QUOTE(jo5h_ua @ Nov 28 2020, 06:44 PM)
Hi all, can I just walk into the store and sign up immediately, or must I leave my number for them to call me?
8pm - 12am capped 2mbps btw. Maxis One Go Wifi, Now with unlimited(?) quota
Nov 28 2020, 07:46 PM
1,607 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
Nov 28 2020, 09:06 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
8 posts Joined: Jul 2016 From: Ipoh |
Any ideas how to bypass the trottling since nord and surfshark is being trottled to 2mbps.
Nov 28 2020, 09:16 PM
6,109 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Mike India Romeo India |
Nov 28 2020, 09:59 PM
387 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Speed capped at 2mbps now, better go sleep
Nov 28 2020, 11:12 PM
213 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
forget about it if you want to sign up.
![]() |
Nov 29 2020, 08:49 PM
Probation
2 posts Joined: Aug 2020 |
Nov 29 2020, 09:49 PM
236 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
Seriously, I don't mind if Maxis capping Youtube streaming to 2mbps but also capping everything else in 8pm~12pm is just a stupid move from this carrier. As if the 300GB FUP limit isn't enough but I didn't even hit that cap for months since I use this plan, should just move to Unifi Air if I kept getting this kind of treatment
Nov 30 2020, 10:41 PM
545 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: The Weirdo River O_o |
QUOTE(flagstar @ Nov 29 2020, 09:49 PM) Seriously, I don't mind if Maxis capping Youtube streaming to 2mbps but also capping everything else in 8pm~12pm is just a stupid move from this carrier. As if the 300GB FUP limit isn't enough but I didn't even hit that cap for months since I use this plan, should just move to Unifi Air if I kept getting this kind of treatment I felt you also.This is serious downside of this plan. Can this be complain to MCMC? BTW early termination what's the penalty? Plan with device. This post has been edited by ahhann: Nov 30 2020, 10:44 PM |
Dec 1 2020, 09:47 PM
7 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(ahhann @ Nov 30 2020, 10:41 PM) I felt you also. Hahahaha, bro, same boat here. I complained to MCMC, in the end, Maxis Customer Service will email you asking for more details (location and all), now waiting for their reply. This is serious downside of this plan. Can this be complain to MCMC? BTW early termination what's the penalty? Plan with device. As for termination, I asked also. I signed up 2 months back, need pay RM 318 to terminate. The longer u stay on the plan, cheaper termination fee according to CS. |
Dec 2 2020, 06:27 AM
QUOTE(Zack_Cloud14 @ Dec 1 2020, 09:47 PM) Hahahaha, bro, same boat here. I complained to MCMC, in the end, Maxis Customer Service will email you asking for more details (location and all), now waiting for their reply. got contract ke? why need to pay termination fee?As for termination, I asked also. I signed up 2 months back, need pay RM 318 to terminate. The longer u stay on the plan, cheaper termination fee according to CS. |
Dec 2 2020, 08:00 AM
1,132 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: Perak. |
Dec 2 2020, 01:37 PM
7 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(ckimsem @ Dec 2 2020, 08:00 AM) If you take the 4G router provided by Maxis, it'll have a 12-months contract. Yup. To anyone who wants to get the plan, please be cautious that the throttle is really bad from 8pm to 12 am and DO NOT take the modem as the modem can't get a good signal indoors. I ended up getting Huawei B818 , sharing with my bro, and the speed is much much better before the throttling. With the ZTE router, I had to place it near the window to get roughly 30-40 Mbps but B818 I can place at my living room and get 70Mbps ++ (100 Mbps 12am onwards). Just MaxShit throttle is unbearable. Need more people complain to MCMC but quite doubtful will get any action. SIM only is free of contract. I guess one can only hope... |
Dec 2 2020, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(Zack_Cloud14 @ Dec 2 2020, 02:37 PM) Yup. To anyone who wants to get the plan, please be cautious that the throttle is really bad from 8pm to 12 am and DO NOT take the modem as the modem can't get a good signal indoors. I ended up getting Huawei B818 , sharing with my bro, and the speed is much much better before the throttling. With the ZTE router, I had to place it near the window to get roughly 30-40 Mbps but B818 I can place at my living room and get 70Mbps ++ (100 Mbps 12am onwards). Just MaxShit throttle is unbearable. Need more people complain to MCMC but quite doubtful will get any action. The ZTE router by Maxis is a 4G only router, and 30-40mbps may be its max speed. Huawei B818 is a 4G+ router, plus its signal reception is said to be very powerful. Therefore, of course you’ll get high speed with Huawei B818.I guess one can only hope... Yes, this plan would throttled video streaming sites at night time from 8pm-12am. And, throttled for all day after 300GB usage. Still, the browsing and downloading were throttled at 20mbps which was acceptable to me. You may try complaining to MCMC and see if it’s gonna changed, good luck. I used this plan two months back as home internet, terminated it because my home finally has Unifi fiber internet in OCTOBER 2020. Luckily, I did not take the router, otherwise I’ll have to use it until May 2021. This post has been edited by ckimsem: Dec 2 2020, 03:54 PM |
Dec 3 2020, 08:18 PM
545 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: The Weirdo River O_o |
QUOTE(ckimsem @ Dec 2 2020, 03:48 PM) The ZTE router by Maxis is a 4G only router, and 30-40mbps may be its max speed. Huawei B818 is a 4G+ router, plus its signal reception is said to be very powerful. Therefore, of course you’ll get high speed with Huawei B818. The throttle not only streaming, extended till the whole bandwidth. I still puzzled in where of the clause did they highlight this throttle, else this is mis-inform customer and they should be penalized for this. Yes, this plan would throttled video streaming sites at night time from 8pm-12am. And, throttled for all day after 300GB usage. Still, the browsing and downloading were throttled at 20mbps which was acceptable to me. You may try complaining to MCMC and see if it’s gonna changed, good luck. I used this plan two months back as home internet, terminated it because my home finally has Unifi fiber internet in OCTOBER 2020. Luckily, I did not take the router, otherwise I’ll have to use it until May 2021. It's annoying that I can't continue work with the reduced bandwidth. Dealing with big data is no fun with this throttle. |
Dec 3 2020, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(ahhann @ Dec 3 2020, 08:18 PM) The throttle not only streaming, extended till the whole bandwidth. I still puzzled in where of the clause did they highlight this throttle, else this is mis-inform customer and they should be penalized for this. postpaid, prepaid and wireless broadband all kena capped 2mbps.It's annoying that I can't continue work with the reduced bandwidth. Dealing with big data is no fun with this throttle. i already initializing termination of the wireless broadband account. use celcom prepaid 6mbps lagi laju. rm45 jer. |
Dec 3 2020, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(ahhann @ Dec 3 2020, 09:18 PM) The throttle not only streaming, extended till the whole bandwidth. I still puzzled in where of the clause did they highlight this throttle, else this is mis-inform customer and they should be penalized for this. As my previous usage, all video streaming sites, google play store updating/downloading, FaceBook are getting badly throttled to 512kbps, while speedtest, downloading sites (e.g. filehippo), Steam games updating/downloading are throttled to 20~30mbps.It's annoying that I can't continue work with the reduced bandwidth. Dealing with big data is no fun with this throttle. Anyways, sorry to hear that and that's very bad of Maxis. Probably, Maxis has amended this MaxisONE Go WiFi again since the TnC stated. 6.4 - Maxis reserves the right to modify for any reason whatsoever or suspend or terminate (temporarily or permanently) the Services at any time and from time to time with or without notice. You agree that Maxis shall not be liable to you or to any other party for such modification, suspension or termination of the Services. |
Dec 4 2020, 10:24 AM
One thing they didn't throttle between 8pm-12am is Speedtest.net.
Maxis kept telling we they only rely on speedtest.net. Not Windows WiFi measurement of Youtube etc. Now I request to cancel my plan they're taking a long time to reply. |
Dec 4 2020, 10:37 AM
38 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Greetings,
Anyone giving up or selling the 4G LTE modem? |
Dec 4 2020, 10:59 AM
Dec 4 2020, 05:05 PM
Maxis offered a RM30 rebate for 12 months if I stay on. No TnC apply. But I told them if I can't use it from 8PM-12AM what's the use? The CS said it's the first time they have heard of such a thing and mentioned that Sabah and Sarawak is experiencing network issues. I said network issues between 8PM-12AM only?
Then I decided to try out for another month and I am going to continue complaining to them. QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Dec 4 2020, 10:24 AM) One thing they didn't throttle between 8pm-12am is Speedtest.net. This post has been edited by Eugene91: Dec 4 2020, 05:05 PMMaxis kept telling we they only rely on speedtest.net. Not Windows WiFi measurement of Youtube etc. Now I request to cancel my plan they're taking a long time to reply. |
| Change to: | 0.0200sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:58 AM |