Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0

Sitting Duck
post Sep 29 2022, 10:49 PM

473 posts

Hi Sifus,

I am looking for the ATM charges for withdrawal money overseas, but couldn't find it on the website.
I only managed to find 2 x free ATM withdrawal per month for MYR withdrawal below RM1000, but nothing mention about ATM withdrawal overseas from multi currency account.

Can someone point me to the right URL?

Sitting Duck
post Sep 30 2022, 11:13 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Sep 29 2022, 11:02 PM)
https://wise.com/my/pricing/

u just need to switch the 'resident' to the dedicated country u are going to visit, then u will get the fee for withdrawal at that country atm
Thanks. So if I understand it correctly, if I have Yen in my Wise multi currency account, If I withdraw from ATM in Japan, based on the link given:

Withdrawing 30,000 JPY per month 2 or less withdrawals - Free

The ATM withdrawal would automatically withdraw from my Yen multi currency account? Correct?

Sitting Duck
post Nov 14 2022, 09:35 PM

473 posts

Just a reminder to all that plan to apply for Wise Debit Card:

DO NOT USE Credit Card to make payment for the Wise Debit Card.

I got charge cash advance fee of RM18 for the Wise Debit Card which cost RM14.90. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Nov 14 2022, 09:35 PM
Sitting Duck
post Nov 23 2022, 09:49 PM

473 posts

-- deleted , wrong info --

This post has been edited by Sitting Duck: Nov 23 2022, 09:53 PM
Sitting Duck
post Mar 11 2024, 05:38 PM

473 posts

Hi Sifu,

I noticed that my Wise account do not have my full name, e.g: Full name Richard Tan Ah Long but the name only shows Richard Tan.

Will this be a problem if I want to receive USD/GBP in Wise or withdraw RM from Wise to my Malaysia bank account?

Thank you.
Sitting Duck
post Mar 12 2024, 11:30 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 11 2024, 05:41 PM)
Sitting Duck receiving usd/gbp, are they sending from bank accounts or Wise-to-Wise transfer?

reload your local ewallet with RM, instead of transferring to bank acct and paying RM1.41
Bank to Wise transfer. I was planning to convert from USD/GBP to MYR then transfer to my Malaysia bank account.
Sitting Duck
post Sep 24 2024, 01:37 PM

473 posts

For Wise Debit Card, based on my understanding

1. 2 free withdrawal locally, and abroad?
2. Both withdrawal combined should not be > RM1000 per month, else would be charge 1.75%? If abroad we need to make sure amount withdrawn is <=RM1000 after conversion?

Any other fees that I need to take note apart that some ATM would have some additional charge?

Despite the 1.75% extra charge, i think withdrawing money from ATM aboard using Wise may still be slightly cheaper than changing money in Money Changer.

Planning to exchange less cash in money exchange this round and withdraw money using wise.

Today Rate JYP: Mid Valley: RM297 / JYP10,000
Wise: RM291.33 / JYP10,000

Sitting Duck
post Jan 8 2025, 02:03 PM

473 posts

Hi All,

Is the ATM withdrawal pin 4 digit? I forget that I've set it in the past but from the app I can see my pin is 4 digit.

How do I change my pin number to 6 digit and whether that's possible?

0.0882sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:26 PM