Technical PS3 FW 1.90 - BD, DVD, CD Disc Not Reading, PS3 repair?

TSasdf852us
post Jul 27 2007, 07:20 AM, updated 19y ago

After the PS3 1.90 firmware update, I have problems reading any type of disc (whether it be Blu-ray games or movies, DVD movies or CDs)
The disc reading icon at the top right corner of the XMB keeps blinking, and does not stop.

Looks like I have a disc read error on all types of disc

Any possible way to overcome this ?

Does anybody know where I can send my PS3 for repair

Thx
TSasdf852us
post Jul 27 2007, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jul 27 2007, 10:54 AM)
yeah i've read thru other forums that quite a number of PS3 users are having lens problem.  rclxub.gif
Could you pls paste a link to those forums.
I'm unable to find any that could help me

Anyway, I just called Sony Service Centre (M'sia), and they said that they do not repair PS3s.
Reason: It has not been officially launched.
My guess is that they probably do not have the equipment to repair

Going back to the guy that sold me the PS3 does not sound like a good solution.
My xbox360 took 5 months before it came back from repair !

Any help u guys can give is much appreciated !
Thx

TSasdf852us
post Jul 27 2007, 02:38 PM

QUOTE(tot31 @ Jul 27 2007, 02:23 PM)
Changing PS3 lens doesn't need any high tech equipment. Just a normal tool like Philips screwdrives and some brains.
Dude,

Well .. apparently, I do lack some screws in my brain ... kinda went missing

Hav u done this b4 on a PS3 ?
(I did see a video on youtube on how to clean the PS3 lenses).

Would u think tat u will be able to help me ?

Thx

TSasdf852us
post Jul 27 2007, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(nextgene @ Jul 27 2007, 02:53 PM)
hahaha..ingat samurai jer ada period pain.. tongue.gif
Back to topic plzz.. smile.gif
Dudes,

I'm in real pain here man ... my PS3 can pass for a grill now ... and u guys r making jokes at it ... hmm

Please !
TSasdf852us
post Jul 27 2007, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(tot31 @ Jul 27 2007, 03:06 PM)

I can feel your pain but somehow my gut feeling is saying that I shouldn't help you. Sorry again.
tot31 ... Thx for your honest answer

In answer to rx330 ... yes ... the Sony service centre is a toll free number (1300 number).
At least now I know for sure that the service centres here would not repair them.
Actually, I even asked whether they could help to send it to Singapore or HK ... and even voluntered to pay for all expenses (i.e., transportation and repairs).
Still .. Sony said no ... hmm

I'm thinking of calling Sony Singapore .. u think they would layan me ?

TSasdf852us
post Jul 27 2007, 03:19 PM

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Jul 27 2007, 03:09 PM)
okok i can pass u this guy in sg wang if u want, they might b able to help u. just try yr luck if u want. the technichien is actually in his shop.
Hi JiauBoy,

Any help is much appreciated !

TSasdf852us
post Jul 27 2007, 03:47 PM

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jul 27 2007, 03:23 PM)
Here ya go man.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Link
Thx redbull_y2k for the link ... very informative !
Looks like I'm not alone ... (actually not a very comforting thought also)

My PS3 was bought in early May this year.
So, it only lasted 3 mths ... cry.gif

Sony (M) service centre number
Hotline: 1300-88-1233

TSasdf852us
post Jul 27 2007, 05:49 PM

QUOTE(cylon @ Jul 27 2007, 04:50 PM)
What version are your PS3? Sg, HK or Japan? Kalau Sg.....senang sikit, hantar Singapore.
I think my PS3 is a HK machine

Do you know how to check ?

0.0163sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:07 AM