21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Xiaomi POCO F2 Pro, The New Flagship killer?

attw
post May 21 2020, 11:35 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 21 2020, 11:32 PM)
Semua nak jadi Pro susah lah macam ni... I wonder which model are they going to take after for rebranding.
That article mentioned could be a rebranding of the Redmi Note 9 Pro. Hahaha.. whatever rocks their boat biggrin.gif
attw
post May 22 2020, 09:06 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 22 2020, 12:36 AM)
It's their strategy to get rid off the SoCs/inventory quickly... By creating many sub-brands & models, buyers are fooled to believe there are "many" choices in the market.

Plus, by pushing the new so-called "model", they can put the SRP higher than the previous model launched 3 months ago, despite of identical internal components.

Hence, the breakdown of 100% inventory is :
25% inventory goes to Mi branding...
10% inventory goes to Blackshark branding...
40% inventory goes to Redmi branding...
25% inventory goes to Poco branding...

Therefore,
If Redmi series (launched 3 months ago) have outstanding inventory, just transfer the inventory to Poco account and sell at new or higher price.
I think they've moved the Mi branding to premium, leaving the Redmi and Poco branding for the entry level and midrange market. The Blackshark is a niche by itself. The other thing about having so many models is that they end up cannibalising each other, so maybe in places where there is the Poco, the Redmi K series won't be present.

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ May 22 2020, 05:37 AM)
Maybe that's why my previous Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 battery was draining quite fast.
How old is your RN7? Mine is about a year old and the battery is still very good. Standby drain at night is only 3-4%.

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 22 2020, 08:14 AM)
Its a group of devs deserve the credit here for bringing in the customised EU Rom. Not xiaomi for sticking the ads and bloatful apps in the phone lol.
Yeah, that's why Xiaomi can't convince me to spend top dollar on their phones yet. I'm not a fan of the bloatware and ads laugh.gif

This post has been edited by attw: May 22 2020, 10:27 AM
attw
post May 22 2020, 10:35 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ May 22 2020, 09:20 AM)
Does these make it into the 10 sot club? sad.gif

You need to ask the club founder smile.gif

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 22 2020, 09:45 AM)

Thanks for the detailed explanation bro. Seems like still a fair bit of system apps that aren't removed with the EU ROM. Looks like the Mi A× series is the only way to experience Mi devices without the heavy handed apps and ads.

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 22 2020, 10:25 AM)
Bloatware is one thing, but ads... But since they need it to compensate their lower priced product and they also offer eu version, I can turn a blind eye on that. Haha.
Exactly bro. Since they want to play at the premium field with their latest Mi 10 with the likes of Samsung and OnePlus, they have to give that kinda ad free experience too.

attw
post May 22 2020, 12:02 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 22 2020, 10:44 AM)
Not dual-SIM active, auto-disqualify... LOL...

But,...

Usage is almost 2 days, very good...

By "discounting" the Facebook (1 hour 13 minutes) and Instagram (46 minutes) apps, we can "allow" the 10 SoT Club enrollment... LOL...

Just ensure not to leave the battery level below 15%. Else, the cells will dry faster and shorter lifespan...
Hahaha, yeah, I do it only once with the phone to see if it can achieve after that I charge every night, even if got more than 50% balance smile.gif
attw
post May 22 2020, 09:20 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ May 22 2020, 07:38 PM)
Yes! Hahaha , was just fooling around with ya.

Those were from my ROG phone 2 on 120hz mode too!.

Anyway I'm looking forward to the new owners of Poco F2 , wanna see some first impressions , especially battery as F1's battery life was quite insane.
Whoaaa... ROG Phone 2 got 6000mAh battery bro... I think beyond 10 hours SOT also no problem. Is there an option for 90hz instead of 120hz refresh rate?

Ahhh, but yes, that is a question for another thread. I'm looking forward to the F2 Pro local launch too, but whether I get one or not depends on the local pricing they set smile.gif
attw
post May 22 2020, 10:10 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 22 2020, 09:33 PM)
about what price, you will consider buying F2 pro ?  hmm.gif
RM1,999 is a must buy. Anything above that will need consideration smile.gif

How about you, bro? Planning to get one?
attw
post May 23 2020, 08:12 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 22 2020, 11:40 PM)
Below rm2k I think near impossible  sad.gif  EUR499

TBH I have almost no reason to change phone now, current phone Mi9T fits all my requirement and so far no complaint at all.
Just one reason I'll consider is my phone almost 1 year old. I usually change/sold phone before warranty end ( usually 1 year ), for better price. Calculated behavior  laugh.gif
Well our phones here are typically cheaper than EU pricing so there is some hope, even if it's just a fool's hope, hahaha.. I'm expecting 2,299 or 2,399, then we'll have to wait and see if there's any pre-order discounts or offers.

Yeah, selling off your device while still under warranty is far easier and less hassle smile.gif
attw
post May 23 2020, 09:00 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 23 2020, 12:20 PM)
Yeah, see what offer they have for pre-order.
If this launch much nearer to year end, then cantik lo, shopee/lazada sales with discount voucher etc  biggrin.gif
By year end they'll have the Redmi 10X or whatever with 5G connection. Maybe by then the Poco F2 Pro will cost below RM2K smile.gif
attw
post May 23 2020, 09:41 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 23 2020, 09:12 PM)
Im convinced by year end f2p is already out of sight and something else is within the reach of your eyes 😜
Hahaha, yeah, Xiaomi and Realme are in a little contest between themselves to see who can release more phones into the market in the shortest amount of time possible biggrin.gif
attw
post May 24 2020, 11:25 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(kitter @ May 23 2020, 10:13 PM)
From Mi 10 Pro to 1+ 8 Pro, to Poco, I really hold my trigger now and opt for a personal laptop. lol
Phone could be dragged to next year.
Phones are just going to keep getting pricier every year I guess. The best deals will be to buy last year's flagship phones this year smile.gif

QUOTE(sp6068 @ May 23 2020, 11:17 PM)
I'm surprised this thread can reach #210 post for a phone that nobody in this thread owns yet lol
Ok ma, shows that a lot of people interested in the phone smile.gif

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 24 2020, 12:07 AM)
Realme is getting better, while xiaomi is slowly following oneplus footstep.
I'm hoping op8 will drop a lot more, cause I find op7 pro is holding their own price pretty well.
I bet people won't talk about it much if they put the price above rm2.5k.
I agree, the Realme 6 is such a big step up from the Realme 5. Looking forward to their X3 Super Zoom launch next week. I'm guessing it will be around 2499-2599, as a successor to the X2 Pro. OP phones generally don't drop that much in prices until after the next gen ones are released. The 8/256 OP7 Pro is quite a bargain now for RM2399. But the loyal and old time supporters remain unhappy with OP for losing their flagship killer mojo and joining the premium players laugh.gif

I'd love to try the OP8 Pro at some point too. But not at the current RRP!

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ May 24 2020, 03:36 AM)
In my opinion, it is a trend for all phone makers this year onwards including realme too.
Well, Realme hasn't released a RM3k phone yet, so that's good!
attw
post May 24 2020, 11:39 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 24 2020, 11:31 AM)
Inevitable, as manufacturers keep improved on design/quality etc, xiaomi even without stupid-Qualcomm-forced-5G, already near flagship phone price last year.
Same as OnePlus, build quality, features and camera etc keep getting better.
Ya, a big part of the reason why SD865 phones are so pricey is Qualcomm forcing 5G down everyone's throat with that chipset laugh.gif
attw
post May 24 2020, 11:54 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ May 24 2020, 11:44 AM)
I think they will keep that piece of market for oppo.
Yeah, true. Hopefully it'll stay that way smile.gif

QUOTE(Khuan0813 @ May 24 2020, 11:49 AM)
Maybe they can opt for the chipset from MediaTek.

I read an article said that HONOR also is going to get the chipset from MediaTek for some of their phones in the future.
Good point. If more phone makers start going with Mediatek as a cheaper option then it will be interesting. But to the mind of many consumers, flagship = SD8** series chipset smile.gif

This post has been edited by attw: May 24 2020, 11:57 AM
attw
post May 24 2020, 02:10 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 24 2020, 12:15 PM)
Yep, totally agree! With the right pricing, I find the realme x3 super zoom has a quite specific market segment. Its like a playmaker/keyplayer that will push realme higher in the smartphone competition.
Inevitable indeed. I'm blaming Qualcomm here for dominating the flagships market but there's no denying that their performance is leading against the competition. Us consumers have always to milk more money 💸💸 to keep up with the trend.
Hope mediatek will do better in future. Eventhough the performance is quite good, their current lineup is just not flash friendly. But thats just me and a bunch of modders who just love to fully utilise and customise our android phones to a wider extent, and I think our percentage in the market is almost negligible.
QUOTE(azhar75 @ May 24 2020, 01:28 PM)
As for me, I can't accept MTK becoz GCam is not 100% compatible ... So, still relying on Snap series in the end, and especially the ones that Google Pixel 5 is rumored to use (Snap 765G or 768G)...
Right, that's one setback using MTK instead of SD for now, G-Cam support. I've been using the Realme 6 with the G90T chipset for a couple of months now and I have no complaints in terms of energy efficiency, performance, network reception and GPS signal strength. They've certainly come a long way. Looking forward to test their Dimensity series chipset when it gets here smile.gif
attw
post May 24 2020, 04:32 PM

32,468 posts

GSMArena's poll concluded that most people prefer the Poco of old... drop the 5G and drop the price smile.gif

attw
post May 24 2020, 04:41 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ May 24 2020, 04:39 PM)
Last year flagship is POCO F1  cool2.gif
I think MediaTek most success processor to date is Redmi Note 8 PRO, their selling price is higher than Redmi Note 8 (SD)
No la bro, last year flagship will be like Mi 9 or OP7 - Poco F1 from 2018 (2 years di) smile.gif
attw
post May 24 2020, 06:15 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 24 2020, 04:59 PM)
What did you vote for bro? I would vote the light blue if you ask me  tongue.gif
Haha, I voted the same laugh.gif
attw
post May 25 2020, 09:10 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 25 2020, 07:19 AM)
True. Let's see how the trade war unfolds. Trump really enjoys to give people a lot of headaches doesn't he sweat.gif. If things go well then this might be a good chance for mediatek to step up to show what they are capable of icon_idea.gif
Ya, the situation with Trump is volatile even for US tech companies with heavy investments in China as China is considering to retaliate with their own entity list. Hopefully in November, they will vote for Biden instead.
attw
post May 25 2020, 11:19 PM

32,468 posts

Perhaps this could be the Poco F2 non-Pro and cost below RM1500?

https://www.gsmarena.com/redmi_k30i_5g_goes...-news-43400.php
attw
post May 26 2020, 09:45 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ May 26 2020, 12:05 AM)
Does seems slightly nearer to poco F1, aka LCD screen. One of the reason F1 are low cost is LCD.
Yeah, good point. Xiaomi will have one phone at every price point so customers can choose whatever suits them laugh.gif
attw
post May 26 2020, 10:08 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(mfa682 @ May 26 2020, 10:01 AM)
looks like a potential candidate to me. Last time F1 got pro and non pro? Around how much when released?
No, there was only one version. Cheapest one at launch was RM1237 for 64GB storage. Of course, this was in 2018 with a SD845 processor.

21 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0914sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:10 AM