Side Note: This video was done without script (unscripted), the points presented was spontaneous and was not build-up.
ASUS RT-AC59U V2 Review, Cheapest AiMesh Router
May 18 2020, 03:17 PM, updated 6y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,343 posts Joined: Dec 2016 |
Author's Note: ASUS RT-AC59U has two revisions now, Version 1, reviewed on my blog earlier and Version 2. The only key difference between these two revisions are the AiMesh feature. Only Version 2 supports AiMesh. This marks, the RT-AC59U, to be the cheapest AiMesh router to be available in the market soon.
Side Note: This video was done without script (unscripted), the points presented was spontaneous and was not build-up. |
Sep 2 2020, 06:44 PM
789 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Can you try the openVPN client speedtest? I would like to know what's the throughput of this router when open VPN client is connected
As I have expressVPN and i would like to set it up on the router instead of on each of my devices at home. From your video I suppose your fiber speed is 800 D/200 U. What I want to know is how much speed is lost when this router is connected via OpenVPN client to your surfshark VPN service And how much is the percentage lost versus VPN client is installed on your PC instead of the router. Thanks |
Sep 4 2020, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(laytiong @ Sep 2 2020, 06:44 PM) Can you try the openVPN client speedtest? I would like to know what's the throughput of this router when open VPN client is connected Hi. Thanks for the heads up. Unfortunately, the router is a lend unit. I don't have the unit with me. However, when I carried out the ovpn test using a .ovpn (udp) from surfshark, I able to get roughly around 150 ~ 200Mbps (MY Server) and 100 ~ 180Mbps (SG server). I still prefer to use individual clients in each client device pc and only allow the non-configurable device to be routed through a secure vpn tunnel. As I have expressVPN and i would like to set it up on the router instead of on each of my devices at home. From your video I suppose your fiber speed is 800 D/200 U. What I want to know is how much speed is lost when this router is connected via OpenVPN client to your surfshark VPN service And how much is the percentage lost versus VPN client is installed on your PC instead of the router. Thanks P/s: Heck I am using 800down/200uplink |
Sep 6 2020, 04:34 AM
thanks, not bad performance for openVPN on a lowend router. i'm impressed at the speed it can achieve as i only have 100/50 connection only
so this router should be able to have full throughput thru the router in my case |
Sep 7 2020, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(laytiong @ Sep 6 2020, 04:34 AM) thanks, not bad performance for openVPN on a lowend router. i'm impressed at the speed it can achieve as i only have 100/50 connection only I agree with your points there. If you want more kaw-kaw performance go for those priced above RM1000 and with Multi-VPN feature. You won't go wrong with that, of course only if you have budget. One good thing about asus router I liked is, they've standardized openvpn support for all their router models ranging from low end to highest end. Something that you couldn't find on other router provider. Another point is, they are slightly more secure than competitors since they are one of the provider that kept pushing security fixes for their models, each month, sometime two months once.so this router should be able to have full throughput thru the router in my case |
Sep 7 2020, 03:05 PM
14,909 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Sep 7 2020, 02:36 PM) Something that you couldn't find on other router provider Also another point: continuous firmware updates for years and same firmware can be used on multiple hardware revisions unlike TP-Link & D-Link where you have to use a firmware that's specific to a hardware revisionNot to forget no region based firmware But as of now, I'm anti ASUSmy because of their refusal to admit that the RT-AX56U is a problematic model and they refused to pull it off the market Tons of complaints about the RT-AX56U in this forum alone. Those that are aware about this forum, good lah Imagine those who knows nothing about this forum, to whom should they voice their issues publicly? ASUS Malaysia just kept selling the RT-AX56U as if nothing is wrong with it This post has been edited by sHawTY: Sep 7 2020, 03:07 PM |
Sep 7 2020, 03:31 PM
i was looking at 59U V2 or splurge on RT-AC86U for its strong openVPN performance.
In the end i got a Rasp Pi4, turned it into OpenVPN gateway on my TP-Link AX20. initially wanted to sell off my AX20 which is 2 wks old and replace with Asus |
Sep 7 2020, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Sep 7 2020, 03:05 PM) Also another point: continuous firmware updates for years and same firmware can be used on multiple hardware revisions unlike TP-Link & D-Link where you have to use a firmware that's specific to a hardware revision Hi my friend.Not to forget no region based firmware But as of now, I'm anti ASUSmy because of their refusal to admit that the RT-AX56U is a problematic model and they refused to pull it off the market Tons of complaints about the RT-AX56U in this forum alone. Those that are aware about this forum, good lah Imagine those who knows nothing about this forum, to whom should they voice their issues publicly? ASUS Malaysia just kept selling the RT-AX56U as if nothing is wrong with it First of all, I am sorry for the problem you're currently facing from your purchase. First of all, I don't really like to involve other brands in this thread since every brands has their own pros and cons. My points is that, unlike other brands, ASUS really focus on providing fixes for each models. I do admit that their router price is higher compared to their competitors, but I do consider that as an investment for the next 2 to 3 years before new wireless tech comes in. Even the router I am using now has a few bugs that caused me to use their old firmware revision. Every firmware fixes won't really solve 100% of the problem identified, sometime each fixes may introduce newer bugs that will/needed to be addressed later on. This is the cycle. I have reviewed the mentioned model, earlier this year. During the time testing the router out, I don't really face any problem, however, it may seemed that they may have introduced a bug and please give them some time to solve the issue. After all no product is 100% free from the problem bro. I even planning to get a unit of GT-AX11000 for my use soon. So far, I still stand on my point that ASUS is one of the best consumer grade networking gear, based on the report, considering they're one of the best consumer networking gear provider. ASUS don't pay me for defending them or defending my review-article point, I am just saying, unlike other provider, they have a good record in fixing bugs as quick as possible, and yes it is time consuming bro. |
Sep 7 2020, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(laytiong @ Sep 7 2020, 03:31 PM) i was looking at 59U V2 or splurge on RT-AC86U for its strong openVPN performance. I am using an edgerouter 6p with pihole. so far so good. Even asus routers did a good job when pairing with pi-hole. Please carry out your research on particular asus router model before buying. Just as a safety precaution so that you enjoy with your purchase.In the end i got a Rasp Pi4, turned it into OpenVPN gateway on my TP-Link AX20. initially wanted to sell off my AX20 which is 2 wks old and replace with Asus |
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:08 AM |