No internet connection, TM modem keep flashing

TSJaysonGoh
post May 16 2020, 11:48 PM, updated 6y ago

1,080 posts

Hi all sifu here, my gf family having issue with their Maxis Fiber. The internet connection very slow or I would say doesn’t have connection at all, it only work once in a while when I restart or unplug the modem and connect it back but it only work like half an hour then the problem came back.

I notice the tm modem auth doesn’t light up would that be the problem came from the modem? The modem keep flashing only the lan light and after that the light goes off and blink again like it keep restarting. Btw the modem is Alcatel Lucent I240G.

Called to the Maxis CS but they only ask us to wait, hope sifu here can advise me or maybe guide me through basic troubleshooting. Thanks 🙏🏻

Momo33
post May 17 2020, 12:11 AM

1,448 posts

Bro... your ONU Link LED . Is it OFF ie not lighted ?

if the LINK is off means you have no connection to the maxis network.

TSJaysonGoh
post May 17 2020, 12:45 AM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ May 17 2020, 12:11 AM)
Bro...  your  ONU  Link  LED  .  Is it OFF  ie  not lighted  ?

if the LINK is  off  means you have no connection to the  maxis network.
Yes it is off, not sure if I plugged the wrong cable or not. Because I try to unplug all the cable and replug it back and try each port combination see whether can solve the problem or not lol

alfredhow78
post May 17 2020, 12:57 AM

380 posts

The link led should light up. Else it could be something wrong with the fiber connection. Ie the fiber connection is loose or the fiber is broken or your area is having maintenance.
You can try one of the following
1. Unplug the fiber and plug in again, make sure that it is tightly connected. If this doesn't solve your problem, then

2. Ask your neighbour whether he is having same issue. It could be the fiber dp box is faulty or your area is having maintenence. If his Internet is ok then most probably the fiber cable connecting to your house is broken, it can be outside or inside your house.

If this is the case, you have to call maxis and ask them to arrange for tm technician to come fix your fiber cable.

Sometimes maxis call center maxpert have no clue what js going on, you have to tell them your problem. Tell maxis that the link led is not light up. That you suspect fiber is broken and ask them to arrange tm to come over.

There is a minimal chance that the Alcatel btu is faulty. I experienced once 2 years back where my Internet would randomly disconnect and the btu leds would randomly blinks.

Tell maxis that you have done all the troubleshooting and you are sure that fiber or btu is faulty cause the link led is off.
Momo33
post May 17 2020, 01:01 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ May 17 2020, 01:45 AM)
Yes it is off, not sure if I plugged the wrong cable or not. Because I try to unplug all the cable and replug it back and try each port combination see whether can solve the problem or not lol

from your pix the connection look correct.

1. the first on the left is the Fiber cable incoming to your ONU alcatel .

your LINK led should light ON if there is incoming sync with the maxis network.
if OFF ... means there is a break .

your phone on the TEL port will not work too if the is a break . Check if you hear Dial tone on the phone to confirm .

2. LAN 2 port of ONU will connect to WAN port of your wireless router.

This post has been edited by Momo33: May 17 2020, 01:06 AM
SUSXXXOOOXXXOOO
post May 20 2020, 09:59 PM

1,471 posts

me in penang also having similar problem.
Out of sudden everything gone, restart router, modem (everything) but still not working.
after 1 hour everything return back to normal. some time connection also very poor ...
TSJaysonGoh
post May 21 2020, 12:21 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(alfredhow78 @ May 17 2020, 12:57 AM)
The link led should light up. Else it could be something wrong with the fiber connection. Ie the fiber connection is loose or the fiber is broken or your area is having maintenance.
You can try one of the following
1. Unplug the fiber and plug in again, make sure that it is tightly connected. If this doesn't solve your problem, then

2. Ask your neighbour whether he is having same issue. It could be the fiber dp box is faulty or your area is having maintenence.  If his Internet is ok then most probably the fiber cable connecting to your house is broken, it can be outside or inside your house.

If this is the case, you have to call maxis and ask them to arrange for tm technician to come fix your fiber cable.

Sometimes maxis call center maxpert have no clue what js going on, you have to tell them your problem. Tell maxis that the link led is not light up. That you suspect fiber is broken and ask them to arrange tm to come over.

There is a minimal chance that the Alcatel btu is faulty. I experienced once 2 years back where my Internet would randomly disconnect and the btu leds would randomly blinks.

Tell maxis that you have done all the troubleshooting and you are sure that fiber or btu is faulty cause the link led is off.
QUOTE(Momo33 @ May 17 2020, 01:01 AM)
from your pix  the connection look correct.

1.  the first on the left is the   Fiber  cable incoming  to your  ONU alcatel  .

your LINK  led should  light  ON if  there is incoming sync with the maxis network.
if OFF   ...  means there is  a break  .

your phone on the TEL port  will not work too if the is a break  .   Check if you  hear Dial tone on the phone to confirm  . 

2.  LAN 2  port  of ONU   will connect to   WAN  port  of your wireless router.
QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ May 20 2020, 09:59 PM)
Out of sudden everything gone, restart router, modem (everything) but still not working.
after 1 hour everything return back to normal. some time connection also very poor ...
***UPDATE***

Thanks all for the advise, called Maxis and they kept saying they can’t do anything as need to wait for TM technician to come by. After the one big scold call lol, the maxis and tm technician came by accordingly. The Maxis technician explain might be the power adapter of the modem due to the power adapter doesn’t deliver enough power supply to the modem so they only change a new power adapter for the modem only. But later when the tm technician arrive I keep complaining to them and convince them that the problem came from the modem and finally they changed a new Huawei modem for me. Will test and see if they problem will come back or not, by the way I already get the contact number from those technician so that new if got problem I can direct call them icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by JaysonGoh: May 21 2020, 12:22 PM
TSJaysonGoh
post May 21 2020, 12:24 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ May 20 2020, 09:59 PM)
Yea, I’m from Alma in BM. Next time try see if the Modem auth and link still blinking or not, might be modem problem or port problem
Momo33
post May 21 2020, 04:13 PM

1,448 posts

Great ...hope all is fine now. thumbsup.gif
your LINK LED should be permanent ON ... then all is fine

kwai_83
post May 21 2020, 08:01 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ May 17 2020, 01:01 AM)
from your pix  the connection look correct.

1.  the first on the left is the  Fiber  cable incoming  to your  ONU alcatel  .

your LINK  led should  light  ON if  there is incoming sync with the maxis network.
if OFF  ...  means there is  a break  .

your phone on the TEL port  will not work too if the is a break  .  Check if you  hear Dial tone on the phone to confirm  . 

2.  LAN 2  port  of ONU  will connect to  WAN  port  of your wireless router.
you have wrongly plug your rj11 suppose is connected to your maxis router not Telekom modem
TSJaysonGoh
post May 21 2020, 08:29 PM

1,080 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ May 21 2020, 04:13 PM)
Great ...hope all is fine now.  thumbsup.gif
your LINK LED  should be permanent  ON ...  then all is fine

Now using this new modem, tested since morning until now so far so good thumbup.gif

QUOTE(kwai_83 @ May 21 2020, 08:01 PM)
you have wrongly plug your rj11 suppose is connected to your maxis router not Telekom modem
Previously it is plugged there, but we don’t use the telephone
Momo33
post May 21 2020, 11:19 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ May 21 2020, 09:29 PM)

Now using this new modem, tested since morning until now so far so good  thumbup.gif
Previously it is plugged there, but we don’t use the telephone
Great thumbsup.gif
now this one new ONT

PON led must be ON
LOS must be OFF .

you are good to GO nod.gif

0.0164sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:01 AM