103 posts

Alright. I'm done. Can close tered now smile.gif
melt
post May 14 2020, 11:30 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 14 2020, 11:12 AM)
Are you one of those who are still in the "I want to believe" mode?  biggrin.gif
nah... i never bothered about her/his topic... just read for fun then that all

but its good to know who is right who is wrong as there is too many unsolved case in k/ most of the time laugh.gif
blackie19
post May 14 2020, 11:36 AM

234 posts

I did not have any problem with Ladytarot until the day she asked why would anyone drive his/her own MPV (Alphard) when one can employ driver(s) to drive for him/her like what she did, following the news that a young couple from Penang (or was it Kedah) were involved in an accident on Plus Highway a couple a months ago in their MPV and the husband died as a result of that.

I was so upset by her comment that I compared her to Marie Antoinette who famously asked why wouldn’t her subjects have cakes if they had no (could not afford) breads.

A man had just died from an accident, yet her comment was so inconsiderate. That really did upset me a lot.

This post has been edited by blackie19: May 14 2020, 11:36 AM
SUSmashy potato
post May 14 2020, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 14 2020, 09:42 AM)
No, it's just my nature and personality. Perhaps it's because of my formative experiences - and of how good people have made such a difference in my life. For instance, after our STPM exams, I was a little late in getting an application form from the Australian High Commission for the Colombo Plan Commonwealth Scholarship - but, a class mate of mine passed me his form, saying that I'd probably have a better chance of being selected than he. That simple act of kindness changed my life, as I was indeed selected for the scholarship.

Also, as a physician, I am trained to cast aside all doubt. A patient coming in complaining of "chest pain" needs to be taken seriously, even if my personal feeling is that he's just here to fudge a couple of days of MC from me. If I doubted him, and he drops dead from a real heart attack ... well, how could I live with myself?

So, the same principle is carried over to my interactions in the forum - if I start off doubting everyone and everything, and being cynical and skeptical and vindictive about it from the get go, then honestly, I have to question my motive and rationale of coming onboard a forum like this in the first place.

At the end of the day, I am not guilty of anything other than extending a leap of faith in trust to a stranger if I'm "fooled", and I'm a "victim". Better that, than to prejudge everyone and end up missing out on genuine interactions and meaningful exchanges of ideas and knowledge.
tat's so wholesome wub.gif
TheLegend27
post May 14 2020, 11:38 AM

1,692 posts

her real name is Mandy i saw in other discussion.
superbike
post May 14 2020, 11:39 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(TheBornLoser @ May 14 2020, 08:11 AM)
There's a lovely South East Asian Hokkien dialect term for this. It is called "kiasu"  biggrin.gif
I had my own shoulder chips when I went to college. The college I went to was one of those rich / preppy types in Selangor, where a lot of the kids judge whether to include you in their social circles based on your family's material wealth or perceived coolness factor (which, of course, would be reinforced or amplified by your material potential or ability to flaunt). I did not really belong and it was a college where I do not have much happy memories.

One of their biggest "toy comparisons" or "social ranking factors" was the car you drove to college (and before that, it was the handphone you owned.... Startec wielders carry much higher social cachet over Nokia users, for instance, and woe betide you if you were a public telephone user or KTM commuter like me... biggrin.gif). Thus, the chip I carried was that I wanted the best car I could possibly afford at certain stages in my life.

Of course, as I climbed up various ladders, and reached levels where I could afford various vehicles easily, coupled with the awareness that I would never be able to utilize the full power and capacities of such highly refined and engineered machines (I always say that putting a RM500K car into my hands is like giving a 2 carat diamond to a baboon), my desires and chips started to fall by the wayside. Once I went beyond the age of 35, I practically no longer cared about acquiring such forms of material validation; I am very happy to let even CRVs and Civics high-beam their way past me on the highway in my banged-up old vehicle whenever I am back in the homeland as long as I know that these are vehicles I can acquire within even a month's salary. I now focus more on unlocking achievements and experiences - things that require time, effort and commitment to obtain, and not just pure monetary ability. And of course, the driving force of my life right now is to provide for or do the best I can for the family and friends that really matter to me, for no amount of money can ever bring a life or time back once they are gone or incapacitated permanently.

Once I learned the art of gratitude in my life, and to see all the blessings I actually do have - in an intact immediate family (no divorce or dysfunctional ism), in two wonderful in-laws (how many people can have in-laws that they truly like and would enjoy living with), in a better half who stuck with me through thick and thin even when I was a pauper and struggling (how many people can claim to have "married above their station or potential"), in family who would do everything they can for you if you need them to, in friends who have gone through various highs and lows with you throughout the decades and who are still close to you till today, in the safety, prosperity and progression that my family is able to have compared to the time of my ancestors who were tapping rubber or cleaning up adult potties from the back allies of trading harbours, I tell myself everyday... man, am I one of the luckiest ones alive, regardless of the lack of whatever material indicators that are supposedly befitting of my station!

I have seen enough "materially abundant" people suffering from other great deficiencies in their lives - broken families, sibling warfare, dysfunctional marriages, always looking over their shoulder for the shadow of enemies, deep underlying health issues, thick and deep-rooted insecurities, etc. Some of the "tycoons" quietly hanging out in /k (or in the old forum, from what I understand) have to go out with bodyguards accompanying them at the front and back of their vehicles. I am very happy to not be in their position. There are prices to pay for everything in life. It depends on what you are willing to pay for, I guess. And surprisingly, most of the best things in my life do not require much material payment... only time and energy commitment, which, as long as my health, luck and financial situation holds up, I have plenty of.... for now...... biggrin.gif
Damn this post reminds me as the only guy got discriminated in my class during college time. But not because of material wealth but im the only bumi in my class
mushigen
post May 14 2020, 11:40 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(melt @ May 14 2020, 11:30 AM)
nah... i never bothered about her/his topic... just read for fun then that all

but its good to know who is right who is wrong as there is too many unsolved case in k/ most of the time  laugh.gif
For someone who liked to show off that much, his/her silence is already a good hint.
edifgrto
post May 14 2020, 11:41 AM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

dah 48 pages. apa perempuan itu cakap? malas lah aku nak pergi cari orang post...

itu perempuan ada masuk thread ini tak?
Syie9^_^
post May 14 2020, 11:42 AM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ May 14 2020, 12:49 PM)
Doc, there is no forum decorum or protocols  laugh.gif but, what i practice or preach, which i believe many one of us would agree, be real to yourself, be in your physical self or real life. Some people may think hiding behind computer screen, they can mask their inner thought and feel, a good opportunity to explode all out when opportunity arise.

From what i notice, these people seems to have inferior self confidence, constantly need assurance and reassurance from public about themselves, by comparing and boasting how well off or better they are, of course, some are real, and some are fake. And, when they got busted, or someone come out and proof they are better than this person, the pretender went super sour grape to find every opportunity to revenge to bring down the person who busted him laugh.gif

After so many years lurking in here, and also in life  laugh.gif one thing i realised, i can't make everyone like me, nor everyone will hate me.....there bound to be disagreement on thoughts and view, end of day, we all agree to disagree, move on, need not to sweat or thoughts much about it. Life goes on, there is other more important things in life, than comparing who got bigger house, who got bigger bank balance, who got nicer cars, or even who got bigger testicles  biggrin.gif it will never ending cycle....

Just take this forum, especially kopitiam thread as some nonsensical, no serious, sembang kosong place among friends that we haven't meet in real life. Awaiting to welcome u in our telegram group
wise word wise word notworthy.gif thats why I like you 2feidei.

I better post here before cringey sourbutt RO Player come and claim he`s better laugh.gif and then your post have been deleted because laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Syie9^_^: May 14 2020, 11:43 AM
mushigen
post May 14 2020, 11:43 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(xuan7887 @ May 14 2020, 11:40 AM)
This thread indeed attracts a lot of scammers attention. Damn sure aroma Chong and his accomplices are silently observing this thread.
Those blokes who flaunt their "wealth" are asking for it.
hksgmy

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 14 2020, 11:12 AM)
Are you one of those who are still in the "I want to believe" mode?  biggrin.gif
I think I am a little disappointed with the way things panned out. There was no intention of "affluence by association" on my part whatsoever (I have never subscribed to that notion from the very start, much less now, at my age and particular station in life at the present) - but, I genuinely enjoyed the interaction, even if it were at times, somewhat inordinately luxuriant. After all, I've had foreign dignitaries as patients (one particular minister from Myanmar comes to mind) that you had to see to believe the level of opulence and largesse, when they travel to Singapore, as evidenced by one of my patient's calling card (of course, with the appropriate redaction of sensitive details)

So, in line with my philosophy, I took @ladytarot99's posts at face value - and why shouldn't I? As mentioned, she's been nothing but polite, courteous and helpful. And it was refreshing to find someone to talk with who wasn't out to pee on my face to show dominance, or put me down to make himself feel better, or to doubt every single word that comes out from my keyboard or touchscreen.

To be honest, she's done me no harm. If she is who she says she is, good for her - I'm certainly happy for her and her life. If she's not, and she's been "outed" by the keyboard warriors here, then we've lost an entertaining participant whose only "crime" was to use this forum as an avenue for her escapist adventures.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: May 14 2020, 12:46 PM
lyc1982

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(xuan7887 @ May 14 2020, 11:40 AM)
This thread indeed attracts a lot of scammers attention. Damn sure aroma Chong and his accomplices are silently observing this thread.
and by observing...what will they do ?

scam those fake lich dudes ?

then he's in for a ride
mushigen
post May 14 2020, 11:50 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 14 2020, 11:43 AM)
I think I am a little disappointed with the way things panned out. There was no intention of "affluence by association" on my part whatsoever (I have never subscribed to that notion from the very start, much less now, at my age and particular station in life at the present) - but, I genuinely enjoyed the interaction, even if it were at times, somewhat inordinately luxuriant. After all, I've had foreign dignitaries as patients (one particular minister from Myanmar comes to mind) that you had to see to believe the level of opulence and largesse, when they travel to Singapore, as evidenced by one of my patient's calling card (of course, with the appropriate redaction of sensitive details):

So, in line with my philosophy, I took @ladytarot99's posts at face value - and why shouldn't I? As mentioned, she's been nothing but polite, courteous and helpful. And it was refreshing to find someone to talk with who wasn't out to pee on my face to show dominance, or put me down to make himself feel better, or to doubt every single word that comes out from my keyboard or touchscreen.

To be honest, she's done me no harm. If she is who she says she is, good for her - I'm certainly happy for her and her life. If she's not, and she's been "outed" by the keyboard warriors here, then we've lost an entertaining participant whose only "crime" was to use this forum as an avenue for her escapist adventures.
I like your style - showing off (be it your material wealth or education) at every opportunity while appearing humble, like describing about your "first class flight with WiFi to Japan" while LT99 flew in her private jets, etc.

Syie9^_^
post May 14 2020, 11:52 AM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 14 2020, 01:13 PM)
I think I am a little disappointed with the way things panned out. There was no intention of "affluence by association" on my part whatsoever (I have never subscribed to that notion from the very start, much less now, at my age and particular station in life at the present) - but, I genuinely enjoyed the interaction, even if it were at times, somewhat inordinately luxuriant. After all, I've had foreign dignitaries as patients (one particular minister from Myanmar comes to mind) that you had to see to believe the level of opulence and largesse, when they travel to Singapore, as evidenced by one of my patient's calling card (of course, with the appropriate redaction of sensitive details):

[B]To be honest, she's done me no harm. If she is who she says she is, good for her - I'm certainly happy for her and her life. If she's not, and she's been "outed" by the keyboard warriors here, then we've lost an entertaining participant whose only "crime" was to use this forum as an avenue for her escapist adventures.
Exactly. If a person is rude; the smart idiot who claimed to be good and wife works with logistic and that crappy old blanket; wiser none than a follower...what not the doxxed Afiq who begged to remove his name laugh.gif and his friend; hiding refuge tabligh smashed pudding who resort to memory damaged and name calling others old granny tyranns because of MCOs laugh.gif laugh.gif

I`m not surprise how low these people are. whistling.gif

You reap what you sowed. whistling.gif
blackie19
post May 14 2020, 11:56 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 14 2020, 11:50 AM)
I like your style - showing off (be it your material wealth or education) at every opportunity while appearing humble, like describing about your "first class flight with WiFi to Japan" while LT99 flew in her private jets, etc.
He’s merely adding more colorful facts and details into his posts. Facts that are while useful, do not add much into the core messages that he’s delivering.

hksgmy
post May 14 2020, 11:58 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 14 2020, 11:50 AM)
It's factual reporting - and if it's backed up with incontrovertible evidence, then I'm not sembang kencang/kosong or bragging or worse, lying. I flew First Class and there was free WiFi onboard, so I posted pictures since I had time to kill. I could have taken out all the descriptive adjectives and dressings, but then someone would rock up and accuse me of downplaying reality and being patronizing and condescending. I've learned long ago (and I impart the same lesson to my undergraduate and postgraduate medical students) to always be prepared to back up what one says (in their case, with the requisite medical knowledge), in forum parlance, with the obligatory GPGT or GTFO.
leah235
post May 14 2020, 11:58 AM

DIMPLE EATER
1,215 posts

Another 2 more pages to 50 pages
Come on guys you can do this
hksgmy
post May 14 2020, 11:59 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(blackie19 @ May 14 2020, 11:56 AM)
He’s merely adding more colorful facts and details into his posts. Facts that are while useful, do not add much into the core messages that he’s delivering.
But, it lends color and context to the message and the prose - much like how the addition of certain spices and flavourings enhance our enjoyment of the food, whilst the nutritional value remains the same.
Chinoz
post May 14 2020, 12:00 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 14 2020, 11:58 AM)
It's factual reporting - and if it's backed up with incontrovertible evidence, then I'm not sembang kencang/kosong or bragging or worse, lying. I flew First Class and there was free WiFi onboard, so I posted pictures since I had time to kill. I could have taken out all the descriptive adjectives and dressings, but then someone would rock up and accuse me of downplaying reality and being patronizing and condescending. I've learned long ago (and I impart the same lesson to my undergraduate and postgraduate medical students) to always be prepared to back up what one says (in their case, with the requisite medical knowledge), in forum parlance, with the obligatory GPGT or GTFO.
I've learned long ago that you simply can't win.
ClericKilla
post May 14 2020, 12:01 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ May 14 2020, 11:58 AM)
Another 2 more pages to 50 pages
Come on guys you can do this

52 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled