Money market fund

Ramjade
post Apr 1 2021, 02:36 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Icon01 @ Apr 1 2021, 02:27 PM)
Newbie here. I am starting to notice there are many players now for MMF. So far which are the better choice below; in your opinion. Also, are there more options available besides the 3 I've named?

1. StashAway Simple
2. Versa
3. TnG GO+
You can forget about Stashaway simple. Lousy. It takes 2-3 days to withdraw your money.
DragonReine
post Apr 1 2021, 02:37 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

Newbie here. I am starting to notice there are many players now for MMF. So far which are the better choice below; in your opinion. Also, are there more options available besides the 3 I've named?

1. StashAway Simple
2. Versa
3. TnG GO+
IMO Versa best because fastest relative to gains (StashAway slow withdrawal at least 3 biz days to arrive back in bank account, TnG GO+ fast transaction but gains bad)

You can invest in MMFs through conventional investment platforms like Public Mutual, Affin Hwang, HLAM, FSMOne etc. Just that compared to the 3 you listed, starting capital + minimum deposit is quite high. The three options you listed because they essentially "pool" users money together and invest on behalf, you can deposit as low as RM1.

Also I recall FSMOne go their own MMF called Cash Solutions, but I never used so I'm not familiar.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Apr 1 2021, 02:40 PM
SUSxander83
post Apr 1 2021, 03:34 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

1. StashAway Simple
2. Versa
3. TnG GO+
Breakdown on terms in daily returns, Versa beats them hands down with RM1 returns is RM0.0009 while GO+ is the lowest at RM0.0004

SA simple forget about because the underlying fund is lousy coupled with slow redemption. You will be better off with projected Versa returns this year and better flexibility in withdrawals as it only takes 1 business day to received the money
ChessRook
post Apr 1 2021, 03:47 PM

375 posts

I thought SA simple and versa has the same projected 2.4% pa? Did i miss something?
SUSxander83
post Apr 1 2021, 03:55 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Apr 1 2021, 03:47 PM)
I thought SA simple and versa has the same projected 2.4% pa? Did i miss something?
Projected returns doesn’t means guaranteed returns for YTD as the projected as based on 2020 returns

Current projected rate for Versa is 3.0% pa for the month of March while last February was the highest at 3.1%

MMF are flexible returns hence you need to track every 2 weeks to see your returns are better or not because the impact of fund movements will have impact on the returns which is why Versa if the trend is following Q1 for the next 3 quarters you will be probably see the returns for 2021 as high as 3.25% while as low as 2.65%

Don’t look at too much projected returns are most of the rubbish just look every quarter or YTD for better analysis
DragonReine
post Apr 1 2021, 04:04 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(ChessRook @ Apr 1 2021, 03:47 PM)
"projected" isn't really useful indicator of how much funds will return

MMFs fluctuates like any other unit trust, just that fluctuation isn't very high.

If you want to guess at MMF returns, you need to study the past distribution, YTD, 3-months and 1 year returns.

Versa's partner fund HWAEDEP at the moment is leading ahead of StashAway Simple's PRUISIN very slightly.
ChessRook
post Apr 1 2021, 04:33 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 1 2021, 04:04 PM)
"projected" isn't really useful indicator of how much funds will return

MMFs fluctuates like any other unit trust, just that fluctuation isn't very high.

If you want to guess at MMF returns, you need to study the past distribution, YTD, 3-months and 1 year returns.

Versa's partner fund HWAEDEP at the moment is leading ahead of StashAway Simple's PRUISIN very slightly.
Thanks for the info
Icon01
post Apr 2 2021, 12:31 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 1 2021, 02:37 PM)
IMO Versa best because fastest relative to gains (StashAway slow withdrawal at least 3 biz days to arrive back in bank account, TnG GO+ fast transaction but gains bad)

You can invest in MMFs through conventional investment platforms like Public Mutual, Affin Hwang, HLAM, FSMOne etc. Just that compared to the 3 you listed, starting capital + minimum deposit is quite high. The three options you listed because they essentially "pool" users money together and invest on behalf, you can deposit as low as RM1.

Also I recall FSMOne go their own MMF called Cash Solutions, but I never used so I'm not familiar.
QUOTE(xander83 @ Apr 1 2021, 03:34 PM)
Breakdown on terms in daily returns, Versa beats them hands down with RM1 returns is RM0.0009 while GO+ is the lowest at RM0.0004

SA simple forget about because the underlying fund is lousy coupled with slow redemption. You will be better off with projected Versa returns this year and better flexibility in withdrawals as it only takes 1 business day to received the money
Just wondering how does it work and how Versa gains better than StashAway. From what I read on their respective website.

Versa's interest is 2.46% minus 0.30% Management Fee and 0.05% Trustee Fee = 2.11%

Whereas, StashAway interest is 2.4% minus 0.165% Management Fee = 2.23%
DragonReine
post Apr 2 2021, 01:04 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(Icon01 @ Apr 2 2021, 12:31 PM)
Just wondering how does it work and how Versa gains better than StashAway. From what I read on their respective website.

Versa's interest is 2.46% minus 0.30% Management Fee and 0.05% Trustee Fee = 2.11%

Don't read Versa and StashAway's projected rates. They're predictions that look nice to attract customers. The real tracking is following the underlying funds HWAEDEP and PRUISIN, you can follow on sites like MorningStar. Study the 1M, 3M, YTD and 1Y returns, look at the portfolio, and you can make a more educated guess on the actual returns.

PRUISIN (StashAway Simple): https://my.morningstar.com/my/report/fund/p...px?t=0P0000GEZP

HWAEDEP (Versa):
https://my.morningstar.com/my/report/fund/p...px?t=0P00008ME1

PRUISIN's heavier weight in deposits is most likely going to bite the fund's earnings unless low interest environment improves abruptly in later half of the year
SUSxander83
post Apr 2 2021, 04:11 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Icon01 @ Apr 2 2021, 12:31 PM)

Versa 2.46% in 2020 is after minus the management and trustee which the actual returns in 2020 was at 2.7% before OPR was dropped hence which is they are still able to return that amount

When you invest MMF pls don’t look a thing 1yr as it misleading most of the time because if 1 to 6 months timeframe because it short term gains not for long term yield

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 2 2021, 01:04 PM)
Don't read Versa and StashAway's projected rates. They're predictions that look nice to attract customers. The real tracking is following the underlying funds HWAEDEP and PRUISIN, you can follow on sites like MorningStar.  Study the 1M, 3M, YTD and 1Y returns, look at the portfolio, and you can make a more educated guess on the actual returns.

PRUISIN (StashAway Simple): https://my.morningstar.com/my/report/fund/p...px?t=0P0000GEZP

HWAEDEP (Versa):

PRUISIN's heavier weight in deposits is most likely going to bite the fund's earnings unless low interest environment improves abruptly in later half of the year
Yeah, YTD and 3mths are my benchmark in terms of returns but looking after q1 performance seems like Simple going to below 2 for this year for sure while Versa should be able return 2.3% unless rate hike which should push it to 2.7%

PRUISIN the problem the Shariah rating hence returns are should be 0.3% lower than Versa which is not surprising

blackchides
post Apr 2 2021, 04:43 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Agreed with the above. I'm only using Simple for simplicity in transferring into their main Stashaway ETF portfolios. Park lump sum into Simple to DCA and forget. Could do it manually but too lazy for that small diff in %.

But otherwise, Versa is main MMF for me.

Where were all these low-barrier money management/investment platforms all those years ago? All the youngsters coming in now have it good lol.
Icon01
post Apr 2 2021, 04:56 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 2 2021, 01:04 PM)
Don't read Versa and StashAway's projected rates. They're predictions that look nice to attract customers. The real tracking is following the underlying funds HWAEDEP and PRUISIN, you can follow on sites like MorningStar.  Study the 1M, 3M, YTD and 1Y returns, look at the portfolio, and you can make a more educated guess on the actual returns.

HWAEDEP (Versa):

Thanks for this Sifu! Do you have the link to TnG GO+ to monitor? icon_rolleyes.gif
cklimm
post Apr 2 2021, 05:00 PM

2,337 posts

Opus money plus here anyone?
DragonReine
post Apr 2 2021, 05:13 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(Icon01 @ Apr 2 2021, 04:56 PM)
Thanks for this Sifu! Do you have the link to TnG GO+ to monitor? icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm not sure GO+ is linked to which MMF, Principal e-Cash Fund got Class A and Class B, so can't get comprehensive data.
DragonReine
post Apr 2 2021, 05:20 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 2 2021, 04:43 PM)
Agreed with the above. I'm only using Simple for simplicity in transferring into their main Stashaway ETF portfolios. Park lump sum into Simple to DCA and forget. Could do it manually but too lazy for that small diff in %.

Where were all these low-barrier money management/investment platforms all those years ago? All the youngsters coming in now have it good lol.
To think that in those days for those who don't like conditional high yield accounts the best we could do was FD laddering trick to get this level of % earnings without sacrificing liquidity too much laugh.gif even then it's a very imperfect system because minimum usually need RM1k++

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Apr 2 2021, 05:21 PM
SUSxander83
post Apr 2 2021, 05:48 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 2 2021, 04:43 PM)

Not really because in high interest environment most will use short term FDs which is still high at 0.5% per month while MMF in those days were 0.2% per month

But now in low interest environment MMF is only good for short term because you will hold to wait opportunity

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 2 2021, 05:13 PM)
I'm not sure GO+ is linked to which MMF, Principal e-Cash Fund got Class A and Class B, so can't get comprehensive data.
Should be class A but with go is rubbish because the underlying fund price is RM1 while returns fluctuating the range of 1.35 to 1.6 which ridiculously useless as their rates is just minus 0.33% on average over OPR
dummies
post Apr 5 2021, 10:17 PM

268 posts

since Versa is buying fund from affin hwang enchanced deposit fund, what are the differences here if I buy the fund directly from affin hwang enchanced deposit fund instead of going through versa?

can i assume both versa and affin hwang enchanced deposit fund offer the SAME return and also both charge the same expense in term of management fees and trustee fees?

i do know affin hwang enhanced deposit fund incur higher initial deposit but that is not my main concern here, i am more interested in the return

Other than affin hwang enhanced deposit fund, which other fund house in malaysia that offers the highest MMF return? I heard about public bank e-cash deposit fund that is used to offer 3% per annum but not sure it is still true now.

This post has been edited by dummies: Apr 5 2021, 10:18 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 6 2021, 12:44 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(dummies @ Apr 5 2021, 10:17 PM)
since Versa is buying fund from affin hwang enchanced deposit fund, what are the differences here if I buy the fund directly from affin hwang enchanced deposit fund instead of going through versa?

can i assume both versa and affin hwang enchanced deposit fund offer the SAME return and also both charge the same expense in term of management fees and trustee fees?

i do know affin hwang enhanced deposit fund incur higher initial deposit but that is not my main concern here, i am more interested in the return

Other than affin hwang enhanced deposit fund, which other fund house in malaysia that offers the highest MMF return?  I heard about public bank e-cash deposit fund that is used to  offer 3% per annum but not sure it is still true now.
Could be speed of withdrawal. The only other good MMF is Phillip Masree Money Market fund.
SUSxander83
post Apr 6 2021, 07:45 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(dummies @ Apr 5 2021, 10:17 PM)

Other than affin hwang enhanced deposit fund, which other fund house in malaysia that offers the highest MMF return?  I heard about public bank e-cash deposit fund that is used to  offer 3% per annum but not sure it is still true now.
Versa only advantage is faster withdrawal which is next business day while everything else including returns are the same

Public Bank still Pecef but don’t expect stellar returns from them now as they are known for rubbish returns while locking up ppl’s money you be better off buying their share or Lonpac if you are keen to hold long and dividends return
cr7jyej
post Apr 6 2021, 09:18 AM

233 posts

Referral code 🤔

50 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:48 AM