Looking for a good PC mic for verbal narration, Recommend me please

TSazarimy
post May 28 2020, 08:17 PM, updated 6y ago

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

As topic. I'm looking for PC microphone that's good for recording. I need to make online lecture notes and tutorials. Currently I'm using a cap ayam gaming mic that comes with the cap ayam headphone. It's got a lot of noise and inconsistent (sometimes it pics up my voice good, sometimes it decides the background noise is more important biggrin.gif).

I don't know a lot about microphones. Any suggestions would be good.

- If it comes with a stand or boom, would be better.
- Preferably not a clip on.
- If it can prevent breath sounds would be great.
- Budget around RM150-RM200.
Quantum Geist
post May 28 2020, 08:19 PM

109 posts

loserguy
post May 28 2020, 08:23 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 28 2020, 08:17 PM)
As topic. I'm looking for PC microphone that's good for recording. I need to make online lecture notes and tutorials. Currently I'm using a cap ayam gaming mic that comes with the cap ayam headphone. It's got a lot of noise and inconsistent (sometimes it pics up my voice good, sometimes it decides the background noise is more important biggrin.gif).

When I was working, the office provided me with Plantronics or something. Quite ok, gets the job done. But in a pinch, any cap ayam earphone also can be used.

Point the mic AWAY from your mouth to prevent breathing noises.
Don't get rid of the soft cloth covering the mic. It helps to reduce echo.

HTH
hawkk
post May 28 2020, 08:29 PM

19 posts

You can check out this

https://shopee.com.my/product/173194393/281...0491?smtt=0.0.9

You can check out the reviews and test for this particular mic on utube

Downside is there's a 2 week delivery time since its from china
krayden
post May 28 2020, 08:52 PM

578 posts

Something from boya. You need a dead cat to avoid catching your breathing noises.
Slightly better and more expensive option would be a blue yeti mini.
Really cheap option fifine.
A desktop mic will pick up any table vibration. Best is the arm with springs.
WindDragon
post May 28 2020, 09:00 PM

54 posts

i am using a generic BM-800 condenser microphone with LEIHAO 48V Phantom Power.

Cheap and professional quality sound.
netmatrix
post May 28 2020, 09:04 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Rode got make for streaming or not ah? Maybe Sennheiser?
TSazarimy
post May 28 2020, 09:18 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(WindDragon @ May 28 2020, 09:00 PM)
i am using a generic BM-800 condenser microphone with LEIHAO 48V Phantom Power.

Cheap and professional quality sound.
i see the term condenser when searching for mics. What does it mean?
xxMusica
post May 28 2020, 09:19 PM

86 posts

1. You can use Krisp software. It has BG noise cancellation option.

2. You can use Camtasia to record your lecture. You can remove BG noise when processing the video, its a one-click step.

3. The cheap option with a decent mic I have ever used was CM Ceres 300. With your budget, you can get the 500 version.
ryanlow134
post May 28 2020, 09:21 PM

746 posts

I'm using an Audio Technica AT2500 USB, plug and play. Pretty nice, another condenser mic.
loli_yat
post May 28 2020, 09:24 PM

275 posts

Shure SM7B
munak991
post May 28 2020, 09:27 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Buy condenser microphone

Shure, audio Technica, RODE
red4900
post May 28 2020, 09:30 PM

464 posts

Nvm

This post has been edited by red4900: May 28 2020, 09:31 PM
WindDragon
post May 28 2020, 09:35 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 28 2020, 09:18 PM)
i see the term condenser when searching for mics. What does it mean?
No idea. But professionals are using it. So we just follow bah.

My mic setup around rm150 jer. China OEM condenser but works. Clean and clear sound. No popping, no distortions.
terradrive
post May 28 2020, 09:38 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

best to get condenser mic, it is usually have bugger diaphragm so the sound would be really nice unlike those headsets
waghyu
post May 28 2020, 09:40 PM

3,389 posts

Rode make, very good.
TSazarimy
post May 28 2020, 09:45 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(xxMusica @ May 28 2020, 09:19 PM)
1. You can use Krisp software. It has BG noise cancellation option.

2. You can use Camtasia to record your lecture. You can remove BG noise when processing the video, its a one-click step.

3. The cheap option with a decent mic I have ever used was CM Ceres 300. With your budget, you can get the 500 version.
I am already using Camtasia. Although it can remove BG noise as you said, it turns my voice to almost robotic. Here's an example:

I had to resort to soft background music to cancel the noise. laugh.gif

I found out from their forums that the problem is with the mic.

And thanks for your suggestion. Will look them up.

This post has been edited by azarimy: May 28 2020, 09:46 PM
TSazarimy
post May 28 2020, 09:47 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(ryanlow134 @ May 28 2020, 09:21 PM)
I'm using an Audio Technica AT2500 USB, plug and play. Pretty nice, another condenser mic.
QUOTE(loli_yat @ May 28 2020, 09:24 PM)
Shure SM7B
QUOTE(WindDragon @ May 28 2020, 09:35 PM)
No idea. But professionals are using it. So we just follow bah.

My mic setup around rm150 jer. China OEM condenser but works. Clean and clear sound. No popping, no distortions.
QUOTE(terradrive @ May 28 2020, 09:38 PM)
best to get condenser mic, it is usually have bugger diaphragm so the sound would be really nice unlike those headsets
QUOTE(waghyu @ May 28 2020, 09:40 PM)
Rode make, very good.
Thanks for the suggestions!
C-Fu
post May 28 2020, 09:57 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

ko kene beli yang setup macam ni. takyah carik rode, probably too mahal for lecturing use. china punya banyak. carik versi usb, bukan headphone jack.

a good cheap brand would be samson. local distributor dia kat tepi lot 10 - JS music. kalau pergi cakap kldc sent you.

an alternative is one of those usb gaming headphone/mic.

condenser ni elok untuk studio. dynamic/"normal" mic elok untuk live or loud sounds. sebab tu karaoke pakai normal mic je. kalo pakai condenser nyanyi konfem rosak dah pastu.

pegi lazatda or peeshop carik je usb condenser. boleh dapat elok punye together with arm for under 250.

and uitm ade lesen adobe kot. pegi belajar pakai audition, leceh sikit tapi lepas tu 2 clicks je nak buang noise.
niafaz89
post May 28 2020, 10:11 PM

141 posts

Hi there..Im using clip on earphone from philips and plextone to record my video lecture. Both are clip on and was purchased in 2018 iinm. Quite nice and good but did not do much on reducing noise(plextone quite good in minimising noise compared to phillips)

My friend use this one as he is more advanced than me in relation to IT stuffs. The sound recorded is good and his video has clear voice as compared to the recording using earphone. It was bought early this year and cost around 80++..shipping took 10-12 days before MCO. Maybe you can consider this one as an option😁

https://shopee.com.my/product/66797452/5803195186?smtt=0.0.9

0.0201sec    1.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:14 PM