Job offer in singapore, should i take it?, Advice

SUSChenHo123
post May 22 2020, 09:11 AM, updated 6y ago

121 posts

I got a job offer from a MNC in singapore. Heres the comparison with my current job.

Current job(GLC)
Salary : Rm3.9k
Working hours : 9-5
Perks : Free accomodation and flexible break hours

The offered job in SG (MNC)
Salary : USD 3.2K
Perks : Free snacks and flexible break hours

Is it worth it to jump ship? (The converted salary is much higher then my salary right now but i dont know if thats too naive of me to think like that.)
ahchun
post May 22 2020, 09:16 AM

MiddleAge
1,148 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:11 AM)
I got a job offer from a MNC in singapore. Heres the comparison with my current job.

Current job(GLC)

Is it worth it to jump ship? (The converted salary is much higher then my salary right now but i dont know if thats too naive of me to think like that.)
in SG they are paying USD?
if yes then pay wise consider not bad. but you will need to pay for own stay 500-700 SGD

anyway look for career growth as well not only in $$

what is the job scope

malleus
post May 22 2020, 09:22 AM

2,096 posts

Current job(GLC)

The amount works out to be about 4500 SGD. You won't be able to rent an entire unit for your own use, but if you're just renting a room, you can live quite comfortably. After getting past the initial spending spree because you suddenly have access to a stronger currency to buy the toys you want, you'll find that the amount you'll save in SG may be higher
Darkcloudz
post May 22 2020, 09:24 AM

940 posts

3.2k how to survive there. u need at least 5k SGD la
SUSChenHo123
post May 22 2020, 09:26 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ May 22 2020, 09:24 AM)
Wah, need SGD 5K just to live?
Can elaborate more on this huge expenses?
asamalikum
post May 22 2020, 09:27 AM

1,221 posts

Not substantial enough to make the switch. If they dump in the accommodation, it’s worth considering.
JasonTheGreat
post May 22 2020, 09:27 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ May 22 2020, 09:24 AM)
Dude. Cost of living in Singapore is cheap if live like Bangla and not dine in Michelin Star restaurant. Ciken lice only 3$
SUSChenHo123
post May 22 2020, 09:29 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(asamalikum @ May 22 2020, 09:27 AM)
Not substantial enough to make the switch. If they dump in the accommodation, it’s worth considering.
How much would accomodation cost in singapore?

This post has been edited by ChenHo123: May 22 2020, 09:30 AM
Cheeky
post May 22 2020, 09:30 AM

168 posts

Current job(GLC)

If you are young, do it. Don't look back.
SUSChenHo123

121 posts

QUOTE(Cheeky @ May 22 2020, 09:30 AM)
If you are young, do it. Don't look back.
But if i actually stay in singapore, will my purchasing power go down?
kkm

1,258 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ May 22 2020, 09:27 AM)
Dude. Cost of living in Singapore is cheap if live like Bangla and not dine in Michelin Star restaurant. Ciken lice only 3$
Can get a decent furnished room for $1k. Rest of expenses very affordable in Sing dollars, so can build up significant savings.
NIckLJF
post May 22 2020, 09:35 AM

Lost Stars
923 posts

If you dont mind staying further out from the city, I dont see it as a problem. You can't expect luxury living from the get go so you must be realistic.

Another plus point will be safety and security
lalakiki
post May 22 2020, 09:35 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(ahchun @ May 22 2020, 09:16 AM)
in SG they are paying USD?
if yes then pay wise consider not bad. but you will need to pay for own stay 500-700 SGD

anyway look for career growth as well not only in $$

what is the job scope
I agree... my ex colleagues (mobile developer) where he working in singapore now..
He told me that just rental a room cost him around 700SGD and not yet count the bus / mrt fare from house to office...
somemore work at there he is contract workers only....

I did ask him whether got saving or not... he told me got la... but not much even on weekend just stay at home....
malleus
post May 22 2020, 09:38 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(ChenHo123 @ May 22 2020, 09:30 AM)
But if i actually stay in singapore, will my purchasing power go down?
We are in the central region, renting a 2 bedroom private condo unit for 2800. HDB units will be cheaper, and you can get a very nice room in a HDB unit in a convenient area for 800-1000. HDB units are actually very well kept, and the only reason why we opted for a private condo unit is because that's the only way we can get an import permit to bring our cats to SG.

If you ignore the currency conversion, there's only 3 things in SG that's comparatively more expensive than living in KL: 1) accommodations 2) having your own car and 3) cigarettes and alcohol.

1) cannot be avoided, 2) you don't really need and 3) if you can do without this, your average savings can be higher than in KL.
malleus
post May 22 2020, 09:39 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(NIckLJF @ May 22 2020, 09:35 AM)
If you dont mind staying further out from the city, I dont see it as a problem. You can't expect luxury living from the get go so you must be realistic.

Another plus point will be safety and security
This is a big plus. My wife can go running alone at nights without needing to worry.
jVIPERs2
post May 22 2020, 09:43 AM

LY.N Enthusiast
1,675 posts

Take the offer and live like bangla plus travel almost 2 hours everyday will make you a millionaire back home...

Career prospects, not sure...will depend on you capabilities...but you get to experience a culture you won’t get in GLC...

This post has been edited by jVIPERs2: May 22 2020, 09:45 AM
khreve
post May 22 2020, 09:45 AM

130 posts

Current job(GLC)

[SIZE=7]
even IF they offered you SGD3200 you should also take it and never look back....

I got alot of friends work and staying in SG earning from SGD2000 minimum at the beginning....

ignore those sour grapes that discourages and scares you getting this offer....
[SIZE=7]
popopi
post May 22 2020, 09:48 AM

1,197 posts

3.2k USD consider high, dont forget the tax 15%
asamalikum
post May 22 2020, 09:48 AM

1,221 posts

If u really need the money, go for it.
All in all, focus on career growth. Money will come eventually once you excel in your job.
malleus
post May 22 2020, 09:51 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(lalakiki @ May 22 2020, 09:35 AM)
I agree... my ex colleagues (mobile developer) where he working in singapore now..
He told me that just rental a room cost him around 700SGD and not yet count the bus / mrt fare from house to office...
somemore work at there he is contract workers only....

I did ask him whether got saving or not... he told me got la... but not much even on weekend just stay at home....
Public transportation fees have a maximum cap (2.17 right now) per trip. meaning you can travel from the east to west of the Island at just 2.17, even if you need to switch trains (as long as you do not need to tap out and back in again). However switching from a bus to train means the cap is reset (I think, never really checked on this, so please correct me if I'm wrong).

From that you can work out roughly how much you need to spend on transportation per month.

If you like the outdoor life, hiking areas are available to explore (definitely not as many compared to Malaysia, but easier and cheaper to access via public transport).

0.0185sec    1.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:36 PM