Maxis One Go Wifi, Now with unlimited(?) quota

Eugene91
post Nov 7 2020, 03:57 PM

6,109 posts

I just bought a sim wanted to test out. The promoter said after 300GB only video will be throttled (which was shown in a leaflet too) But I didn't take a picture just now. Hmmm

QUOTE(acez9973757 @ Nov 4 2020, 02:18 PM)
today my usage reached 300gb, everything is throttled to 512kbps. Can barely do anything online. I double confirmed with the staff before i register this plan and they say oh no speed throttle terms and conditions. Will visit them in the evening to "clarify" things smile.gif very pissed.
Eugene91
post Nov 13 2020, 03:54 PM

6,109 posts

I'm wondering if the ZTE Modem is Cat4 or Cat6? Does it receive 4G+ signal? I only bought a sim card to test on my TP-Link MR100 modem. Thinking to get the ZTE modem if it does indeed support 4G+ / LTE-A

This site mentiones it supports Cat4.
https://store.maxis.com.my/productdetails/c...normal-contract

This post has been edited by Eugene91: Nov 13 2020, 03:54 PM
Eugene91
post Nov 17 2020, 03:16 PM

6,109 posts

Been noticing intermittent or slow connection at nights at my location. Living next to the Maxis Tower and office. But when reported on the whatsapp chat, no reply for more than 2 days already.
Eugene91
post Nov 17 2020, 11:20 PM

6,109 posts

Didn't see this sort of throttling on Celcom Home Wireless/Unifi Mobile/TuneTalk shocking.gif

Maxis asked me to off modem, take out sim, put back in and start again.

QUOTE(Zack_Cloud14 @ Nov 17 2020, 09:32 PM)
Yup, same on my side. Every night from 8pm to 12am, there's a throttle from Maxis (they blame it on CMCO but the throttle seems intentional everyday same time, same speed and I think all telco does this) , reducing the overall speed to 2 Mbps and only 360p streamable. If u do a speedtest on Maxis server, shows no throttle but try doing speedtest in other servers not owned by Maxis, only 2Mbps.
Eugene91
post Nov 20 2020, 09:35 PM

6,109 posts

Horrible. Maxis customer service told me if I get more than 10Mbps on speedtest it's normal. But I told them youtube is showing 1-2Mbps on task manager (they say it's not reliable to measure like that).

Then I told them about packet loss in COD:Warzone they say they will investigate. lol
Eugene91
post Nov 23 2020, 08:58 PM

6,109 posts

Maxis said it's normal to me. but seriously 7pm-12am? ranting.gif

I told them outside of those hours i can get 60-70Mbps but during this time less than 10Mbps and Youtube only 1.5Mbps.

QUOTE(kayent @ Nov 23 2020, 04:40 PM)
rubbish speeds, especially during peak hours. throttling or not, it is absurd.

am a user for the past year, but lately as of last month or so, the speeds are horrible. complains were made but nothing done.

it's so slow to the extend that speedtest website cant even load on my side.

strongly discourage anyone taking up this plan
This post has been edited by Eugene91: Nov 23 2020, 08:58 PM
Eugene91
post Nov 26 2020, 10:09 PM

6,109 posts

My plan will renew next week. I guess I'm terminating it. No point for me to use this if I am at work in the morning-evening. Using Unifi Air now.

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Nov 26 2020, 08:37 PM)
billing date is 21st of the month. im not even using 300gb per month.

before this only google service and social media throttled at night. only starting yesterday night maxshit hard capped me everything 2mbps.

if this continued, will terminate soon.
Eugene91
post Nov 28 2020, 09:16 PM

6,109 posts

This is something Maxis doesn't tell us. bangwall.gif

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Nov 28 2020, 07:46 PM)
8pm - 12am capped 2mbps btw. laugh.gif
Eugene91
post Dec 4 2020, 10:24 AM

6,109 posts

One thing they didn't throttle between 8pm-12am is Speedtest.net.

Maxis kept telling we they only rely on speedtest.net. Not Windows WiFi measurement of Youtube etc.

Now I request to cancel my plan they're taking a long time to reply.
Eugene91
post Dec 4 2020, 05:05 PM

6,109 posts

Maxis offered a RM30 rebate for 12 months if I stay on. No TnC apply. But I told them if I can't use it from 8PM-12AM what's the use? The CS said it's the first time they have heard of such a thing and mentioned that Sabah and Sarawak is experiencing network issues. I said network issues between 8PM-12AM only? doh.gif

Then I decided to try out for another month and I am going to continue complaining to them.

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 4 2020, 10:24 AM)
One thing they didn't throttle between 8pm-12am is Speedtest.net.

Maxis kept telling we they only rely on speedtest.net. Not Windows WiFi measurement of Youtube etc.

Now I request to cancel my plan they're taking a long time to reply.
This post has been edited by Eugene91: Dec 4 2020, 05:05 PM
Eugene91
post Dec 4 2020, 09:12 PM

6,109 posts

Now I regret should have just stick to cancelling it hahaha. I am now complaining on whatsapp.
Eugene91
post Dec 17 2020, 09:35 AM

6,109 posts

Yeah they don't throttle speedtest.net to get away with it I guess. mad.gif

QUOTE(dylan_chng @ Dec 15 2020, 10:56 PM)
Yes, in reality between 8pm and 12pm, the speed is throttled according to Task Manager.

However when speedtest.net ......

There was one website which I used between this time which was not throttled however I forgot which one. I think it was downloading DaVinci Resolve from Blackmagic's website.
Eugene91
post Dec 18 2020, 10:51 AM

6,109 posts

A rep informed me that they have been doing this since MCO to ensure quality of network does not degrade + congestion at my area.

I'm finally cancelling it. whistling.gif

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 17 2020, 09:35 AM)
Yeah they don't throttle speedtest.net to get away with it I guess.  mad.gif
Eugene91
post Dec 19 2020, 04:40 PM

6,109 posts

CS: Why are you terminating?

Me: Because according to your network people, they implement a throttle on the internet speed between 8PM-12AM to 2Mbps.

CS: Oh ok sir, we will proceed with termination.

Me: Thank you. Bye.

1 min later the line was terminated.
Eugene91
post Dec 20 2020, 09:03 AM

6,109 posts

That's what they offered me too before. But I gave up after 20 days. Really unusable for me at 8pm-12am. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Dec 19 2020, 09:12 PM)
wow they even offer me 1 year rm30 rebate if i cancel terminate lol. must be too many cancellation they also dun care already.
This post has been edited by Eugene91: Dec 20 2020, 09:03 AM
Eugene91
post Jan 11 2021, 09:47 AM

6,109 posts

Can you try Youtube at 1080p and Netflix too between 8pm-12am and let us know?

QUOTE(destiny017 @ Jan 10 2021, 03:21 AM)
I dont think they capped at 2 mbps anymore as i can stream twitch 720p
Eugene91
post Jan 11 2021, 09:15 PM

6,109 posts

Interesting wonder if they removed the throttling after 31st Dec 2020?

Anyone else noticed the change in the throttle?

QUOTE(dylan_chng @ Jan 11 2021, 09:10 PM)
Now is 9pm ish. Streaming youtube.com no problem at 1080p

0.0383sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:09 PM