18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Xiaomi POCO F2 Pro, The New Flagship killer?

mfa682
post May 24 2020, 12:15 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 24 2020, 11:25 AM)
Phones are just going to keep getting pricier every year I guess. The best deals will be to buy last year's flagship phones this year smile.gif
Ok ma, shows that a lot of people interested in the phone smile.gif
I agree, the Realme 6 is such a big step up from the Realme 5. Looking forward to their X3 Super Zoom launch next week. I'm guessing it will be around 2499-2599, as a successor to the X2 Pro. OP phones generally don't drop that much in prices until after the next gen ones are released. The 8/256 OP7 Pro is quite a bargain now for RM2399. But the loyal and old time supporters remain unhappy with OP for losing their flagship killer mojo and joining the premium players laugh.gif

I'd love to try the OP8 Pro at some point too. But not at the current RRP!
Well, Realme hasn't released a RM3k phone yet, so that's good!
Yep, totally agree! With the right pricing, I find the realme x3 super zoom has a quite specific market segment. Its like a playmaker/keyplayer that will push realme higher in the smartphone competition.

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 24 2020, 11:31 AM)
Inevitable, as manufacturers keep improved on design/quality etc, xiaomi even without stupid-Qualcomm-forced-5G, already near flagship phone price last year.
Same as OnePlus, build quality, features and camera etc keep getting better.
Inevitable indeed. I'm blaming Qualcomm here for dominating the flagships market but there's no denying that their performance is leading against the competition. Us consumers have always to milk more money πŸ’ΈπŸ’Έ to keep up with the trend.

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ May 24 2020, 11:49 AM)
Maybe they can opt for the chipset from MediaTek.

I read an article said that HONOR also is going to get the chipset from MediaTek for some of their phones in the future.
Hope mediatek will do better in future. Eventhough the performance is quite good, their current lineup is just not flash friendly. But thats just me and a bunch of modders who just love to fully utilise and customise our android phones to a wider extent, and I think our percentage in the market is almost negligible.
mfa682
post May 24 2020, 04:35 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ May 24 2020, 02:03 PM)
I believe MediaTek also can make a great flagship chipset soon as more and more people using their chipsets.
When more and more people are going to use MediaTek chipsets, then the developers will go to create more custom ROM and make it easier to flash in the future.

Just need some time only.
MediaTek has been around for quite some time so I highly doubt that is going to happen anytime soon. Maybe not in the next 5 years. They don't even have fastboot mode in case when the device goes wrong. Hopefully they will change this soon.
mfa682
post May 24 2020, 04:59 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 24 2020, 04:32 PM)
GSMArena's poll concluded that most people prefer the Poco of old... drop the 5G and drop the price smile.gif

What did you vote for bro? I would vote the light blue if you ask me tongue.gif
mfa682
post May 25 2020, 12:16 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ May 24 2020, 05:52 PM)
with the resemblance why not redmi k30 pro?
Got myself a k30 pro zoom edition and live happily ever after... Or perhaps a year or two haha.

QUOTE(attw @ May 24 2020, 06:15 PM)
Haha, I voted the same laugh.gif
Great minds think alike πŸ˜†
mfa682
post May 25 2020, 07:19 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ May 25 2020, 02:45 AM)
You are right.
MediaTek has been around for quite a long time.

But the situation has started to change when President Trump banned HUAWEI last year.

More phone manufacturers started to ditch Qualcomm Snapdragon chipsets and went to use MediaTek chipsets.

Now even HUAWEI's sub-brand, HONOR also will join the club.

I believe it's a good timing for MediaTek now to speed up in the innovations and provide more features because more money has come in now.
True. Let's see how the trade war unfolds. Trump really enjoys to give people a lot of headaches doesn't he sweat.gif. If things go well then this might be a good chance for mediatek to step up to show what they are capable of icon_idea.gif
mfa682
post May 25 2020, 08:17 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ May 25 2020, 08:09 AM)
Risks are chances also for everybody. icon_idea.gif
Indeed rclxm9.gif
mfa682
post May 25 2020, 09:33 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ May 25 2020, 09:02 AM)
u all don't shiok sendiri...
mediatek same as tsmc, both r Taiwanese company
US will hv a hand on it if they wanted
That's one more thing that I'm worried of sweat.gif... Seeing how TSMC has agreed to setup their 5nm manufacturing plan in the US, I can just imagine how the smartphone price will rise even further cry.gif If other manufacturing companies follow suit, then... I don't even what to say lol

QUOTE(attw @ May 25 2020, 09:10 AM)
Ya, the situation with Trump is volatile even for US tech companies with heavy investments in China as China is considering to retaliate with their own entity list. Hopefully in November, they will vote for Biden instead.
Things don't look good on trump side if the survey/finding (or whatever it is, can't recall it) from CNN is true. Let the votes go for Uncle Joe please!
mfa682
post May 25 2020, 09:58 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(bsa12 @ May 25 2020, 09:46 AM)
Why 5nm plant in US will increase prices? The smart phone now is using 5nm from Taiwan, and they going to make 3nm there too.
I thought the manufacturing cost in the state is higher, no?
mfa682
post May 25 2020, 11:41 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ May 25 2020, 10:29 AM)
According to the economist, the answer is not really.
I see. I guess different source leads to different answers? Hopefully I'm wrong sweat.gif

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ May 25 2020, 11:20 AM)
again, don't syiok sendiri
ur unker Joe is from Obama camp, democrat.
which they introduce Trans Pacific Partnership, TPP.
whether they r republican or Democrat, they view China as a threat.
My apologies, Mr know everything sir notworthy.gif. In current situation I don't think anyone in the states doesn't view China as a threat, regardless of party. Well whatever it is, let's just hope for the best πŸ€—
mfa682
post May 25 2020, 02:48 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ May 25 2020, 12:27 PM)
The price is expensive but I've let go of my habit of using flagship due to prices. laugh.gif

mi9t is more than enough for me now, as long as mid range SoC is functioning well, I guess I'll just stick to mid range phone and maybe just buy last year's model. Too bad, I miss using poco f1.
Sad to see flagships are too expensive these days.

Had my mi pad 4 almost two years now, mid range SoC but still do a great job in handling most tasks.

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 25 2020, 12:33 PM)
sign0006.gif
Trump is just a joker. Up front talked about American here and there, seeing China as threat, engaged trade war. Mainly due to China product are too cheap, so he put tariff on it, earn big bucks, right ?
Many didnt know, the increase in price of those low cost product/materials impacted US industry itself. China aluminium too cheap ? Put tariff on it ! Small company in US like boat building who rely on aluminium, have to force-buy higher cost US aluminium, or eat the tariff imposed China aluminium.
Almost all IT or related industry company from US dont support Trump whole heartedly, they know it will come back and hurt them if trade war escalated. One of the reason whole world go and setup factory at China is due to cost and materials.
He's a joker to no end.
mfa682
post May 26 2020, 10:01 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 25 2020, 11:19 PM)
Perhaps this could be the Poco F2 non-Pro and cost below RM1500?

https://www.gsmarena.com/redmi_k30i_5g_goes...-news-43400.php
QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 26 2020, 12:05 AM)
Does seems slightly nearer to poco F1, aka LCD screen. One of the reason F1 are low cost is LCD.
looks like a potential candidate to me. Last time F1 got pro and non pro? Around how much when released?
mfa682
post May 26 2020, 12:35 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 26 2020, 10:08 AM)
No, there was only one version. Cheapest one at launch was RM1237 for 64GB storage. Of course,  this was in 2018 with a SD845 processor.
No wonder a lot of people are disappointed with f2 pro price.
mfa682
post May 26 2020, 02:07 PM

1,799 posts

Nowhere near the league of heavy weight lifters, but certainly wipes the floor with my previous phones. Really happy with the performance since it made it through the day on a single full charge 😁😁
mfa682
post May 26 2020, 02:41 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 26 2020, 02:28 PM)
I think we can expect pretty similar performance from the battery of the Poco F2 Pro, which is good. Now just waiting for them to announce it here, hahaha...
Its only a matter of time. Either bad or good news, the price that will be announced will decide. icon_idea.gif
mfa682
post May 26 2020, 03:38 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ May 26 2020, 03:06 PM)
Redmi K30 Pro is below 2k

How is that not flagship killer by looking at the prices of SD865 hike up entire mobile segment price this year
Name 1 phone SD865 below 2k
Redmi k30 pro... Hahaha, cannot name others, they don't exist under RM2k cry.gif

QUOTE(attw @ May 26 2020, 03:19 PM)
Yeah, the F1 held it's price quite nicely thumbup.gif
For some people, flagship killer still means RM1.2k, hahaha laugh.gif
Wait until conversion rate 1usd = rm2 tongue.gif

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ May 26 2020, 03:29 PM)
they forget even roadside CKT increase more than 50% also ....
Noob question, what's CKT?

mfa682
post May 26 2020, 04:17 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(XXXOOOXXXOOO @ May 26 2020, 03:55 PM)
char kuey teow tongue.gif
OK now I suddenly miss CKT, hahaha. Hungry now, lol
mfa682
post May 26 2020, 06:11 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 26 2020, 04:37 PM)
We'll be lucky if it doesn't hit RM5 soon laugh.gif
Sad but true bye.gif

QUOTE(chicaman @ May 26 2020, 04:39 PM)
On the other hand I am still waiting for ROG3 and see if there are Tencent version this year or not
Pubg die-hard-fan I presume? biggrin.gif
mfa682
post May 27 2020, 07:06 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 26 2020, 08:53 PM)
Same price as the Poco F2 Pro in Europe

https://gsmarena.com/realme_x3_superzoom_is...-news-43420.php

Only SD855+ (no 5G) and LCD screen, though you do get a high refresh rate screen.
If price is the same with f2p, which one will you choose?
mfa682
post May 28 2020, 02:14 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 28 2020, 01:59 PM)
Please don't release this year. This year my wallets hole will take quite a while to repair haha bye.gif
mfa682
post May 28 2020, 04:06 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(marcyeo @ May 28 2020, 03:41 PM)
Okla.. I get.. For my channel sake
(actually just me tempted wanna play la haha)
QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 28 2020, 03:43 PM)
Blackshark probably have too much leftover stock  biggrin.gif
Might try luck on this. Below rm2k worth it IMO
Me waits for local sellers to import the ringke casing, the only brand that sells casing with lanyard eyelet on the left side. It's quite convenient for lefty like me. Most other casings eyelet is on the right side.

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0868sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:17 PM