As per topic, what do you do ? Let tenant stay for free for 6 months ?
U guys who rent out units
Apr 4 2020, 11:32 PM, updated 6y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
396 posts Joined: Apr 2015 |
As per topic, what do you do ? Let tenant stay for free for 6 months ?
Apr 5 2020, 12:12 AM
1,269 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
Apr 5 2020, 12:30 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
237 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
who advocates for non-payment??
no way will there be non-payment am i wrong to say this? |
Apr 5 2020, 12:55 AM
1,597 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
My personal opinion, depends on who is renting the unit, if tenant no salary or pay cut and if good tenant and only if they ask, then discount. But if tenant getting salary, like gov servant full salary, I dont think so.
Apr 5 2020, 01:03 AM
3,190 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Apr 5 2020, 06:02 AM
9,616 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Ts is Messiah
Apr 5 2020, 06:17 AM
527 posts Joined: Jul 2017 |
My wife has 2 units in Mont Kiara (3+1 bedder and a 1 bedder). The 3+1 now is empty (used to be getting rm5k/mth) rented to a Japanese while the smaller one is still with a tenant (still paying at the moment). Luckily my wife doesn't owe any money on both units - only less income to use every month for her.
We are living overseas and cannot come back to check the units. Luckily i have still quite a lot of retirement savings overseas otherwise we will be in big trouble if we need to service a mortgage. Times like this, debt (loan) is a miserable word! Luckily i have no debt at all. After this pandemic, i don't think i would be interested to purchase any more properties for a long time! This post has been edited by Garysydney: Apr 5 2020, 07:06 AM |
Apr 5 2020, 07:24 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,456 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Apr 5 2020, 06:17 AM) Times like this, debt (loan) is a miserable word! Luckily i have no debt at all. Many failed to realise housing loan is only a good debt if it is current/up to date.After this pandemic, i don't think i would be interested to purchase any more properties for a long time! This post has been edited by icemanfx: Apr 5 2020, 07:33 AM |
Apr 5 2020, 07:37 AM
100 posts Joined: Nov 2018 |
Wanna asking:
Example: Rental RM1500 per month. Landlord give RM500 a month discount or during MCO does not have to pay the rent coz tenant didn't get salary. Then after MCO, the tenant has to pay all the 6 month deferral rent together with the current month or 6 month rent is considered burn? Meaning free stay. |
Apr 5 2020, 07:43 AM
66 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
my landlord waived 6 month rental
Apr 5 2020, 01:22 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
48,447 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
for far No free rental..
Apr 5 2020, 01:31 PM
191 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Apr 5 2020, 03:36 PM
9,616 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Apr 5 2020, 09:03 PM
989 posts Joined: Mar 2019 |
Apr 5 2020, 09:40 PM
1,269 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
Apr 5 2020, 11:19 PM
3,190 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Apr 6 2020, 06:17 AM
Apr 6 2020, 06:19 AM
Apr 6 2020, 06:20 AM
Apr 6 2020, 06:21 AM
Apr 6 2020, 06:23 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Good for u man. No debts. This post has been edited by oldtimer05: Apr 6 2020, 06:23 AM |
Apr 6 2020, 06:24 AM
Apr 6 2020, 06:29 AM
Apr 6 2020, 07:13 AM
2,854 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
for me,
commercial will give 50% to 100% waiver for April rental, which i already granted for tuition centre, fnb. got workshop not yet approach me.... for residential, sorry no. unless you telling me you lost your job or your a self employ and the only who support the family, then yes.. time is tough for everyone, tenant cannot abuse this time and simply ask for free rental.. |
Apr 6 2020, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(oldtimer05 @ Apr 6 2020, 06:23 AM) I am about to retire soon so i don't want to carry any debt (loans) after i retire as i am very conservative. I have quite a lot of retirement fund (now all moved to cash from a very aggressive position before) after having lost about A$155k in 4 weeks. I can't move my cash to USD (which is a lot safer) so have no choice but to keep it in AUD. The AUD keeps falling so i am afraid by the time i actually retire, the AUD will have dropped even more. Best at this time to hold USD. |
Apr 6 2020, 12:17 PM
2,094 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(oldtimer05 @ Apr 4 2020, 11:32 PM) Just posted something similar in another thread but will re-post it here too since it's on the same topic.For me, I've varied my approach according to the tenant profile. For those who are not really impacted (students and white-collar office employees), I've maintained the rental although I've given flexibility in terms of payment timing (allow 2 weeks delay). At the same time, I have one tenant (foreigner) that is doing his own retail business, selling clothes. Thus, for him, I've given him a 20% cut for this month first since his income is badly impacted. Doesn't really hurt me too since my own regular income is still intact. But I know of a friend whose income is badly impacted (he's a pilot), and thus, he is maintaining his rental although his tenant's income is also impacted. Can be quite complicated huh. By the way, for those who haven't heard of SpeedHome, I highly recommended it. Been using it twice and I'm fully satisfied and convinced. Instead of giving a month's commission to a real estate agent, I now get full insurance coverage for my unit and also additional value added services. https://speedhome.com/ No regrets at all. Every landlord should try out SpeedHome and see how much better it is compared to the traditional route of appointing a real estate agency. ![]() |
Apr 6 2020, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Apr 6 2020, 08:29 AM) I am about to retire soon so i don't want to carry any debt (loans) after i retire as i am very conservative. I have quite a lot of retirement fund (now all moved to cash from a very aggressive position before) after having lost about A$155k in 4 weeks. I can't move my cash to USD (which is a lot safer) so have no choice but to keep it in AUD. The AUD keeps falling so i am afraid by the time i actually retire, the AUD will have dropped even more. Best at this time to hold USD. Good for you, nicely positioned for retirement. Your positioning is something very normal that most people will do, to shift from an aggressive portfolio to a more conservative one, once they start entering into their golden years. Unless your main income is still intact (be it in business or active employment), then you might want to consider maintaining your aggressive portfolio.Nevertheless, you still will work out some action plan for your Mont Kiara unit, right? Letting it idle just like that, doesn't sound right. Although there is no need to serve any loan, it's still income loss. Since you are based overseas, perhaps can pass it to a relative or a trusted family friend to look into it? Pardon for poking my nose into this, but knowing that a property is just sitting idle like that is something that bothers me. I always make sure that my units are all working with minimal downtime. ><" |
Apr 6 2020, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Apr 6 2020, 12:24 PM) Pardon for poking my nose into this, but knowing that a property is just sitting idle like that is something that bothers me. I always make sure that my units are all working with minimal downtime. ><" I am in very secure employment working in a semi-govt job and if i am retrenched (which is what i am hoping for!), i can get a very big payout because i have worked in my current job for more than 29 years now. My wish is to get a redundancy as i am on quite a high pay so getting one will probably bump my retirement bottom line by another 30%. The only thing i am worried about now is the strength of the Aussie dollar (as i intend to retire in Msia). |
Apr 6 2020, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Apr 6 2020, 02:48 PM) The apartment is a fully furnished executive-style type so my wife wants to only rent to expatriates. After this pandemic, i doubt there will be many foreign executives left. A lot of overseas executives will probably not be needed anymore (due to business downturn) so i think Mt Kiara will probably be full of empty units in the next few months and will probably stay like that for at least a few years. I suspect landlords will probably engage in a rental war (with rents being slashed drastically) in the next few months. My wife is very choosy with her tenants and she is in a financial position to even cut rental by 50-60% as the rental is just additional income on top of her monthly pension she gets from her Australian superfund (epf). Even without that rental of this 3+1 bedder, she can afford to spend quite comfortably. If that's the scale of the rent against the monthly pension, then yeah, I guess the rental is really insignificant. At a certain stage, if its really minute compared to the main income, it can then become like a pesky fly....having to manage and yet, contribution is measly on the larger scale of things.... ><"I am in very secure employment working in a semi-govt job and if i am retrenched (which is what i am hoping for!), i can get a very big payout because i have worked in my current job for more than 29 years now. My wish is to get a redundancy as i am on quite a high pay so getting one will probably bump my retirement bottom line by another 30%. The only thing i am worried about now is the strength of the Aussie dollar (as i intend to retire in Msia). The Ringgit has indeed appreciate quite a fair bit. When I visited Melbourne back in Dec 2018, it was only 1MYR = ~AUD3.05. Based on what you've shared, if you were to be in Malaysia with one of the top MNCs/GLCs, and receive a severance package, it can go up to as high as 60 months worth of basis salary. |
Apr 6 2020, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Apr 6 2020, 03:55 PM) If that's the scale of the rent against the monthly pension, then yeah, I guess the rental is really insignificant. At a certain stage, if its really minute compared to the main income, it can then become like a pesky fly....having to manage and yet, contribution is measly on the larger scale of things.... ><" I have a lot of long service and annual leave which will be added onto the payout and we get quite a big tax concession (calculated based on number of years service). I have lost about 20% due to currency loss and just under 10% for capital loss so getting a redundancy payout will about make up for my shortfall. My siblings in Sydney are advising me against taking up a redundancy (if it offered) as it will mean i will have to retire permanently now. My siblings were telling me that if i can work another few more years, i can easily add another 30-50% to my retirement bottom line and this will be much more a preferred path (financially). I will just leave it to my fate to decide on my destiny.The Ringgit has indeed appreciate quite a fair bit. When I visited Melbourne back in Dec 2018, it was only 1MYR = ~AUD3.05. Based on what you've shared, if you were to be in Malaysia with one of the top MNCs/GLCs, and receive a severance package, it can go up to as high as 60 months worth of basis salary. |
Apr 7 2020, 02:15 AM
237 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
| Change to: | 0.0221sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:59 AM |