ok...let us know if can select eng...might wanna get a copy if so
Final Fantasy XII on PS3, region lock jap only?
Jul 29 2007, 07:31 PM
1,682 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: let there be rain |
ok...let us know if can select eng...might wanna get a copy if so
Jul 29 2007, 08:37 PM
542 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
i just tried the FFXII US version (Non Zodiac) on my PS3...the graphics is actually quite good oledi....
Jul 29 2007, 10:28 PM
11,809 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
ur PS3 is UC one ar?
Jul 29 2007, 10:34 PM
Jul 29 2007, 10:36 PM
sigh..... too bad mine region 3....
anybody tested GT4? upscaling nice? |
Jul 29 2007, 10:42 PM
u can actually c the diff between FFXII on PS2 and PS3...quite noticeable...
Jul 29 2007, 11:09 PM
tat obvious? whow...
but i think mine no differnece though, still running on 576p, maybe smoother a bit? |
Jul 29 2007, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 29 2007, 11:09 PM) tat obvious? whow... less jaggies i would say.... but i think mine no differnece though, still running on 576p, maybe smoother a bit? the same goes for DQ8...i was just testing on my PS2 and PS3...either my mind n my eyes r playing tricks on me or DQ8 on PS3 is really really good..... |
Jul 29 2007, 11:33 PM
590 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
DQ8 & radiata stories on ps3 looks like blue dragon 0.8
the jaggies and shimmering are still present (minimized) but a much cleaner image than ps2 original output. its really good thinking of buying VP next, its also a 16:9 game This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 29 2007, 11:34 PM |
Jul 29 2007, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 29 2007, 11:33 PM) DQ8 & radiata stories on ps3 looks like blue dragon 0.8 VP silmeria? i got... the jaggies and shimmering are still present (minimized) but a much cleaner image than ps2 original output. its really good thinking of buying VP next, its also a 16:9 game |
Jul 29 2007, 11:39 PM
the scary part is the playstation engineers are still working on and improving ps2 BC. imagine a future update that makes all ps2 games squeaky clean with FSAA! just buying or rebuying ps2 games alone will fill-up many great games playable on ps3
This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 29 2007, 11:40 PM |
Jul 29 2007, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 29 2007, 11:39 PM) the scary part is the playstation engineers are still working on and improving ps2 BC. imagine a future update that makes all ps2 games squeaky clean with FSAA! just buying or rebuying ps2 games alone will fill-up many great games playable on ps3 wish they would come up an update to unlock the Ps2 games region....i wan to test my ICO and Shadow of the Colossus....(both in PAL) |
Jul 29 2007, 11:48 PM
my ICO also PAL. i think yours are the special postcard collectors edition, eh?
ICO, odin sphere / grim grimoire / okami are all 4:3 IINM shadow of collosus (chinese) looks good. (don't expect any miracles, the jaggies and shimmering still there) can defeat the region lock on ps2 games. but must make super-duper risky swap switch mod. maybe wait till the mods more stable and tested. This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 30 2007, 12:16 AM |
Jul 29 2007, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 29 2007, 11:48 PM) my ICO also PAL. i think yours are the special postcard collectors edition, eh? ICO, odin sphere / grim grimoire / okami are all 4:3 IINM shadow of collosus (chinese) looks good. (don't expect any miracles, the jaggies and shimmering still there) can defeat the region lock on ps2 games. but must make super-duper risky swap switch mod. maybe wait till the mods more stable and tested. dunno y, but i cannot backup any ps2 saves made on the ps3 to usb drive. weird, eh? about the save game issues..u tried using the Media Max to copy from ur memory card to ur thumbdrive n from ur thumbdrive to ur PS3?? or u use the PS2 memory card to PS3 adapter thingy?? |
Jul 30 2007, 12:03 AM
oops, getting really offtopic liao.
my mistake, sorry. u can backup ps2 games (.psv) format. can convert .psv to .max or .cbs , but to convert back u'll need the USD20 MC adaptor This post has been edited by acougan: Jul 30 2007, 12:11 AM |
Jul 30 2007, 12:09 AM
MC adaptor only 20rm ar? just now saw the ori one in a gameshop in SG
Aug 6 2007, 08:59 PM
159 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
adliew, do let us know when you receive your zodiac job version ya. Anyway, how do you plan to play it if it's jap text?
btw, just curious, for asian (japs aside) countries such as s'pore, korea, etc, isnt there an english text version? U dont expect all asians to read jap do they? Added on August 8, 2007, 12:26 amI couldnt resist, so placed my order thru playasia and it shipped in an hour after order. Will update once I get the copy (if selectable in eng). This post has been edited by dexth: Aug 8 2007, 12:26 AM |
Aug 8 2007, 12:01 PM
1,006 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
dexth, video games generally sell very well in Japan, but not in other asian countries. so most of the game publishers do not bother to translate the asian version to english and they do not treat the non japan countries as a major market (sad sad). Situation is getting better though, with some PS2/PS3/XBOX360 games being translated to chinese/english for the Asia version. I guess its due to higher video games demand in Hong Kong, Taiwan and Singapore. If we look into the past, most games prior to PS2 do not even have Asian version.
By the way, for FF - FF12 (non zodiac) has never had a Asian-english version. FF10 also never had Asian-english version. Both have Asian-Japanese version though. How do the asians read the japanese? we guess lor... |
Aug 8 2007, 01:55 PM
yup, jpn developed videogames are often sold in asian countries in jpn only, kinda like j-pop cds, LoL. actually in south korea, ffxii was released in JPN only with a korean manual.
its pretty common to buy jrpg games in HK with the additional chinese gameguide/translation book. for customers in HK or TWN (the main Asian legal videogames market) a game fully in English is just as unappealing as a game fully in JPN. but sony themselves are doing some work to translate games into traditional chinese for asian versions. games like ico, SotC, GT4, TT, siren, rule of rose, ape escape 3 have chinese versions. |
Aug 8 2007, 02:57 PM
159 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(acougan @ Aug 8 2007, 01:55 PM) yup, jpn developed videogames are often sold in asian countries in jpn only, kinda like j-pop cds, LoL. actually in south korea, ffxii was released in JPN only with a korean manual. Thanks for the replies. I wasnt aware since i didnt own ps2 before...i guess this is mainly due to our piracy situation. I couldnt even find any shop in pg selling original ps2 game. i guess sony can always choose to make ps2 games compatible with US region but again it's all about $$$. its pretty common to buy jrpg games in HK with the additional chinese gameguide/translation book. for customers in HK or TWN (the main Asian legal videogames market) a game fully in English is just as unappealing as a game fully in JPN. but sony themselves are doing some work to translate games into traditional chinese for asian versions. games like ico, SotC, GT4, TT, siren, rule of rose, ape escape 3 have chinese versions. btw, FF X international (asia/jpn version) is the only FF game to feature full english text, check it out. |
| Change to: | 0.2139sec
5 queries
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:05 PM |