Hi all,
I'm thinking of choosing between this 2 models for my first Mercedes after 7 years with my 320
Want to know the pros and cons of it from user point of view
Anyone driving this 2 model?
CLA or C class, Pros and cons of the 2 model?
May 29 2020, 03:12 PM, updated 6y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
216 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Hi all,
I'm thinking of choosing between this 2 models for my first Mercedes after 7 years with my 320 Want to know the pros and cons of it from user point of view Anyone driving this 2 model? |
May 29 2020, 11:02 PM
916 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
CLA did poorly in moose test, merely 66km/h is never seen before in a sedan
For comparison XC40 a SUV cleared it at 73km/h |
May 30 2020, 09:13 AM
May 30 2020, 03:32 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,215 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh/Penang/PJ/Melaka |
QUOTE(constant_weight @ May 29 2020, 11:02 PM) CLA did poorly in moose test, merely 66km/h is never seen before in a sedan Kind of surprised that cla and C perform poorer than SUV CX5 that has so much body rollFor comparison XC40 a SUV cleared it at 73km/h This post has been edited by Brotherjoe: May 30 2020, 03:32 PM |
May 31 2020, 09:45 AM
6,562 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I know I may sound like a broken record with my recommendation, but you spent 7 years with your F30, so why not give the G20 a try? I looked up down left and right for reviews about the car; bought it mainly for its drivability and engine power/torque. Why go for outgoing-model C class (W205) and the unsafe and entry-level CLA (FWD platform) when you can go for the latest and greatest 3-er in the form of the G20?
1. BMW 3 Series G20 did the moose test at 77km/h 2. BMW 1 series F40 did it at 73km/h 3. Mercedes A-class W177 (same platform as the new CLA) did it at 74km/h 4. Mercedes CLA C118 did it at 66km/h This post has been edited by wild_card_my: May 31 2020, 10:33 AM |
May 31 2020, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ May 30 2020, 03:32 PM) Merc C-class coupe did it at 77km/h, same as BMW G20. But it is different than the C-class saloon; I can't find W205 Moose test. The CLA is also a coupe, but of a different platform to that of the C-class and yielded crappy result. so yeah, don't buy that This post has been edited by wild_card_my: May 31 2020, 10:41 AM |
May 31 2020, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 31 2020, 09:45 AM) I know I may sound like a broken record with my recommendation, but you spent 7 years with your F30, so why not give the G20 a try? I looked up down left and right for reviews about the car; bought it mainly for its drivability and engine power/torque. Why go for outgoing-model C class (W205) and the unsafe and entry-level CLA (FWD platform) when you can go for the latest and greatest 3-er in the form of the G20? Thank you for your feedback as it was my dream to own cars from both brands before I turn 40, I bought the F30 first (as for me it look way better interior wise compare to the c at that point of time) and now is the turn for the other.1. BMW 3 Series G20 did the moose test at 77km/h 2. BMW 1 series F40 did it at 73km/h 3. Mercedes A-class W177 (same platform as the new CLA) did it at 74km/h 4. Mercedes CLA C118 did it at 66km/h |
May 31 2020, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(cyclonez @ May 31 2020, 10:51 AM) Thank you for your feedback as it was my dream to own cars from both brands before I turn 40, I bought the F30 first (as for me it look way better interior wise compare to the c at that point of time) and now is the turn for the other. Well just wait for the W206 pleasee~~~ 7 year ago you bought the latest 3 series, the F30... used it for almost a decade. Takkan lah now want to buy the outgoing and old W205? The W118 is based on a new platform sure, but it is crap. FWD too, so it understeers like a butch, come on! but it looks beautiful, I'll give it that. But you are not one of those people who are "form over function" are you? You are smarter than that I too will own a Mercedes someday, very soon if my insurance/takaful business performance is any indicator hehehehe This post has been edited by wild_card_my: May 31 2020, 11:03 AM |
May 31 2020, 11:04 AM
451 posts Joined: Apr 2013 From: Meow City |
to be honest, CLA & C class selling quite well in Malaysia, especially in recond market..due to its modern look & within reach price..again, coming from car salesman, can consider..but not saying BMW cars are less quality, BMW in its own right are also classy, good looking cars..just a 2 cts opinion..
May 31 2020, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 31 2020, 10:59 AM) Well just wait for the W206 pleasee~~~ 7 year ago you bought the latest 3 series, the F30... used it for almost a decade. Takkan lah now want to buy the outgoing and old W205? The W118 is based on a new platform sure, but it is crap. FWD too, so it understeers like a butch, come on! but it looks beautiful, I'll give it that. But you are not one of those people who are "form over function" are you? You are smarter than that Hahaha will consider bout it thanks for your suggestionsI too will own a Mercedes someday, very soon if my insurance/takaful business performance is any indicator hehehehe |
May 31 2020, 03:25 PM
4,788 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(cyclonez @ May 29 2020, 03:12 PM) Hi all, The CLA and A-Class are a segment below than the C-class and 320i..I'm thinking of choosing between this 2 models for my first Mercedes after 7 years with my 320 Want to know the pros and cons of it from user point of view Anyone driving this 2 model? CLA is front wheel drive layout, less complicated and less costly than the rear wheel drive C-class.. The 2nd generation CLA200 is using a 1.3L turbo from Nissan.. The new local A-class even get torsion beam for lower specs, not sure what kind of specifications will Msia get when the new CLA launch here later.. Thus obviously they are built with entry level in mind.. Space wise, C class is comparable with your 320i.. CLA interior space is worst than MyVi, no headroom for back passengers, and the boot can't even fit a golf club.. not suitable for family use IMHO.. CLA and A class are built by Merc to attract buyer from lower rank.. And it is built with most cost effective manner and putting a three pointed star at the front... thus, there are compromises.. Although I have to say the CLA design is very sleek.. This post has been edited by twincharger07: May 31 2020, 03:31 PM |
May 31 2020, 03:29 PM
13,790 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: stress & confuse world |
CLA basically the same chasis as A class so C class ftw
May 31 2020, 03:29 PM
4,788 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
May 31 2020, 04:40 PM
14,297 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
May 31 2020, 05:34 PM
Well seems like CLA really not a good choice, but the looks of it are better than C that to me looks a bit uncle car 😁 but that's my opinion.
Well G30 not in my consideration at the moment Thanks for all advices This post has been edited by cyclonez: May 31 2020, 05:39 PM |
May 31 2020, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(cyclonez @ May 31 2020, 05:34 PM) Well seems like CLA really not a good choice, but the looks of it are better than C that to me looks a bit uncle car 😁 but that's my opinion. G20 (3 series) or G30 (5 series)? Well i guess no BMW right?Well G30 not in my consideration at the moment Thanks for all advices W205 or W206 lah if like that. True Mercedes, not an "entry-level", "for-looks-only" car. Prereg or used W205 can be had for a reasonable proce This post has been edited by wild_card_my: May 31 2020, 10:10 PM |
May 31 2020, 10:44 PM
975 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
CLA is a hell of a looker especially that frameless door window. But if you have a family it's wiser to go for C-class. CLA has a really poor headroom and legroom.
My vote goes to C-class. |
Jun 1 2020, 12:38 AM
Jun 1 2020, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(budang @ May 31 2020, 10:44 PM) CLA is a hell of a looker especially that frameless door window. But if you have a family it's wiser to go for C-class. CLA has a really poor headroom and legroom. Yeah I agree with u, CLA is really a looker My vote goes to C-class. Family wise no problem as I have another car for it as this will be my daily ride A250 came to my mind at first but forego it for CLA or C |
Jun 1 2020, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(cyclonez @ Jun 1 2020, 12:40 AM) Yeah I agree with u, CLA is really a looker Oh if you have another car for practical daily runs and for family, then you should go for a car that your heart likes! Family wise no problem as I have another car for it as this will be my daily ride A250 came to my mind at first but forego it for CLA or C But like other forummer have pointed out above, the CLA & A class is the entry level model for Mercedes, and they're front wheel driven. So your next question should be, do you want a car for the way it looks or the way it drives? Naturally C class will be a better drive than CLA due to it being a rear wheel driven car. It has more power than CLA200 too. But for how the car looks, my vote will be for CLA This post has been edited by budang: Jun 1 2020, 01:05 PM |
Jun 1 2020, 01:19 PM
2,414 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
Current gen C class is such a stunning car to look at. Sporty and looks menacing, especially if kitted out in AMG trim.
Anyways, moving from the roundel to the star should be an amazing choice. Before 40 and able to own these 2 marques. Salute bro! |
Jun 1 2020, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(budang @ Jun 1 2020, 01:04 PM) Oh if you have another car for practical daily runs and for family, then you should go for a car that your heart likes! If you guys really wants the looks part on a Merc on a similar price-level, you can never go wrong with E-Class Coupe, a little expensive but these are the real E-class but cut in the back (hence the coupe)But like other forummer have pointed out above, the CLA & A class is the entry level model for Mercedes, and they're front wheel driven. So your next question should be, do you want a car for the way it looks or the way it drives? Naturally C class will be a better drive than CLA due to it being a rear wheel driven car. It has more power than CLA200 too. But for how the car looks, my vote will be for CLA https://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2017-merce...-record/6510136 |
Jun 1 2020, 05:21 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,530 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(budang @ May 31 2020, 10:44 PM) CLA is a hell of a looker especially that frameless door window. But if you have a family it's wiser to go for C-class. CLA has a really poor headroom and legroom. I agree with you man. The CLA looks so good with the frameless window and paired with the diamond grille - but I kicked it out from my list due to the poor headroom.My vote goes to C-class. |
Jun 1 2020, 05:56 PM
354 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Petaling Jaya, Selangor |
CLA will drive a little better than the C class but the space is so cramped. On the other hand, C class has better NHV and comfort.
But why do you want to get a car model that is as old as your BMW F30? |
Jun 1 2020, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(budang @ Jun 1 2020, 01:04 PM) Oh if you have another car for practical daily runs and for family, then you should go for a car that your heart likes! Yeah that's why the cla250 is very tempting ,,😁But like other forummer have pointed out above, the CLA & A class is the entry level model for Mercedes, and they're front wheel driven. So your next question should be, do you want a car for the way it looks or the way it drives? Naturally C class will be a better drive than CLA due to it being a rear wheel driven car. It has more power than CLA200 too. But for how the car looks, my vote will be for CLA QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Jun 1 2020, 01:19 PM) Current gen C class is such a stunning car to look at. Sporty and looks menacing, especially if kitted out in AMG trim. Will go check out the amg trim C and see how it looks likeAnyways, moving from the roundel to the star should be an amazing choice. Before 40 and able to own these 2 marques. Salute bro! Nah not amazing bro, I prefer to be yolo after settle all family needs 😁😁😁 QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2020, 02:11 PM) If you guys really wants the looks part on a Merc on a similar price-level, you can never go wrong with E-Class Coupe, a little expensive but these are the real E-class but cut in the back (hence the coupe) Not going for E class as it's my CEO ride so not going to go on par or anything more than him 😅😅https://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2017-merce...-record/6510136 QUOTE(nghoongen @ Jun 1 2020, 05:56 PM) CLA will drive a little better than the C class but the space is so cramped. On the other hand, C class has better NHV and comfort. It's just personal preference, as I spend most of my time in the carBut why do you want to get a car model that is as old as your BMW F30? |
Jun 1 2020, 09:08 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,530 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(nghoongen @ Jun 1 2020, 05:56 PM) CLA will drive a little better than the C class but the space is so cramped. On the other hand, C class has better NHV and comfort. Shouldn't it be C class will drive better than CLA? Better platform and RWDBut why do you want to get a car model that is as old as your BMW F30? |
Jun 1 2020, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 1 2020, 09:08 PM) I would say so, the CLA has shit handling due to being an FF, it kinda failed the moose test too, only being able to pass at 66 km/h which is horrible for a sedan. It shares a platform with the A class, which was created to allow Mercedes to capture the lower-end market who wants to own a "luxury" brand, a true entry-level carOn the contrary, if I may just add, the G20 3 Series shares the same platform as to the G30 5 Series, both cars are huge compared to the F30 and E90, especially the G20 that shares the 3-series namesake, making it "on-par" with the current 5 Series. The same cannot be said about the 1 series F40, which is now an FWD Likewise, the A-Class and CLA are of a lower standard than the C-Class, regardless the generation - W205 or W206. The W205, although an "uglier" car than the CLA, is the right choice given its superior platform This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 1 2020, 11:35 PM |
Jun 2 2020, 07:18 AM
2,414 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
One thing about the newer Benzes, especially CLA is that the ride can be a bit stiff. Rather stiffer than BMWs too. They're trying to appeal to more younger and spirited group who'd otherwise have opted for Bimmers and Audis too.
If you're fine with the stiffness in the trade off for a more polished handling ride, go for it. |
Jun 2 2020, 10:00 PM
231 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(cyclonez @ Jun 1 2020, 09:02 PM) Yeah that's why the cla250 is very tempting ,,😁 CLA200 and CLA250 will not be entering Malaysia. Guess you are stuck with the C class onlyWill go check out the amg trim C and see how it looks like Nah not amazing bro, I prefer to be yolo after settle all family needs 😁😁😁 Not going for E class as it's my CEO ride so not going to go on par or anything more than him 😅😅 It's just personal preference, as I spend most of my time in the car |
Jun 2 2020, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(SithBuster @ Jun 2 2020, 10:00 PM) yeah just read that on paultan's. In anycase, this may be good for CLA buyers, whomever has the latest CLA knows theirs are AMG versions, not slapped-on AMG badgesbut it kinda defeats the purpose of the CLA, it is meant to be for the lower-end market. but now the A-class/Sedan will be the entry levels |
Jun 3 2020, 06:15 AM
113 posts Joined: May 2019 |
QUOTE(cyclonez @ May 28 2020, 09:12 PM) Hi all, Cla suppose to be 4door coupe design like cls last time to tackle junior exec like sporty look. I'm thinking of choosing between this 2 models for my first Mercedes after 7 years with my 320 Want to know the pros and cons of it from user point of view Anyone driving this 2 model? C class just normal entry luxury If u look for practicality and comfort then go for c class. If u aim for look go for cla. Most ppl talk about performance here. I will talk about look. The new cla panel manyak cantek. Vs current c class. No way can fight..... Afterall u buy good car not just ppl look. U must enjoy also. Interior lightning night time... Macam disco.... Haha good la at least got option become disco. Anyway, my poiny of view only |
Jun 4 2020, 06:12 PM
354 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Petaling Jaya, Selangor |
Jun 5 2020, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2020, 11:33 PM) I would say so, the CLA has shit handling due to being an FF, it kinda failed the moose test too, only being able to pass at 66 km/h which is horrible for a sedan. It shares a platform with the A class, which was created to allow Mercedes to capture the lower-end market who wants to own a "luxury" brand, a true entry-level car There are a lot of superb handling FF. CLA handling flaws is just being CLA itself, nothing to do with being an FF.On the contrary, if I may just add, the G20 3 Series shares the same platform as to the G30 5 Series, both cars are huge compared to the F30 and E90, especially the G20 that shares the 3-series namesake, making it "on-par" with the current 5 Series. The same cannot be said about the 1 series F40, which is now an FWD Likewise, the A-Class and CLA are of a lower standard than the C-Class, regardless the generation - W205 or W206. The W205, although an "uglier" car than the CLA, is the right choice given its superior platform It is luxury city car for fine uptown young lady driver or young pretty party boy that would put on makeup like the Korean star, completely modern urban lifestyle. They are doing much better than most of their peers in mid 20's, enjoy branded bags/watches, designer clothes. Most come from middle class family, but education/professional jobs give them ticket to enter luxury urban lifestyle. Occasionally they get family conflict coming from completely opposite spending habit versus their parents. So the car look is most important (fancy digital UI/ambient lights on the brochure headline, safety/performance at the small corner), and would be driven slowly 90% of the time through city traffic. P/S: The young lady/boy reference is not a disgrace, they are simply new norm for new generation. Maybe we are out of time. |
Jun 5 2020, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jun 5 2020, 08:33 AM) P/S: The young lady/boy reference is not a disgrace, they are simply new norm for new generation. Maybe we are out of time. But I am still only in my early 30s, I shouldn't be lumped out of this "new generation"What do you think about the GLA though? I'd rather go for that than A/CLA but my priority isn't to look glam (CLA really does look nice as we have all agreed) |
Jun 5 2020, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 5 2020, 08:36 AM) But I am still only in my early 30s, I shouldn't be lumped out of this "new generation" Lol, I'm not too far from you, mid 30's.What do you think about the GLA though? I'd rather go for that than A/CLA but my priority isn't to look glam (CLA really does look nice as we have all agreed) I'm the type that think B segment is too small, D segment is too big. Came from C segment, I look specifically at the Executive C segment regardless sedan or SUV. That is the segment that target "young parents" generation, haha! Top notch safety with good performance are important. Ensure family are safe, but enjoy spirited driving once in a while when driving alone. To me Executive C (S60/330i/C300) has perfect balance because have shorter external length, but have similar or even more interior space than Japanese/Korean D segment. Generally Executive C has shorter car length, but longer wheelbase than a Japanese/Korean D. P/S: A Class/CLA are categorized as C segment, but I treat them as "Executive B". Exterior length, and wheelbase are similar to non luxury brand C segment, but interior space feels like B segment. Maybe they have thicker seats and door panels, and more padded area for being a luxury brand. |
Jun 5 2020, 01:35 PM
C300 ,,🤔🤔
Will go test drive all those suggested model first 😁 |
Aug 31 2020, 11:21 AM
80 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(budang @ Jun 1 2020, 01:04 PM) Oh if you have another car for practical daily runs and for family, then you should go for a car that your heart likes! MBM will not bring in CLA right? only AMG45s type is available..But like other forummer have pointed out above, the CLA & A class is the entry level model for Mercedes, and they're front wheel driven. So your next question should be, do you want a car for the way it looks or the way it drives? Naturally C class will be a better drive than CLA due to it being a rear wheel driven car. It has more power than CLA200 too. But for how the car looks, my vote will be for CLA |
Aug 31 2020, 11:47 AM
| Change to: | 0.0278sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:59 PM |