Origin EA slow download speed

TSNoice
post Apr 19 2020, 11:37 AM, updated 6y ago

26 posts

Hello g'day everyone. For days now I experienced a terribly slow download speed and I want to know am I the only one experiencing this? I have Unifi 100MBPS and Origin only getting 100-200kb/s
clawhammer
post Apr 19 2020, 02:32 PM

///M
8,788 posts

I'm on Maxis 100 MBps and re-downloaded BF5, was perfectly fine around 10-11 MBps.

Did you check in Origin if you accidentally capped the download speed? There is a setting for it.
cstkl1
post Apr 19 2020, 03:02 PM

6,799 posts

just tested on unifi.. its fine
bfv.. was maxing out avg 90-100mb/s

which game is it.. some games dont max out samething with steam

unifi also seems to throttle after a time
game tested was shadow of ward which is 137gb download first 10-20 gb was maxed out,, then it kept at 500mbps or so until 50-60 gb and then just 100mbps all the way to the end...

i suspect its a steam issue rather than unifi since steam been causing issues for sometime. digital stores are having issues i guess.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Apr 19 2020, 03:03 PM
DesRed
post Apr 19 2020, 07:06 PM

Delta Echo Sierra Eight Five
2,867 posts

Just downloaded the Crysis series (1,2 & 3) via Origin. Download speeds are fast and managed to install fine.

Using TIME Broadband. 500MBps package.
TSNoice
post Apr 19 2020, 10:25 PM

26 posts

Hello thanks for the replies guys. Quite baffling actually. I have port forwarded some ports - slow. Reset router to factory - still slow. Origin speed restriction - no limit set. Ethernet - checked. Firewall - off. This is clean install of Windows 10 - maybe have something to do with it.

PC have SSD (512GB) & HDD (1TB) and tried install on both still slow. On the other hand Steam and Epic no problem. Please advice sifus rclxub.gif

https://pictr.com/image/5t33Pf
Speedtest

https://pictr.com/image/5t3DzU

https://pictr.com/image/5t3so9
TSNoice
post Apr 19 2020, 11:04 PM

26 posts

Interestingly enabling Origin's R&D mode helped my download speed. Guess I'll use this for now...

0.0177sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:51 PM