Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0

datolee32
post Feb 18 2023, 05:12 AM

654 posts

Hi, i would like to ask which method save more transaction fee?

1. Foreign currency bank -> Store in Wise wallet -> Wise wallet exchange to MYR -> Withdraw MYR to MY Bank
2. Foreign currency bank -> Wise exchange transfer -> Transfer to MY bank

Second method don't need to keep money in wallet make me feel safe. Is first method less transaction fee?
datolee32
post Feb 19 2023, 02:17 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 18 2023, 06:13 AM)
Obviously the 1st πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ because 2nd method will have FX spread will be more as decided Bank the receiving the money

1st method you can control the rate itself

Why you so scared when Wise is regulated by BNM rules πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Feb 18 2023, 08:33 AM)
You can't read or what? πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Both method utilise wise to convert. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Both method will have very little fx spread by wiseπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

He was just asking which one of the two options is better. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Where got bank decide the FX spread. Go read it again. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
QUOTE(#chihuahua @ Feb 18 2023, 06:50 PM)
Technically, it'll be the same FX rate since Wise transfer is integrated into some foreign banks, but the first could cost more since Wise imposes fee on MYR withdrawal.
QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 18 2023, 08:28 PM)
It will be the same if the transfer is done at the same time

What happens if he stores longer than that in wise and decide to convert it months later πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
Thanks for all the reply, I am not sure if i understand correctly, method 1 seems cost more after consider 1.75% withdraw fee, unless you spend MYR using wise card without withdraw. About the control the rate, both method as long as hit the target exchange rate then i will convert/transfer it.

Please correct me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by datolee32: Feb 19 2023, 02:22 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
datolee32
post Feb 19 2023, 07:55 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(MystiqueLife @ Feb 19 2023, 03:53 AM)
I used the first method, only fees is RM 1.06 extra to transfer to local bank.
The 1.75% only applicable if you withdraw from ATM.
QUOTE(jonoave @ Feb 19 2023, 07:16 AM)
@#chihuahua, @Mr Gray are correct. Transferring from Wise account to a bank typically has a small fee, so method 1 (from Wise MYR account to an MYR bank) will cost just a bit more.
Based on my personal experience with converting Euro.

What I tend to do is, when forex is optimal.

1. Transfer from foreign account to Wise EU account (EU transfers are free, though transferring out from Wise EU to an EU bank has a small fee)
2. Then Wise EU account --> local bank in Malaysia (Wise fees and the forex are clearly displayed, the displayed MYR is exactly how much you will receive in your account). There is no fee imposed by bank in Malaysia.

Edit: ask for referral to sign up, you'll get first transfer free (no Wise fee, ie. they will convert full amount).
Then I should keep it in my Wise EU wallet, I have been using method 2 for quite some time, a lesson learned! Thanks for all the information, it is really helpful. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
datolee32
post Feb 19 2023, 06:07 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(#chihuahua @ Feb 19 2023, 09:42 AM)
Bear in mind that u can't store more than RM 20k in Wise regardless of the currencies, so u should probably only transfer to ur Wise EU account the moment when u decide to convert to MYR instead of making the transfer straight off.
Though 2 here is essentially the same with ur foreign bank's Wise transfer (EUR to MYR), unless ur foreign bank charges for the Wise transfer service.
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Feb 19 2023, 02:22 PM)
I have just calculated, for 1000 usd, send straight from usd wallet to bank account is the same value as converting it to MYR wallet first and then transfer to bank
Thanks for the information. Before that I used method 2, once it triggered my target exchange rate, I will lock in the rate and my money should be deposited to Wise before 10.59am (European time), if i notice the rate in the morning is much higher than yesterday, I will cancel the previous transaction order and lock in the new one. A bit troublesome but it helps to capture higher rate and better feeling only. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by datolee32: Feb 19 2023, 06:08 PM
datolee32
post Jul 9 2023, 03:29 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(glc200 @ Jul 6 2023, 01:10 PM)
Hi sifus,
I'll be going to Switzerland this october. I plan to use a Debit card there. I could make up my mind either to get :
- wise
-big pay
- enrcih money
- rhb mca.

I came across a fb for the 'wise scam' where people got 'scam' by the wise management where their acct suddenly being locked or terminated. made me scared.

Also my problem is I've no online banking . Can I deposit the money into those cards using the teller only?

I appreciate your feedback and advice. Thanks
I have been using wise since last year, *touch wood* so far so good, transfer $ from overseas to Malaysia and vice versa, the response is quite fast. You can find more info about Wise regulation in each country here:

https://wise.com/help/articles/2932693/how-...h-countryregion

https://www.bnm.gov.my/-/wise-payments-malaysia-sdn-bhd

This post has been edited by datolee32: Jul 9 2023, 03:30 AM
datolee32
post Jun 1 2025, 05:18 AM

654 posts

HI all sifu, since bigpay no longer has debit card top up, which platform you use to withdraw MYR to avoid wise charges? So far i know TNG ewallet only.

This post has been edited by datolee32: Jun 1 2025, 05:20 AM
datolee32
post Jun 4 2025, 05:36 AM

654 posts

[quote=Medufsaid,Jun 1 2025, 06:30 AM]
datolee32 boost?
[/list]
[/quote]

[/quote]

I see, ya boost, withdrawal a little bit tedious, both cannot top up decimal point like bigpay hmm.gif
datolee32
post Jun 4 2025, 11:41 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 4 2025, 06:56 AM)
datolee32 you can FPX into Wise any amount above RM10

e.g., you have RM33.44 in Wise, just topup RM16.56 into wise. your Wise now have RM50.00. you should know what to do next
That's a great suggestion! Thank you very much!
datolee32
post Oct 29 2025, 08:27 PM

654 posts

Recently anyone use wise to top-up bigpay or tng e-wallet? I tried but failed, not sure if they block the transaction.

0.0305sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:19 AM