Investment TD Ameritrade Singapore, Withdrawal and Funding

dwRK
post Jul 13 2020, 02:14 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Jul 9 2020, 09:26 PM)
Just curios does TD Ameritrade SG is the company while their trading tool is TOS?

Do they revised the pricing as I see from their website is $0 commission fee and $0.65 for option.
usa ppl on tda usa account no fees

we ppl on tda sg account pay full fees
dwRK
post Jul 18 2020, 12:31 AM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(asil66 @ Jul 17 2020, 06:51 PM)
Would like to ask, if I would like to transfer the cash in TDA account to another broker (in same currency), is there any transfer fees charged from TDA side? I couldn't find any information on that.
$25 withdrawal fee
dwRK
post Jul 20 2020, 10:38 AM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(asil66 @ Jul 20 2020, 10:06 AM)
I just received a reply from TD Ameritrade SG's customer service. It cost $75 to move funds!!! that's really expensive. Seems like the rates published for TD Ameritrade are for accounts sitting in US. Those accounts in SG are all charged much higher fees...
wow... cut throat

I check their sg website... still says outgoing wire $25... the only $75 fee is for ACAT transfer... their cs sucks got confused?

I would print the website info, do a withdrawal and if charged $75, file complaint to MAS and sue their pants off... wink.gif
dwRK
post Jul 20 2020, 01:36 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(asil66 @ Jul 20 2020, 01:12 PM)
Maybe from broker to broker is considered ACAT. Maybe wire transfer is oni for transfer into normal banking accounts.
acat makes life easy to transfer everything from one broker to another

you just wanna xfer cash...use wire withdrawal ah...
dwRK
post Sep 9 2020, 10:22 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Sep 9 2020, 08:16 PM)
Uhmmm wrong link? haha

by the way, the reason why I asked is because some of the forumer say foreigners (malaysians like us) will still be charged, but their website mentioned $0 commission fee;

so that is why im very confused
few weeks ago...tda eliminated stock trading commission... so the forum info you read is now obsolete

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 9 2020, 10:23 PM
dwRK
post Sep 9 2020, 10:41 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Sep 9 2020, 10:23 PM)
that explains it, thanks!

so the only money im paying are TT fee + Wells Fargo (USD25) + withdrawal fee
sending money - local tt (around Rm10 I think) + intermediary bank ($25, but depends, if direct to Wells Fargo then $0)

withdraw - $25 by tda(Wells Fargo) + local bank inward receiving fee

trading stock - fraction of cents per share to exchange/regulation fees

trading futures/options - full commission + exchange/regulation fees
dwRK
post Nov 24 2020, 10:39 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(whyang80 @ Nov 24 2020, 09:16 PM)
When transferring back to Malaysia. Will we get queried by bank negara? Or will get flagged?
if big sum...bank will ask you... if your answer not satisfactory bank will report to bnm
dwRK
post Dec 4 2020, 12:30 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(whyang80 @ Dec 4 2020, 11:38 AM)
May I know what's the amount considered big or small? Or depends on luck?
I'm not sure. probably depends on your account type, size, history...
dwRK
post Jan 26 2021, 09:10 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(bluehippy @ Jan 26 2021, 06:56 PM)
Is td ameritrade website blocked? I seem to be unable to access their site unless I m using vpn. Looks to be the same for their app.
banned by SC...
dwRK
post Jan 26 2021, 09:47 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 26 2021, 09:39 PM)
At least they should have informed investors prior to blockage. People can have their money stuck in there.

So far I tried, the SG website is working though, can be accessed from Malaysia without issues. Only the native US version is blocked.
ya... no idea what was happening initially... no idea what is planning to resolve

can go website only but cannot login... also program not launching... need vpn to access

must be some butthurt ppl complain... biggest US broker you think quite safe n secure...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jan 26 2021, 09:52 PM
dwRK
post Jan 27 2021, 10:01 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 27 2021, 08:40 PM)
A question for those who use TD Ameritrade, is there any advantage of TDA over IBKR/TSG? Or is it just a matter of preference?

Why did you guys choose to open a TDA account instead of IBKR/TSG?

I am thinking of venturing into US markets. Need to collect some info from the veterans here.
tda is like bmw... more expensive but enjoyable... ibkr is like myvi...
dwRK
post Jan 27 2021, 10:27 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 27 2021, 10:06 PM)
lol

So it is just the feel and the design of the user interface that differentiates the 2?
tda got more/better tools, e.g. for options trading, etc...not just pretty interfaces... but if you don't need them then is just fluff...

so depends what you want for... got other brokers maybe better suited for different needs
dwRK
post Jan 27 2021, 10:52 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 27 2021, 10:38 PM)
I only do stocks. No derivative for me. I guess I will just use IBKR/TSG that I am already using now, save the hassle of opening a new brokerage account.

Thanks for the info dwrk.
np... if you just value investing, ibkr/tsg is fine...
dwRK
post Feb 1 2021, 08:02 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Feb 1 2021, 07:19 PM)
dwRK Does IBKR have tools like TD Ameritrade's heatmap (where you can see the different stocks bullishness/bearishness in each sector--technology, materials etc) and scanner (both fundamentals and TA)?
no heat map, no tick charts, can't diy own indicators... got some pre-set scanner and diy...

go sign up for demo & play play... they just need some very basic info...

anyways my tos (Linux, Windows) not working because of ip ban...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 1 2021, 08:09 PM
dwRK
post Feb 2 2021, 11:27 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

didn't manage to find a proxy to run tos directly

router has pp2p vpn...but unable to save details to run...

so set up free openvpn... just need this so program can access the authentication server... after that vpn not needed anymore...

don't need to speed...so free is best cool2.gif
dwRK
post Feb 3 2021, 08:49 AM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(apathen @ Feb 3 2021, 02:57 AM)
why so troublesome, just use google dns or cloudflare dns settle
tm blackhole it... not dns block... ping & traceroute confirmed

using 8888/8844 > 15 yrs, 1111/1001 > 5 yrs, and also opendns... never tm dns... i know what i'm doing... lol

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 3 2021, 12:23 PM
dwRK
post Feb 3 2021, 10:13 AM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 3 2021, 04:12 AM)
Their foreign currency is not real time. I believed they mark up slightly.
small correction...we are geo linked to tda sg, so fx trading not allowed

and fyi... fx trading has no centralized clearing house, prices depends on liquidity providers... whilst they are real-time, they don't have to be the same and is not an issue for traders... also there's fee based and zero fee fx

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 3 2021, 10:23 AM
dwRK
post Feb 3 2021, 10:28 AM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 3 2021, 10:06 AM)
Thanks guys. I use TWS desktop often so I think they are quite ok for me lol. I have not fully explored all the functions, but I like the charts functions which allow me to do technical analysis on deciding when to buy (for long term). I have used it to buy Parkway LIFE when it was around 3.83 last year, now at 4.1x, that's a 7-8% return in some 2-3 months time, not bad for a decent REIT.
can try tradingview...does a better job for charting than tws...
dwRK
post Feb 3 2021, 11:59 AM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Feb 3 2021, 11:22 AM)
dwRK Ramjade mentioned the need for the open vpn server need to be trusted. Is the free openvpn you are using safe?
cant trust anybody... free or paid vpn can do harm if they want... do your own dd lor

with 2fa you are a bit more secure...

dwRK
post Feb 3 2021, 02:13 PM

the consummate chartist
6,236 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 3 2021, 01:56 PM)
Those Vpn have reputation to protect. If they screw up, the privacy community will know and immediately boycott.
small companies or donation funded has more to lose... can go bankrupt or owner jailed

big companies just get a slap on the wrist pay a fine...then business as usual... big companies hide it better, got lobbyists and politicians on speed dial...and so less investigations into them...

anyways just saying

0.0277sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:12 AM