External Drives for Mac & PC, Cross Platform Hard Disk

TSBahir.
post Jul 28 2007, 12:08 AM, updated 19y ago

121 posts

Dear Mac gurus,

2 Problem Situations that i need help with...
1. I currently have an External Hard Disk that has been formatted to be used on my Mac, but i was wondering if there was a way to be able to access the Hard Disk (and its files) on a PC without reformatting, and thus losing all my files on there now....

2. Assuming the above situation is a gone case, if i was to get a new Hard Disk, can that then be formatted to be used by both a Mac and Windows...?

And by use, i dont mean to partition it to the different formats..but actually as one, for the same files to be accessed by the different platforms....

Thanks!
wei
post Jul 28 2007, 12:13 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

read here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/492907

do yourself a favor, have a search first.
razuryza
post Jul 28 2007, 06:17 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

format it using FAT format on windows.. so u can use it both on mac and windows... if format it with Mac.. might be not recognised in windows..
kokyun
post Jul 30 2007, 08:54 AM

770 posts

use macdrive - allow you to access ur mac file format at windows

0.0146sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:59 PM