Where to buy traditional Raya Foods & Snacks in KL

TSEnglishman-Abroad P
post May 21 2020, 04:25 PM, updated 6y ago

Probation

Hi there,

I am a foreigner looking to buy some Hari Raya special foods in KL.

I understand there are usually markets but they are closed due to Covid? Any suggestions for some foods that I can buy and where?

Somewhere central to KL - anything from Kuih to Ketupat that we can buy to bring as gifts, or any restaurants that we might be able to go to?

Are there any traditions that I should also be aware of?

Terima kasih!

EA
laksamana
post May 21 2020, 04:29 PM

1,356 posts

There's loads of stalls selling everything-Raya around Hulu Kelang
TSEnglishman-Abroad P
post May 21 2020, 04:37 PM

Probation

QUOTE(laksamana @ May 21 2020, 05:29 PM)
There's loads of stalls selling everything-Raya around Hulu Kelang
Terima kasih very kind of you to reply. Are they open?

Where abouts specifically in Hulu Kelang? It's quite a wide area.

Thank you!

EA

laksamana
post May 21 2020, 11:00 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(Englishman-Abroad @ May 21 2020, 04:37 PM)
Terima kasih very kind of you to reply. Are they open?

Where abouts specifically in Hulu Kelang? It's quite a wide area.

Thank you!

EA
Drive along MRR2, stalls are nearby the Melawati interchange
ryder_78
post May 22 2020, 11:43 AM

2,041 posts

There may be police road blocks everywhere on the roads if you travel to other states but if looking for lemang, ketupat or other traditional Malay delicacies, better drive along those old kampung roads as there would be many small stalls set up along the roadside.

The prices of lemang has skyrocketed throughout the years. One small piece now costs above RM20.
TSEnglishman-Abroad P
post May 24 2020, 12:33 AM

Probation

Just wanted to say thank you for the responses, I made it over to the MRR2, to a stall called Pak Ali Lemang and went to a place next door to that.

Would never have found these otherwise.

Terima kasih to you both and selamat hari raya and have a great weekend.

0.0183sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:21 AM