KIA Cerato audio setup, need some advise
TS9926
Apr 15 2020, 12:08 PM, updated 6y ago

Hi all, currently having a Kia Cerato with stock HU (CBU small screen unit, not the 8 inch DVD) and speaker, added an active subwoofer about 6 months ago. All this while was quite satisfy with the performance but few weeks ago had a chance to listen to a morel maximus installed in my friend Proton Persona 2019, power by stock HU only. The sound suit my liking, and i am wondering if I replace my stock speaker to the same one, will it give the same outcome despite having different head unit? I don't mind to change the speaker but I wish to retain my ori headunit as I have seen the other cerato with aftermarket headunit, I don't like the look of the center console with the aftermarket casing and furthermore I am satisfy with the current HU as well. Also notice a lot of tread here mentioning about DSP, if install DSP only while maintaining all stock audio component, will the sound be different as well? need some advise, thanks.
naveenkalai7
Apr 15 2020, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(9926 @ Apr 15 2020, 12:08 PM) Hi all, currently having a Kia Cerato with stock HU (CBU small screen unit, not the 8 inch DVD) and speaker, added an active subwoofer about 6 months ago. All this while was quite satisfy with the performance but few weeks ago had a chance to listen to a morel maximus installed in my friend Proton Persona 2019, power by stock HU only. The sound suit my liking, and i am wondering if I replace my stock speaker to the same one, will it give the same outcome despite having different head unit? I don't mind to change the speaker but I wish to retain my ori headunit as I have seen the other cerato with aftermarket headunit, I don't like the look of the center console with the aftermarket casing and furthermore I am satisfy with the current HU as well. Also notice a lot of tread here mentioning about DSP, if install DSP only while maintaining all stock audio component, will the sound be different as well? need some advise, thanks. Surely adding DSP will enhance the sound because DSP have tuning mechanism. Nowadays DSP also comes with built in amplifier so it has 2 functions. Giving more power and also tuning the sound. But it also depends on speaker. the dsp might have the power and tuning capability but the sound will be play through the speakers.. Perhaps you can try replace the speaker first. If still feel it lack something then can add the DSP. And also generally the DSP will be cost more than the speaker. iirc Morel Maximus is around RM7xx range and entry level DSP will be more than 1k at least..
TS9926
Apr 15 2020, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Apr 15 2020, 05:30 PM) Surely adding DSP will enhance the sound because DSP have tuning mechanism. Nowadays DSP also comes with built in amplifier so it has 2 functions. Giving more power and also tuning the sound. But it also depends on speaker. the dsp might have the power and tuning capability but the sound will be play through the speakers.. Perhaps you can try replace the speaker first. If still feel it lack something then can add the DSP. And also generally the DSP will be cost more than the speaker. iirc Morel Maximus is around RM7xx range and entry level DSP will be more than 1k at least.. Thanks for the info, what are the key criteria to take note when choosing DSP? I have seen quite a few brand and price ranging from 700 - 3K, huge different. Morel Maximus cost around 1K when my friend install last year, if you happen to know cheaper price, appreciate if you could share with me.
naveenkalai7
Apr 15 2020, 07:03 PM

QUOTE(9926 @ Apr 15 2020, 05:44 PM) Thanks for the info, what are the key criteria to take note when choosing DSP? I have seen quite a few brand and price ranging from 700 - 3K, huge different. Morel Maximus cost around 1K when my friend install last year, if you happen to know cheaper price, appreciate if you could share with me. Maximus is latest version i guess.. Previously used Morel Maximo in my car, which i bought around rm600 during promo.. Not sure maximus is same price or higher than that bro.. Where is your location bro, perhaps can try check in nearby audio shops.. For DSP, price is based on the brand and spec.. Checkout EA Autoworks and Howie Choo in FB..
TS9926
Apr 16 2020, 08:43 AM

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Apr 15 2020, 07:03 PM) Maximus is latest version i guess.. Previously used Morel Maximo in my car, which i bought around rm600 during promo.. Not sure maximus is same price or higher than that bro.. Where is your location bro, perhaps can try check in nearby audio shops.. For DSP, price is based on the brand and spec.. Checkout EA Autoworks and Howie Choo in FB.. As far as I know, Maximus is something between Maximo and Tempo, Maximo also got 2 version if not mistaken, Maximo and Maximo ultra. I am located in Petaling Jaya, sure will check out the FB you provided. Thanks.
howiechoo
Apr 22 2020, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(9926 @ Apr 16 2020, 08:43 AM) As far as I know, Maximus is something between Maximo and Tempo, Maximo also got 2 version if not mistaken, Maximo and Maximo ultra. I am located in Petaling Jaya, sure will check out the FB you provided. Thanks. you are lucky to get the korea headunit rather than the lcd china unit which sounds so-so... for your info, getting dsp is definitely a need if u really wanted a balanced and long lasting setup. heres a sample my client still going for dsp even he changed to pioneer with half dsp feature build in. he is a few time icer of course. maximus is replacement for maximo and they build it slightly better with more tamed tweeter and midbass have slightly more morel signature. but i would top up for tempo ultra anytime.
howiechoo
Apr 22 2020, 11:55 PM
TS9926
Apr 23 2020, 09:43 AM

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 22 2020, 11:54 PM) you are lucky to get the korea headunit rather than the lcd china unit which sounds so-so... for your info, getting dsp is definitely a need if u really wanted a balanced and long lasting setup. heres a sample my client still going for dsp even he changed to pioneer with half dsp feature build in. he is a few time icer of course. maximus is replacement for maximo and they build it slightly better with more tamed tweeter and midbass have slightly more morel signature. but i would top up for tempo ultra anytime. Ya I have tried the LCD unit sounds which is kind of flat and weak, mine is CBU unit so fitted with the small screen unit and at this moment I do not intend to change HU yet since this unit can satisfy my basic need, the only down side is it cannot play FLAC/WAV format... What would you recommend for a budget friendly DSP? for my case do you recommend to change the speaker first or getting a DSP first? If possible I would prefer to do it one by one due to budget constraint
TS9926
Apr 23 2020, 09:46 AM

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 22 2020, 11:55 PM) This car seems familiar, like one of my K3 group member, haha... I should make a visit to your shop after MCO lifted to survey, thanks for sharing bro
danny_sp15
Apr 25 2020, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Apr 15 2020, 07:03 PM) Maximus is latest version i guess.. Previously used Morel Maximo in my car, which i bought around rm600 during promo.. Not sure maximus is same price or higher than that bro.. Where is your location bro, perhaps can try check in nearby audio shops.. For DSP, price is based on the brand and spec.. Checkout EA Autoworks and Howie Choo in FB.. hi bro, may i know your opinion on your previous morel maximo? what amp did you pair it with? Thanks!
howiechoo
Apr 25 2020, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(9926 @ Apr 23 2020, 09:43 AM) Ya I have tried the LCD unit sounds which is kind of flat and weak, mine is CBU unit so fitted with the small screen unit and at this moment I do not intend to change HU yet since this unit can satisfy my basic need, the only down side is it cannot play FLAC/WAV format... What would you recommend for a budget friendly DSP? for my case do you recommend to change the speaker first or getting a DSP first? If possible I would prefer to do it one by one due to budget constraint either way will improve but how much improvement is yet to be decided by what you get actually. seems more people are tend to change dsp rather than spk nowadays, which for old time player they will change the speaker first.
TS9926
Apr 27 2020, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 25 2020, 02:37 PM) either way will improve but how much improvement is yet to be decided by what you get actually. seems more people are tend to change dsp rather than spk nowadays, which for old time player they will change the speaker first. In fact my idea was to change player first, then change the speaker and DSP will be the last to add. But I am good with the current HU function and design, so I wish to keep it first. Changing the speaker I am afraid the stock HU will not have enough power to operate the new speaker, hence here come my idea of getting a DSP first. What is your opinion on this? Get a speaker first then slowly find an amp/DSP to pair with it?
naveenkalai7
Apr 27 2020, 10:09 AM

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Apr 25 2020, 02:00 PM) hi bro, may i know your opinion on your previous morel maximo? what amp did you pair it with? Thanks! hi bro, last time i paired with Helix dark blue 4 amp.. got it from Howie @ EA autoworks.. imho, morel sounds nice with helix amp.. now using morel tempo with helix h400x..
naveenkalai7
Apr 27 2020, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 22 2020, 11:54 PM) you are lucky to get the korea headunit rather than the lcd china unit which sounds so-so... for your info, getting dsp is definitely a need if u really wanted a balanced and long lasting setup. heres a sample my client still going for dsp even he changed to pioneer with half dsp feature build in. he is a few time icer of course. maximus is replacement for maximo and they build it slightly better with more tamed tweeter and midbass have slightly more morel signature. but i would top up for tempo ultra anytime. Sifu has spoken
howiechoo
Apr 28 2020, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(9926 @ Apr 27 2020, 09:09 AM) In fact my idea was to change player first, then change the speaker and DSP will be the last to add. But I am good with the current HU function and design, so I wish to keep it first. Changing the speaker I am afraid the stock HU will not have enough power to operate the new speaker, hence here come my idea of getting a DSP first. What is your opinion on this? Get a speaker first then slowly find an amp/DSP to pair with it? the original spk is not that bad for k3. it's just the tweeter than need a better 1. if for me, i will go for a dsp and a simple set of tweeter to fill in the missing link.
TS9926
Apr 29 2020, 09:06 AM

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 28 2020, 02:49 PM) the original spk is not that bad for k3. it's just the tweeter than need a better 1. if for me, i will go for a dsp and a simple set of tweeter to fill in the missing link. Thanks for your useful advice, might want to know what would you recommend for the tweeter and DSP? Cost around how much in total?
danny_sp15
May 8 2020, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Apr 27 2020, 10:09 AM) hi bro, last time i paired with Helix dark blue 4 amp.. got it from Howie @ EA autoworks.. imho, morel sounds nice with helix amp.. now using morel tempo with helix h400x.. Thanks bro  just got morel maximo 3-way. sound really awesome
naveenkalai7
May 8 2020, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ May 8 2020, 07:31 PM) Thanks bro  just got morel maximo 3-way. sound really awesome  wow glad to hear that bro.. enjoy your new gear  where you did it bro? connected to headunit or amp?
danny_sp15
May 11 2020, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ May 8 2020, 11:15 PM) wow glad to hear that bro.. enjoy your new gear  where you did it bro? connected to headunit or amp? Amp, I don't think HU output is enough. Maximus range maybe can. I ask morel fb and they suggest me E Audio ampang because near my location. Sound is damn syok This post has been edited by danny_sp15: May 11 2020, 01:03 AM
naveenkalai7
May 12 2020, 10:28 PM

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ May 11 2020, 01:02 AM) Amp, I don't think HU output is enough. Maximus range maybe can. I ask morel fb and they suggest me E Audio ampang because near my location. Sound is damn syok  welcome to the ICE world bro