Digital Switch games sold online, How are they so cheap?

TStkc123
post May 31 2020, 07:48 PM, updated 6y ago

35 posts

Recently considering to buy digital Switch games and found some "good" deals on Shopee/Carousell.
How are the sellers selling the games much cheaper than eShop?

First kind, they claim they'll provide an account for you to download but you can save and play online/offline.
The price can be RM40-50 lower than eshop price.
rclxms.gif

The second kind, you have to download and play using their account and cannot go online.
Must disconnect WiFi after login. (Shared account they say)
And the price per game is only RM30-RM60.
Sounds too good to be true.

Does both options also mean you are playing as non-primary console of the seller's account?
Dear sifus, please enlighten me on how does this sorcery work.
hmm.gif

This post has been edited by tkc123: May 31 2020, 07:49 PM
LegendLee
post May 31 2020, 09:46 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,716 posts

QUOTE(tkc123 @ May 31 2020, 07:48 PM)
Recently considering to buy digital Switch games and found some "good" deals on Shopee/Carousell.

First kind, they claim they'll provide an account for you to download but you can save and play online/offline.
rclxms.gif

The second kind, you have to download and play using their account and cannot go online.
Does both options also mean you are playing as non-primary console of the seller's account?
hmm.gif
Basically account sharing.
Which is against Nintendo Terms of Service.

For the first type, the primary account will be tied to your switch.
You can use your own account to play the game.

Cons
- Can only play offline. If you play online and someone else using that account go online, the game will immediately quit on your side.
- Account might cease to work at anytime. Nintendo might start hunting down on these account sharing games.
- If account is used on any hacked switch, they might ban that account and any switch console that account is linked to. So there's a small chance nintendo will ban your console too.

For the second type, you have to use that account.
Cons
- Similar to the above case. You might lose access to the account at any time. With a small chance of your console getting banned.
- Also, offline play only. No DLC.
- Your save file is tied to that account. If that account is banned/you lose access, you lose your save file with no way to back it up.
- You need 10 seconds - 2 minutes to launch the game. You need to do this with an internet connection. This might also fail repeatedly if others are trying to play at the same time.

TStkc123
post Jun 2 2020, 08:50 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ May 31 2020, 09:46 PM)
Basically account sharing.
Simply said, unless they change e-mail and password of the Nintendo account that has bought the game to yours, the game is never yours.
ShinG3e
post Jun 2 2020, 09:41 PM

o0o
1,550 posts

you technically don't own the game.

if you're looking for cheap games with favourable currency exchange, change to AUD. I got a very good digital game purchase when AUD crashed few months back.
rx330
post Jun 10 2020, 09:00 AM

11,808 posts

thanks for the info, similar like those who share games on PSN I assume

dont think the savings is worth the hassle
kamikraze
post Dec 28 2020, 09:01 AM

Iphone 12 Pro Max + Magicwatch 2
6,425 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Jun 2 2020, 09:41 PM)
you technically don't own the game.

if you're looking for cheap games with favourable currency exchange, change to AUD. I got a very good digital game purchase when AUD crashed few months back.
now aud still good?
kitt2000
post May 7 2022, 12:33 PM

13 posts

I got few cheaper games from Brazil eShop
intothefantasy
post Jul 18 2022, 10:42 AM

1,561 posts

question, do you only have 1 eshop account and able to change different region multiple times or need to register each region with 1 eshop account? and for like AUD, argentina or brasil, possible to accept our credit card?
c128
post Aug 6 2022, 09:35 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Jul 18 2022, 10:42 AM)
question, do you only have 1 eshop account and able to change different region multiple times or need to register each region with 1 eshop account? and for like AUD, argentina or brasil, possible to accept our credit card?
I have multiple accounts for different region. Easier this way.
peshaloo
post Oct 29 2022, 11:48 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(tkc123 @ May 31 2020, 07:48 PM)

rclxms.gif

hmm.gif
Have u try bought the game how so far? Got banned or hard to start the game or keep quiting the game?

0.0145sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:26 PM