Budget yet solid Amplifier / DAC / Receiver, any recommendations?

TSerasergate
post May 16 2020, 01:00 PM

107 posts

Where can I to buy 2nd hand units? Is there specific forum / website?
A.B.D.
post May 16 2020, 01:16 PM

2,317 posts

Stylelaser has some pre loved items. For amp with dac you can consider Yamaha RN series. They offer additional discount for new customer who sign up as member.
ccm
post May 16 2020, 04:00 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(erasergate @ May 16 2020, 01:00 PM)
you type "malaysia hifi for sale" in google search there are a few used hifi online forum there.. u can search
and ebay...
I used to listen to youtube audition by using earphone or headphone...try those posted from users, don't try the reviewers...
reviewers mostly are bluff... listen to user post video and read more from forums....
voscar
post May 16 2020, 05:12 PM

1,458 posts

QUOTE(erasergate @ May 16 2020, 01:00 PM)
you got pm biggrin.gif
dayojah
post May 16 2020, 05:37 PM

1,268 posts

You can get a used 5.1 receiver for around RM500 and buy a reasonable new DAC

TSerasergate
post May 16 2020, 11:36 PM

107 posts

Yeah.. this sounds good. Within budget at least.

But again... I will be using the speakers on my PC. Receivers are kinda big on my desk. So I prefer the mini amp/dac.

Also, I would like to have separate amp and separate dac so I can upgrade easily one at a time.
SSJBen
post May 16 2020, 11:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,477 posts

QUOTE(erasergate @ May 14 2020, 09:04 PM)
I'm thinking of buying "Monitor Audio Bronze 2" speakers.

But don't have the budget yet to pair it with Marantz or similar amp.
Pretty easy to drive these speakers. Pretty much you only need 10w per channel from a tube amp and your face would explode before it even reaches max volume since you're using it on a desk.

Get an amp that will last you a long time, not an amp that you will throw away in 2 years. Amps are easily one of the longest lasting equipment in a hi-fi setup.

Emotiva BasX A100 is a decent stereo amp for around RM1.3k or so IIRC. Then take out another RM500-700 or so for a DAC of your choice. I think that's fairly reasonable for a start.
TSerasergate
post May 18 2020, 06:50 PM

107 posts

Thanks for the tip. I appreciate it.
killdavid
post May 21 2020, 09:21 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,559 posts

you mentioned use with pc. Normally people have less space on desktop for full size amp.
if you want to save space, can check out
1. SMSL DA-8 or its later version DA-8s amplifier
2. SMSL SA300 , dac + amp
3. Topping E30 is a good choice , i can share experience when mine arrive.

barjoyai
post May 22 2020, 10:20 AM

PoisonRoses
719 posts

if u are beginner and wants to feel ''wow'' of hifi sound, i suggest marantz amp maybe pm6005 or pm6006. it is stereo amp with dac, has coaxial and optical input. This marantz amp still surprised me till now with its "airiness'' sound.

i owned Yamaha as-501, Yamaha av receiver, Cambridge Audio Dacmagic.. Still i think Marantz amp is the best.if u dont care using optical'/coaxial connection. If u are planning to play native DSD files then its another story
sonerin
post May 23 2020, 06:43 AM

8,690 posts

Keces is a good brand to check out too
ben3003
post Jun 15 2020, 04:16 PM

10,604 posts

Topping PA3 macam good also

https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/in...pressions.7642/

i also planning to buy monitor audio, but i am looking for the new bronze series, since the price not much diff from the bronze 2 price, unless can find 2nd hand but hard find.
dpo_99_sl
post Jun 24 2020, 02:33 PM

143 posts

TS I highly recommend to test or demo the speaker first before buying.
Do bear in mind I'm still a newbie, so please read everything I write with a lot of salt smile.gif

Last year I finally bought my first set of speaker and amp (used KEF LS50 and new Yamaha RN803) after demoing at a store
What I hear on youtube and what I hear in store, it is different.
The room is another factor that I didn't realise until I brought the speakers home.
How it sounded at my home now is only roughly 75-80% of how it sounded in the properly treated demo room.

Also I tested the Monitor Audio Bronze 1 and 2 at the store too, despite highly rated by what hifi website they sounded very very boxy to me and my friend.
Not sure what went wrong, could it be the Yamaha amp doesn't suit the MA speakers ?
voscar
post Jun 24 2020, 06:19 PM

1,458 posts

QUOTE(dpo_99_sl @ Jun 24 2020, 02:33 PM)
TS I highly recommend to test or demo the speaker first before buying.
Do bear in mind I'm still a newbie, so please read everything I write with a lot of salt smile.gif

Last year I finally bought my first set of speaker and amp (used KEF LS50 and new Yamaha RN803) after demoing at a store
What I hear on youtube and what I hear in store, it is different.
The room is another factor that I didn't realise until I brought the speakers home.
How it sounded at my home now is only roughly 75-80% of how it sounded in the properly treated demo room.

Also I tested the Monitor Audio Bronze 1 and 2 at the store too, despite highly rated by what hifi website they sounded very very boxy to me and my friend.
Not sure what went wrong, could it be the Yamaha amp doesn't suit the MA speakers ?
Wah, powering LS50 with Yammy RN803... Thought minimum need at least an Naim grade amp...
ktek
post Jun 24 2020, 09:00 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,545 posts

yes bronze is very box sound after u moved it.
not amp issue
dpo_99_sl
post Jun 24 2020, 11:11 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Jun 24 2020, 06:19 PM)
Wah, powering LS50 with Yammy RN803... Thought minimum need at least an Naim grade amp...
Actually this is something I have always wondered, how big is the difference if I use a better amp to drive the LS50 smile.gif
Volume wise the yammy can drive it way over my normal listening volume.
So far I’m ok with the sound I can get out of this combo, a bit more soundstage would be nice.
As a newbie I had very little experience with audio gear, but so far I’m enjoying the process to read and learn more about it.

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 24 2020, 09:00 PM)
yes bronze is very box sound after u moved it.
not amp issue
Sorry i don’t quite get what you mean by ‘moved it’.
What I feel during the demo is the sound feels like coming out of a thin box, it just don’t sound natural to my ear.

ktek
post Jun 24 2020, 11:55 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,545 posts

QUOTE(dpo_99_sl @ Jun 24 2020, 11:11 PM)
Actually this is something I have always wondered, how big is the difference if I use a better amp to drive the LS50 smile.gif
Volume wise the yammy can drive it way over my normal listening volume.
So far I’m ok with the sound I can get out of this combo, a bit more soundstage would be nice.
As a newbie I had very little experience with audio gear, but so far I’m enjoying the process to read and learn more about it.
Sorry i don’t quite get what you mean by ‘moved it’.
What I feel during the demo is the sound feels like coming out of a thin box, it just don’t sound natural to my ear.

rtfm
follow factory instruction to release the screw behind, woofer will come out a bit. we tighten back with original specs to seal the air gap.
u are provided allen key to do so. i guess is the weight distribution not balance

This post has been edited by ktek: Jun 25 2020, 12:06 AM
penmarker
post Jun 25 2020, 09:16 AM

2,002 posts

Funny those LS50 in the youtube video sounds exactly like my laptop speakers.
ktek
post Jun 25 2020, 10:10 AM

拼拼拼多啦
12,545 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Jun 25 2020, 09:16 AM)
pls connect earphone 😁😁
slaveone
post Jun 25 2020, 10:15 AM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Jun 25 2020, 09:16 AM)
every sound demo video would sound the same if listening using laptop speakers

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0146sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:55 AM