Job offer in singapore, should i take it?, Advice
SUSChenHo123
May 22 2020, 09:11 AM, updated 6y ago

I got a job offer from a MNC in singapore. Heres the comparison with my current job.
Current job(GLC) Salary : Rm3.9k Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free accomodation and flexible break hours
The offered job in SG (MNC) Salary : USD 3.2K Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free snacks and flexible break hours
Is it worth it to jump ship? (The converted salary is much higher then my salary right now but i dont know if thats too naive of me to think like that.)
ahchun
May 22 2020, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:11 AM) I got a job offer from a MNC in singapore. Heres the comparison with my current job. Current job(GLC) Salary : Rm3.9k Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free accomodation and flexible break hours The offered job in SG (MNC) Salary : USD 3.2K Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free snacks and flexible break hours Is it worth it to jump ship? (The converted salary is much higher then my salary right now but i dont know if thats too naive of me to think like that.) in SG they are paying USD? if yes then pay wise consider not bad. but you will need to pay for own stay 500-700 SGD anyway look for career growth as well not only in $$ what is the job scope
malleus
May 22 2020, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:11 AM) I got a job offer from a MNC in singapore. Heres the comparison with my current job. Current job(GLC) Salary : Rm3.9k Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free accomodation and flexible break hours The offered job in SG (MNC) Salary : USD 3.2K Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free snacks and flexible break hours Is it worth it to jump ship? (The converted salary is much higher then my salary right now but i dont know if thats too naive of me to think like that.) The amount works out to be about 4500 SGD. You won't be able to rent an entire unit for your own use, but if you're just renting a room, you can live quite comfortably. After getting past the initial spending spree because you suddenly have access to a stronger currency to buy the toys you want, you'll find that the amount you'll save in SG may be higher
Darkcloudz
May 22 2020, 09:24 AM
3.2k how to survive there. u need at least 5k SGD la
SUSChenHo123
May 22 2020, 09:26 AM

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ May 22 2020, 09:24 AM) 3.2k how to survive there. u need at least 5k SGD la Wah, need SGD 5K just to live? Can elaborate more on this huge expenses?
asamalikum
May 22 2020, 09:27 AM
Not substantial enough to make the switch. If they dump in the accommodation, it’s worth considering.
JasonTheGreat
May 22 2020, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ May 22 2020, 09:24 AM) 3.2k how to survive there. u need at least 5k SGD la Dude. Cost of living in Singapore is cheap if live like Bangla and not dine in Michelin Star restaurant. Ciken lice only 3$
SUSChenHo123
May 22 2020, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(asamalikum @ May 22 2020, 09:27 AM) Not substantial enough to make the switch. If they dump in the accommodation, it’s worth considering. How much would accomodation cost in singapore? This post has been edited by ChenHo123: May 22 2020, 09:30 AM
Cheeky
May 22 2020, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:11 AM) I got a job offer from a MNC in singapore. Heres the comparison with my current job. Current job(GLC) Salary : Rm3.9k Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free accomodation and flexible break hours The offered job in SG (MNC) Salary : USD 3.2K Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free snacks and flexible break hours Is it worth it to jump ship? (The converted salary is much higher then my salary right now but i dont know if thats too naive of me to think like that.) If you are young, do it. Don't look back.
SUSChenHo123

QUOTE(Cheeky @ May 22 2020, 09:30 AM) If you are young, do it. Don't look back. But if i actually stay in singapore, will my purchasing power go down?
kkm
QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ May 22 2020, 09:27 AM) Dude. Cost of living in Singapore is cheap if live like Bangla and not dine in Michelin Star restaurant. Ciken lice only 3$ Can get a decent furnished room for $1k. Rest of expenses very affordable in Sing dollars, so can build up significant savings.
NIckLJF
May 22 2020, 09:35 AM
If you dont mind staying further out from the city, I dont see it as a problem. You can't expect luxury living from the get go so you must be realistic.
Another plus point will be safety and security
lalakiki
May 22 2020, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(ahchun @ May 22 2020, 09:16 AM) in SG they are paying USD? if yes then pay wise consider not bad. but you will need to pay for own stay 500-700 SGD anyway look for career growth as well not only in $$ what is the job scope I agree... my ex colleagues (mobile developer) where he working in singapore now.. He told me that just rental a room cost him around 700SGD and not yet count the bus / mrt fare from house to office... somemore work at there he is contract workers only.... I did ask him whether got saving or not... he told me got la... but not much even on weekend just stay at home....
malleus
May 22 2020, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:30 AM) But if i actually stay in singapore, will my purchasing power go down? We are in the central region, renting a 2 bedroom private condo unit for 2800. HDB units will be cheaper, and you can get a very nice room in a HDB unit in a convenient area for 800-1000. HDB units are actually very well kept, and the only reason why we opted for a private condo unit is because that's the only way we can get an import permit to bring our cats to SG. If you ignore the currency conversion, there's only 3 things in SG that's comparatively more expensive than living in KL: 1) accommodations 2) having your own car and 3) cigarettes and alcohol. 1) cannot be avoided, 2) you don't really need and 3) if you can do without this, your average savings can be higher than in KL.
malleus
May 22 2020, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(NIckLJF @ May 22 2020, 09:35 AM) If you dont mind staying further out from the city, I dont see it as a problem. You can't expect luxury living from the get go so you must be realistic. Another plus point will be safety and security This is a big plus. My wife can go running alone at nights without needing to worry.
jVIPERs2
May 22 2020, 09:43 AM
Take the offer and live like bangla plus travel almost 2 hours everyday will make you a millionaire back home...
Career prospects, not sure...will depend on you capabilities...but you get to experience a culture you won’t get in GLC...
This post has been edited by jVIPERs2: May 22 2020, 09:45 AM
khreve
May 22 2020, 09:45 AM

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:11 AM) I got a job offer from a MNC in singapore. Heres the comparison with my current job. Current job(GLC) Salary : Rm3.9k Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free accomodation and flexible break hours The offered job in SG (MNC) Salary : USD 3.2K Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free snacks and flexible break hours Is it worth it to jump ship? (The converted salary is much higher then my salary right now but i dont know if thats too naive of me to think like that.) [SIZE=7] even IF they offered you SGD3200 you should also take it and never look back.... I got alot of friends work and staying in SG earning from SGD2000 minimum at the beginning.... ignore those sour grapes that discourages and scares you getting this offer.... [SIZE=7]
popopi
May 22 2020, 09:48 AM
3.2k USD consider high, dont forget the tax 15%
asamalikum
May 22 2020, 09:48 AM
If u really need the money, go for it. All in all, focus on career growth. Money will come eventually once you excel in your job.
malleus
May 22 2020, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(lalakiki @ May 22 2020, 09:35 AM) I agree... my ex colleagues (mobile developer) where he working in singapore now.. He told me that just rental a room cost him around 700SGD and not yet count the bus / mrt fare from house to office... somemore work at there he is contract workers only.... I did ask him whether got saving or not... he told me got la... but not much even on weekend just stay at home.... Public transportation fees have a maximum cap (2.17 right now) per trip. meaning you can travel from the east to west of the Island at just 2.17, even if you need to switch trains (as long as you do not need to tap out and back in again). However switching from a bus to train means the cap is reset (I think, never really checked on this, so please correct me if I'm wrong). From that you can work out roughly how much you need to spend on transportation per month. If you like the outdoor life, hiking areas are available to explore (definitely not as many compared to Malaysia, but easier and cheaper to access via public transport).
sinbad2k
May 22 2020, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:30 AM) But if i actually stay in singapore, will my purchasing power go down? The accommodation will take up close to max 1/3 or your offered salary. That being said, most stuff are cheaper ($ to $). You should be able to save some $ though if you don't spend unnecessarily. You'll have to start all over your social life there unless you've already friends there. If you're still young, I strongly advise you to take it up. Build your career, experience and rapport there.
malleus
May 22 2020, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(popopi @ May 22 2020, 09:48 AM) 3.2k USD consider high, dont forget the tax 15% 15% is only for the income that you earn above 120k per year. Looking at the TS' number, assuming 12 months, the approximate amount to be paid is around 1.5k+ Can calculate from here: https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/Quick-Link...come-Tax-Rates/
Darkcloudz
May 22 2020, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:26 AM) Wah, need SGD 5K just to live? Can elaborate more on this huge expenses? main expenses will be your accommodation (at least 600SGD) and you won't have your EPF savings
Cheeky
May 22 2020, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:30 AM) But if i actually stay in singapore, will my purchasing power go down? accomodation and cars are expensive in Singapore. If you are young and can rent a room, you will be find because your salary will eventually increase when your career grows. Food may cost slightly more but not much more. Everything else is up to your own spending habits. If you can save in Malaysia and it is likely you can save in Singapore.
malleus
May 22 2020, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ May 22 2020, 09:58 AM) main expenses will be your accommodation (at least 600SGD) and you won't have your EPF savings The EPF/CPF thing depends on the employer. The first employer I had in SG appends the portion they will usually to pay to CPF to the monthly salary payouts instead for those on Work Pass/Employment Pass. But not many do this though.
powerlinkers
May 22 2020, 10:07 AM
good offer, can take it if you are single.... check regarding probation period, ask them whether they could change their mind or fire you due to recession, read the contract thoroughly.
You can find cheap HDB rooms in Singapore.
SUSChenHo123
May 22 2020, 10:47 AM

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ May 22 2020, 09:43 AM) Take the offer and live like bangla plus travel almost 2 hours everyday will make you a millionaire back home... Career prospects, not sure...will depend on you capabilities...but you get to experience a culture you won’t get in GLC... Is that culture better or worse?
malleus
May 22 2020, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 10:47 AM) Is that culture better or worse? kind of difficult to answer due to the lack of information. you'll get very different type of experiences with different types of companies. There's the usual GLC types, then there's the digital arms of the GLCs (which are run differently from the parent org), the MNCs, the startups at various different stages, etc.
NowLat.yet
May 22 2020, 11:51 AM

QUOTE(malleus @ May 22 2020, 09:38 AM) We are in the central region, renting a 2 bedroom private condo unit for 2800. HDB units will be cheaper, and you can get a very nice room in a HDB unit in a convenient area for 800-1000. HDB units are actually very well kept, and the only reason why we opted for a private condo unit is because that's the only way we can get an import permit to bring our cats to SG. If you ignore the currency conversion, there's only 3 things in SG that's comparatively more expensive than living in KL: 1) accommodations 2) having your own car and 3) cigarettes and alcohol. 1) cannot be avoided, 2) you don't really need and 3) if you can do without this, your average savings can be higher than in KL. Pretty much this. If your lifestyle revolves around #1 and forgo #2 & #3, earning S$4500 feels like earning RM9k in KL. You can buy so many things and still have so much to save at the end of the month.
Eurobeater
May 22 2020, 11:52 AM
If I were you, I would go for it. While the salary may a bit on the low side by SG standards, it is more than enough to have a decent lifestyle. The experience alone will be very worth it in the future
NowLat.yet
May 22 2020, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(malleus @ May 22 2020, 09:56 AM) 15% is only for the income that you earn above 120k per year. Looking at the TS' number, assuming 12 months, the approximate amount to be paid is around 1.5k+ Can calculate from here: https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/Quick-Link...come-Tax-Rates/Yup, sounds about right. My quick and dirty way to calculate the tax rate is basically to just multiply your current PCB deductions in your MYR salary and then multiply that by 12 months. That would be roughly the equivalent tax rate in SGD since the tax rate in both countries are pretty similar. Just flip the currency only.
PrincZe
May 22 2020, 12:05 PM
take it for sure.
if u want save more, share a rent room. but downside is, sharing only.
purchasing power will increase tremendously
malleus
May 22 2020, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(PrincZe @ May 22 2020, 12:05 PM) purchasing power will increase tremendously This one in a way can be the biggest hurdle to savings. Suddenly all the toys that were previously very expensive becomes quite affordable
NowLat.yet
May 22 2020, 12:26 PM

QUOTE(malleus @ May 22 2020, 12:17 PM) This one in a way can be the biggest hurdle to savings. Suddenly all the toys that were previously very expensive becomes quite affordable  There will eventually come a point where you would have bought everything that you have ever wanted. And then you'll be saving crazily after that. I know, coz I was there.
waghyu
May 22 2020, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:11 AM) I got a job offer from a MNC in singapore. Heres the comparison with my current job. Current job(GLC) Salary : Rm3.9k Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free accomodation and flexible break hours The offered job in SG (MNC) Salary : USD 3.2K Working hours : 9-5 Perks : Free snacks and flexible break hours Is it worth it to jump ship? (The converted salary is much higher then my salary right now but i dont know if thats too naive of me to think like that.) Jump ship, go SG job.
reanimation_84
May 22 2020, 12:31 PM
I would take the offer. Better salary, better job prospect. You always look for other opportunities while you are there. Cost of living is relatively low food is cheap. Only accommodation is a bit high but with the salary you can cover it.
Oklahoma
May 22 2020, 12:43 PM
The salary is okay for both nit much difference. It has to do more with the job scope..
What will be doing and do you see yourself doing it for the rest of your life? Is there opportunity to grow in this industry?
Eulm585
May 22 2020, 02:18 PM
I recently moved to singapore. So i might be able to add my 2 cents to this.
For accommodation, be prepared for 700-1300 for a room. There are room below 700, but from my research the condition is either not too good looking or you would have to share a room.
For an HDB you will be able to get a decent room for 600-800. While at a condo a room would cost you 800-1.3k.
For food, it costs 3SGD to 6SGD at the normal shoplot eateries.
Phone lines are roughly 50SGD a month..
You wont be able to afford a car, but public transport is more than sufficient to get about by either bus, train or taxi.
In my case, im saving more than i earn in malaysia. So monthly i send my money back to malaysia and contribute back to EPF on my own. Also purchasing power is much higher in SG. in malaysia with 3k you wont be able to spend much after rental and food. but in singapore, you can buy a new iphone every month you work here if you want. Not possible in malaysia
In my own experience, i think it is a good move to singapore. In malaysia you wont mainly find a team that is made out of foreigners, but here you will be working alot of foreigners from china, the west, india.
Feel free to ask any questions you might have..
This post has been edited by Eulm585: May 22 2020, 02:21 PM
garlicpesto
May 22 2020, 08:15 PM

If you are young PLEASE come. USD3.2K is definitely above average as compared to local fresh grad.
HDB here is already very comfortable and I'm paying $700 for a single room, 15 minutes bus ride from downtown. Find a good landlord and they will sometimes cook for you on weekends.
Your average meals will be $3 - $5 unless you enjoy cafes/eating in malls.
Use TPG for free mobile/data for your 1st year here.
First month come here just enjoy yourself. After the excitement is gone its very easy to save money here. Budget $50 weekly or $100 for expenses if you include drinking.
Things to consider: - I will ask if can add on accommodation or provide relocation allowance - Check with your employer if they are matching CPF for you anot. Where you will contribute 20% monthly salary and employer match 17% to you. This will be your small pot of gold when you leave SG.
Even if they say no to both I'd still come to SG, unless married then no lah.
garlicpesto
May 22 2020, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(NowLat.yet @ May 21 2020, 08:26 PM) There will eventually come a point where you would have bought everything that you have ever wanted. And then you'll be saving crazily after that. I know, coz I was there. haha yes, after you upgrade your iphone, airpods, camera, console with just 1 month paycheck.. the mentality to slowly break bread in the coming months is real
SUSChenHo123
May 22 2020, 08:20 PM

QUOTE(garlicpesto @ May 22 2020, 08:15 PM) If you are young PLEASE come. USD3.2K is definitely above average as compared to local fresh grad. HDB here is already very comfortable and I'm paying $700 for a single room, 15 minutes bus ride from downtown. Find a good landlord and they will sometimes cook for you on weekends. Your average meals will be $3 - $5 unless you enjoy cafes/eating in malls. Use TPG for free mobile/data for your 1st year here. First month come here just enjoy yourself. After the excitement is gone its very easy to save money here. Budget $50 weekly or $100 for expenses if you include drinking. Things to consider: - I will ask if can add on accommodation or provide relocation allowance - Check with your employer if they are matching CPF for you anot. Where you will contribute 20% monthly salary and employer match 17% to you. This will be your small pot of gold when you leave SG. Even if they say no to both I'd still come to SG, unless married then no lah. Thanks man. This advice is very helpful. I appreciate it
garlicpesto
May 22 2020, 08:23 PM

PM me if you'd like to chat more. Im here for 6 months + only and can definitely assist you out
SUSChenHo123
May 22 2020, 08:26 PM

QUOTE(garlicpesto @ May 22 2020, 08:23 PM) PM me if you'd like to chat more. Im here for 6 months + only and can definitely assist you out Alright! Will pm you if i decide to take the job. Still thinking it over
ngaisteve1
May 22 2020, 08:48 PM
What about if married without kid?
Salary
May 22 2020, 10:11 PM
Graduate salary? At this point it's better for you to compare the future prospects for both jobs. If your current organisation offers better career progression and opportunities to move up, I would suggest sticking with it.