Why do you buy a car above Rm100k?, Sharing

RicoT
post Jun 1 2020, 03:44 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ Jun 1 2020, 02:13 AM)
Currently i am driving a Rm50k+ car(24 years old with Rm3.9k salary). The car does all that i require of it really well and has not failed me thus far. If this car get old, i will probably get another brand new Rm50k+ car no matter what i am earning at that point in life. As far as my job is concerned, the type of car i drive in no way affects my performance or affect my KPI. So that brings the question, why do people buy cars above Rm100k+?

Come share your experience about why. (Car more comfortable, bragging rights, your job performance increase as the cost of your car increase, cheonging purposes, sense of status/superiority, for showing off, Hobby, etc)

PS : Regarding the bragging rights/ sense of superiority. If you are doing a job or doing a business which earn you enough to own a Rm100k+ car. Then you will already be well respected by your peers no matter what type of car you use. Lets say you are the big boss of a local company earning upwards of Rm100000 a month and drive a kancil. I am pretty sure your worker and people around you will respect you regardless of what car you drive lol. But if your working a Rm1500 job yet drive a Rm100k+ car, people wont respect you and will even call you stupid for buying such a car.
It will affect your company/employer and your underlings' morale. Colleagues will bad mouth gossip those who worked very hard and got a better car; just a mere underling can drive a better car than the supervisor/manager. Your capable underlings will resign sooner or later and leaving you those bad gossiping office politicking ones.
RicoT
post Jun 1 2020, 04:37 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ Jun 1 2020, 04:06 AM)
Danm, it seems the boss car is more important then the salary being paid, office culture, bonus, amount of work, etc.

Yet we see people being angry when they have to take a paycut but the boss is buying a new BMW. I am guessing the boss bought the new BMW base on the logic that the brand new BMW will boost morale eh. Next time if want to boost morale, no need to give out bonus liao. Just give the boss a couple of Rm500k+ cars enough. The staff all motivated when the boss gets a new car. The more expensive the car given to the boss, the higher the motivation increase of the staff is.
Boss buy car under personal or company?

Was the car purchase approved before MCO?

0.0146sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:38 AM