What's required for a Video Editing Rig?, Budget of RM4000. Usage Premier Pro only

TScarbonfibre
post Apr 6 2020, 08:58 PM, updated 4y ago

PSN ID : ericgohsw
944 posts

Hey guys,

I've been out of the computer scene for quite some time. Been looking around to build a desktop capable of the following:

-Video Editing 1080/60p and occasionally 4K footages
-Software I mainly use Premier Pro

This PC sole purpose is to edit videos. Nothing more than that.

What's the combo these days? AMD + Radeon?
Lurker
post Apr 6 2020, 09:03 PM

L U R K I N G
4,285 posts

more cores, more ram, beefy gpu

jemmi
post Apr 6 2020, 09:08 PM

485 posts

With premier you need big RAM, may be 32GB DDR4, I feel average amd ryzen3 with PCie4.0 SSD & AMD 5700 gpu already good enough. My old system upgrade to 32GB RAM & fast m.2 SSD running smooth for video editing.
myway1985
post Apr 6 2020, 09:28 PM

11,471 posts

depends on ur level? hobbyist or hardcore? a 4core xeon can compete with i9-9900k/ ryzen 7 2700x de
tishaban
post Apr 7 2020, 11:15 AM

3,615 posts

I'm going to assume that you're paying for Premiere Pro and not pirating. There's a nice webpage on the adobe website that shows specifically what CPU/RAM combination is recommended (AMD is generally faster these days) and more importantly what GPU is supported for hardware rendering. Very few Radeons are supported comparatively

For storage look at the bitrate of your video recording. Don't forget offline storage for backups

power911
post Apr 23 2020, 11:03 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,510 posts

More CPU cores, more ram, high speed m2 drive with fast ironwolf hdd
Well maybe not ironwolf drives but they definitely benefit 4k editing

you can skimp out on graphics card with a cheapo display card for start but if you ever trying to run after effects simultaneously you'll definitely need good ones starting from GTX1660Ti or higher.
cstkl1
post Apr 24 2020, 09:15 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(carbonfibre @ Apr 6 2020, 08:58 PM)
Hey guys,

I've been out of the computer scene for quite some time. Been looking around to build a desktop capable of the following:

-Video Editing 1080/60p and occasionally 4K footages
-Software I mainly use Premier Pro

This PC sole purpose is to edit videos. Nothing more than that.

What's the combo these days? AMD + Radeon?
https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/...n-9-3950X-1615/
dats just 9900k beating a 3900x
with quicksync would be faster.
premier pro..
for encode quicksync+cpu core.. 9900k
for editing.. nvidia 1080 no diff than a rtx afaik

but if u going da vinci.. radeon vii + 3900x

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Apr 24 2020, 09:20 AM
kyun
post May 23 2020, 03:57 PM

66 posts

If I were to build today at 4k budget, I would go for
800-900 Ryzen 3600x (wait for few more weeks, the price of some ryzen have dropped in US, will be reflected some time later)
800 32GB ram (better 2x16, for future expansion, add another 50-100 if u want the RGB ones)
600-650 any used GTX 1060 (gpu really doesn't help on rendering, unless u're an occasional gamer, then consider GTX 1070 or above).
450-550 B450 mb (dun go for B450m with 2 slots unless u're sure no need for ram upgrade in the 1-2 yr future)
You could get the rest power supply, casing, nvme, ssd, etc within 1.5k, it's not that essential for video rendering.

This post has been edited by kyun: May 23 2020, 03:58 PM
kyun
post May 23 2020, 04:11 PM

66 posts

After second thought, the rig above is way beyond 4k, maybe 4.5-5k.

I would modify some parts,
Ryzen 5 3600, now trading at around RM760 at shopee, but like said, in few more weeks, it could drop below RM720?
Maybe a RM250 B450M mb, B550 is coming out in June but there's no real difference in specs unless u're wanting a more future-proof for cpu or gpu upgrading which could provide PCIe 4.0 support?

Again, if it's not in urgent need, wait for few more weeks, I'm predicting the price of 2019 ryzen and used gpu will shatter in a small scale.

0.0146sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:35 PM