Windows is stuck on "working on updates".

TSepicvampire P
post Apr 20 2020, 02:13 PM, updated 6y ago

Probation

assist
i have a new home windows 10 pc and i updated it to version 1909. i restarted it but it says "running on updates 86%. dont flip off your computer. this could take some time."

the round dot issue is still spinning but it is been at 86% for like 30 min now.

need to i wait longer? what do i do if it remains like this for some hours?

btw the pc does have ssd if that subjects.
Baconateer
post Apr 20 2020, 02:16 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Just wait abit longer..

the last thing u want is a corrupted windows update
CPURanger
post Apr 20 2020, 02:22 PM

889 posts

If system disk is a hard disk, prepare to wait longer.
sHawTY
post Apr 20 2020, 02:48 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Apr 20 2020, 02:22 PM)
If system disk is a hard disk, prepare to wait longer.
He already state he's using SSD in his PC
CPURanger
post Apr 20 2020, 02:54 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 20 2020, 02:48 PM)
He already state he's using SSD in his PC
I miss that doh.gif
ChristopherFisher
post Jun 17 2020, 05:19 PM

82 posts

It takes a little more time to finish up and it is normal, nothing to worry.

0.0138sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:15 PM