ideaplus
post Feb 2 2023, 08:55 AM

915 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Feb 2 2023, 08:33 AM)
those card no benefit. no cash back, no point, nothing
Yes, I know no extra features except 0% foreign exchange conversion mark-up
Only wondering which method can bring more benefit if spending at oversea using Wise MY and these 2 CC
gooroojee
post Feb 2 2023, 09:17 AM

LowYee
2,192 posts

QUOTE(ideaplus @ Feb 2 2023, 08:55 AM)
Yes, I know no extra features except 0% foreign exchange conversion mark-up
Only wondering which method can bring more benefit if spending at oversea using Wise MY and these 2 CC
You will need to check actual amount charged for those two cards vs. Wise and make your own comparison on which is better...
Matchy
post Feb 8 2023, 11:23 PM

1,327 posts

if i want to make online payment in THB, do I need to top up in MYR or THB?
SUSxander2k8
post Feb 9 2023, 01:19 AM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Feb 8 2023, 11:23 PM)
if i want to make online payment in THB, do I need to top up in MYR or THB?
Either way works because even in MYR it will automatically convert to THB for you on the payment gateway

If you want to know the exact exchange rate then you convert from MYR to THB then
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 9 2023, 08:17 AM

3,862 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 23 2023, 02:57 AM)
Working list of Contactless WiSE in Malaysia.

1. Village Grocer (Citta Mall)
2. 7-11
3. Surian Tower Parking
4. McDonald’s
5. Starbucks
6. FamilyMart
7. Mynews (branch dependent)
8. Sunway Nexis Carpark
Anyone who has working WISE contactless experience, please add to the list.

Anyone else wants to update , just  reply and add to this post.
This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 9 2023, 08:17 AM
kelvinjohn
post Feb 12 2023, 02:47 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Feb 1 2023, 10:56 PM)
OCBC 365 Mastercard and Hong Leong I'm Card Visa
QUOTE(ideaplus @ Feb 2 2023, 08:27 AM)
Oh, meaning spending use these 2 CC are better than using Wise MY?
OCBC Debit Mastercard also don't have markup for foreign currency. But limit per swipe only around RM5k.
SUSxander2k8
post Feb 12 2023, 05:07 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(kelvinjohn @ Feb 12 2023, 02:47 PM)
OCBC Debit Mastercard also don't have markup for foreign currency. But limit per swipe only around RM5k.
Limit per swipe it is based upon your account balance 🤦‍♀️

But if anything more than rm10k per swipe be prepared for additional security verification and calls for that transaction
kelvinjohn
post Feb 12 2023, 06:26 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 12 2023, 05:07 PM)
Limit per swipe it is based upon your account balance 🤦‍♀️

But if anything more than rm10k per swipe be prepared for additional security verification and calls for that transaction
Limit per swipe is based on the account and card transaction limit, NOT ACCOUNT Balance. 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️

I have done more than 10k per swipe and i didn't encounter any additional verification. These security measure varies according to bank, especially when you rarely spend too much under that account. And since this is a WISE thread, no additional verification are required for the WISE card. 🤦‍♀️
SUSxander2k8
post Feb 12 2023, 10:14 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(kelvinjohn @ Feb 12 2023, 06:26 PM)
Limit per swipe is based on the account and card transaction limit, NOT ACCOUNT Balance. 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️

I have done more than 10k per swipe and i didn't encounter any additional verification. These security measure varies according to bank, especially when you rarely spend too much under that account. And since this is a WISE thread, no additional verification are required for the WISE card. 🤦‍♀️
I am talking about OCBC 🤦‍♀️ as mine is based upon my account balance as it is not based on card transaction limit unless you have the set controls

For Wise it differs because you haven’t swipe the maximum amount yet as it will trigger the app for verification 🤦‍♀️
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 13 2023, 08:38 AM

3,862 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 12 2023, 10:14 PM)
I am talking about OCBC 🤦‍♀️ as mine is based upon my account balance as it is not based on card transaction limit unless you have the set controls

For Wise it differs because you haven’t swipe the maximum amount yet as it will trigger the app for verification 🤦‍♀️
Swipe physical card needs verification? Exceed what limit? Usually I only use virtual card. Since contactless most place don't work, I hardly use it, but I like to use it for parking nowadays.
SUSxander2k8
post Feb 13 2023, 01:57 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 13 2023, 08:38 AM)
Swipe physical card needs verification? Exceed what limit? Usually I only use virtual card. Since contactless most place don't work, I hardly use it, but I like to use it for parking nowadays.
Try almost the maximum limit of rm20k

I recently tried AUD6k got app verification pop up for facial recognition before only allowed to proceed

Small amounts they don’t bother much
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 13 2023, 02:12 PM

3,862 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 13 2023, 01:57 PM)
Try almost the maximum limit of rm20k

I recently tried AUD6k got app verification pop up for facial recognition before only allowed to proceed

Small amounts they don’t bother much
Facial recognition from where? The retailer app? I don't remember WISE got scan my face also, or use IC photo?
SUSxander2k8
post Feb 13 2023, 03:55 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 13 2023, 02:12 PM)
Facial recognition from where? The retailer app? I don't remember WISE got scan my face also, or use IC photo?
On Wise App of course 🤦‍♀️

It will only appear when you do such transaction

Wise got facial rec and if registration when you first register iinm it is Onodio
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 14 2023, 10:55 AM

3,862 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 9 2023, 08:17 AM)
Working list of Contactless WiSE in Malaysia.

1. Village Grocer (Citta Mall)
2. 7-11
3. Surian Tower Parking
4. McDonald’s
5. Starbucks
6. FamilyMart
7. Mynews (branch dependent)
8. Sunway Nexis Carpark
9. Ikano Power Car Park
Anyone who has working WISE contactless experience, please add to the list.

Anyone else wants to update , just  reply and add to this post.

So far all the 3 car parks tried works...
terrytong99
post Feb 16 2023, 05:08 PM

35 posts

Hi sifu, l have USD bank account in cambodia, can l use WISE as platform to transfer USD back to Malaysia. Thanks in advance.
ericlaiys
post Feb 16 2023, 07:06 PM

7,568 posts

QUOTE(terrytong99 @ Feb 16 2023, 05:08 PM)
Hi sifu, l have USD bank account in cambodia, can l use WISE as platform to transfer USD back to Malaysia. Thanks in advance.
wise can accept usd. got detail on swift details. you can view on usd currency, received outside of us. suggest to test with small amount first.
kelvinjohn
post Feb 16 2023, 08:52 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Feb 16 2023, 07:06 PM)
wise can accept usd. got detail on swift details. you can view on usd currency, received outside of us. suggest to test with small amount first.
Glad to see helpful people here. rclxms.gif
jonoave
post Feb 16 2023, 09:13 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Feb 16 2023, 02:06 PM)
Yep. What you can try to do is create account on Wise (you can ask for referral link).

Then
1. open a USD currency account in Wise.
2. Transfer USD from your Cambodia to the USD currency account in Wise. Be mindful of possible fees, check with your bank in Cambodia.
3. Then transfer the USD in your Wise USD account to a Malaysia bank. This will use Wise exchange rate, and the fees will be displayed there. What they show is the final MYR you will receive, no additional fees.

Edit: this assumes that your intention is to transfer USD in Cambodia to MYR in Malaysia. If not you can just store the USD as it is in the Wise USD account.

This post has been edited by jonoave: Feb 16 2023, 09:14 PM
datolee32
post Feb 18 2023, 05:12 AM

654 posts

Hi, i would like to ask which method save more transaction fee?

1. Foreign currency bank -> Store in Wise wallet -> Wise wallet exchange to MYR -> Withdraw MYR to MY Bank
2. Foreign currency bank -> Wise exchange transfer -> Transfer to MY bank

Second method don't need to keep money in wallet make me feel safe. Is first method less transaction fee?
SUSxander2k8
post Feb 18 2023, 06:13 AM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(datolee32 @ Feb 18 2023, 05:12 AM)
Hi, i would like to ask which method save more transaction fee?

1. Foreign currency bank -> Store in Wise wallet -> Wise wallet exchange to MYR -> Withdraw MYR to MY Bank
2. Foreign currency bank -> Wise exchange transfer -> Transfer to MY bank

Second method don't need to keep money in wallet make me feel safe. Is first method less transaction fee?
Obviously the 1st 🤦‍♀️ because 2nd method will have FX spread will be more as decided Bank the receiving the money

1st method you can control the rate itself

Why you so scared when Wise is regulated by BNM rules 🤦‍♀️

143 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:20 AM