago

123 posts

Should I get two unit of AC or one unit of AC? This is for the living room. My living room have no fan so AC will run all the time.

a) 2.5 HP Cassette AC X 2 Unit = RM9k
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/daikin-i...HPwxQB&search=1

b) 5 HP X 1 Unit = RM7k
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/daikin-5...6kZQG7&search=1

And what is the pros and cons between concealed and cassette unit?

This post has been edited by alextan333: Jun 1 2020, 07:24 PM
bobowyc
post Jun 1 2020, 07:39 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

No experience in concealed unit, but one of my clients did install Cassette type at their house. So far its good, but electricity bill costs a bomb. Easily RM500 a month lol
iamsobloodysick
post Jun 1 2020, 08:58 PM

2,006 posts

Aesthetically the concealed type is much better. Cassettes make your living room look like a showroom plus they turn yellowish after a few years.
kennykck
post Jun 1 2020, 09:15 PM

!!!~~<((Bankai))>~~!!!
1,711 posts

Conceal type you need to make ducting, like office or mall. Is your living room is very big? I believe cassette type allows you to switch on either one at a time, whereas conceal one you cannot control the on off for certain zone. Also, cassette type it has louver to direct the air to you.
TSalextan333
post Jun 1 2020, 09:15 PM

123 posts

So two unit or 1 unit better? My house no fan

TSalextan333
post Jun 1 2020, 09:19 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(kennykck @ Jun 1 2020, 09:15 PM)
Conceal type you need to make ducting, like office or mall. Is your living room is very big? I believe cassette type allows you to switch on either one at a time, whereas conceal one you cannot control the on off for certain zone. Also, cassette type it has louver to direct the air to you.
Living room is open plan with dry kitchen. For cassette most time both will be on since my house have no ceiling fan.
So should i get 1 single unit 5 HP or two unit 2.5HP?
zheilwane
post Jun 1 2020, 09:58 PM

4,184 posts

your house mus b very big smile.gif

my experience with cassete, not very cold, nd more units

my bedroom used cassette before not very cold, changed to split unit, much better as it is direct blowing to my bed.

my living hall 1 2.5hp blow also sufficient d. Living hall, dinning area, kitchen all open

my uncle house using conceal, house big ma. during CNY every1 complain warm nd to on fan. if open window or entrance, air con start leaking bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jun 1 2020, 09:59 PM
enduser
post Jun 1 2020, 10:00 PM

1,280 posts

imo, better 2 x 2.5hp

if 1 breakdown u still hv 1 running

Or if weather is cooler or parts of ur living room nobody use, u can running 1 unit enough.

iamsobloodysick
post Jun 2 2020, 12:13 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(kennykck @ Jun 1 2020, 09:15 PM)
I think it’s possible to create zones even with the concealed type. Besides, unlike cassette type where the vents are fixed to the cassette, one can also choose where to place the vents for concealed type. In my case, the Daikin consultant my ID engaged proposed to place the indoor blower in the middle of my kitchen with vents running parallel on the sides.

Switching either one for a space that requires 5hp might not be a good idea. You might overwork one unit and shorten its lifespan / increase power consumption in the end. I can ask the Daikin consultant (Daikin HQ staff) about cassette single split vs concealed multi split tomorrow.

This post has been edited by iamsobloodysick: Jun 2 2020, 12:13 AM
eric3417
post Jun 2 2020, 12:59 AM

74 posts

My unit VP with concealed aircons. Wind flow not so good & takes longer time to cool the space. Servicing also more mafun.
iamsobloodysick
post Jun 2 2020, 01:38 PM

2,006 posts

Ducted multi-split
Pros
1. Less compressor
2. Energy saving

Cons
1. Air pressure is lower

Cassette single-split
Pros
1. Air pressure is higher

Cons
1. Extra compressor (not an issue if you're landed)
2. Noise level higher

VRV multi-split
Pros
All of the above pros

Cons
Much pricier
TSalextan333
post Jun 2 2020, 04:52 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jun 2 2020, 12:13 AM)
I think it’s possible to create zones even with the concealed type. Besides, unlike cassette type where the vents are fixed to the cassette, one can also choose where to place the vents for concealed type. In my case, the Daikin consultant my ID engaged proposed to place the indoor blower in the middle of my kitchen with vents running parallel on the sides.

Switching either one for a space that requires 5hp might not be a good idea. You might overwork one unit and shorten its lifespan / increase power consumption in the end. I can ask the Daikin consultant (Daikin HQ staff) about cassette single split vs concealed multi split tomorrow.
Can you share the daikin consultant number?
TSalextan333
post Jun 2 2020, 04:55 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jun 2 2020, 01:38 PM)
Ducted multi-split
Pros
1. Less compressor
2. Energy saving

Cons
1. Air pressure is lower

Cassette single-split
Pros
1. Air pressure is higher

Cons
1. Extra compressor (not an issue if you're landed)
2. Noise level higher

VRV multi-split
Pros
All of the above pros

Cons
Much pricier
Is VRV centralized air conditioning ? Last time i asked rm30k-40k.. over budget
lyt25_1234
post Jun 22 2020, 09:10 PM

1,152 posts

I just want to share my experience, I have one 2.5hp cassette York AC at living hall and I really regret installing it. The bill is really a bomb!

And when comes to cleaning the inside of the fins and filter, it will be a nightmare on a plaster ceiling!
Fully regretted in my life...
TSalextan333
post Jun 22 2020, 10:39 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Jun 22 2020, 09:10 PM)
I just want to share my experience, I have one 2.5hp cassette York AC at living hall and I really regret installing it. The bill is really a bomb!

And when comes to cleaning the inside of the fins and filter, it will be a nightmare on a plaster ceiling!
how much electric
pesona3F
post Jun 25 2020, 10:11 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Jun 22 2020, 09:10 PM)

Inverter or not?
bengyson
post Jul 13 2023, 12:34 AM

463 posts

QUOTE(alextan333 @ Jun 2 2020, 04:55 PM)
Is VRV centralized air conditioning ? Last time i asked rm30k-40k.. over budget
Bro, at the end which aircond solution you ended up install?
I am interested with conceal type aircond as well. Wanted to know if long run maintenance will be complex and costly?
Moon@Star P
post Jul 20 2023, 04:21 AM

Probation
13 posts

Asking all sifus here, my master bedroom is around 50ft x 15ft with no partitions in between, still considering whether to do a cabinet in between or not, if no, 2 normal ac or 1 casette is suitable?
SUSceo684
post Jul 21 2023, 11:12 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Moon@Star @ Jul 20 2023, 04:21 AM)
Asking all sifus here, my master bedroom is around 50ft x 15ft with no partitions in between, still considering whether to do a cabinet in between or not, if no, 2 normal ac or 1 casette is suitable?
16m x 5m? That’s equivalent of three bedrooms worth of volume
You can consider a multi split (System 3) aircon. Get a 7hp inverter.
Moon@Star P
post Jul 25 2023, 07:52 AM

Probation
13 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 21 2023, 11:12 AM)
16m x 5m? That’s equivalent of three bedrooms worth of volume
You can consider a multi split (System 3) aircon. Get a 7hp inverter.
Yes, roughly that size 🤣 i also find this is an insane size for a room, thats why im wondering want to split to 2 part or keep it open. But 7hp???? Electric bill sure shoot high up.

0.0196sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:07 AM