143 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Wise (Transferwise) Malaysia Discussion, v1.0

Takudan
post Sep 19 2022, 12:15 PM

1,056 posts

Niceee.. borderless account sounds really convenient, also a good way to force users to use Wise transfer (but it's a win win nonetheless if Wise is the best one at the time of transfer).

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 18 2022, 01:33 PM)
as for audit... you didn't falsify anything so its not cheating lah... can have many reasons why only exchange 100 but spend 500... myself i always have some leftover notes laying around... so for any new trip i exchange a bit more to top up and take the leftovers as well... sometimes family got leftovers i sapu theirs also... lol... got money changer receipt that is good enough for audit... i will never teach ppl to cheat...don't lose your job over a few cents...

ps... where yall going? kepoh a bit... lol
XD good point about the old notes, thanks

I'm going Netherlands, unfortunately not likely to travel other countries due to time constraint... I also paiseh to extend my stay too long, long story short, don't want to set bad first impression 😅
Fortunately, again thanks to group travel, other colleagues have been here so we have a long list of known good foods/places to go lol.
Takudan
post Sep 19 2022, 12:46 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Sep 19 2022, 11:43 AM)
Excluding that, would it be better to change to Euro in bulk and spend from Euro wallet. Or change to Euro piecemeal from RM wallet. Charges wise.
I asked similar question just a few posts above, already got good replies from others if you care to read...

Short answer for you: bold
amy33
post Sep 19 2022, 01:02 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Sep 17 2022, 04:11 AM)
Eh my bad, RM 10 is by bigpay, but Travelex charged GBP 3 anyway.

Try your luck finding free ATMs on tripadvisor forum?

Since UK is pretty much cashless, I still advise against withdrawing cash there, just change a bit at mid valley.
Okay, thanks for clarifying. I've changed some notes at money changer here already for standby purposes, so I should be good to go !
dwRK
post Sep 19 2022, 02:36 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Sep 19 2022, 12:15 PM)
Niceee.. borderless account sounds really convenient, also a good way to force users to use Wise transfer (but it's a win win nonetheless if Wise is the best one at the time of transfer).
XD good point about the old notes, thanks

I'm going Netherlands, unfortunately not likely to travel other countries due to time constraint... I also paiseh to extend my stay too long, long story short, don't want to set bad first impression 😅
Fortunately, again thanks to group travel, other colleagues have been here so we have a long list of known good foods/places to go lol.
first time in amsterdam, i was alone walking around the red light district enjoying the sights... not sure how but i was suddenly aware someone following me... as i turned around the guy closed the gap fast and i thought i was gonna be robbed... luckily he just wanna sell me some cocaine and heroin... lol... very fond memories of the place... but has lost quite a lot of its charm... hahaha

i do miss their stroopwafel though...

Takudan
post Sep 19 2022, 07:30 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 19 2022, 02:36 PM)
first time in amsterdam, i was alone walking around the red light district enjoying the sights... not sure how but i was suddenly aware someone following me... as i turned around the guy closed the gap fast and i thought i was gonna be robbed... luckily he just wanna sell me some cocaine and heroin... lol... very fond memories of the place... but has lost quite a lot of its charm... hahaha

i do miss their stroopwafel though...
Oh yes stroopwafel, it's a staple souvenir from my colleagues back then too! I can't wait to have fresh ones there haha.

I'd like to visit the red light district also... Surely I won't be alone cuz some colleagues also open to visit there again even though they've been there brows.gif
touristking
post Sep 20 2022, 09:34 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 19 2022, 04:55 AM)
The difference should be less than 1%.
But for peace of mind, it is better convert a small portion to Euro, not very sure it will block the merchant use "Dynamic Currency Conversion" which settle in RM instead of local currency.
Good points. Thanks
adurian
post Sep 22 2022, 05:05 PM

151 posts

I got an australian wise account, just wondering how do i transfer myr into my acc without converting from aud
elea88
post Sep 27 2022, 08:23 AM

4,174 posts

fast who want give me WISE referral

Justmua
post Sep 27 2022, 08:43 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 27 2022, 08:23 AM)
fast who want give me WISE referral
This post has been edited by Justmua: Sep 27 2022, 09:39 AM
elea88
post Sep 27 2022, 08:51 AM

4,174 posts

aiks better u delete and pm me. if not will be reported. sorry

This post has been edited by elea88: Sep 27 2022, 08:51 AM
TSweisinx7
post Sep 27 2022, 09:59 AM

213 posts

- remove this post -

This post has been edited by weisinx7: Sep 27 2022, 01:12 PM
ollec
post Sep 27 2022, 01:43 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Sep 19 2022, 07:30 PM)
Oh yes stroopwafel, it's a staple souvenir from my colleagues back then too! I can't wait to have fresh ones there haha.

I'd like to visit the red light district also... Surely I won't be alone cuz some colleagues also open to visit there again even though they've been there brows.gif
So are you in Neatherlands now? Does the WISE card works in this two methods?

1. Wave - contactless payment
2. Pin and code - slot in card and enter 4 digit pin?

I've tried my card locally in
1. McD (pin and code, to activate the contactless feature) and then
2. Go Noodle house to try the wave function, but it failed, and can only do pin and code.

thanks in advance!!
Takudan
post Sep 27 2022, 02:21 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(ollec @ Sep 27 2022, 01:43 PM)
So are you in Neatherlands now? Does the WISE card works in this two methods?

1. Wave - contactless payment
2. Pin and code - slot in card and enter 4 digit pin?

I've tried my card locally in
1. McD (pin and code, to activate the contactless feature) and then
2. Go Noodle house to try the wave function, but it failed, and can only do pin and code.

thanks in advance!!
Good question, unfortunately I am not there yet and haven't received my card. Will find out and let you know late next month biggrin.gif
ollec
post Sep 27 2022, 02:26 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Sep 27 2022, 02:21 PM)
Good question, unfortunately I am not there yet and haven't received my card. Will find out and let you know late next month biggrin.gif
OK biggrin.gif have a good trip then!!!
prophetjul
post Sep 28 2022, 08:47 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 10 2022, 10:52 PM)
You do not need to worry about submit applications etc for inward remittance to Malaysia. Transfer money into Malaysia usually they won't ask question. (They would more than welcome it, especially now! laugh.gif) It's moving money out of Malaysia that they will ask a bunch of questions.

By the way, based on your SG-> MY example, it's most likely Wise will deal with this AML stuffs before releasing the money to your MY bank account.

Just make sure you prepare proof of source of fund if Wise asks. Prepare bank account statements for the past 3 months, for example, if Wise wants to check transaction source/frequency etc. They will email you if they want to know about the necessary documents.

I recently had trouble with paying uni tuition fees in HK with Instarem too. They withheld the fund for a few days and required bank account statements to release the money. I rarely use Instarem, so probably the large amount alerted them, but if you transfer a few ks often between your own bank accounts, it shouldn't be an issue with Wise/Instarem.
hi TOS,

i understand Wise has a limit of RM30k for overseas transactions. Is this right?
i presume if i do a RM30k transaction as a first, it will be flagged?
SUSTOS
post Sep 28 2022, 08:58 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 28 2022, 08:47 AM)
hi TOS,

i understand Wise has a limit of RM30k for overseas transactions. Is this right?
i presume if i do a RM30k transaction as a first, it will be flagged?
Hi bro. First time transfer straightaway hit limit probably might trigger some alarm, but if you have good reasons (e.g. pay kids tuition fees etc.) then it will be fine.

In the worst case they will just email you to ask for bank account stataments (recent month) and related documents (e.g., kids uni documents).

When my transaction was withheld by Instarem few weeks ago, one of their staffs even checked my LinkedIn profile to verify my identity. Not sure if Wise do the same. But back then it's 30k +20k transaction in consecutive days so too big an amount surely alerted them.

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 28 2022, 09:00 AM
prophetjul
post Sep 28 2022, 09:01 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 28 2022, 08:58 AM)
Hi bro. First time transfer straightaway hit limit probably might trigger some alarm, but if you have good reasons (e.g. pay kids tuition fees etc.) then it will be fine.

In the worst case they will just email you to ask for bank account stataments (recent month) and related documents (e.g., kids uni documents).

When my transaction was withheld by Instarem few weeks ago, one of their staffs even checked my LinkedIn profile to verify my identity. Not sure if Wise do the same. But back then it's 30k +20k transaction in consecutive days so too big an amount surely alerted them.
Overall cost looks cheaper than banks.
SUSTOS
post Sep 28 2022, 09:08 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 28 2022, 09:01 AM)
Overall cost looks cheaper than banks.
Let me teach you another pyschology trick. If you are afraid the transaction can't go through even after submitting the documents, you can mention at the end of your email to them that after submitting all these documents and if Wise/Instarem still can't approve, ask them to refund you the money and you shall use another service provider.

Add pressure to the compliance team. That can help a lot since you have the pricing power with so many fintech service providers out there.

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 28 2022, 09:09 AM
prophetjul
post Sep 28 2022, 09:10 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 28 2022, 09:08 AM)
Let me teach you another pyschology trick. If you are afraid the transaction can't go through even after submitting the documents, you can mention at the end of your email to them that after submitting all these documents and if Wise/Instarem still can't approve, ask them to refund you the money and you shall use another service provider.

Add pressure to the compliance team. That can help a lot since you have the pricing power with so many fintech service providers out there.
Thanks for the tips!

Good thing about my bank. No questions asked! laugh.gif
hedfi
post Sep 28 2022, 02:55 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 28 2022, 09:10 AM)
Thanks for the tips!

Good thing about my bank. No questions asked!  laugh.gif
My personal experience is after a few big amount sent overseas they'll ask for your bank statement from where you fund Wise. They don't reply to your email but wont ask question for future transfer. No question on source of income. Same with Sunway Money too

143 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:36 AM