Chat Jobbie peanut butter going bankrupt?, they sent email

TSjeyakumar
post Apr 8 2020, 09:21 PM, updated 6y ago

91 posts

Actually, their creamy type pure peanut butter is okay. Crunchy is honestly, not good because too liquid. But anyway, looks like they say they are going bankrupt soon: https://www.jobbienutbutter.com/blogs/ourbl...krupt-very-soon

My friends say seems like maybe a marketing strategy to get money for 45 days.

This post has been edited by jeyakumar: Apr 8 2020, 09:27 PM
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 8 2020, 11:08 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(beeMay @ Apr 8 2020, 10:28 PM)
Im a little concerned because i went to the talk hosted by the boss Joseph before and he told me about how jobbie is very successful with very little marketing cost (that was in 2018) and so far i see its being even more successful since I even saw some of my friends buy it, and some shops also selling it.
But what i am concerned about is that covid-19 came and they cannot sustain at all.

I mean if they say halt production and pause business cause no supplier i get it. But if they say going bankrupt..that i dont understand

Either the talk in 2018 was a lie, or things have changed for the worse in the past couple of years, or..?
I'm suspicious too. After reading what you all wrote and seeing the other post that looks like marketing tactic, I think maybe they're just trying to collect more money in this 45 days.
Anyway I already bought too much from them, I won't buy anymore.

This post has been edited by jeyakumar: Apr 8 2020, 11:09 PM
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 8 2020, 11:55 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(whyamiblack @ Apr 8 2020, 11:48 PM)
I'd preorder some but seriously write a proper letter, not a some millennial read and expect everyone to be able to read it. Stop with the emoji spam.

Then again, I'm pretty sure it's no better than Tesco's peanut butter. If you haven't tried, Tesco's one is pretty good if you don't like something spammed with sugar.
I didn't know tesco sold pure peanut butter. I never saw it in the shelves. But I see it is for sale on eshop. https://eshop.tesco.com.my/groceries/en-GB/...ucts/7073786012

Price is lower too. RM10 for 280g. So RM25 would get 700g!
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 9 2020, 12:39 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(marukopi @ Apr 8 2020, 11:59 PM)
RM 13/jar for the next 45 day, consider this loan to them la.

After all we all > 20k monthly. Go support this SME
but their price is rm25/jar. which one is rm13/jar?

now that i see tesco also selling tesco pure peanut butter at rm9.99/280g, i think go with tesco
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 25 2020, 12:47 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Silfer @ Apr 24 2020, 10:19 PM)
really that bad? wanted to buy but look at the post i might just let them go bankrupt for all i care.
It was bad when I tried crunchy. I wrote a detailed review here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4925034

People told me I was wrong and that I should try again. So I tried 1 bottle of creamy and surprisingly it was acceptable.
Please understand that I'm not saying it was good, I'm not saying that it is tasty.

This is pure peanut butter so obviously it is going to be flat flat just peanut taste. I can accept that but I can't accept it is liquid like peanut sauce because that seems like something went wrong with how they roasted it and they had to do something to make it blend during the melangeur stage.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I ordered a lot of creamy peanut butter during the first few days of MCO due to panic buying as the stores near me all had no more peanut butter.

The first batch of 5 bottles was fine. But yesterday I started on the 6th bottle and I'm not happy. This bottle was again a bit liquidy.
Not terrible like the crunchy one. But just liquidy enough that I was feeling annoyed.

Anyway, I mix it myself with pure cocoa powder to make my own choco-peanut butter and since my cocoa powder is so dry, it makes it nice and solid so it turned out okay.

I also make my own peanut gianduja by mixing with 58% dark chocolate. That was also tasty and nice.

So I wouldn't call their product great but okaylah, acceptable.

That said, at the time, I didn't know that Tesco had their own brand of pure peanut butter that is like almost half the price of Jobbie. So if you ask me today, I would buy Tesco's pure peanut butter. However, apparently that is out of stock also.

That's my 2 sen.

Full disclosure: as I said I bought too much during MCO so I have some bottles of Jobbie for sale. https://my.carousell.com/kjayakumar/

This post has been edited by jeyakumar: Apr 25 2020, 12:57 AM
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 25 2020, 12:53 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Apr 25 2020, 12:47 AM)
hippie easily cheated.
for me, as long as i can afford, i buy based on taste, texture.
after all, scientist did conduct test & concluded there aren't differences in terms of vitamin for normal vs organic.
however, grade makes much more different in terms of taste & texture.
Please correct me if I'm wrong. But there is a huge difference between like the widely available Peanut Spread (I think brands like Daisy and JIF) and real pure peanut butter.

Peanut spread means the main ingredient is margarine (hydrogenated palm oil) and then they use peanut flavouring and sugar and salt and chemical emulsifiers. But it will taste great because it was engineered to hit all the pleasure receptors in your tongue. If you look at all the cheap foods, they taste better than real foods. Those peanut butter cookies, etc all use the cheapest peanut spread.

When I look at the peanut butter in shops, most (but not all) are adding hydrogenated palm oil and other chemicals. I was surprised that the normal Skippy has this as well.

I'm told that Tesco's pure peanut butter is pure though and is much cheaper than Jobbie.
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 25 2020, 01:22 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Apr 25 2020, 01:08 AM)
but c'mon, it's peanut butter. food that ain't exactly known for being healthy.
Actually to be honest, my current understanding is that pure peanut butter is considered healthy. I guess it depends on what you are comparing it to. Which I don't know, what are you comparing it to? https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/is-pea...or-you#section2
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 25 2020, 09:53 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(rubrubrub @ Apr 25 2020, 07:46 PM)
so those peanut butter eith peanut oil floating at the top is shit?
I'm not sure. I've never seen any concrete proof or scientist confirmation about it. But I'm pretty sure 100% pure raw peanut butter roasted using the minimum amount of additional peanut oil will not have that much oil floating at the top.

I mean, the Jobbie bottle I just opened 2 days ago had something like 1 inch of oil. Maybe even 1.5 inch of oil floating. Honestly, I was so angry because the other bottles didn't have like that.

When I mixed it very thoroughly, meaning I spend 5 mins really gobek it with a fork almost like a hand blender, okay the content became less liquid but man, if you told me it is peanut sauce, I would say, yeah, that looks like peanut sauce.

The previous bottles I opened are much more solid so I feel like sometimes they get something wrong with their roasting process so their output is not consistent.

That's my current opinion and I unfortunately (or maybe fortunately depending on what happen with MCO) have 10 more bottles to finish. Hopefully will be more solid than liquid.

This post has been edited by jeyakumar: Apr 25 2020, 09:53 PM
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 25 2020, 11:16 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(Zaire.Ver @ Apr 25 2020, 10:20 PM)
See that ahbeng owner face no wonder they resorted to hideous scam marketing...ive contemplating to buy jobbie but not anymore

Suggest u guys try this brand...can say natural pure peanut butter...only 2 ingredients..roasted peanut and sea salt
It used to cost rm17/350g..but now rm19
Can buy from shopee
If got cheaper alternative brand let me know...coZ rm19/350g that really affordable although ingredients is good and it taste great
Thanks. The nutasty brand looked good. AHA. But then I checked their ingredients. They're using xylitol. How come they call it natural pure peanut butter? The word pure nowadays seems to mean, yeah, I added shit but I want you to forget about that part.

"Xylitol is a chemical compound with the formula C5H12O5, or HO(CH2)(CHOH)3(CH2)OH; specifically, one particular stereoisomer with that structural formula. It is a colorless or white crystalline solid that is soluble in water. It can be classified as a polyalcohol and a sugar alcohol,"

I wonder how they claim it is halal when they're using a xylitol which is technically alcohol. ;-)

This post has been edited by jeyakumar: Apr 25 2020, 11:17 PM
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 26 2020, 10:53 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(RallyNight @ Apr 26 2020, 01:22 AM)
i ask my parent tolong buy jif ya.
Balik dgn daisy.
Still not bad.
daisy is peanut spread. It is not peanut butter. That's why daisy is cheap.

TSjeyakumar
post Apr 26 2020, 10:55 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 26 2020, 01:21 AM)
dude go google xylitol product. u might have been eating it without knowing it. some fresh mint use xylitol too
jif chunky best. real chunky even better than Skipper
Ok. My point is people who call their product "pure natural peanut butter" shouldn't put other shit into the product.
Otherwise what is the point of calling it "pure". You want to put xylitol, then call it "xylitol peanut butter".
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 26 2020, 11:25 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 26 2020, 11:00 AM)
where did they stated "pure"?
Well, OP wrote "Suggest u guys try this brand...can say natural pure peanut butter...only 2 ingredients..roasted peanut and sea salt"

Looks like OP used the word pure, which they did not on the label.
TSjeyakumar
post Apr 26 2020, 12:16 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 26 2020, 12:08 PM)
that's why. the xylitol only available in smooth cocoa pb. not sure about the premium almond one but the rest dont have.
duno what that dude jeyakumar research about and make false claim on the company cost.
You can see this picture right? It says xylitol. It is on their own website. You should read first next time.

TSjeyakumar
post Aug 2 2020, 10:20 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Aug 2 2020, 10:10 PM)
9pg lio still no one can say which PB is gooding.

Jobbie was good in all honesty, shame about their tactics and lead time.

Now back to Jif, but someone said something about Tesco's in house brand?
In my opinion Jobbie was not good. I have bought both Crunchy and Creamy pure peanut butter from Jobbie.
The variability is high. During MCO, I paniced and bought 10 bottles of their creamy type.
So I can tell you based on my experience, I won't buy again. The amount of oil is very high in some bottles. I posted the video in page 1. Even after stir really well, it is more like peaenut sauce rather than peanut butter.

Jif is not pure peanut butter. They add emulsifier which is hydrogenated palm oil. So I won't buy that.

Tesco Crunchy Peanut butter 280 g = rm9.90 means 3.5 sen per gram. https://eshop.tesco.com.my/groceries/en-GB/...ucts/7073786012

If it was available, it would be worth it. But it is not in stock at the Tesco store I went.

Did anyone try it?

TSjeyakumar
post Aug 2 2020, 10:21 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(rkggutbppct @ Aug 2 2020, 09:58 PM)
boost gave me 50-10 voucher, wondering
50-10 voucher meaning you get 10 bottles 50% off?

0.0226sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:46 PM